The Next Big Thing - Jake Stringer

Looks like the type that will have a day out and kick 12 or 13 and there won't be much you can do to stop it.
Against Adelaide in round 4 was one of those days

Kicked 6 by halfway through the 3rd quarter then got subbed out, might've kicked 8 or 9 if he didn't get tight hammies.

Definitely the next big thing. I am his biggest fan. If the Bullies could execute going forward, Stringer would've notched his 'ton' weeks ago.

Future forward that plays part time midfield, or midfielder that rests forward?
That's an interesting question. He is very much like Gazza snr. Doesn't seem to have a massive tank yet, but Gazza snr started on wing -hff.
I would think at the moment he spends about 15% in midfield, that might increase a little but i doubt for the next year or two he will run over 25% midfield.
Not being cocky but we don't require big bodied midfielders so it's a luxury to have him forward. Macrae, Bont, Koby and Lin Jong are big guys that run through the midfield. Obviously Jong is not a lock as yet but he is improving massively. Plus we have the smaller mids Wallis, Libba, Hrovat, Picken and Daniel. In fact we have too many mids, i reckon someone like Hrovat, Honeychurch or Jarrad Grant might be tradebait.
It is a good position to be in for a change.
I think Stringer when he is around the 25 yrs old mark might play more midfield and later in his career end up forward again.

I should find my post on the dogs board from a couple years ago when they were comparing Macrae and Stringer and alot of them thought Macrae would be the better player but you could see Stringer was a superstar of the future, Stringer is a freak.. He is capable of being anything

Imagine him and Hogan together in the forward line... The arrogance and strut and pure power would be like nothing before

I should find my post on the dogs board from a couple years ago when they were comparing Macrae and Stringer and alot of them thought Macrae would be the better player but you could see Stringer was a superstar of the future, Stringer is a freak.. He is capable of being anything

Imagine him and Hogan together in the forward line... The arrogance and strut and pure power would be like nothing before

Dogs supporters never rated Jake Stringer forget the 18+ pages previous guys.

Definitely the next big thing. I am his biggest fan. If the Bullies could execute going forward, Stringer would've notched his 'ton' weeks ago.

If he could kick straight from a set shot he'd be challenging Josh Kennedy, no joke.

If you're going to mention the goal that was 'wrongly' (debatable) overturned, then mention the goal that he got by blatantly cheating and taking Liam Picken's free kick because the umpires weren't paying attention. And goal of the year contender? He kicked the ball over his head from 2 metres out in the goalsquare. Kicking the ball a short distance over your head isn't hard. I could do that. If you're a reasonably coordinated person you could do that too. The guy is a very good player, but this post is off the mark.

I'm sure this post will get called bitter, and maybe it is, but that doesn't mean that it's not true.
It is bitter, and it's not true.

Hell no. I remember the excitement when Stringer was drafted, me being one of them. Most on our board thought Macrae would have a quicker impact due to fitness, but that Stringer had all the tools to be anything. Just needed to improve his motor and running gait, which is still a work in progress.

If you're going to mention the goal that was 'wrongly' (debatable) overturned, then mention the goal that he got by blatantly cheating and taking Liam Picken's free kick because the umpires weren't paying attention. And goal of the year contender? He kicked the ball over his head from 2 metres out in the goalsquare. Kicking the ball a short distance over your head isn't hard. I could do that. If you're a reasonably coordinated person you could do that too. The guy is a very good player, but this post is off the mark.

I'm sure this post will get called bitter, and maybe it is, but that doesn't mean that it's not true.

Regarding the Picken tackle... Picken actually let's go of the Port player and when the Port player drops the ball Stringer has a hand on him. So you could argue that even though Picken effected the tackle Stringer was holding the Port player's arm when he dropped the ball and the free kick was given.
Either way Stringer makes a habit of getting in the right spots to kick goals, you can't teach that.

While I do agree that Stringers goal was hardly a goal of the year contender, he could have easily had 5 regardless of the Picken/Stringer tackle. Odd to say he shouldn't have, he still kicked 4.4

I do feel bad for Tory Dickson - everyone still reckons he's a spud, but he's pretty damn good now. And it's all Stringer/Bont/Libba etc but Dickson is getting the job done too.

If the Dogs can get a couple of finals in Stringer could be looking at 55+. Reckon he'd be one to go big in finals, loves the occasion.

Nah, crap thread. Op is kidding himself thinking he'll kick 50 goals for the year and has a similar style to Ablett Srn. There's another 20 younger players that could be the next big thing. ;-)

Stringer's over the head goal been named a goal of the week nomination - String's third for the year.

Entertainment machine

The most selfish player in the AFL by a mile. So amusing to watch. Handball is not in his repertoire haha. Not being disrespectful; I love him. Seriously talented player. I wish Sonny Walters was as selfish as Stringer.

Going good - since the start of the year you can now add Cripps and Hogan. Heeney has superstar written over him as well. Stringer has had a great year.

If I had my pick I would take Hogan.

Fair call Billy. It's fair to say his jumped up in the top end of young talent. Choosing between Hogan & Stringer is like picking Carey or Ablett Srn. Really like the look of Heeney, Future Superstar without doubt.

The most selfish player in the AFL by a mile. So amusing to watch. Handball is not in his repertoire haha. Not being disrespectful; I love him. Seriously talented player. I wish Sonny Walters was as selfish as Stringer.
He lays them off just as often as he tries to have a shot. For example he could have tried to kick a goal but centered it for J. Grant for our first against Port.

Fair call Billy. It's fair to say his jumped up in the top end of young talent. Choosing between Hogan & Stringer is like picking Carey or Ablett Srn. Really like the look of Heeney, Future Superstar without doubt.
He is at the top end. Labelling any player a Carey or Ablett is very risky. Still would be good to put another name up with Carey and co in the GOAT discussions.

More goals v the top 8 teams would be nice. 7 of his 40.

He seems selfish at times but when you're freakishly talented why not barge through two players and snap over your body from 50m like he sometimes does?

It comes off maybe 60% of the time, whereas his set kicking is often poor.

He makes footy fun every time he goes near the ball.

And his mate Bont is starting to pick him out more regularly with that laser accurate boot of his.

My footy wish is that these two remain relatively injury free for the next few seasons, they will light up the football world like few have done before them.

He seems selfish at times but when you're freakishly talented why not barge through two players and snap over your body from 50m like he sometimes does?

It comes off maybe 60% of the time, whereas his set kicking is often poor.

He makes footy fun every time he goes near the ball.

And his mate Bont is starting to pick him out more regularly with that laser accurate boot of his.

My footy wish is that these two remain relatively injury free for the next few seasons, they will light up the football world like few have done before them.
You don't want him giving it off. Like Harvey at the Roos you want the best finishes shooting for goal. An extra handball can lead to a turn over.

Tom Lynch (Adelaide) disagrees with this post

The Next Big Thing - Jake Stringer