The off topic thread 4.0

• Thread starter Thread starter chef

Yeah - it's either that or a surf for me. Can't really do that while waiting for the bride, though! Grats on the healthy bubs, also.

That's a good point. Appreciate it mate. Having an additional reception in Melbourne in two months, as all my family is down there. So the planning will continue after we've said our vows. I totally get the gist, though.

Excellent, thanks Glen. We have great people around us - I'll try and focus on that as much as possible. More than anything, I'm excited for this next chapter of our lives.

Haha yeah, I suppose it's an endearing quality - I'm just the exact opposite.

Thanks mate. :heart:

Wow, this is fantastic advice.

Pretty much everything is taken care of & catered for. My fiancé has organised the ceremony & reception to the nth degree. All I have to do is "turn up on time, and sober".

The wedding is at the beach, so it'll be tough to chill out anywhere adjacent to the venue (unless I decide to surf prior :sweatsmile:).

That's a good point - I'll voice this to her!

Thanks for all your help, mate. It means a heck of a lot. :cool:

No worries! If it's at the beach maybe you can just try to focus on welcoming people and getting them to their seats, talking to the celebrant, making sure they know the cues for when your bride walks down the aisle, I dunno, just little things to keep you focussed on the process, then before you know it the music will play and you'll get swept away. Most important thing: enjoy the day! It was over in the blink of an eye for me, and it's the most amazing day, so just enjoy yourself, it'll go fine.

My wife who gets anxiety issues is recommending that you have mints with you, apparently the minty hit can help distract you if you feel any anxiety coming on.

No worries! If it's at the beach maybe you can just try to focus on welcoming people and getting them to their seats, talking to the celebrant, making sure they know the cues for when your bride walks down the aisle, I dunno, just little things to keep you focussed on the process, then before you know it the music will play and you'll get swept away. Most important thing: enjoy the day! It was over in the blink of an eye for me, and it's the most amazing day, so just enjoy yourself, it'll go fine.

We have a rehearsal on Thursday so that will help my planning.

Amazing ideas, thanks so much. You've genuinely helped cool my nerves a little!

My wife who gets anxiety issues is recommending that you have mints with you, apparently the minty hit can help distract you if you feel any anxiety coming on.

True! I will stock up at the supermarket tomorrow or Thurs if I get a gap. You're a legend sir.

Cluggage if it's at the beach just go for a dip in your suit, I'm sure the mrs won't mind if you said it helped calm your nerves ;)

I thought you were a little younger.

Explains why you're always so grumpy :tearsofjoy: :kissingheart:
Depends on the day. My boss today thought I was younger - maybe due to my lack of experience in the sector I work in and thinking that was cause I was closer to a grad, or cause I look young with a clean shaven face. Then after footy I feel old.

Thought you were my age (33) or a bit younger.

I suffer a lot from anxiety and panic attacks myself (I wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy) and I find having chewing gum can sometimes help me when i am starting to feel unwell, but I will try mints now as well.

Sincere thanks to you and your better half for the tip. Greatly appreciated.

Many will disagree but UK now at a stage with their vaccine rollout and coverage in most vulnerable groups that sensible stepwise removal of restrictions should be considered, though I wouldn’t be yanking off the handbrake quite so fast as they’re proposing.

The UK is set to become a giant Petri dish over the next few months, a population level experiment with no real certainty over the outcomes.

Among the risks I’d be most concerned about in any strategy that consciously allows millions to become infected:
  1. Long-COVID: there’s still a lot we don’t know about this and likely won’t know for many years, but there’s growing evidence that as with other severe infectious diseases, a significant % of people infected with COVID (even the young) will end up with chronic neurological, cardiovascular and/or respiratory illness. What will the long term health and economic impacts of this be?
  2. “Letting a virus rip through a partially vaccinated population is exactly the experiment I’d do if I wanted to evolve a virus able to evade immunity” (Prof Steve Paterson, Director, Centre for Genomic Research, University of Liverpool).

Anybody watch How to Sell Drug Online Fast? It's so good, season three drops later this month. Cant wait.

What were you doing Googling that to discover the show mate?

088CC4BA-1644-4E8E-A1FC-2BDF2B15287E.png
V low testing rates across SW Sydney are a cause for concern. High potential for undetected transmission chains.

The announcement from the Feds today that they’re reinstating COVID welfare supports couldn’t come soon enough. As we’ve seen around the country over the last year, this is essential if you want cooperation from those in less stable employment.