Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

There wasn't much rougher then the Southern Aurora, saw 2 killed out the front there
I grew up in and around Doveton, The Prince Mark hotel in Doveton was only for the brave on a Friday night

Alright, maybe not that rough. I more mean places where they have Carlton draft on tap not $18 pints. I'd need therapy after that place.

Clayton has some pretty good Sri Lankan takeaways. There are 5 on Centre Road on the right coming towards Clayton Road.

There's a place in Echuca also, spiced confit duck and they did chili based ribs, were very nice but had a god awful zebra print mural that was, purge with fire goddamn.

Waiting for one the indian places to maybe pivot on my end, as what we have is much of a muchness, though am seeing more goat on the bone which is nice.

I stop in there sometimes on the way to Gippsland, it feels like a sleepy country town to me. It seems full of recent immigrants that keep to themselves. I mustn't know the good places to go. Franggers has improved heaps but go down near the mall there and it's like you are in south central. Someone told me that Doveton is still pretty divey.
It's stuck between urban centre and town.

They had that burst of small office towers in the 70s which look dated now.

It's stuck between urban centre and town.

They had that burst of small office towers in the 70s which look dated now.
It’s pretty flash down the Main Street now. They have a big new tower to date.

I love that that’s your idea of rough 😂😍

I was being funny, I've been to some of Australia's greatest shitholes. I went to a pub out in Liverpool in western Sydney that had a group of comancheros in it. We beat a couple at pool and they decided they'd rather beat us up. We did a runner and lost our luggage. I used to go to some of the real rough pubs in the city back in the day. I'm not good at fighting but I was good at running.

How can you not love 'The Hub' at Dandenong. It's like a timewarp to the 70s.

There is a mall out in Boronia that is like that. Nothing has changed in 50 years.

There wasn't much rougher then the Southern Aurora, saw 2 killed out the front there
I grew up in and around Doveton, The Prince Mark hotel in Doveton was only for the brave on a Friday night

The pub near the Station has been just a bottle shop for Decades now. My favorite Indian restaurant is across the road, i sometimes grab a bit of BYO there.
We sometimes took our kids to dinner at the Prince Mark ( youngest is 18 now ) because they had a good playground and good food at the time.

The pub near the Station has been just a bottle shop for Decades now. My favorite Indian restaurant is across the road, i sometimes grab a bit of BYO there.
We sometimes took our kids to dinner at the Prince Mark ( youngest is 18 now ) because they had a good playground and good food at the time.
The Southern Aurora got shut down years ago
TISM had a song about it
I'm 50ish LOL and drank at the Prince mark 30years ago shithole then and still is

Best comedian going around now is Shane Gillis. He just had more sketches released (behind a paywall) but this one was put on Youtube.

Uncle Daycare and ISIS Toyota are also classics.

Reminds me of your mate Joffa

Ah yes the ugly council building and the Department of Justice.

Other highlights are this 8 story carpark.

How can you not love 'The Hub' at Dandenong. It's like a timewarp to the 70s.

First one kinda reminds me of what is now a Harris Scarf, used to be a walk through rural place that had some manner of smoke shop that sold bits and pieces right next to a newsagent which was right next to a non descript shop that later would be an IGA and all I cared about for the time was it was in walking distance and there was a tiny arcade room in there.

It's what made me hate the colour orange as it was peeling and you could swear you smelled urine but no one ever said a thing and you just walked from the train line to a street.

Second image just showed that Dandy was far too upmarket to have an oh la la food court inside as opposed to a place with chiko rolls and not much else that doesn't fit in a warmer.