The Hype

• Thread starter Thread starter Bird Man

I'm so glad Richmond sold Home games last year to gather 2 losses then spent the money on some 'Brand Experts' who would have charged us a bomb, who then presented us in meetings with what looked like a paste up primary school project, just so we would fall for a logo that looks like the hood badge of a car collaboration between a crappy Korean & Russian car manufacturer. :rolleyes:

The Home of the RFC Club now looks like a wasp massacre and now we have another "new direction" from the club with a poorly drawn, clipart-like Tiger.

Gale keeps pumping down our throats that we are heading in a new direction. The presumption is that this new direction is heading for success. How the heck would Gale know? Bewildering change like the new rooms and this recent, ridiculous expensive branding does not make for a successful future.

I'd rather the club play HOME GAMES AT HOME instead of crying 'poor' all the time and asking us to give extra money for a fighting fund so the club can pay that out on a poorly drawn and designed version of our already better, existing logo.

I'm over the hype. the 'future is bright' bs, "we need to get the finances right" bs, and change for change sake......just win enough games to make the Finals next year.

No more changes Benny. It's all hollow. Cut the crap. JUST WIN GAMES IN 2012.

Benny is doing a great job, your solution works in a country football comp if you have the cattle but in a proffesional league you need dollars to get the cattle, Benny is doing his best to generate that money, how can you say new training facilities dont make a difference, some of you so called supporters just make me shake my head, 30 years without success, but lets not change direction, instead we just tell the boys to go out and win, problem solved, cripes what do we even need a training ground for what a waste of money :rolleyes:

Unfortunately the current regime was in place for the 2009 ND , trade period and also when these players , who appear doomed , where re-contracted !
IMO the current regime have been way to adventurous in it's attempt to build the list , with the consequences only just starting to be seen .
When a group have been at a football club for 2 seasons, and used those two seasons to develop the list , and the generally consensus amongst the mug punter is that there is still so many who look unlikely to be at the club in 2 years, IMO it's poor list management !

agree with most of what you say...not happy with some of the contracted players at the moment..but our list was so poor that it was always going to take a few years..next year should see the back of most of these...

also look at the 2009 draft after pick 51 TT....hasbeens and promoted rookies...very very thin...still they have not found any diamonds in the rough
and you need to do this if the list is going to improve..our rookie pick over the past few years have been a disgrace

this is the best crop of youngsters i have seen for a long time..it will still take some time but the foundation is there..CC FJ and co now can not make any mistakes...morris maric getting pick 26 is a good start..need to delist 1 to 2 more players now to keep bringing young blood to the side and keep developing the list

still i am more happy with the club today than i have been for the past 15 to 20 years..

Im still unsure about our bottom ten each week.

Made up of blokes who probably wont be there in two years time and guys who we are hoping will be players. Whats more, Jackson will be amongst them each week for another year. Except the games he gets suspended for.

We will probably improve another inch.

I'm so glad Richmond sold Home games last year to gather 2 losses then spent the money on some 'Brand Experts' who would have charged us a bomb, who then presented us in meetings with what looked like a paste up primary school project, just so we would fall for a logo that looks like the hood badge of a car collaboration between a crappy Korean & Russian car manufacturer. :rolleyes:

The Home of the RFC Club now looks like a wasp massacre and now we have another "new direction" from the club with a poorly drawn, clipart-like Tiger.

Gale keeps pumping down our throats that we are heading in a new direction. The presumption is that this new direction is heading for success. How the heck would Gale know? Bewildering change like the new rooms and this recent, ridiculous expensive branding does not make for a successful future.

I'd rather the club play HOME GAMES AT HOME instead of crying 'poor' all the time and asking us to give extra money for a fighting fund so the club can pay that out on a poorly drawn and designed version of our already better, existing logo.

I'm over the hype. the 'future is bright' bs, "we need to get the finances right" bs, and change for change sake......just win enough games to make the Finals next year.

No more changes Benny. It's all hollow. Cut the crap. JUST WIN GAMES IN 2012.

Wow, he's back!

And he hasn't changed - just like he wants Benny and the boys to be like.

Personally I'd think if the club's been in the poo for thirty years, has false dawn after false dawn, drowns in debt, is dragged backwards by substandard facilities, fails at the draft table, and continues to be the laughing stock of the competition then change would be the first thing you'd want.

But no. Don't change anything, just win games!

Like telling an E student who never studies, "Don't do anything different, just start getting A's".

People think that the new logo is just a way to increase merchandising dollars? Of course it is! To pay the people who designed it and then to buy some better facilities and off-field personnel. Does anyone think that it's intended to motivate the players, send them into a fever pitch as they hit the ground, bursting through the banner screaming, "Do it for the cartoon Tiger"?

The new rooms are bewildering? Don't know if you ever went in the old rooms but they were worse than any suburban gym in town. They seriously made Average Joe's gym from Dodgeball look impressive.

Get good people and good facilities and the odds stack in your favour to produce better footballers.

Take the same ingredients from my fridge, my kitchen and my cooking, and give them to a three hat chef in a professional kitchen and things will taste a whole lot nicer.

And you're less likely to be poisoned.

We all want the success of thirty years ago, Delib, but the world has changed. It seems that only you and INXS refuse to believe it.

Wow, he's back!

And he hasn't changed - just like he wants Benny and the boys to be like.

Personally I'd think if the club's been in the poo for thirty years, has false dawn after false dawn, drowns in debt, is dragged backwards by substandard facilities, fails at the draft table, and continues to be the laughing stock of the competition then change would be the first thing you'd want.

But no. Don't change anything, just win games!

Like telling an E student who never studies, "Don't do anything different, just start getting A's".

People think that the new logo is just a way to increase merchandising dollars? Of course it is! To pay the people who designed it and then to buy some better facilities and off-field personnel. Does anyone think that it's intended to motivate the players, send them into a fever pitch as they hit the ground, bursting through the banner screaming, "Do it for the cartoon Tiger"?

The new rooms are bewildering? Don't know if you ever went in the old rooms but they were worse than any suburban gym in town. They seriously made Average Joe's gym from Dodgeball look impressive.

Get good people and good facilities and the odds stack in your favour to produce better footballers.

Take the same ingredients from my fridge, my kitchen and my cooking, and give them to a three hat chef in a professional kitchen and things will taste a whole lot nicer.

And you're less likely to be poisoned.

We all want the success of thirty years ago, Delib, but the world has changed. It seems that only you and INXS refuse to believe it.

Hey Haggard...

Nothing has changed mate.
(1) We are a sporting club who's League has a Ladder. Therefore we are results driven.
(2) We are a professional football club. So players are paid to achieve favourable results for the Club that pays them. (and you know where that money comes from) ;)
(3) In the end, Football Clubs are measured by the ultimate success by winning Premiership Cups.
(4) You can't win a Premiership Cup without enough wins.

I bet over the years I have written this a hundred times.

Nothing else matters. Everything else is fluff, just a plain diversion and harmful to getting to the crux of why the RFC exists.

We are here (or should be) to WIN.

Im guessing you will never run a large company and comprehend there is more to business than opening the shop door each morning.

You like your footy club simple: thats sweet: but dont roll about revelling in your naivety and dress it up as an insight. Ben and the Club are shifting mountains just to get this club move an inch from the entrenched mire we have been wallowing in for 30 years and that requires every tool at their disposal. Just opening the front door and saying 'eat em alive' hasnt worked since GR moved on.

I agree with posts above.. there is no hype from the club: what there is is a steady, consistent message that things are changing and most of all we are changing ourselves - which is what the problem has been. Consistent, steady message to galvanise the physical and emotional resources of the club and have us move together. Some respond to money, some respond to wins, some respond to branding.. but all of the changes relate to that same steady message: we're putting the right systems and processes in place, and with that will come success.

I dont want hype; I wont buy into hype (never will since the debacle of cousins first game).. but I will buy into the message and show patience and in my tiny way, reinforce the message

I'm guessing you just bought some beach frontage land for your newsagent stand done by the sea, sight unseen....until you found out that you'd be selling papers and dodging large container cargo out in the shipping channel!

A new logo using money from our 'Fighting Fund" with an accompanying movie based on waffle, with Benny & Newy spruiking a new direction? Not hype? You've got to be joking. :eek:

I've got some land you might be interested in 'company boss'.
Would you buy it from a picture or movie I whipped up? I can make you a pretty logo?
Would you believe my hype? Sounds like you would.

Results are facts Astro. Talk before any results is just plain hype.

A new logo using money from our 'Fighting Fund"

I'm not sure you understand this.

The club would be working like a professional business. Which means they would be dividing/allocating funds into appropriate areas of business. This logo would be coming from the marketing department's funds (I assume). It's similar to the roaring tiger that we introduced last year (Tiger Is Stirring). Yet you didn't complain that money from the FTF was being wasted on that??

This FTF money will be spent exactly as the club intended. Eradicating debt, resurfacing PRO, building war chest ect.

But what im trying to get at is how not only will Members react but the players to another year of no glory ?

how much can this club take as the next generations come through.

we could end up like melbourne D:

I'm guessing you just bought some beach frontage land for your newsagent stand done by the sea, sight unseen....until you found out that you'd be selling papers and dodging large container cargo out in the shipping channel!

A new logo using money from our 'Fighting Fund" with an accompanying movie based on waffle, with Benny & Newy spruiking a new direction? Not hype? You've got to be joking. :eek:

Would you buy it from a picture or movie I whipped up? I can make you a pretty logo?

I agree with the bold.. If we get smashed by the blues again it will signal another crap year and the video inspired members and future members for nothing.

the club is doing alot of talking and that isnt a bad thing !! we just need to start walking.

its our time to become great again? for me it sounds like i have herd thsi before :/

But what im trying to get at is how not only will Members react but the players to another year of no glory ?

how much can this club take as the next generations come through.

we could end up like melbourne D:

Glory? No problems with aiming high I guess...

I know how I would react to another year of continued improvement.
No shortcuts. If we get more wins on the board next season than we did this year and manage to do so with a list aged comparably (if not younger) to the one we had on the park in 2011, then that is a plus.

Also, for what it's worth. I actually really like the new logo.
Wasn't a fan when I first saw it on this forum a couple of months back... but it has grown on me considerably.

Re: The rookies all being dumped this year. Good! If they didn't show enough, get rid of them. Hopefully we can find someone who will come in and immediately grab their chance.

agree with most of what you say...not happy with some of the contracted players at the moment..but our list was so poor that it was always going to take a few years..next year should see the back of most of these...

also look at the 2009 draft after pick 51 TT....hasbeens and promoted rookies...very very thin...still they have not found any diamonds in the rough
and you need to do this if the list is going to improve..our rookie pick over the past few years have been a disgrace

this is the best crop of youngsters i have seen for a long time..it will still take some time but the foundation is there..CC FJ and co now can not make any mistakes...morris maric getting pick 26 is a good start..need to delist 1 to 2 more players now to keep bringing young blood to the side and keep developing the list

still i am more happy with the club today than i have been for the past 15 to 20 years..
All good buildings have good foundations and good builders don't take risks with foundations. The fascia or finishing touches is when you take risks our list rebuild IMO should have been more reflective or everyday logic of building !

Our ND selections over the past couple of years have wreaked of trying to snuff out any little unknown who may be better than any one else rates them .
Just take the best player available who has no luggage, whether it be injury or character !
As I've stated before, with our best 22 fit and firing we'll play finals , with more than 3 out injured we'll continue to look very vunerable and IMO we can't build a successful dynasty on poor depth ?

ok, lets play by your rules: "results are facts": Well, off-field Benny's results have been nothing but outstanding - both in terms of stablising the organisation, turning around the finances, actually putting long term funding plans in place, building new facilities, trying to restore the professional credibility of the club (through things like subtle rebranding via the logo) so that we can be more attractive and have a stronger hand in negotiating for sponsors, etc etc. Hows those FACT's Delib? If you dont class those as good results from the Club then clearly nothing will ever satisfy you.

Now, its true, Benny cannot put the ol' boots on himself and go out and play and deliver wins himself.. but what he has constantly said is: if we sort out the finances, if we put the right processes in place, if we plan for the future AND put more more money into the football department results will follow. Thats not hype, you poor lost proletarian waif, thats what we in the real world call a FGP ("****ing good PLAN") for those running the club to put forward and promote to its stakeholders and the market place generally.

Yet, for you, it seems that is not good enough. No no noooo. You call it 'hype' and instead want some kind of magic fairy wand that delivers wins on the field with nothing else being done to make that actually possible in the modern age of professional sport.

Yes, now I see your point: god forbid, those running the club and putting plans in place actually promote their plans and display enthusiasm for it. That is clearly wrong wrong wrong. Ben should be going around with his head down, ashamed to show his face because we (shock shock) arent winning every game. He should be handing his pay back to the club, and he should post a humble apology on youtube every week, preferably featruing some form of self harm with differnt kinds of blunt instruments.
Enought of this HYPE everyone.. lets go back to self harm.. because thats what the club has excelled at for 30years after all.

Incorrect.

Ok RFC Official, let's now try more than one word answers.

After being told, requested, informed, pleaded with all this year via various media means that the RFC was collecting money to financially right the ship that is the RFC, we are then told BEFORE this same year is finished that the RFC has re-invented the wheel by re-doing our historic tiger head logo.

I have these options when contemplating how this Logo Rebranding job was completed....

(1) The Logo Branding Company/Design Studio did the job for free, for many varied good meaning reasons. Is that a possibility?
(2) A benefactor of the club may have paid for the Re-Branding.
(3) The Club paid for the Re-Branding.

Most likely, if the Club paid for the Re-Branding, don't you think that it seems a little bit strange that after the club spent most of this year, selling games and pleading for even more money from anyone with a yellow & black connection, that the club would then turn around and then immediately spend money on something as frivolous, and as poorly executed as a new, not needed, Logo?

If the Club paid for the Re-Branding, how much did it cost?
Or, as a Member, where can I find out how much the new Logo cost?
If the Club paid for the Re-Branding, did I miss a mail-out or something asking if we needed a new Logo and if I, as a member, would like to vote on the proposition.

I didn't think we needed a new Logo. Who thought we did?
Who at the Club actually thought the earlier Richmond traditional Tiger Head Logo was no longer good enough or applicable to now and Season 2012 going forward?
Was there a vote taken at the Club or did one persion decide?

A Herald-Sun article dated June 23, 2011 says (alongside the new logo) that,
"This is one of the options Richmond is considering for a new logo".
The suggestion here is that there were many options. Where are they?
The article goes on to quote, "Richmond chief executive Brendon Gale confirmed today that the club was looking at potential options around logo design and use. But nothing has been finalised at this stage."
The article also says, "It was registered as a trademark by the AFL earlier this month". If this is correct, you do not trademark, Words, Wordmarks, Images etc, if they are part of a series of options. The process is costly, pointless and makes no sense. You only trademark FINALLY DECIDED upon branding.

Now at the bottom of the same article in the comments section, of the 69 people that responded, 51 people didn't like this logo, with most people questioning why the old Logo was going.

As part of the RFC digital watchdog how could you miss this dissent, or were there other more favourable polls you and the club looked at? What polls were these?

Who made the decision in a year where we were supposed to watch and gather every cent, that we need to spend money on such a frivolous and wasteful exercise? You know, in a short time, this already dated, new, ugly, clipart-like version of our once proud and historical Tiger head Logo will be shelved in favour or returning to our core, proud, realistic, original Tiger Head Logo.

The sad joke of this exercise is that Brendon Gale said on the unveiling of this Logo that, "We wanted a new logo that represents everything Richmond Football Club stands for".
My question is, so the earlier, realistic Tiger Head Logo we already had DIDN'T represent everything that the Richmond Football Club stood for? That's disrespectful to the past visual identity of the club.

And after recently being told that our new rooms 'represent Richmond' I guess it's fitting in this thread titled "The Hype" that I shouldn't be surprised, if one day the Hype Department of the RFC wrap a big pile of dog do-do in a yellow and black ribbon and then tell all RFC supporters that it 'represents all things Richmond'.

Cause we'd buy that story too......right?

quick go tell 4 Corners Deliberate; get Costigan onto it; there must be something on WikiLeaks about it too. Its a disaster.

Sorry Astro....don't rate anyone talking about the RFC from ouside Australia.

Be like me commenting on the inner workings of the Denver Broncos.

Tell it to 'The News of the World'.....

"2pm....time for High Tea"

Hows every one feeling about the expectations the club promoting?

" Looking forward to 2012" Dimma

with a new ambitious Logo and football out look do you think we have the goods to do what we want next year?

How would you feel if we lost to the blues by 100 points aka the FTF game :(

could we be setting up for a false dawn again?

Me, i am all for teh new logo and ambitious goals for 2012 as long as we can back it up :thumbsu:

Try and fail, but dont fail to try

RFC need to learn what to say and act and when to say it and act accordingly

aka don't say we are going to be relentless when we won't be on the field
(example FTF game.. we gave up)

aka Don't say we will pull a "big Fish" when we cant. (example Clark and Neil Craig)

by god "Try" but dont tell us show us

They didn't say that. You've made that up.

What's so historic about a 15yo logo ? It didn't exist before 1995. You're just making things up.

yes they did brosef and along with a "Judd like player" and " war chest from FTF"

didn't make it up

Show me a quote where they said they would pull a Big Fish and I'll take back everything I said.

When you can't find a quote, agree to stop pretending they ever said that.

I do believe the war chest and landing a big fish is related to free agency, end of discussion.

Also yes Deledio can be offered a big contract next year but the tigers will have the money to match it and keep lids a tiger. I'm fairly confident lids will remain a tiger after next season. If we did go after a big name this year then next year maybe we wouldn't financially be in a position to retain Deledio, think about it. So the goal is to keep lids and land a big fish which is very achievable.