Analysis The Grunts

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

It's not a serious comparison and it's going to be a bit difficult with Selwood having another seven or so years left in him.

Yeah, I could see it was light hearted, and Selwood was not a bad choice of comparison, especially with Miles drawing as many free kicks as he does.

It wasn't a comment directed at you so much as the broader Tigers BF community. We have a tendency to get carried away, with both positives and negatives.

Saturday was a clear example of why our grunts are so important. With Martin not spending a heap of time in the middle and Miles being well held by the Giants midfielers we really struggled to get our game going the way it has been the previous 4 weeks. Still we were able to get the job done but coming into games against Essendon and Adelaide we're going to need everyone up and running to have a shot of winning both. With Conca out I'd expect Grigg to come in and replace him, which is handy. Wouldn't mind Jackson being back in the mix either as his ability to cover plenty of ground would be rather handy to have.

I though we weren't giving jumpers away and the team would be picked on form this year ? That was all the talk in the off season . Plus No one can go forward with Hampson. He's not a footballer.

I think fans should not take things so literally, ie jumper hitting the floor etc. They preach this but that doesn't mean that players cant have bad games ie Hampson. I do believe he can get better, or at least given a chance to do this in the 2's. No one thought Morton or Tom D could pay at all. I accept at this stage it hasn't worked with Hampson ( I just choose to not mention it 4 million times just to sooth my ego), but the point is if we have 3 No 1 rucks on the main list then we don't have to worry about upgrading a ruck for insurance which was the point I was making. Then you pick the players in form. Maric, Hampson plus 1 more, then add Soldo as a trainee. Regardless of if you like Hampson or not, he is here, its done, we are stuck with him. Hopefully he learns something over the summer.

Saturday was a clear example of why our grunts are so important.

Absolutely.

Edwards, Foley, Maric and Pettard were all important for the win. Even Batchelor, who had **** all statistical output, at a crucial times knocked over an opponent or broke even when he was out-numbered. He really contributed, although I bet he barely broke double figures for Dream Team points.

Just goes to show how important those types are. Without them playing their unspectacular roles, we would have lost to GWS, IMO.

Miles being well held by the Giants midfielers

I'm not sure, but I thought maybe Miles was running with / being picked up by Ward? I'll be paying closer attention when I watch the replay. I thought Ward was bloody close to BOG.

Although Miles has done well, I dont think him coming into the side can be attributed to our turnaround in form, I think he came in when we had worked through the problems from earlier in the season and were coming good anyway.

As for the grunts in general I agree its just as important to have a solid core as well as the A graders.

I think fans should not take things so literally, ie jumper hitting the floor etc. They preach this but that doesn't mean that players cant have bad games ie Hampson. I do believe he can get better, or at least given a chance to do this in the 2's. No one thought Morton or Tom D could pay at all. I accept at this stage it hasn't worked with Hampson ( I just choose to not mention it 4 million times just to sooth my ego), but the point is if we have 3 No 1 rucks on the main list then we don't have to worry about upgrading a ruck for insurance which was the point I was making. Then you pick the players in form. Maric, Hampson plus 1 more, then add Soldo as a trainee. Regardless of if you like Hampson or not, he is here, its done, we are stuck with him. Hopefully he learns something over the summer.
Once again to sooth my ego Flea , Hampson is not a Ruckman. He can not catch , he can not kick , he can not read the play , he can not create a second effort and he does not help out his midfield team mates after each tap out. Your numbers are out because of this so that is why your trying to make a point not actually making one.

Have another reply for your own ego.

Regardless of if you like Hampson or not, he is here, its done, we are stuck with him. Hopefully he learns something over the summer.
Why are we stuck with him. We can make a call on a player that so far this year hasn't even showed he is up to VFL standard . His last 3 games down there have been embarrassing for the club and he's stifling the development of young footballers. At the end of the year we'll recruit more and we need that forward pocket in the VFL Reserved for the midfielders to rest in so they can build their tanks and adapt to the first grade rotations. If they are fair dinkum they will not let this spud waist that pocket . If we were still aligned with Coburg he'd be playing VFL development right now . The clubs got to make the hard decisions and move a guy on that walks from contest to contest on before that attitude spreads to juniors players coming through .

Any way as I've said all year , he knows he's not a footballer and he'll retire at years end. He doesn't need the money and he knows now the team is getting picked on form he'd only get a game if Maric or Big O break their legs. He won't see out his contract.

Hampson is gone. He's going to have to walk as there is no where for him to hide
Messed up our structures when he played as we were a tall player down once he hit the ball into his belly button
Tig71 said he needs to hit KPIs , which are unrealistic for him
Will walk and do the right thing for himself

At his age going back to Soccer would be the way to go I reckon. The Melbourne Victory would love Megan in the stands at home games and if he goes alright he can play till he's 40 but he has to make the move right now or it would be too late.

Regardless of if you like Hampson or not, he is here, its done, we are stuck with him. Hopefully he learns something over the summer.

Regardless? of what? why would we want to keep a player on our list that is only going to be a hindrance to our VFL side? We need to explore every avenue to get Hamspon off our list. Why? because not only do we need to find a replacement for Oren (may go around again) but we are back to square 1 ... we still need to find a back up for Maric... just because Hampson is on our list does not mean we have to put up with it... The stupidity of the trade last summer puts us in a situation where we will probably have to carry 1 ruck too many on or lists.
Our list management in the ruck department has been nothing short of embarrassing..... and its not over. We will go into off season looking for another ruck or 2...

Once again to sooth my ego Flea , Hampson is not a Ruckman. He can not catch , he can not kick , he can not read the play , he can not create a second effort and he does not help out his midfield team mates after each tap out. Your numbers are out because of this so that is why your trying to make a point not actually making one.

Have another reply for your own ego.
Don't need to mate, stated my point.

Why are we stuck with him. We can make a call on a player that so far this year hasn't even showed he is up to VFL standard . His last 3 games down there have been embarrassing for the club and he's stifling the development of young footballers. At the end of the year we'll recruit more and we need that forward pocket in the VFL Reserved for the midfielders to rest in so they can build their tanks and adapt to the first grade rotations. If they are fair dinkum they will not let this spud waist that pocket . If we were still aligned with Coburg he'd be playing VFL development right now . The clubs got to make the hard decisions and move a guy on that walks from contest to contest on before that attitude spreads to juniors players coming through .

Any way as I've said all year , he knows he's not a footballer and he'll retire at years end. He doesn't need the money and he knows now the team is getting picked on form he'd only get a game if Maric or Big O break their legs. He won't see out his contract.
Bet he isn't sacked mid contract...........

Regardless? of what? why would we want to keep a player on our list that is only going to be a hindrance to our VFL side? We need to explore every avenue to get Hamspon off our list. Why? because not only do we need to find a replacement for Oren (may go around again) but we are back to square 1 ... we still need to find a back up for Maric... just because Hampson is on our list does not mean we have to put up with it... The stupidity of the trade last summer puts us in a situation where we will probably have to carry 1 ruck too many on or lists.
Our list management in the ruck department has been nothing short of embarrassing..... and its not over. We will go into off season looking for another ruck or 2...
He will be on our list for another 2 years, regardless if plays much in the seniors. Get used to it.

I love this get used to it . It's like you want the club to fail. Let's have a totally useless player that not only can't play but sets a bad example around the club by walking from contest to contest and picking and choosing to get out of 3 rd gear in a game of high extensity sport.

Get used to it. Lol cracks me up , love how supporters would rather see the club stagnating just to prove a point.

Well I beg do differ.
How long does it take sore ribs to heal, I broke 2 ribs and had 3 weeks off in club footy once. My coach wouldn't let anyone miss a game with sore ribs but that was only club footy not the VFL.

I love this get used to it . It's like you want the club to fail. Let's have a totally useless player that not only can't play but sets a bad example around the club by walking from contest to contest and picking and choosing to get out of 3 rd gear in a game of high extensity sport.

Get used to it. Lol cracks me up , love how supporters would rather see the club stagnating just to prove a point.
LOL. I want us to fail? What bollox. The fact is he has a CONTRACT. We will not pay it out, as you may as well have the right to use him in that time as we see fit. As you have stated you don't like him as a player, so going on this its unlikely we would be able to trade him out, so we are stuck with him. Unless we sack him and pay him out( the AFLPA would have a fit), it aint going to happen.