Knomes
Plants
Lawns
Equipment
Etc

To kick the ball rolling I own a 10 year old two stroke whopper snipper

Recently replaced the head unit

This new one is a piece of rubbish; wastes cord; doesn’t bump feed adequately

Is it time to upgrade and if so to what exactly?

All things Garden

Knomes
Plants
Lawns
Equipment
Etc

Battery mate.

They pump and you will never look back.

Just get a good one.

Get a Makita/Milwaukee one.

The Milwaukee has this quick feed head that is almost sorcery when you load the line for the first time, takes under 20 seconds and you don’t take the head apart.

Battery mate.

They pump and you will never look back.

Just get a good one.

Get a Makita/Milwaukee one.

The Milwaukee has this quick feed head that is almost sorcery when you load the line for the first time, takes under 20 seconds and you don’t take the head apart.

In theory this is what the new Sthil head should be doing...but it is the WINDING part that is all messed up and won't wind as fluidly as this example costing so much lost time ****ing around with it

Ryobi had a 1200w electric line trimmer going for basically nothing at Bunnings and picked up the last one. 2.0mm line bump feed head and it goes through weeds like butter. I've abused the thing on pretty thick edges and it still cuts. Only got it because we have outdoor power points.

Still running the older 2 stroke Victa lawn mowers from the 80s/90s. Just replaced the blades.

All things Garden

Knomes
Plants
Lawns
Equipment
Etc

Wifes 56v ego trimmer has electric line loading . you will never look back. feed the line through and press the little green button,

1766286073388.png

Oh and for mowing, may i suggest,

1766285952011.png

All things Garden

Knomes
Plants
Lawns
Equipment
Etc

Honda 4-stroke

That’s what I still use. The mower service bloke loves seeing it brought in each year. Reckons it’s a classic. Good thing I have two of them as one has been used for spare parts if and when the often used one requires them. They’re my dad’s old mowers and I look after the working one like a mechanic takes care of their own car.

I have a 2024 model, love it so much i used it in the heavy rain yesterday

Recently put a speed feed head on it, great addition for a small price.

Victa man here, mostly through inter generational choice

I only buy from authorised shops; I bought one from Bunnings a few years back with mag wheels and oversized narrow rear wheels.

They broke after the second mow and returned for a full refund

4 stroke line trimmers are heavy units

I shall visit tomorrow with my Desktop and extension cord and wander straight to the Aisle with this page on my screen. Cheers
so the ego setup was Mk2, the wife originally fot AEG 56v trimmer and it was probably a better trimmer but the batterys failed, got replaced and the replacements failed, then there was a backlog on batteries and they said we would need to wait for months, they refunded us in full at bunnings and we then went to sydney tools as they had the deal on,

the ego isnt as powerfull however a bit lighter, but the line winding setup is far better.

so the ego setup was Mk2, the wife originally fot AEG 56v trimmer and it was probably a better trimmer but the batterys failed, got replaced and the replacements failed, then there was a backlog on batteries and they said we would need to wait for months, they refunded us in full at bunnings and we then went to sydney tools as they had the deal on,

the ego isnt as powerfull however a bit lighter, but the line winding setup is far better.

This is on special atm?

Not too fussed with charge time but what would the average run time be; it would be only used for lawn edging

Helen gets about an hour so 40 min runtime, by then the 2nd battery is charged, with 2 batteries you can litterally continuously work changing batteries at hourly intervals. You will probably do 1 or 2 line feeds in that time as well. That deal is the same offer with the extra battery mitre 10 are running atm. Pretty good deal for 550 imo.

Strewth, ours are only just flowering.

Birds and wind have also collectively completely stripped our apple tree.

And that annoying mud lark is still flying into the window....
I planted these on Father's Day so its been a while