Radio The SEN Thread 10

1) tomic discussion with harf. dero bogan rings and says we get all these people from overseas acting like this. that's not how we act. people like tomic and steffensen. put them on a slow boat and send them back where they came from.

steffenson is born here.

2) sept to remember song - anyone play air guitar to it?

Still haven't heard the new September to Remember song, although I'm not sure I want to. I will miss belting the old one at traffic lights :(

And is it my imagination or are there more ads? TRH on at 10 past the hour after the news and a truckload of ads.Flicked over to AW and Healy & Deeeeerrrrwayne were already well into the first item on their agenda. Lucky for SEN I cannot stand either of them and flicked back to them and just turned the volume down until the bloody ads finished.

If it wasn't already official, it now is. The All Night Appetite is clearly the best program on SEN, they just played the old September to Remember version :hearts:

I got a play of the ol' champion for you boys and girls.

The message actually said 'Calling that abomination thats playing right now the 'september to remember jingle' is offensive to the mellifluous original' and Dash had to dumb it down, are SEN listeners really that opposed to using the full extent of the English language?

If it wasn't already official, it now is. The All Night Appetite is clearly the best program on SEN, they just played the old September to Remember version :hearts:

The message actually said 'Calling that abomination thats playing right now the 'september to remember jingle' is offensive to the mellifluous original' and Dash had to dumb it down, are SEN listeners really that opposed to using the full extent of the English language?

Oh Yeah .... http://audioboo.fm/boos/944610-04ohyeahhhseptembertoremember2012

excellent-mr-burns.gif

Excellent

Well the newsreader this morning takes the cake! When mentioning the Deutsche Bank Open, the reader called it the 'Douche Bank Open'. Obviously got a good run on the Morning Glory. Seriously, do these Uni interns get paid at SEN for this??? Bring on the Government's education injection immediately!!!

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhh sepptemmberrr to rememberrrrrrr

Bring the bloody old tune back!

I just listened to the new 1 & its bloody shit!

If i was not banned on the sms i would be going nuts

Well the newsreader this morning takes the cake! When mentioning the Deutsche Bank Open, the reader called it the 'Douche Bank Open'. Obviously got a good run on the Morning Glory. Seriously, do these Uni interns get paid at SEN for this??? Bring on the Government's education injection immediately!!!

haha heard that. again, it's SEN (and perhaps the media now in general) acceptance of poor English skills. MG took the piss out of the error during their show, and its funny in some way, but sad in most others.

i liken it to a school room. there is/was always students who weren't the sharpest tool in the shed who bagged others who excelled in their academic pursuits. the high achievers would be ridiculed, called squares, nerds and otherwise. but when the class enter the real world those who laugh are no longer laughing.

anyway, my point is, newsreaders, journalists are making mistakes at an all to frequent frequency. But it's simply laughed at....

haha heard that. again, it's SEN (and perhaps the media now in general) acceptance of poor English skills.

It's ridiculous. I wanted to communicate 'pleasant sounding to the ear', so instead of typing all of that on my phone I used the English word that means 'pleasant sounding' and Dash dumbed it down, as can be heard on that grab.

It's not like I used Spanish or something, jeez.

Ha! I didn't hear that, but I hear a lot of the other fluffs. You're not alone in your frustration. :p And it's not only the obvious stuff, it's also the little things, such as wrong inflexion or emphasizing the wrong word or syllable

I've said this before, but it seems as though the newsroom is where the station really cut costs. The "readers" sound very young, and I suspect (as you suggest) they're either uni media studies students or rookies from the country. As far as I know, most wannabe annoucers do the hard yards on regional stations, then apply for everything in the big smoke so they can get back here and stuff up things in Melbourne. It might seem trivial, but it makes the station sound amateurish.

Ah well, at least they're out there doing something, while I'm just sitting here, sleeping in and taking potshots from the cheap seats. Ha :p

Sure, as someone on here said, the "big guns" on 3aw and 774 might have big egos, but at least Tony Tardio, Ron Burke and that Armstrong guy don't make 1/100th of the mistakes. Could anyone ever imagine Tony Tardio saying "Doosche Bank"?!! No, you couldn't.

Ha! I didn't hear that, but I hear a lot of the other fluffs. You're not alone in your frustration. :p And it's not only the obvious stuff, it's also the little things, such as wrong inflexion or emphasizing the wrong word or syllable

I've said this before, but it seems as though the newsroom is where the station really cut costs. The "readers" sound very young, and I suspect (as you suggest) they're either uni media studies students or rookies from the country. As far as I know, most wannabe annoucers do the hard yards on regional stations, then apply for everything in the big smoke so they can get back here and stuff up things in Melbourne. It might seem trivial, but it makes the station sound amateurish.

Ah well, at least they're out there doing something, while I'm just sitting here, sleeping in and taking potshots from the cheap seats. Ha :p

Sure, as someone on here said, the "big guns" on 3aw and 774 might have big egos, but at least Tony Tardio, Ron Burke and that Armstrong guy don't make 1/100th of the mistakes. Could anyone ever imagine Tony Tardio saying "Doosche Bank"?!! No, you couldn't.

What a joke of a post! How can you take pot shots at the newsroom if you can't even use names. Alls well to bag a radio station, but at least do it properly.

Radio stations fluff up all the time. Like TV, like newspapers. Newsrooms are one of them. SEN is one of them. That's the media world. It's not perfect. It's still better a better news service than some of the other ones on offer out there.

I've hear much worse slip ups, some of those have resulted in fines and ACMA intervention. Sooooo let's just worry about the footy...

Puh-leaaase

It'll never be as good as the old version, but the new one is growing on me.
The extended version is okay, I will admit.

The September to remember part is still balls though.

I was sleeping last "night" (well, this morning :p) with the radio on SEN. Did I dream it, or were Whispy and Radar talking about the song, saying that there was so much negative feedback that they should go back to the old song?
Yes they did

I was sleeping last "night" (well, this morning :p) with the radio on SEN. Did I dream it, or were Whispy and Radar talking about the song, saying that there was so much negative feedback that they should go back to the old song?
I, in a similar state to you, think I heard that too.

Ha! Funny! I assume you're one of them (or at least have a close association), since you registered just to reply here, and there's another mistake: 'Alls' should have an apostrophe before the 's'. That's exactly what I'm talking about. :) Crikey!
How can you take pot shots at the newsroom if you can't even use names. Alls well to bag a radio station, but at least do it properly.
Hmm, good comeback, Potsie. What's that got to do with anything?! I don't know the no-names, and we don't need to know their names to know that they make bad mistakes. We know who they are; they're the SEN newsreaders. There's only a few of them. Come on, dude, it's freakin' amatur hour in there. I can't think of another commercial station in Melbourne that's 1/4 as bad. Is it broadcast in the same studio, or does it come out of the RMIT campus? :p
"Douche Bank"?!?!?! For fa'rk's sake! That's laughable. You can't excuse that. David Armstrong on 3aw wouldn't say that in a million years, nor would Steve Spezialie (that name's a blast from the past, hey, EON FM fans :p). I know their names coz they've been on air for probably 20 years.

Anyway, I've felt the need to turn over to 3aw just for the news, so I may miss more of the "douch"-like comedy from now on.

The fines dealt out to other stations are usually for breaches involving the dropping of f-bombs and similar slip-ups.

Here's some free tips for ya: I don't know what sort of time constraints you/they work with, but if 'script' is compiled and completed with more than 10 minutes before the hour, practise reading it over and over! If you're not sure about pronunciations, there are websites that pronounce words for you, or you could just ring your mum. :D

Anyway, I'm not a cyber bully, so don't get upset, or it could effect ME. . :thumbsu:

What a joke of a post! How can you take pot shots at the newsroom if you can't even use names. Alls well to bag a radio station, but at least do it properly.

Radio stations fluff up all the time. Like TV, like newspapers. Newsrooms are one of them. SEN is one of them. That's the media world. It's not perfect. It's still better a better news service than some of the other ones on offer out there.

I've hear much worse slip ups, some of those have resulted in fines and ACMA intervention. Sooooo let's just worry about the footy...

Puh-leaaase

how long have you worked for SEN for? would be a dream job i reckon.

3aw, abc news reports > SEN.

sadly its common occurrence these days that mistakes are made then simply laughed at. Where is the accountability?

Ha! Funny! I assume you're one of them (or at least have a close association), since you registered just to reply here, and there's another mistake: 'Alls' should have an apostrophe before the 's'. That's exactly what I'm talking about. :) Crikey!
Hmm, good comeback, Potsie. What's that got to do with anything?! I don't know the no-names, and we don't need to know their names to know that they make bad mistakes. We know who they are; they're the SEN newsreaders. There's only a few of them. Come on, dude, it's freakin' amatur hour in there. I can't think of another commercial station in Melbourne that's 1/4 as bad. Is it broadcast in the same studio, or does it come out of the RMIT campus? :p
"Douche Bank"?!?!?! For heck's sake! That's laughable. You can't excuse that. David Armstrong on 3aw wouldn't say in a million years, nor would Steve Spezialie (that name's a blast from the past, hey, EON FM fans :p). I know their names coz they've been on air for probably 20 years.

Anyway, I've felt the need to turn over to 3aw just for the news, so I may miss more of the "douch"-like commedy from now on.

The fines dealt out to other stations are usually for breaches involving the dropping of f-bombs and similar slip-ups.

Here's some free tips for ya: I don't know what sort of time constraints you/they work with, but if 'script' is compiled and completed with more than 10 minutes before the hour, practise reading it over and over! If you're not sure about pronounciations, there are websites that pronounce words for you, or you could just ring your mum. :D

Anyway, I'm not a cyber bully, so don't get upset, or it could effect ME. . :thumbsu:
She was at it again this morning, saying Vermont like a yank.They have to accept it when they have Schebci to stuff up everytime he talks

jimmyjoneslocker Don't worry, we here in the SEN thread need something/someone to bitch about, whether it be trivial or not. I mean c'mon, Mark Doran has left us, so has Francis Leach, then Matty Thompson (god bless him and his glorious work) departed, and with the Schibecsta not delivering as much gold as he used to, what else are we to bitch about? Of course, we could talk about all the positive aspects of SEN (you'd think we may do that given so many of us listen to SEN 24/7) but that's boring and pointless, and certainly isn't what Bigfooty is about. Welcome to the boards and particularly this thread, may you be trolled for ever and ever :thumbsu:

PS. Any chance you could put in a good word for all of us re the September to Remember jingle and get the boys in management to play the old one a bit more?Cheers.