The off topic thread 4.0

• Thread starter Thread starter chef

Harvey Norman has been a shitshow for years. Increased earnings will be factored in and when they cant match them in the following reporting season they will tank.
Was largely taking the piss out of Harvey for being an insensitive twat.

Nation shutting down. Heaps out of work temporarily or permanently and the campaigner merely cares about $$$ and what items are doing roaring trade.

What the fork happened to society?

There is a video of a woman in a pub in Sydney told to move to to another table to observes social distancing, she got up angrily to leave and before leaving coughed in someone’s face. That shit is on camera, she should be found and fined a huge amount. As should every scumbag out there who thinks this is a joke.

Harvey Norman shares. Gerry was spruiking how solid business has been just today.
Yep billionaire gleefully enjoying profiting off the panic of the populous while millions around the country have to work from home, be stood down or sacked.

I really wanted to punch him, our lives are being teared apart to save many his generation and he's taking the piss about it. He's scum.

Boris has finally locked us down. Only pharmacies and food supply shops to remain open. Only allowed to leave your home to pick up food or medical supplies, but can leave your house once a day for exercise. Social distancing to be enforced with police now expected to be patrolling the streets to do this. Only key workers to carry on working.

All because millions decided to treat the weekend like any other. ****ing eejits

Boris has finally locked us down. Only pharmacies and food supply shops to remain open. Only allowed to leave your home to pick up food or medical supplies, but can leave your house once a day for exercise. Social distancing to be enforced with police now expected to be patrolling the streets to do this. Only key workers to carry on working.

All because millions decided to treat the weekend like any other. ******* eejits
I’d be OK with these rules if you could go to other people’s houses and have like a max of five there, but unfortunately they don’t want that happening either.

I don’t think I’ve played a video game since about 2008, but my mates downloaded World of Warcraft. Might grow a neck beard and get on it.

Knew it was coming but ******* hell.

It's not going to affect us too much at the moment, but this has come down like a tonne of bricks.

Crazy times, you and your family stay safe. In laws are shitting it, father in law in particular nearly 70 and often suffers from pneumonia. Coronavirus to him much more likely to be deadly. They're both staying at home and not venturing out ever.

I think it's taking a long time for people to realise how serious this is. Good that your in-laws are aware and are doing the right thing.

Too many still pissing about with it all.

Been thinking about what’s going on. Really it’s just all a massive inconvenience but in a way not much more than that. Because food supplies and communications are still functioning perfectly well there should be no need for mass hysteria or panic. The real worry is going to be the effect on western economies but governments seem intent on protecting them as much as they possibly can. Now people are starting to ask the question if the government has all this money to plough into the economy and protect businesses then why is it they only spend it in a crisis and why did we go through all the austerity measures to begin with? I’m beginning to think that there’s a possibility of a shift away from capitalism after this is all through. Depending on the damage done a more socialist approach may be the only viable option anyway

Flights have never stopped from the worst hit areas and still continue right now.
But we have to stay in for 3 weeks? how does that make sense if it isnt backed by a travel ban ?

Russia locked down travel in January and have zero problems.
But nothing was done here.

Flights have never stopped from the worst hit areas and still continue right now.
But we have to stay in for 3 weeks? how does that make sense if it isnt backed by a travel ban ?

Russia locked down travel in January and have zero problems.
But nothing was done here.

Yes, Alitalia still flying into London from Rome / Milan. Iran Air also. It's absurd. Should be cargo flights only.

I’d be OK with these rules if you could go to other people’s houses and have like a max of five there, but unfortunately they don’t want that happening either.

I don’t think I’ve played a video game since about 2008, but my mates downloaded World of Warcraft. Might grow a neck beard and get on it.
I have re-downloaded so much on my blizzard, steam and origin accounts since Sunday. Preparing for the apocalypse

Was there much resistance to this when you applied? I guess it depends on how much equity you have. Might be doing this myself shortly.

I think most are no questions asked for 6 months. Be nice if they waived interest but at least rates are low.

I'd actually rather they froze interest, I'd be happy to keep paying off my principle.

Was there much resistance to this when you applied? I guess it depends on how much equity you have. Might be doing this myself shortly.

There shouldn’t be too much resistance, one would need to demonstrate their hardship though. Also just factor in that it’s not necessarily a waiver of repayments, it’s a pausing/deferral. From my understanding, that would mean that in Fwoy’s example, that on month 4 he would need to then cover the previous 3 months of repayments in one lump sum. (I may be mistaken though, but point being keep an eye on the fine print and make sure it suits your circumstances).

I hover between a 5-6 mate. If construction and infrastructure projects ceased, it’d be a straight 10.

NZ borders shut to residents.

Meant to be moving back end of April which is now up in the air. It's the right move by Jacinda Ardern and hopefully they see dramatic improvement across the next 30 days to allow limited resident only flights. But who knows really

NZ borders shut to residents.

Meant to be moving back end of April which is now up in the air. It's the right move by Jacinda Ardern and hopefully they see dramatic improvement across the next 30 days to allow limited resident only flights. But who knows really

I have a mate coming back on Mar 31. Haven't heard from him this week, are flights still running for Aussies returning home?