The Restump Podcast

Maybe it’s the build up and we’re over excited and maybe we’re getting carried away… but the Saints are going to need a Sunday prayer! Time to Restump Podcast preview Freo’s round one against Ross.

It is the first time since 2011 we have to face Ross Lyon as an opposing coach but we’d be pretty confident we’ll get a defensive oriented contest. To be fair to the Sainters they’re the walking wounded but that won’t stop a Ross Lyon team making it a hard grind.

Selection talking points surround Brandon Walker being overlooked for the deserving and returning Nathan Wilson and Freddy coming in off a light preseason to replace the unlucky Sammy Sturt. Could Sturty steal Bailey Banfield’s sub vest?

Great to see Josh Treacy command a gig and Liam Henry has been rewarded for his hard work and growth over the preseason.

With Ross Lyon reuniting with Bradley Hill, could we see the form of our former winger detrimentally return against us?

The people who thought Blake Acres was a steal and suggested we were crazy for letting him walk for a third rounder might have had a couple of second thoughts. Gotta take the good with the bad with Blakey Acres.

Despite getting around in the flashy digs on the golf course today, Jojo McDonnell didn’t really commit either way on the pre-game fashion show talk. However, the more practical Chief wants that putridly theatrical initiative knocked on the head quick smart.

Anyway, its almost here. Sunday lunch time our season gets underway as we break bread with and then toast the Saints! For a bit of a more exciteful than insightful preview, use up 40 minutes of waiting time with us.

Castaway.png

The only mark we didn’t make on the day was that in the win column. Tough day against a typical Rossco regime. But there’s no panic here, only pragmatism. Time to Restump Podcast review round one.

It was a tough loss to endure. Expectations were high, excitement was in the air and the Sainters had a ton of their best out. There was cause for optimism. Did we mistakenly overlooked the Ross the Boss component and his ability to deliver in spades something we should have seen coming?

Did Collingwood produce a step-by-step plan on how to dismantle us Dockers in last season’s semi-final? Ross mentioned he analytically went to town on that game and, as he has the knack for doing, got his young plucky chargers to reconstruct parts of it.

There is no hiding from the fact we struggled to cope with the defensive running of the Saints. It saw our slow possession play further suffer as we couldn’t get any run and carry going. Our forwards suffered as a result but their own systematic incoherence has to carry some of the blame.

A more measured assessment recalls that Fyfe, Jackson and, to a lesser extent, Treacy are all new components of a forward line that didn’t exactly enjoy great functionality last year. Practice matches and preseason games only reveal so much. Add in a Sam Sturt and a Josh Corbett into the mix and you can see we’re going to remain in experimental mode for a while yet.

With our mids getting demolished, should Fyfe have gotten the tap on the shoulder to venture in there and level up the contest?

Did the Sean Darcy and Luke Jackson combo, otherwise known as Jackarce, show enough in the debut performance?

Was Jaegar O’Meara carrying a bit more of an ankle that we may know?

There is so much to methodically unpack from what was, in context, a demoralising loss. There is no shadow of a doubt failing to bank those four points was an opportunity lost and one we may look back on with further grief come the end of the season.

But are we throwing the baby out with the bathwater? Well, babies don’t deserve that treatment and you know…. with water restrictions today…. I think we’ll hang on to both.

Its round one, it might be a simple case of getting stung and taken by surprise. Ross the Boss may have left us with some pain on Sunday but he also left us with the philosophy that failure is feedback. We get the benefit of the early loss to know what needs improving. Dwell in negativity and you’ll manifest more of it.

So join us as we dig deep, probably deeper than we dug out there on Sunday, into the wash up and look further into what went wrong, what went right, what was, what wasn’t, what could have been and what needs to be done.

Will we solve the purple problems? Highly doubtful but we’ll air the grievances, spin the positives and just enjoy having footy back.

Coxy.png

Round one is old news. It’s time to bounce into round two and Restump Podcast Freo’s Saturday evening Kangas clash. We really need to pinch the four points.

Yes, it hurt last week but the reaction was massively overblown. It almost makes you wonder if there is an outrage race? Who can be most the outlandish? Anyway, we said its old news so we move on.

It is Griff’s first home coming but, as interesting as that will be, we have bigger fish to fry… like not being zero and two.

Josh Treacy wasn’t on his Pat Malone in having a ‘Barry Crocker’ last week but it seems he drew the short straw. Given sub vest stalwart Bailey Banfield has been moved into the twenty-two at Treacy’s expense, was the move for structural reasons or has the Cyclone taken one for the team?

Josh Treacy, Jye Amiss, Matt Johnson and Sonny Walters are all in the mix for Banfield’s vest. Power of deduction suggests, Treacy and Amiss don’t have the versatility required for the role. Surely we’re not debuting Johnson under vest conditions? That leaves Sonny Walters and again, I am not sure how I feel about that.

After being over confident and catastrophically wrong last week, we’re trying to be gun-shy, or at least a little more reserved about our chances against North. But its too difficult… there is no way this Fremantle team doesn’t respond in the most emphatic of ways.

North won’t be a push over. They have a formidable midfield and obviously a wonderful coach, but we have their measure across the board. We do… don’t we? Please tell us we do!

You should never wish any precious time of your life away! Now that been said, we’re looking to offload as many of the tick tocks between now and early Saturday evening as we can because we can’t wait.

So, if you’re in a similar mode, there’s 40 minutes of nonsensical purple stuff to throw away here!

Cobwebs have been blown to smithereens; our season restarts Saturday.

SnitchBoner.png

How do we dig ourselves out of this deep hole we find ourselves in? Even if only to fast track the grieving process, its time to somehow Restump Podcast review whatever that was tonight.

It was a tough game to watch, a tough result to swallow and just as tough a game to talk about. I’d suggest we’re at a loss for words, but we can’t take two losses tonight!

Where are we? What are we doing here? Is this even real? Where do we go from here?

Is it a problem we could 4C? Cohesion, connection, composure and clearances. We’re lacking four and until we find the key and unlock the puzzle, we’re going to remain in some level of pain.

So, like us, if you’re in a current state of shock, if you’re devastated or disenchanted and you just need to work through it; lay down on the couch, get your ears comfortable and join the collective for a much needed therapy session.

Shovel.png

We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to Peel Thunder legend Will Schofield who generously took the time to join us to talk all things footy and Sunday's Derby. Time to Restump Podcast with Schoey.

It’s a bit of a different one this week and while we covered a lot of ground we use the “preview’ term very loosely. To be honest, the only disappointing thing from our Fremantle oriented perspective was that… Will Schofield is just too nice a guy!

As we edge close to the Bulldogs game we release a sneak peek at the racket that is our round six Rory initiative and it’s safe to say Will Schofield is a buyer!

Plenty more and we bring it home with a Neighbourhood Watch segment with a lot of guest engagement.

If you’re throwing away 40 minutes and you don’t care for the health of your ears, by all means bung this nonsense in them.

Podcast | T H E Restump P O D

Schoey.png

Did Freddy flip the birds in more ways than one? It probably should have come with a “don’t try this at home" warning. Time to Restump Podcast review yesterday’s season saving victory.

Are we seeing our own Rachel Hunter moment? “It won’t happen overnight, but it will happen.” Forget the result, it wasn’t perfect yesterday but the applied and executed game plan, it was a big step in the right direction…. not to mention so much more exciting.

Again, it is far from the polished final product but faster ball movement saw a much more functional forward line.

Yes, West Coast fans can cry injuries as excuses all they want but at the end of the day it’s a war of attrition. It is survival of the fittest.

How good it was to see Luke Jackson perform after the despicable treatment he copped by The West last week? Did Jye Amiss just cement his spot and what about the great Sonny Walters? Vintage Sonny!

Two Rosco Allans for Caleb Serong who was back to his brilliant best. Andy Brayshaw had a quieter game but was there doing Andy Brayshaw things when we desperately needed them.

Jojo has the full details on our Round Six Rory campaign and the Lobster Tears beverage and he has some developing news on a potential pod guest. Unfortunately, we have to endure The Chief taking a crack at a recent guest and of course he wants to talk dissent.

There is so much to chat about and we can’t wait. So, if you want to continue the moment, enjoying the win and talking everything and anything Fremantle footy… pour yourself a pint, park your piece, purple up and press play!

FreddyFlip.png

Ok we’re just having too much fun now. We’re like big kids in a Lobster Tears liquor store!

We've been chasing him for quite a while but we couldn't get past his still rock-solid defences. However, the great Bob Murphy has now generously given us an hour of his precious time and yes… we asked why as well.

Whether he was carrying an injury and we exploited it or, more likely, he thought 'bloody hell... I'll do this and hopefully they'll leave me alone'... we don't know. The point is though the universally loved former Dog now Docker actually gave us the time of day to have a chat.

We had little time to prepare but hopefully it is as enjoyable listening to it as it was recording it.

That's enough from us, it is time to let Bob do the talking.

BobcastMurph.png

The switch doesn't seem flickable, we threw the bathwater out two weeks ago and its probably the baby's turn to go! Have the wheels completely fallen off? Time to somehow pick up the pieces again and Restump Podcast today’s massacre at the Crow Chateau.

When you’re struggling for form often the answer is you go back to the basics. The question is though what do you go back to when you’re butchering the basics?

Most players out there had mares today. However, Caleb Serong should be passing around the hat to pay for the extra physio he’ll need on his shoulders from carrying the workload!

It was actually a game of conflicting emotions and extreme emotional swings. There was the deep frustration at the lack of simple ball skills but then there was the somewhat neck saving from the noose realisation that despite the belting on the scoreboard, we each went inside 50, 51 times.

Sure, it’s obviously cold consolation, but a tad of finesse and composure and some sort of a functional forward line and we’re in competitive territory, despite the issues across the board.

Speaking of such a forward line, with two Joshs’ Treacy and Corbett and a Sam Sturt hovering, will any of the trio get a look in? If we have a fit foot on a Fyfe, does he replace the struggling Matty Tabs? If nothing else it will be an interesting week at the selection table because surely a message has to be sent after a performance like that one today.

But anyway the reality is we’re one and three and probably one loss away from the 2023 curtains. It’s a little disheartening and not the position we thought we would be in at the start of the year.

However, as Bob Murphy mentioned on the recent pod, there are no certainties in footy because the ball is an oval shape and its unpredictable. At this point in time we’re willing to put our faith in Bob’s words.

It was an uninspiring game and it probably makes for an uninspiring review. But Jojo has quite the analytical mind and sharp football brain so maybe he’ll have some answers for us.

If you can muster up the effort and intent that was lacking out there today, dig deep and put your head over the Restump podcast ball, then there are 40 minutes of pondering the whys, the how’s, the what happened and the what happens next, right here.

CalebWheels1.png

It may be akin to the turning of the Queen Mary but there is proof of purple life. Our latest somewhat therapeutic take on where we Fremantle fans and our club are is available on the link below or the Restump Podcast website for anyone interested.

Chance.png

Sammy Sturt returns after almost two years to the day. Four games, five goals in a Freo forward line… fill your boots, Sammy! Time to Restump preview podcast Friday’s vital game against the Suns.

It is simply a must win game. Coming back from one win and three losses is doable but coming back from one win and four losses is near on impossible.

It is pretty exciting to see Sammy Sturt finally get back in the team and it will be interesting to see how different the forward line functions.

We welcome mature age recruit and former North Melbourne and Melbourne player, Corey Wagner who may bring some much-needed age and experience… well 19 games of experience anyway!

Matt Johnson comes into the starting twenty-two and its comforting having flipper Freddy back in the fold.

Given we both obviously struggle to score, Gold Coast being in a very similar precarious position as us isn’t the only problematic issue we share. So, this game could well be won by who manages to not quite score the least!

Well with this game being shunted to a suburban ground at the weird Friday afternoon time slot of 3.10pm WA time, we’ll get to find out soon enough.

We have a chat about the Fyfe injury and the Suma misinformation, Andy Brayshaw’s knee niggle and Jojo gives us an update on Round Six Rory campaign and Lobster Tears.

If you’re looking for something to throw some minutes away on between now and the game…. read a book or talk to your family! But once you’ve done that feel free to listen to this racket.

SturtNorwood.png

The price of gold is sky rocketing and Sonny just keeps producing it. He may well be the first player to ‘sort of’ bookend a coast-to-coast play. Time to Restump Podcast the season saving win over the Suns.

All we were after were the four points. It was quite simple, lose and we were done and dusted. Win and there is proof of purple life.

It wasn’t the most polished performance and, to be fair and balanced, the Suns were on the treadmill in the last quarter. But it is a war of attrition and the reality is if you’re out there you’re classed as fit.

Sonny Walters kept us alive in that first half and he was joined by Caleb Serong who put in an unbelievable four quarter, three vote winning, captaincy signalling performance.

Kicking 3 goals 2 and giving one off to Matt Johnson, Jye Amiss suggested it should be a long time before we see him at Peel again. His leading at the ball carrier… we had joyous tears in our eyes.

We need to persist with Sammy Sturt who showed glimpses of his capabilities, while Schultzy was typical tough hard workmanlike Shultzy. He somehow got hit by a MacPherson truck at speed and the truck came off second best.

While the second gamer Ned Moyle put up a spirited effort, Sean Darcy was all over him and, just quietly, the Jackson knockers would be getting a bit nervous as he’s on the verge of a monster game.

The somewhat different forward line showed signs of functionality and in a reversal of recent form our midfield got on top and took the contest. The four points was the primary goal but the added bonuses we’ll gladly accept.

We ask if Gather Round was as good as the hype? Did the Stealth jumper work? Did Jack Lukosius have covid? If not, why did we treat him as if he did? And does Corey Wagner need to have the rust wire-brushed off him?

We’re alive in season 2023 and it’s off to Optus Friday to play the much anticipated grudgiest of grudge matches against Rory and his Western Rovers. Our Round Six Rory campaign will kick into high gear this week but we got bowled over in the rush and it looks like we’ve sold out of the Lobster Tears!

Anyway, further details on the pod so as always if you’ve got nothing better to do and you can’t find anything better to listen to, then, as long as you’ve double checked, you’re more than welcome to join in on our nonsense here.

GoldCoastSon.png

Hey The Restump Podcast this is some awesome stuff! Let's find a way to get this promoted over on the Freo board.

Been a big week at the Restump and we’re keen to get back to talking actual footy. Time for some ‘English’ lessons as we Restump preview podcast tomorrow night’s Len Hall clash against Rory and the Rovers.

It’s been a riot and we’ve had a boat load of laughs but its nice to get back to talking about the game. We’re two and three after five games…. If we’re three and three after six we might start to believe we’re back on track.

The Dogs are somewhat in the same boat as us, and in more ways than one. They’re two and three, their ball movement isn’t super and they struggle to score. But with the Bontempelli’s, Treloar’s Mcraes and Naughton’s…. if they click they can be slick!

But let’s not undersell their opponents! A James Aish will be ready to go to work in the middle if necessary, the almost unstoppable Caleb Serong, future captain Andy Brayshaw and Will Brodie at their collective best are as good as what’s going around. And let’s not forget about a confidence feasting Jye Amiss and the evergreen Sonny Walters!

Tim English could actually hold the key here. He’s been in startling form, both in advantageous ruck craft and possession around the ground. Jackson and Darcy, otherwise known as Jackarce, hopefully have taken English lessons and know how to exploit him.

In case you haven’t heard…. Rory is back in town! This could be one of the most amazing crowd experiences at Optus tomorrow night and we can’t wait. Far be it from us to tell punters what to do, but we’re sure 99.99% of us know where the line is. Let’s go our hardest, make it as hostile as possible and one for the memory books.

The Lobster Tears has sold out but for those in the vicinity of Secret Harbour, The Harbour - Sports, Bar, Grill has limited supply. They are offering them up tomorrow evening and are doing a giveaway. So, check in with them if you’re keen.

Plenty more game talk on the pod and we hear about something regarding a journalist that has gotten under the skin of the usually calm, measured and unflappable Jojo McDonnell. Believe it or not, the Chief brings us home after reviving the segment we all hoped was dead and buried, the Neighbourhood Watch.

So, the hours between now and bouncedown are fast counting down but there might still be room for 40 minutes of Restump nonsense.

EnglishTest.png

We don’t know if it will be back but we’ve had salt rubbed into our wounds, the main event ended on a sour note and we’ve drunk the last of the Lobster Tears. Time to put it to bed and move on.

LobbCover.png

Was it the Boomtown Rats who sang, “Tell me why, we didn’t want Mundy, tell me why..?” Speaking of expressive music, is the great man sending us some sort of signal with his Carole King cover here? Sadly, it’s time to Restump Podcast the Friday night washup.

If the Bulldogs were actual canines, they’d have been rounded up and impounded for the mauling on Friday night. We started picking up the pieces Saturday morning but its tough task and we’ve still got a few days work ahead of us!

Are we over complicating the issues in looking for reasons? Are we ignoring the reality that we’re literally relying on a list of kids? Everything starts in the middle and when you go in with almost 500 games less experience and almost 4 years younger than your opponent’s just in the centre, do we start asking ourselves, how did we not see that potentially coming?

This isn’t giving the club an out because it isn’t the only issue but it does kind of feel we’re starting from behind the eight ball and we’ve little to no option to do otherwise.

Are we finally coming to the realization that we may have over-achieved last year? There were a number of wins under two kicks and a draw with Richmond. The age and experience we allowed to leave will help us in the longer term but did we over estimate our ability to cover it in the short term?

Are these debatable lines of thought too simplistic? Are they the foundational problems on which others have developed?

It was a magnificent week, a sensational build up but a devastating anti-climax. The last seven days epitomized the extremes of the Freo Docker supporting roller coaster ride experience.

Let’s get into it, Jojo McDonnell’s footy brain and insights are as sharp as anyone’s so he’ll have some answers… hopefully!

So come along for the chat, our spirits need lifting, we all need to bind together, lean on each other and talk it out.

KingMundy.png

We've had an international correspondent come on board The Restump Podcast who will be writing a few articles from time to time. Sheahan "Biscuits" Arnott's first piece is an insightful and entertaining read.

BazBall.png

The captain has had it rough of late and copped his share of heat but let’s not forget how good he actually is. Never a better time to respond than when you’re entering the Lion’s den. Time to Restump Podcast preview Saturday’s rumble in the Brisbane jungle.

There is a lot of Docker disappointment and disenchantment around and for a season full of, so far, failed expectations, it is understandable. However, sometimes you need the almost impossible challenge to snap you out of the trance.

There is arguably no bigger challenge right now than meeting the current Lions on their home Gabba deck. It is a ridiculously tough task any time but, at the moment, when the Brissie boys have gone all in over the last three weeks, clicked up a gear and set their season up… it’s an even scarier proposition. Add to that that we’re just 4 wins from 15 attempts at the Gabba… holy Christmas!

We welcome back the vitally important Switta who should add some much needed speed and bite while the Disco has been asked to join in and bring his dance moves. Freddy is out for a month with the quad injury and Corey Wagner has been given a spell in the twos.

The milestone men, Jimmy Aish and Jaegar O’Meara, each play their 150th. And coincidently they both play it at their third club and in the state they both started their careers in. If you listened to their press conference today you kind of got the feeling Jaegar is about to release the shackles.

As far as the game goes, who stops Charlie Cameron? Can we at least curtail our former man, Lachie Neale? Recent dog Josh Dunkley is a handful, Joe Daniher is in decent nick, Jack Gunston can get under or over your guard and while Cam Rayner has been in the system a while now, he’s starting to show why he went at pick number one in 2017. We could go on and on because on paper the Lions have heat on every line.

No shortage of happenings, the Dees are going hard to get pick one, Jacob Weitering coughed up a few bucks, Tassie looks like they’re getting a Stratco shed and the Sicilian might just get a Sicilian welcome next time he ventures to the Apple Isle. Plenty going on, except panic. There’s no panicking going on, the panic button has not been pressed!

So, all that in further detail and a $750 million dollar Tassie shedload more in this 45 minutes. It’s been a negative week but we’re at that point of the cycle where we’re moving into hope and optimism. If you’re keen to throw away some valuable minutes of your life…. you couldn’t do much worse than listening to this nonsense.

Lion.png

Gotta hand it to those Maccas marketers! They’ve just increased their Fremantle foot traffic by over 70%. Time to Restump Podcast review Saturday’s hot and cold patched performance against the overpowering Lions.

We got a look at a fast pace free-wheeling Freo side and at times it looked competent. But game styles are irrelevant when you struggle to perform the basics. There is no other way to frame it, it was a dropped mark and fumble riddled performance.

There was a suggestion humid dewy conditions were playing havoc… except they didn’t seem too problematic for Brisbane, Brandon Walker and Jordan Clark!

It was a near on 50-point thumping but had we taken the chances we created, it may well have been… maybe not a different result… but a more respectable scoreboard. Yes I know, coulda woulda shoulda!

Controversial call…. we don’t know about everyone else but we saw patches and green shoots to suggest we’re not too far away. We’re prepared to say the widespread expressed disappointment is greater than the issues.

Sure, the clearances are lacking, our urgency could be upped, proactiveness would be nice and some cohesion would be handy but the nucleus is there, and it’s a nucleus of talented kids a couple of years away from where their Brisbane opponents are now. Some tinkering and polishing up of the rebuild, some aging and some games into them and the disappointment will subside.

This isn’t to sugar coat Saturday because again if you can’t hit a handball on the full, kick to advantage, take a simple chest mark and get in your opponent’s personal space… we’re simply Talking Heads and we’re on the road to nowhere.

We’re not the most skilled in the league at our best but we’re better than what we dished up Saturday. Lachie Schultz doesn’t turn it over 6 times in 16 touches, neither does Sonny do likewise from 11 disposals!

Where to now? Will Fyfe come back and be impactful? With Corbett and Treacy looking for opportunity, where does that leave Sturt? Should Erasmus be almost guaranteed a long term spot this year?

If we’re persisting with the fast pace running game, is Ethan Hughes on shaky ground? Surely that’d suit Liam Henry’s game? Do we need to check Colin Young’s white board now that Kozzy Picket has re-signed?

Enough of that all that here, its time to get into it.

Nothing to overly celebrate but plenty of chatter to be had. So why not join us for this hour of Freo fanfare as we’ll no doubt ironically fumble and bumble our way through not only Saturday’s critique but all the other usual Docker drivel as well.

Burgers.png

Talk about eyes on the pick one prize! Resting their equal leading goal scorer in a team struggling to score? The Hawkers aren’t leaving anything to chance! Time to Restump Podcast preview Saturday night’s much anticipated 2013 grand final rematch. (Yeah.. I know that’s overdoing it)

Does it sound like the Hawks’ priorities aren't necessarily on securing the ultimate draft pick hindering 4 points? Freo, on the other hand, are we done? Are we alive? Are we currently treading water in purgatory contemplating the glass half full, half empty positions?

Nat Fyfe is back and that surely has to give everyone on and off field a lift. Starting as the substitute seems a strange decision but we’re not privy to the information behind the move.

Great to see Josh Treacy return after a couple of solid hit outs and ten marks last week at Peel while Freddy re-joins the experimental forward line as well after recovering from injury quicker than expected.

Sad to see Sammy Sturt has been sent back to the twos. Admittedly he had a shocker last Saturday but he wasn’t on his Pat Malone and his previous two games showed encouraging signs.

For the second time in a few weeks, Will Brodie also found the axe above his neck. No doubt he’ll go back and dominate Peel’s midfield but he probably has to bring a bit more to the senior side when he next gets an opportunity.

Despite the resting of players, the Hawks that take the field won’t be resting up. They’re a plucky young talented group and they won’t make it easy for us. James Sicily is one of the best going around down back, Mitch Lewis is going to be a gun forward, Dylan Moore always dines out on us and they’ve done pretty well picking up forward Fergus Green as a mature age recruit.

It will be nice to see Lloyd “Braun” Meek back in WA and you can imagine he’ll want to put his best foot forward…. or his best knee in a Darcy or Jackson kidney. Good contest this week with Darcy and Jackson (JackArce) taking on Ned Reeves and Meek.

You’d be an optimist to think we’re still alive in season 2023 as far as finals are concerned but stranger things have apparently happened. However, really in this game we just need to see some system, some structure, some composure and some cohesiveness.

The worrying aspect here is that this is a game in which there is little to gain but plenty to lose. That alone creates pressure and pressure does funny things.

We’ve got no first round pick to worry about so lets just go hell for leather and win whatever we can win.

And on that note, let’s get into it. Unless you’ve got sock drawers need tidying, grass growing or paint drying that needs to be watched. Relax, pull on your Captain’s special no panicking bucket hat, bung this nonsense in your ears and join us for 45 minutes that you’ll never be able to get back!

Hawks.png

At The Restump we adhere to the ‘one in all in policy.’ We win and lose together. However, when you write a eulogy and tip some soil on a grave before the recipient is yet to kick the bucket…. Sorry Sheahan Arnott.... you’re on your own here!

To be fair, upon reflection, our UK man (Biscuits Arnott) did suggest that, “Perhaps, in true Tabs fashion, I put the boot in and it didn't go entirely where I'd intended.”

It is actually a very good and timely read, even if we do have some concerns about Biscuit’s in-depth knowledge of, and seemingly indulgence in the numerous Royal families.

Tabs.png

He’s really just back in his rightful place so it’s more of a re-coronathan. Everyone walks a bit taller when the King of Fremantle takes to the field. Time to Restump Podcast review the conspicuously undemanding win over the Hawks.

The dice was rolled on the sub vest and it paid dividends. While it wasn’t entirely our fault, the game was well and truly under control prior to Fyfe entering. But the re-insertion of great man into the middle showed just how much we have missed his big mature body around the ball and his influence on the contest.

However, as comforting and as thrilling as it was to see Nat Fyfe run out onto the ground, it was the performance of another that was more point approvingly satisfying. Like West Coast Eagles fans now at half time, the Luke Jackson knockers were rapidly disappearing.

Speaking of disappearing… Andy Brayshaw’s knee niggle. 34 disposals and 2 goals in a very welcomed “I’m back to my best” performance.

But individuals aside it was all about the collective and its ability to show the composure with ball in hand, a much-improved skill level and a more productive balance of fast and slow ball movement.

We had our No Panicking bucket hats on standby ready to put on for calming impact but they were never required as the game never felt out of control. Let’s be honest it wasn’t just England where a procession was taking place.

However, despite the win and the more polished performance, there is little to take out of this game in terms of flick switched form. There was an uptick in system and a nod of appreciation for the increased cohesion but… let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

It was a relaxed, cantering Hawthorn who seemingly have become motorcycle enthusiasts showing great interest in obtaining a Harley of the non-Davidson variety!

But quality of opponent and season talk aside, it is just nice to see some positive and productive Freo footy resulting in a much-needed player and fan morale and spirit boosting victory.

Booing Buddy Franklin. We’re not booers but have we really reached a point in society where we’re lectured on personal expressions? Is Matt Rowell taking veganism to even further extremes? And what could the Starlight Foundation kids have done that has them in an episode of the Neighbourhood Watch?

Let’s get into it. We’ll cover all the nonsense and go through the game in finer detail while basking in the glow of the precious four points. Could that easy kill be the confidence catalyst leading to some recalibrating season form? It is never as good or as bad as it seems.

Coronathan.png

The SCG trip usually sees our plans go a rye. But a travelling Sean Darcy and Nat Fyfe combo… it is the best thing since sliced bread. Let’s quit loafing about and Restump Podcast preview the clash against the Swannies.

Four wins from eighteen attempts against Sydney at the SCG doesn’t exactly suggest happy hunting ground does it? However, we may just be getting the Swans at the right time. They’ve lost a further couple of key players and their season to date isn’t overly flash.

We’re both three and five and we’re in 11thand 12th respectively, with Sydney nudging us out occupying just a four-point superior percentage. They’ve only beaten Gold Coast Richmond and Hawthorn but they are a four goal better side at the SCG than they are away.

We’re not getting ahead of ourselves by any stretch of the imagination but we’re starting to raise a hopeful eyebrow with the view to move into cautiously optimistic territory.

Swans have lost Tom McCartin and Peter Ladhams which is pretty handy for us. McCartin’s out further stretches their defensive capabilities and Sean Darcy and Luke Jackson (JackArce) now go up against an underdone Tom Hickey and Hayden McLean combo.

We’re going in with an unchanged list, probably the best sub that has ever been and measuredly high on confidence after the performance against the Hawks.

The Swannies still have the seasoned campaigners such as the Heney’s, Franklins, Parker’s and Papleys so they have it in them to resurrect themselves. And all too often we have seemingly played teams and individuals into form over the journey. But there has been a change in mindset and a freeing up of possible shackles in recent weeks at Freo and it has led to a more polished display.

It potentially comes down to the midfield battle and the fortunes or misfortunes of Tom Papley.

Jojo is in his element with a couple of press conference sound bites, we’ve tried to make sense of the booing rules and guidelines and the Chief is campaigning for the inclusion of more taunting in the game.

We go through the game in finer detail, cover Suma’s nothingness and come up with a whole heap more bunk which isn’t outside the realms of possibility it may actually be dumbing us all down. But hey, what’s footy without the coinciding nonsense!

Bring on the Swannies and that Milo tin lid of a ground!

Leaving.png