wian

May 21, 2008
NZ Breakers / New York Knicks
Ok - now i have your attention -

Lets honestly take the red white and blue glasses off and look at this situation from a level headed point of view.....

And Stupid Gimp, before you have a crack, i am being serious and i would appreciate your honest opinion too

did the flu have more of an impact than we think? apparently according to the commentary, we havent lost by over 100 for 14 seasons. So tonights game was obviously un-characteristic of our season to date... It was comical, and it couldnt have got any worse if we tried......

is the flu an excuse for Eade to not play a hard tag on Abblett all game? the bloke had 39 touches and his direct opponent wasnt sighted all night.... Robert Walls and Darcy made constant reference to this fact....

could the absence of hudson and cooney really have made such an impact?

going ahead, what can we do? we are still in the top 4, so not all is lost and we can turn it around... A good thing is that the pressure is not on us a we are not expected to win, so that could be an advantage. to win the flag, we have to make a 100% turn around in forward pressure and tackeling hard and locking down our opponents run off 1/2 back - i still believe we can do this

your thoughts...

cheers

Ok - now i have your attention -

Lets honestly take the red white and blue glasses off and look at this situation from a level headed point of view.....

And Stupid Gimp, before you have a crack, i am being serious and i would appreciate your honest opinion too

did the flu have more of an impact than we think? apparently according to the commentary, we havent lost by over 100 for 14 seasons. So tonights game was obviously un-characteristic of our season to date... It was comical, and it couldnt have got any worse if we tried......

is the flu an excuse for Eade to not play a hard tag on Abblett all game? the bloke had 39 touches and his direct opponent wasnt sighted all night.... Robert Walls and Darcy made constant reference to this fact....

could the absence of hudson and cooney really have made such an impact?

going ahead, what can we do? we are still in the top 4, so not all is lost and we can turn it around... A good thing is that the pressure is not on us a we are not expected to win, so that could be an advantage. to win the flag, we have to make a 100% turn around in forward pressure and tackeling hard and locking down our opponents run off 1/2 back - i still believe we can do this

your thoughts...

cheers

My honest opinion is we can't possibly know how much of a role the flu played in this bashing until the Finals. We will then have a very good idea of whether we are complete pretenders or not.

I am also of the opinion that Stupid Gimp is right that you feel the need to start lots of pointless threads every time we lose. This one admittedly is less pointless than the other two.

Nevertheless, I for one very much look forward to Stupid Gimp dive bombing this thread as well.

My honest opinion is we can't possibly know how much of a role the flu played in this bashing until the Finals. We will then have a very good idea of whether we are complete pretenders or not.

I am also of the opinion that Stupid Gimp is right that you feel the need to start lots of pointless threads every time we lose. This one admittedly is less pointless than the other two.

Nevertheless, I for one very much look forward to Stupid Gimp dive bombing this thread as well.

fair enough - point taken....

Just passionate that's all.. I think like most of us, you will agree its frustrating supporting this team most of the time....

My honest opinion is that you shouldn't create 3 threads about one game in the space of half an hour :cool:

On the game, I did not see it but considering Geelong outscored us by a total of 2 points in 3 clashes last year, something must have been affecting us tonight. With all due respect to Geelong, they are a great team, but not 101 points better than us.

fair enough - point taken....

Just passionate that's all.. I think like most of us, you will agree its frustrating supporting this team most of the time....

Best not to push the New Thread button until 24 hours after a loss. ;)

If you think it's frustrating now, you should have been around in the early 80s supporting the Bulldogs.

Sorry, but the flu excuse just ain't gonna cut it.

All this Leading Teams crap is about 'honesty sessions' isn't it? If so, I can think of no better time to have one than tomorrow morning.

I thought embarassing losses of tonight's scale had gone with the end of the Rohde era, but I guess I was wrong.

Best not to push the New Thread button until 24 hours after a loss. ;)

If you think it's frustrating now, you should have been around in the early 80s supporting the Bulldogs.

i was only 3 in 1980 - so luckily cant remember much of it thank God - I only hope my 1 year old son wont have to wait 32 years and counting to witness the next flag !

Funny enough, i can remember the food stall and the dunnies near the big scoreboard at the Western Oval though ! hehe !

Sorry, but the flu excuse just ain't gonna cut it.

I only heard bits of tonights game NB the radio summary of the second quarter.

Don't underestimate the effects of swine flu. Mild for many in the past, but it is mutating and can hit some very hard. If our guys have the nasty respiratory version, it can knock people's lungs around for a few weeks.

However, even if half the side had it/getting it/recovering from it, what about the other half?

The half time comments I heard on ABC radio were absolutely scathing. Sounds none of our players, including the no flu guys, stood up. Sounded like every Bulldog on the park was well beaten.

Maybe it's a heart problem?

In 1980 we didn't win our first match until Round 12 against Fitzroy at the Junction Oval. I remember jumping up and down on the old wooden benches in the outer when the siren went. Nowadays my weight would break the damn bench! The next year we only won TWO matches for the entire season.

Being a Bulldogs supporter nowadays is easy. However, I'm thinking about that ticket I bought just two weeks ago to fly out for the PF and GF... :confused:

I only heard bits of tonights game NB the radio summary of the second quarter.

Don't underestimate the effects of swine flu. Mild for many in the past, but it is mutating and can hit some very hard. If our guys have the nasty respiratory version, it can knock people's lungs around for a few weeks.

However, even if half the side had it/getting it/recovering from it, what about the other half?

The half time comments I heard on ABC radio were absolutely scathing. Sounds none of our players, including the no flu guys, stood up. Sounded like every Bulldog on the park was well beaten.

Maybe it's a heart problem?

i know u didnt watch it, but it was seriously comical - you couldnt honestly be angry as it was that unbelievable....

It was un characteristic of our team to be honest.... Yes, we could have done things better, but something was seriously wrong tonite....

In 1980 we didn't win our first match until Round 12 against Fitzroy at the Junction Oval. I remember jumping up and down on the old wooden benches in the outer when the siren went. Nowadays my weight would break the damn bench! The next year we only won TWO matches for the entire season.

Being a Bulldogs supporter nowadays is easy. However, I'm thinking about that ticket I bought just two weeks ago to fly out for the PF and GF... :confused:

yes, i suppose we have it a better than the 80' s

heres hoping mate that u will get good value for your purchased tickets and we can somehow turn it around ...;)

Hold onto the ticket believe me -.-, Bulldogs will string good games together and make us love them again then let us down in the prelim probably losing by 1 and leading by 30 at half time, Never been this dissapointed.

I've had what I would call heavy head cold for the last 10 days. I got up this morning after 2 great nights sleep and had absolutley no energy at all.

What I have is nothng compared to the virus going through our team. I watched tonight with indifference. I wans' t upset by the Geelong goal avalanche. It simply wasn't us out there tonight.

Anyone who is upset by tonights result should chill out. It wasn't us.

Stick fat Chicago.........I am actually pretty confident that we will make the GF, even after tonight.

We area good side if fit.......without virus etc etc etc.

It's 5 weeks til the PF. Then it's game on.

Dogs were 2nd to the Footy and contest all night so against a team like Geelong you are going to pay. The flu has ripped shit through the dogs list. Yes, they're out there playing but over half the team have been effected. Take that extra burst speed from any player like a bad flu can do and in this comp you'll be smashed because it's a game of centimetres.
Still... We've beaten no-one this year do the smart money is on us just making up numbers in the finals. Out in a prelim looks likely.

I have had the flu since last Sunday & thought i was ok today so i played in a game & played the worst i can ever remember, its all relative but i can feel for guys if they went out there thinking they would be ok & then just couldn't do what they normally can....the first 15 mins was very good, it may be that after this they simply were gassed?

Anyone recall the mid-season Sydney game in 1997 when we got smashed by 98 points? Flu had gone through the club then as well...

Come the finals, we were up by 51 at 1/4 time against the same side.

Not saying it will happen this way again, but it's hard to play good footy when you're crook.

Anyone recall the mid-season Sydney game in 1997 when we got smashed by 98 points?

I do. I was there. It was my first interstate footy trip. Funnily it was the first and only time I went interstate to watch them and saw them lose. Been to a few since then an we won them all.

Anyone recall the mid-season Sydney game in 1997 when we got smashed by 98 points? Flu had gone through the club then as well...

Not saying it will happen this way again, but it's hard to play good footy when you're crook.

I agree, but lets hope more were affected than weren't because there were too many non-efforts.

I thought aside from Murphy we didn't have anyone playing to their ability.

Hehe Dimma, that was my first trip interstate to watch the Doggies play. What a disappointment! Was only after the game that I found out about the flu. Ironically, we are headed back to Sydney for next weeks match. Surely the outcome this time will be better????

Excuses.

Was at the game, the Dogs showed absolutely no heart. Geelong just had a ball kicking goals.

Absolutely no way we'll go deep into the finals if we play like this. Really getting sick of this shit.

Flu or no flu, tonight's performance was an absolute disgrace.

The entire footballing world is going to be laughing at us tonight, and rightly so.

They should be shown every article on here, the papers, audio of talkback callers and TV shows and what not of everyone baggin us for the next week so they feel utterly humiliated, more so than they already should be, and come out absolutely steaming, furious, incensed and ferocious against Sydney next week.

That's the only way they can redeem themselves for tonight's disgrace.

I'm gutted.

The Flu