The Rookie Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

Crowked said:
Yep, that and the rumor mill is all I have.

I think we had a great chance to sneak a couple of real good ones and we blew it. If I were rating the players we had with us Griffen and Hinge come after 10. Nye is a back pocket, great value for our first pick :rolleyes: .

I hope Im wrong but sincerely doubt it.

I agree with everything you have said Crowed! Once again the oppurtunity to pick up some very talented youngsters & we let Port kick our a$$ again :mad:

Pearce & Grundy should have been on the top of the list....What about Fisher i thought he was burning at training!!

Why Griffen??? - Enough ruckman already :mad:

Riddler said:
Once again the oppurtunity to pick up some very talented youngsters & we let Port kick our a$$ again :mad:

It's often too early to judge draft performances after two years, yet you've come to this conclusion after 5 minutes? Have you even seen Nye?

RooDog said:
John Hinge

im not going to say told you so but i put a thread up about him before the rookie camp list was announced and said he was a strong possibility to be rookied. I rate him highly, hes not scared to put his head over the ball and i see him playing as an on baller or a mid sized forward. he is about the 185-188cm mark and held down centre half forward this year at SHC and also had a run on the ball at times. he is a solid lad already and probably has the body ready to step straight into the AFL, i think he could be a real steal in the rookie draft.

Now that does sound promising.

Let's face it fellas most of us know jack-******** about these players. We all get carried away with all the hype relating to certain names. For example, this year it was Pearce (who didn't go till pick 16) and Grundy (till pick 42!). If Pearce is as good as everyone says he is, then why wasn't he picked up in the Natl Draft, or PSD or picks 1-15 of the RD? Clubs must have concerns about his game. Pace isn't everything.

Furthermore, we all know that most rookie-listed players fall by the wayside without ever playing AFL footy.

I'm sure our recruiters worked their butts off to pick the 'best available' and my only criticism would be the selection of another ruckman in Griffin. 7 ruckmen out of 44 listed players is definitely overkill. Still, I notice that Griffin is only 196 cms tall which is on the short-side for a ruckman. Maybe, Crows have him in mind as a KPP (although apparently he doesn't take many marks...gulp...)

Benefits of having unlisted players train with you
1. To determine their strengths relative to the rest of your squad
2. If you draft them, they are already somewhat integrated.

Thats it. Now, just because you don't draft from the group you have training with you, it doesn't mean that it wasn't worth having them training with you. Clearly your guys considered them to fail as part of question 1.

**** said:
When it comes to rookie listing, teams are really scraping the bottom of the barrel. The number of rookies that actually make it would be quite low. So when your picks come around you've got to go for the best available, the player you think is most likely to make the grade one day. If that's a ruckman then so be it. No point taking a midfielder that won't make it just for the sake of team balance.

It doesn't worry me too much. If a few of our ruckman come good then we can just trade away what we don't need. Decent ruckmen have good trade value.

Very very well said.

RooDog said:
John Hinge

im not going to say told you so but i put a thread up about him before the rookie camp list was announced and said he was a strong possibility to be rookied. I rate him highly, hes not scared to put his head over the ball and i see him playing as an on baller or a mid sized forward. he is about the 185-188cm mark and held down centre half forward this year at SHC and also had a run on the ball at times. he is a solid lad already and probably has the body ready to step straight into the AFL, i think he could be a real steal in the rookie draft.

Is he aggressive RD?

**** said:
RooDog is Hinge the guy with the long curly blonde hair?

yes he is. blonde curly hair with very fair skin, almost looks like an albino:p

crowboy Hinge will be at Glenelg next year because he played 17s, 19s and i think a couple of ressies games down there this year in the school holidays. also forgot to add he has very sound hands to, whether it be taking a mark or picking the ball up off the ground.

RooDog said:
John Hinge

I hope he can play in the midfield, because we already have Welsh and Jericho as 'mid-size' forwards.

I am a little bit disappointed that we didn't go for midfielders in the Rookie draft, and I'm not sure about another ruckman if he is only 196cm, and not much of a mark-taker.

I would have thought that Fisher would be an excellent addition to our rookie list, as someone who could step into AFL immediately if required and do a stopping job.

Still, I agree with ****, and we simply have to wait and see how these guys perform, before being critical of them.

Porthos said:
Benefits of having unlisted players train with you
1. To determine their strengths relative to the rest of your squad
2. If you draft them, they are already somewhat integrated.

Thats it. Now, just because you don't draft from the group you have training with you, it doesn't mean that it wasn't worth having them training with you. Clearly your guys considered them to fail as part of question 1.

It's as clear as that IMO as well.

The benefit is that it may have prevented the Crows from wasting picks on players who obviously weren't going to make it.

By default, that gives a greater chance of success with those that they have picked.

In regard to Pearce, I can only assume that Adelaide thought that he was too small and too light for AFL. Time will be the answer to that as usual.

SpringChoke said:
Is he aggressive RD?

very, tough nut that isnt afraid to put his body on the line for the team and also stand up for his team mates, something we lack, hes only on the rookie list but i honestly hope that he gets a crack at the big time because he may suprise a few i think.

RooDog said:
yes he is. blonde curly hair with very fair skin, almost looks like an albino:p

crowboy Hinge will be at Glenelg next year because he played 17s, 19s and i think a couple of ressies games down there this year in the school holidays. also forgot to add he has very sound hands to, whether it be taking a mark or picking the ball up off the ground.

Was he training with us as part of the youngster squad?

**** said:
It's often too early to judge draft performances after two years, yet you've come to this conclusion after 5 minutes? Have you even seen Nye?

I just get angry when it's always us who pick up guys that nobody has ever heard of!

I haven't seen Nye play...has anybody on here? (Serious question)

I hope they prove me wrong. In fact I'm praying that they do ;)

GrandfinalGurus said:
Can see Dennis Cometti now " The end is NYE" :D
Especially if he plays back pocket

''With ohncock at one end the crows have kept an end up and well and down the other ..the end is NYE''

Or Rexie after a solid bump ...''Nye nye says night night''

PerthCrow said:
Especially if he plays back pocket

''With ohncock at one end the crows have kept an end up and well and down the other ..the end is NYE''

Or Rexie after a solid bump ...''Nye nye says night night''

:D

The possibilities are endless... I'm hoping he gets to stand Collingwood's David King.

RooDog said:
very, tough nut that isnt afraid to put his body on the line for the team and also stand up for his team mates, something we lack, hes only on the rookie list but i honestly hope that he gets a crack at the big time because he may suprise a few i think.

Hopefully that is an accurate description of him - we desperately need more hard nuts who put their body in the danger spots and are prepared to physically support their team-mates.

Riddler said:
I just get angry when it's always us who pick up guys that nobody has ever heard of!

I haven't seen Nye play...has anybody on here? (Serious question)

I hope they prove me wrong. In fact I'm praying that they do ;)
Im guessing this is where I am supposed to say ''yes i have''

Sorry Peel is like Victor Harbour to my Woodville...

I will attempt to pass on any media news.

Oh and my 2 cents?

Lets wait and see ok...dont let the new guys feel negative...

Though James F please explain 6 ruckmen?

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Was he training with us as part of the youngster squad?

yeah, photo of him in the tiser last week. i posted a thread about him before it was even announced that about the rookie camp that he was going to be there:p

Our selections are a little surprising but I think we just have to trust our recruiters. We've been pretty successful with the rookie draft in recent years and our recruiters have paid close attention to these guys so I guess we'll have to trust them.

As **** said, there's no point taking midfielders if we don't think they'll make it and by all reports next year's draft is very string midfield-wise so we may have planned to wait until next year to draft mids as they take less time to come along - in the view that our draftees will all be ready to play AFL around the same time (2006/2007). I'm pretty content with what we've picked up though, a little baffled at taking another ruckman but when we think about it, only 2-3 of our young ruckmen have to come good and we don't have to worry about that for another 5-10 years.

As someone who really doesn't see these Rookie's play - or really know what they're like...it's interesting to read some of the comments here.
I've just got to hope that the club continued it's good work from the ND to the RD.
Interesting people are unhappy about not getting some of the more familiar names....Pearce/Grundy etc.......I sometmes wonder how good they are if they were overlooked in the ND, PSD, and first 15 picks of the Rookie Draft (in Pearce's case)...time will tell I s'pose.

As for having 6 ruckmen...well I am of the opinion that we have
1 retiring ruckman
1 makeshift Ruckman (Hudson)....the jury is still out on his career
1 ruckman who struggles to demand a spot (Biglands)...but toils manfully
2 kids who may play in the next 2 years
1 Rookie who is really only 196cm and on the KPP/Ruckman cusp

.....so really our cup isn't quite runneth over !

given the strike rate in converting potentials to actuals is low for big fellas - maybe the mix is right.....??.....dunno ???

I reckon we will hit the midfielders big time next year in the ND/PSD/RD...so I'm not that concerned

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Good call RooDog. Lets hope he turns out as good as you think

yes we will just have to wait and see, a lot of players were worried about his height but what a lot wouldnt realise is he is quick too, he didnt go to state screening i dont think so he woudlnt have had a chance to show that off.

John Hinge (Glenelg/ Scared Heart)

188cm top age right foot midsized foward/ on baller

STYLE LIKE: Archer- shows unbelievable courage at times

TRADEMARK: Pack marking and kicking the freakish goal

SUMMARY ASSESMENT, RECCOMENDATION

- Hinge is a mobile forward who can have a run on the ball and demonstrated his ability in games for SHC this year and a handful at Glenelg in the school holidays

-is a top age player but already has an "AFL" ready body and i think is a good pick up

-i think he may turn out to be a bit of a steal in the rookie draft was suprised that he wasnt picked in the draft in all honesty.

COMPARISON: HINGE Vs JUNIPER

- for one you are going to always get the best out of Hinge and know that he is going to be dedicated to the end whilst there is questions about this with Juniper

- Both may turn out to be KPP players in the AFL but i see Hinge more as a medium forward and Juniper as a CHF and CHB, in saying this in a one on one between the two i would back Hinge 9 out of 10 times as he just has that hardness to him that you love to see.

- In terms of going to get there own footy Hinge would be infront of Juniper, Hinge loves the tough stuff and isnt afraid to put his head over the footy where as Juniper doesnt mind going around the back and recieiving a handball

- Disposal is very consistent from Hinge, he has a long accurate kick probably not as longs as that as Junipers but Juniper tends to spray a few though as well where Hinge is very consistent. Hinge is also reliable by hand and goes and gets the footy and handballs out to a running team mate

- Hinge is very smart footy wise and so is Juniper but Hinge seems to win more one on ones by out smarting is opponent than Juniper

CONSISTENCY
Hinge is extremely consistent player and always gives his all

SCOPE FOR IMPROVEMENT
hard to say really, is probably done developing physically but his area for improvement is midfield play and this will come if given more of a run through the midfield.

QUERY
height, this is probably why a lot of clubs overlooked him