Radio The SEN Thread 10

Re: The SEN Thread 9

Lol Finey's got Jim from Hawthorn and Steve from Mitcham on at the same time :)

Hilarious. Think Steve took the (four) points from this argument. They need to to this more often on Finey's show.

Anyone know where to find a link of the above?

Enough of the golf talk in the morning. So damn boring. Radar takes a trip to Augusta and now we all have to listen to his over the top love for the place and golf.

I know, the one weekday I have off work, I turn it on to hear the cricket score and footy talk, and it's golf. Ugh!

I thought Jim did good, said his piece, was very humble, then Finey hands it to Steve and just says yeah...uh....Jim's just dumber than a coat of paint...so I think Jim got the points personally

Jim is just a full on supporter but Steve (with the greatest respect) is a paranoid Karmichael

speaking about paranoid karmicheal's? What happened to The Morning Glory's most famous caller Jason from Boronia?

Steve from mitcham vs jim from hawthorn debate live on air . Right now is awsome!
sound interesting but both buffoons.

I do not get a SMS read out because they reading the stupid taxi driver from Geelong text first(Not enough business for Taxi in Geelong) or even call in Now because you have idiot like steve from mitcham on.

sound interesting but both buffoons.

I do not get a SMS read out because they reading the stupid taxi driver from Geelong text first(Not enough business for Taxi in Geelong) or even call in Now because you have idiot like steve from mitcham on.

wayne from geelong is the leader at sen with most texts sent in. somthing like 3,000 + he has sent in

speaking about paranoid karmicheal's? What happened to The Morning Glory's most famous caller Jason from Boronia?

Jason from Boronia , he follows WCE , rang up 3aw on Sat after the Ess v PA game , also former regular Billy from W Heidleberg now Inverloch also rang up 3rd after the Ess v PA game to talk about the Coll v Rich game later that evening.

Billy then rang up 3aw ,just before the Coll v Rich game , for Bondys pre match quiz which was about former Richmond father sons and got the answer wrong. :p

Wasn't it his 20,000th text when he went into the studio?

I haven't actually heard him much recently on SEN.

Nah he was in the studio mid December , he sent his 20,000th text when Finey was on holidays in mid January , from memory it was that sports overdrive sunday 10pm show that he texted into.

Last week it was mentioned that he was upto 20,780 text , but don't forget a few years ago for what ever reason he started back on text 1 after a stuff up of some kind , god knows how many texts he had sent in that are not included in the 20,000 :eek:

Hungry for the AFL Department of Baloney

Moment of truth for the Hawks today. They’ve been all the rage pre-season and the win over Collingwood only convinced the true believers. With Roughead back and no Scarlett, cards have fallen the Hawks way. But mentally, do the Hawks really believe. Are they true believers when it comes to the Cats? Since 2008 the Hawks have not gotten over the line. For me, the Hawks are not premiership favourites until they can knock off the men in blue and white hoops.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

BaloneyMascot.jpg

The funny bearded oaf from The Australian newspaper is on tap this Easter Monday to take on the little Richmond luchador. And the way KB has been going he may end up wearing a Mexican mask when making AFL predictions. Putz quickly goes after his many targets starting with KB accusing him and Grunk Denham of leading a campaign on just how big-headed the Hawks have been this year. Rubbo gets a mention for labelling the Cats arrogant and thus Putz jokingly declares the Hawks vs. Cats match as the clash of bigheads. KB completely refutes the assertion that Geelong is anything close to arrogant. Both Yin and Yang of SEN morning radio see a Geelong victory.

KB and Putz have a plethora of material to deflect from the abysmal start to the season by Richmond, and they start with blankets and single bars at the footy. Putz calls it a rubbish story released by the “AFL Baloney Department” in an attempt to squash the recent bad publicity arising from the Roos, Rendell, Mifsud, Ben Polis; and of course the gun, machete, sex, and drug trafficking fiascos plaguing the AFL.

Putz: I think that they said we’ve got to get something positive out there and two of them sat there and said “what can we do” and one of them, probably a junior janitor said “well we can give them blankets, we can give the seniors blankets.”

Here we go – an exciting interruption from Mark-Oh Allen from the US Masters golf tournament. Putz thinks a Bubba Watson win would be good for golf.

KB raises the question: What do people want, rugs, bars, and kids playgrounds, or cheaper admission and cheaper food? First talkback caller (male) wants more women’s toilets and stadiums. Nothing new there remarks Putz as this topic has seemingly been around forever and shows the AFL blanket bonanza is a “smokescreen.” KB and Putz take the piss out of the blanket idea which surely has come from the likes of the thoughtful democratic socialists at the Yarra Council.

And without further ado the first Mensa Talkback/Pro Sports league entrepreneur makes an appearance with some typical radical opinion: “They [AFL] could reduce the money they get from Red Rooster or Coca-Cola or Four’N Twenty Pies, and make the pies cheaper:confused:; or, this could be radical, they could give more money to the country football leagues in Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia so that people in the bush don’t have to have chook raffles and everything while they sit up there sipping chardonnay eating turkey in their little super boxes at the MCG.” Not surprisingly the dynamic duo in the studio don’t dump this meathead and can only continue the comedy routine about the AFL instead of dissecting the cluelessness of the fabulous pro sports economics expert.

The mirth of blankets, rugs, bars, playgrounds, and baloney continues as does the angst generated by food prices at the footy. Putz believes if the AFL wants a more pleasant experience at the footy for fans the AFL simply need to cut the prices for the fans. … Caller Louie from Vermont clears a little air on Putz’s Baloney Department by informing Mr. Yin and Mr. Yang that the AFL conducted a series marketing sessions with the public at the “G” where these great ideas emerged from. Louie’s group suggested free public transport included in your AFL ticket price where you’d probably really pay for your free transport. Think about it!:rolleyes: A bunch of other not so ripper ideas from Joe Public yet again prove how Joe Public loves free stuff. KB is astonished that a bottle of water at Etihad costs six bucks.

Finally the folly of Looney Tunes ideas gives way to opposite views of Mr. Yin and Mr. Yang’s take on the weekend Saints:

KB: Look, I wasn’t impressed by St. Kilda last night at all. I know that Nick Riewoldt was very happy; they reached some of their targets … but I though their first half against Gold Coast was very, very poor. … They played football that surprised me. I think they’d have to improve a lot to beat the Bulldogs next week.
Putz: I thought they played with a freshness, St. Kilda.

Putz and KB discuss the outrageous demagoguery spewed by wannabe future state politician, Eddie J. McGuire:

KB: Did I see where Eddie McGuire wanted other football clubs to help out and put there hand in their pocket to help Melbourne get through this period where they’ve lost their sponsor?
Putz: It’s comedy week, Kevin. You know that? Was he doing a stand-up?

KB: I thought, that’s a bit rough. All of a sudden North Melbourne and Richmond … and Western Bulldogs who are working hard to get their clubs in order, all of sudden, what, gotta put their hands in their pocket to help Melbourne out because they stuffed up with a sponsor?
Putz: They made a bad business decision.

KB: Well I would hope not.
Putz: I don’t think so. No one was running to the Bulldogs and other clubs and Richmond when some of their strategies didn’t turn out correctly. I think Eddie was just practicing, Kevin.

KB: Does anyone believe that the rest of the competition should put their hands in their pocket and give a helping hand to Melbourne after they lost their sponsor?
Putz: Don’t forget last week Eddie, or two weeks ago, Eddie was going to blast Melbourne out of extinction coz there was a suggestion they might pinch one of his recruiters.

KB: Well this week he’s more benevolent. Wants everyone to help them out.

Caller thinks the AFL is the Goose of the decade for putting the young players at GWS “in the hands of two washed up clowns as their coaches.” This peanut is referring to Sheedy and Choco Williams and thus KB and Putz refute the idiot statement and the caller is not heard again. … Yin and Yang continue to be flabbergasted by the new Charity Eddie. Where was Eddie last year for Port Adelaide, asks another caller.

Putz loads both barrels for new super coach, Mark Neeld for saying he was bewildered by the articles written over something that didn’t happen yet “he was nearly in tears on the couch saying the damage it was doing to his family, to him, to his integrity, that he demanded the AFL commence a search to find the source, to suddenly say now that it was all about nothing, I think he’s forfeited the right to be taken seriously.” Putz thinks Neeld handled the situation appallingly and doesn’t put any weight in what he says. Tough gig that coaching in the AFL.

Finally caller Jimmy says: Cameron Schwab did a press briefing three weeks ago on the front-of-the-jumper sponsor; said he’s very happy with the situation. ‘Look even if they don’t clinch a deal, you know, in the next few days they’ve got a wonderful back-up company on the back of the jumper who’s so wonderful,’ this that and the other. … As far as I’m concerned I won’t be putting my hand in my pocket to give Melbourne anything, Kevin, until everybody in an off-field position is thrown holus-bolus out of the club.

Finally Putz says: I think a lot of people would feel sympathetic to Jimmy’s views. Well, take Stynes out of the equation, I think the club’s been dysfunctional for ten years.

Nothing left to say but – Go Dees:( And it was very quiet on the Richmond front.:D

Goose of the Week: Ben Polis trumps the AFL Baloney Department to win in a memorable week for gooses.
Guus of the Week: Bubba Watson

Humour of the Day
Kevin, there’s a little line here from the Baloney Department: “In hot weather there will be free ice jackets.”
- Putz Smith

hahaha the newsreader was talking about the jets leaving the a-league and stumbled upon a word he didn't know and just says "I can't pronounce that word sorry".

Think he was after irreconcilable.

yeh irreconcilable haha. come on old mate get your act together. it's not that hard.

Hungry for a Virus on Curmudgeon Tuesday

Alastair Clarkson said there is daylight between the Hawks and Geelong, but it’s only a slither of light. What a fantastic game both teams provided for the public yesterday. Bravery on both sides, courage and brilliance highlighted. In the end Geelong willed themselves over the line. Like all great teams they believe - they truly believe - no team can withstand one hundred minutes of pressure from the Cats. Yesterday Hawthorn had Geelong on the canvas several times; the knockout punch was thrown and missed when Chris Scott’s men had the staggers. The Hawks want it so badly it appears it gets to them.
I’m KB, that’s my Take

The usually curmudgeonly couple swoon over Geelong to begin the program before Putz brings up Mark Rubbinson’s allegation of the Cats being arrogant last week. He refers to AFL360 as “vaudeville’s answer to football.” … KB says everyone is entitled to an opinion; Putz rightfully corrects him saying everybody in the media is entitled to a measured opinion. Putz then changes the timbre of his voice to accentuate the Aussie accent and takes the piss out of Rubbo while KB haplessly attempts to talk about Monday’s game.

Putz: I think [Rubbo] may be out of his depth in a wading pool.:D

KB tries to straighten the show by going to talkback and Putz is hoping one of the callers will be Rubbo “from a wading pool.”… The first caller is inaudible with a bad line: “I think that was [Rubbo], Kevin. Made as much sense,” says Putz. … Finally onto the stud performance by “Tomahawk” but wait, Putz hasn’t finished: “Ya sure that first thing wasn’t a clip from 360 with [Rubbo]?”

KB: You’re very sensitive of criticism. [Rubbo’s] had a crack at you saying you’re gramps and grumps or something and you’re sensitive, [Putz].
Putz: I never, ever have a crack at [Rubbo], Kevin because he’s on the BALL! But I think that was him with a clip from 360.

On to Ryan Schoenmakers who is surely glad the AFL doesn’t have in-season trading or SEN callers would have him on the block for, say, a slab of cans and a third round pick. Putz sees Osbourne and Bateman as now out of the Hawks best twenty-two. … Caller sees Rubbo as a hit-and-miss journo and the Hayden Ballantyne of journalists. Putz comes clean that he’s only being “cheeky” about Rubbo who was only talking about the one Cats performance. … Caller Tony queries KB as to how his pre-season Tigers are performing and how Vickery is getting on.

Caller Tony: And how’s Vickery working out for ya? Meant to be a better player than Kreuzer.
KB: He’s not playing very well at the moment.
Putz: I think he’s primed for the Demons next week.

KB: At least I hope so. His first two games have been absolute shockers; from where he came from last year to be a very exciting player, his first two games were shockers.
Putz: [LOL] Not that you put much pressure on him.
KB: Let’s hope; look he might turn out to be as good as Kreuzer.Who knows, by the end of the year. Let’s have the conversation come the end of the year. Um, let’s hope [Putz] we read in a few weeks he was suffering from a debilitating virus or something.

The never ending cry about another team starting the season instead of Richmond who is allegedly always “crap” is the next caller grievance which can only elicit the very predictable response from the morning master of the SEN Grievance Department: “Now listen, John, they weren’t crap against Carlton. That’s a bit harsh, we’ve gotta be at least fair (and voilá) Dustin Martin has a shot for goal from twenty-five metres out at, what, the ten or twelve minute mark of the last quarter, he would have got Tigers within one point.”:rolleyes:

Caller: What was the margin at the end?
KB: It was forty-four points in the end.

Caller: They got smashed. They cracked. They missed a shot at goal and they go to bloody water. They don’t deserve the big stage, Kevin.
Putz: [TTP] Weeeell we’re building to a great force, the Tigers.

KB: Seventy-nine thousand people turned up to watch it, Johnny.
Putz: [TTP] We will rule the jungle! :D

KB plays the Media Watch grab about the AFL not having any credibility when reporting on themselves. The leftist, anti-semitic ABC is, of course, fair and balanced.:rolleyes: Putz doesn’t think you’ll see Rubbo anytime soon on the AFL website because he’d be too critical. All stories will be reported meekly. We’ll duh, Putz. As if any business is going to start a PR department and bag themselves. Anyway, who needs a digital pass for any relative footy info when the AFL has the great Mutt Thompson!

Putz: One point of difference is that if you want to get the full coverage of football in The Australian, in the Herald Sun, and eventually Fairfax. Let’s say The Age; they’ll have to go that way if they want to sustain their business. You will have to pay for that. Your option is to go to the AFL which will be this lukewarm coverage of anything potentially damaging to the AFL. It will have a good cover of, you know, Dream Team and all of those things, and injury lists but will it take on the real nitty-gritty?

A Mensa-sounding talkback caller gives a tick for the Tigers, but he doesn’t elaborate as to why. … KB thinks he wouldn’t just say that yet and if they can’t beat Melbourne and Tyrone Vickery doesn’t play well this week they’ll be in a lot of trouble. Putz calls the caller a sycophant. … Putz then defends Buddy Franklin’s kicking the ball along the ground for a few reasons and KB declares Putz’s comments as Gibberish of the Week.

Oh, here we go again with community sports handout requests in the form of sponsorship, as some bloke from Geelong has his granddaughter in a U18 footy competition in Adelaide during May and it costs a thousand bucks a piece and his family seemingly doesn’t want to pay for it. Since it’s an AFL initiative Putz mocks the AFL as they now have 4.5 million blankets to buy. … Will Tom Hawkins have as big an impact as Buddy Franklin by the end of his career is raised by a caller which can only end in the following dialogue?

Putz: Will Tom Hawkins reach the heights of Tyrone Vickery, Kevin?
KB: Well he’s better than Tyrone Vickery. But Tyrone Vickery’s performances so far this year have been so poor that it’s gotta be a virus. A debilitating virus. He’s got glandular fever or something like that because what he showed last year was that he was on the rise. … His performance against Carlton, and of course his performance against Collingwood [was] so disappointing for the club. So he gets a chance, maybe, if he’s in the side, to redeem himself against Melbourne this week.

KB condemns the players for getting ahead of themselves by repeatedly kicking for goal along the ground and calls it folly and a bit of a fad. … Cricket update discussion ends the show by returning our bowlers to possibly being the worst ever to tour the West Indies after only one Test innings and that will yet again be all forgotten when we probably win the series.

Gibberish of the Week: Jake Melkshan gets a mention for saying GCS is a great team and Mark Neeld is a very strong contender for numerous reasons but Putz awards it to John Glatz for his jumps racing comments. Geez, Putz, talk about flogging a dead horse. Oops, sorry.