Food, Drink & Dining Out The Scotch thread

There's a barrel proof Glenfarclas from memory that costs around $120. Never bought a bottle though enjoyed a dram at Barranows. It's on the purchase list.

That'd be the Glenfarclas 105 cask strength. Dan Murphy's has it at $113, and it's on my list too.

There was a Glenfarclas tasting on at the Oak Barrell a month or two ago. They were doing eight separate expressions, five Family Cask whiskies from five different years (the oldest being 1956!), along with the 15yo, the 21yo and the 105 cask. I couldn't ****ing go. Grrrr.

That'd be the Glenfarclas 105 cask strength. Dan Murphy's has it at $113, and it's on my list too.

There was a Glenfarclas tasting on at the Oak Barrell a month or two ago. They were doing eight separate expressions, five Family Cask whiskies from five different years (the oldest being 1956!), along with the 15yo, the 21yo and the 105 cask. I couldn't ******* go. Grrrr.

I went to one earlier this year. Was good. Think we might have had a 40 year old.

I bought a bottle of Lagavulin 16 to complete my Islay trilogy this week.

Ardbeg 10 would still be my favourite, which is odd because I didn't like it at first.

Great thread. Macallan Fine Oak 18yo is sensational. At $180 a bottle it's not for everyday use however. Every second day maybe :)
Tasted a couple of nice Aussie whiskys at a tasting night recently. One from tassie. The man behind Limeburners (from Albany WA) was there and was interesting to pick his brain. We tasted his premium whisky, can't remember what he calls it, and that was fantastic. Quite peaty. At $250 a bottle though, I couldn't justify it.

Like hell it's not. :)

Of the top shelf scotches I always found the Blue Label particularly ordinary and not worth the money

Like hell it's not. :)

Of the top shelf scotches I always found the Blue Label particularly ordinary and not worth the money
If you're into that sort of stuff I have no idea why you wouldn't go Gold Label. It's just as good but less than half the price.

Blue is a gift for special occasions, much the same as you might buy someone a bottle of grange. They aren't worth it nor to most discernible to something much cheaper however are cool to receive from someone.

I don't think too many buy blue label for themselves

Blue is a gift for special occasions, much the same as you might buy someone a bottle of grange. They aren't worth it nor to most discernible to something much cheaper however are cool to receive from someone.

I don't think too many buy blue label for themselves

Didn't know that.

Thanks, as it makes for perfect sense. :thumbsu:

I've got a bottle of Blue that I plan on opening on my wedding day but I'm getting less and less excited for it.

Nothing to do with comments in this thread, more that over the last 12 months I've really expanded my range and have found some fantastic whiskey's.

I've personally fallen for Old Pulteney 12yo.

Im not a massive drinker so I tend to only have 1 bottle on the shelf and then buy something else when I'm done but twice now I've gone to restock and come back with this.

I really want to try the 17yo and get into more single malts in general.

I'm off camping with the kids in the upcoming school holidays so I thought I'd better get a bottle of something to keep out the cold;) . Picked up the GlenDronach 12yo, it was going to be the 15 but it was a bit more expensive. Maybe next time.

Current collection (all single malts except the Redbreast and Chivas):

Ardbeg 10yo
Ardbeg Uigeadail
Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban
Aberlour a'bunadh
GlenDronach 12yo
Glenfarclas 12yo
Auchentoshan Heartwood
Arran Amarone Cask Finish
Overeem Port Cask Matured (from Tassie)
Old Pulteney 12yo
Redbreast 12yo Irish Single Pot Still
Chivas Regal 12yo

Recently emptied: Glenmorangie original, Highland Park 12, Dalwhinnie 15, Glenlivet 12, Dalmore Valour.

Why, yes, I do like my whisky.

Added a Glenfiddich 18, Scapa 15 or 16 to my first "collection" last week coming back duty free

Already had a Glenlivet 12 and Talisker 10,

Most likely add another everyday to replace the Glenlivet, thinking a Chivas 12 what are peopes thoughts?

Am i heading in the right direction?

Skip the Chivas mate.

When it comes to whisky, buy less but buy better.

You've got a Highland and Speyside (and Scapa is somewhere there in terms of style) - perhaps a peaty Islay malt (eg. Laphroaig 10, Laphroaig Quarter Cask, Lagavulin 16 are good introductions), or a gentle Lowlands malt (eg. Bladnoch, Auchentoshan).

Re. the Lowlands - see if you can try first, they are a lot "less high powered" and you may decide that they're not worth your time. When done right though they can be unbelievable - the 1979 St Magdalene 19 yo is in my top 5 (forget looking for this though).

Awesome thread!!

Just gotten into scotch myself recently .... some of the posts here going straight over my head haha

I don't usually get the luxury of spending heaps on it for myself but FWIW here's some of my favorites so far (although not all scotch) ...

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1381963064050.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1381963064050.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 54
Added a Glenfiddich 18, Scapa 15 or 16 to my first "collection" last week coming back duty free

Already had a Glenlivet 12 and Talisker 10,

Most likely add another everyday to replace the Glenlivet, thinking a Chivas 12 what are peopes thoughts?

Chivas is good for an everyday scotch, good enough to drink neat and cheap enough to mix

You wouldn't be "adding" to your collection by buying it though

Grab a Lagavulin 16, or an Ardbeg 10..... Good and different to what you have currently got. Nice peaty Islay single malts, yet very different from each other. Ardbeg in particular is different in its pale colour.

Today's purchases, drinking right now:

Nikka from the barrel. I've gotta say it is delicious. Sweet and very bloody smooth. It's at the other end of the scale to most of my other smoky head-kickers but I can see it becoming the whisky I have when I don't feel like whisky.

Macallan 12. Ok but not quite what I'm after right at this moment. Does not have much of a smell to it so you don't get that waft before you drink it. Pretty light on for my amateur, pugilistic palate.

Lagavulin 16. Perfect on the balcony wearing only a scarf. I feel fully clothed drinking this scotch.

Food, Drink & Dining Out The Scotch thread