Spluff

Steelers
Why is it that we can't make it through more than a couple of seasons without deciding it's time to bring in another load of fringe players from other clubs, whilst paying way over the odds?

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it."

And so just as we're ridding ourselves of McMahon, Thomson, Hislop, we decide it's time to have another crack at depth players from other clubs - and instead of taking them for nothing in the PSD or late in the ND, we decide to give up players who give their all for Richmond, players who are the heart and soul of the club, for some petulant B graders who want more opportunities.

Remember the 'no shortcuts' mantra? How about 'good kicks only'?

Oh well, it was a nice honeymoon while it lasted.

I want to know if Hardwick is being allowed input in these negotiations. I'd be very surprised if he's willing to deal Collins for Grigg. If he's not being consulted, then we have the same old issues as always.

I wasn't overly happy with the Tambling trade. I more happy for Bling then for us. I think we lost on that trade. Time will tell.

Now I thought that the club was playing hard ball and we were looking to add two middle of the road players for next to nothing. The cost looked cheap and we would add a lot of depth to out medium sized players.

But now this. If we lose Collins in a straight swap all my confidence in the recruiting department would be lost.

Craig Cameron has far from impressed at all.

I don't think we should be going nuts about it just yet, all I can presume (and hope) is that Carlton requested Andy. That's it. Nothing has been confirmed and we don't get caught up in half the rumours so why bother with this one.

Still shithouse to think we are going to **** up another trade week though. I'm trying to stay positive and hopefully we get through the end of the period feeling good about it all.

I want to know if Hardwick is being allowed input in these negotiations. I'd be very surprised if he's willing to deal Collins for Grigg. If he's not being consulted, then we have the same old issues as always.

not having a go here but this is typical of posters atm. if its something good and we like it it must be hardwick. if its deemed bad and we dont like it it must be someone else.

we have a team a footy dept hopefully who are all in the loop and all giving input. all on the same bloody page.
gone are the days i hope of the left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing.

if this is not so we are a rabble. hardwick is the front man with input but come trades and recruiting he had better be defering to those who are paid and put all their time in to do the job.

i would be most surprised if he has had no say at all it would show we have learnt not a thing

This is ridiculous, obviously Collins is not in our plans. We are not being ripped off. The fact is we need to get the trade done. Houli is coming in the PSD, we do not have 2 PSD picks.

Collins is Richmond's most overrated player on these boards. He's ok, though I think Grigg will suit us more. Good luck with Collins though. I secretly did not have him in our long term plans, so I am quite happy to free up the space. Obviously Dimma is of the same mind set if the trade goes through. I want to get rid of Thursfield as well, not part of the future plans.

I think the recruiting staff have done a brilliant job if they are able to get Houli in the PSD and Grigg for Collins. I didn't want Tambling on the list any longer and thought the trade was fair. Tambling will benefit from the trade, I think he'll reach his potential at Adelaide. His mind was all over the place at tigerland.

Collins, Tambling and Thursfields (hopefully) gone:thumbsu:...Houli will be a perfect fit for us. Do not know as much about Grigg but I trust the direction Dimma is taking us in.

Tradeweek radios review of Richmonds list will be on in 15 minutes BTW.

Why we so bloody interested in grigg anyway. If hardwick doesnt get to have a say in our trades our recruiting department should be sacked on the spot before collins is traded

Of course coaches get a say. What you reckon they are locked in padded rooms while trade week is on. You overrate Collins and Madtiger how many times you actually seem Grigg at any level of footy?

we give champs away? our list is pretty average and they are working to a plan of fixing it over the next couple yeas.

Step away from the computer and breath....its not so bad

Can we wait till it happens and then see all the details if it does?
Rarely are all the details known till the announcement is made official.

Where is DT007 when you need him/her?

This is ridiculous, obviously Collins is not in our plans. We are not being ripped off. The fact is we need to get the trade done. Houli is coming in the PSD, we do not have 2 PSD picks.

Collins is Richmond's most overrated player on these boards. He's ok, though I think Grigg will suit us more. Good luck with Collins though. I secretly did not have him in our long term plans, so I am quite happy to free up the space. Obviously Dimma is of the same mind set if the trade goes through. I want to get rid of Thursfield as well, not part of the future plans.

I think the recruiting staff have done a brilliant job if they are able to get Houli in the PSD and Grigg for Collins. I didn't want Tambling on the list any longer and thought the trade was fair. Tambling will benefit from the trade, I think he'll reach his potential at Adelaide. His mind was all over the place at tigerland.

Collins, Tambling and Thursfields (hopefully) gone:thumbsu:...Houli will be a perfect fit for us. Do not know as much about Grigg but I trust the direction Dimma is taking us in.

So nahas is?
Is White?
Hicks?

All crumbing opportunistic forwards? Al part of our future?

So we trade the best of that bunch, Richmond is forevere stuck in the 1983 loop.

I hope Grigg can hang 15 towels.

So nahas is?
Is White?
Hicks?

All crumbing opportunistic forwards? Al part of our future?

So we trade the best of that bunch, Richmond is forevere stuck in the 1983 loop.

I hope Grigg can hang 15 towels.

Whats wrong with Hicks mate? His played three games so I can't see how he is not in our plans yet?

BTW, This is a sick joke if we are going to be trading Collins when we could get Grigg in the PSD.

**** this club can be frustrating.

Well said. Missed the review. Anything stand out?

Grigg is a dud.
Houli is a dud.
Miller is a dud.

I'd rather pick 50. At least there is a slight chance we could get a gun then.

Why is it that we can't make it through more than a couple of seasons without deciding it's time to bring in another load of fringe players from other clubs, whilst paying way over the odds?

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it."

And so just as we're ridding ourselves of McMahon, Thomson, Hislop, we decide it's time to have another crack at depth players from other clubs - and instead of taking them for nothing in the PSD or late in the ND, we decide to give up players who give their all for Richmond, players who are the heart and soul of the club, for some petulant B graders who want more opportunities.

Remember the 'no shortcuts' mantra? How about 'good kicks only'?

Oh well, it was a nice honeymoon while it lasted.

I thought it has been the opposite in the past. Always trading away draft picks or using ND picks to pick up players rather than trading players and overrating our players until they are of no value. I'm not saying Andy Collins is no good, but the way this board has gone in to meltdown you would think he was in our top 5 players.

Well said!!

I just can't believe what I have been reading on these boards about the trade. I honestly see this as a WIN for us. Collins is no where near the player Griggs can be. Griggs averages over 20 possesssions in the few games he has played. He is an inside mid and I have no doubt the coaching department will be looking at using Cotchin, Martin and Foley more as running players next year rather than getting smashed. Having them as 1st receivers will benefit the team a lot more than having a skinny HF / wing playing for us.

And get over yourselves with the abuse!! OK we all don't have to be of like mind but there's no need to get personal. Time for some of you heroes to take stock.

Grigg is a dud.
Houli is a dud.
Miller is a dud.

I still rate them a tad higher than Thomson, Hislop, McMahon whom we have acquired in recent times under the Miller and Wallet regime!

Time will tell but I think you'll be probably right on that one.

It's just a bit concerning that's the same tactic of looking out for other club's fringe players (looking more a houli here)

Time will tell but I think you'll be probably right on that one.

It's just a bit concerning that's the same tactic of looking out for other club's fringe players (looking more a houli here)

...LES MURRAY is australian...

...and lives in nsw...

...not sure he is a afl supporter...:D...

Grigg is a dud.
Houli is a dud.
Miller is a dud.

Agree atm these players are duds (miller always was and i can't see what possible mentoring he could offer our better young players).

Also what i don't understand why we are after outside mids so much, we need a tall forward a lot more. If we are going after duds we might as well of gone after john anthony because he would have a lot more impact to the team than this two midfield duds.

Does anyone really see houli and grigg ahead of cotchin, martin, foley, edwards, jackson, tuck....morton. I certainly don't.

Agree atm these players are duds (miller always was and i can't see what possible mentoring he could offer our better young players).

Also what i don't understand why we are after outside mids so much, we need a tall forward a lot more. If we are going after duds we might as well of gone after john anthony because he would have a lot more impact to the team than this two midfield duds.

Does anyone really see houli and grigg ahead of cotchin, martin, foley, edwards, jackson, tuck....morton. I certainly don't.

It's called midfield depth, Houli and Grigg don't need to be better then the players you have mentioned, although I would say that they have much more potential then Jackson and Tuck.

Grigg and Houli give us alot of much needed run around the packs, Grigg can play inside and outside which is a bonus.

We pretty much dominated the clearances this year which was one of our strong points so to add both of those players will only add another dimension to it.

First off miller is going to be taken with our last rookie pick so no lost.Secondly the fact you want anthony means you have no idea.And no i dont think houli or grigg will be in front of cotchin,martin,foley,edwards and morton but i do think they will be an upgrade on jackson and tuck.