Aug 31, 2007
GWS
Morning Glory’s Week Of Turfology

Turfology X

Turf-speak

I’d give ‘em a shopping voucher at Chadstone and tell ‘em to bugger off
- On Australian Open tennis prize money being $21 million including $1.5 million to each winner, men and women.

Bringing someone in from Amcor are they?
- On an arbitrator being brought in the facilitate the Warnock to Carlton trade. [Amcor admitted to colluding with Pratt's Visy]

Turfy’s Take
Twenty-one million dollars for the Australian Open tennis. Fair dinkum, what a slaughter of cash that is. They are the most overpaid athletes in the world… . They’re on the court for about a quarter of an hour … They’ve announced this morning two extra night sessions, that means they can sleep in two more times. A new world-class player restaurant. What do they need a new restaurant for? Fair dinkum, Richo. And $1.5 million dollars for the winners … I don’t want to be completely crook on women’s tennis but, ya know, if a women’s tennis player gets her first serve in three times in a row, she’s allowed to be No.1 for a month. It’s an outrage; I’ve had enough of it! :rolleyes:

Don’t forget, they’re eating Docklands food for five days. No wonder there’s no deals been done
- On the length of the AFL trade period.

This is easy to summarise - NOTHIN’S HAPPENNED! Drag that out for ten minutes, Richo
- On segment summarising trade week.

She is a walking Mogadon, Nicole Kidman
- On Kidman being the face of the new tourist commercials.

Are you sure Collingwood’s happy about that? I thought they did the draw these days. Have they approved that have they? By jingo!
- On Hawthorn and Geelong plying in round one in 2009

I think this is a good example of phone rage
- On the first Collingwood supporter’s call, re above quote.

I didn’t say they manipulate the draw I said they write it
- On numerous Collingwood supporters’ SMS’s attacking Turfy.

I went to the races in Bangalore. I went to have lunch there which was pretty brave. The three things on the menu: there was rogan josh, there was tandoori chicken and the third thing on the menu? Beaten Favourite. Didn’t want to go there
- Doctor Turf

Now On Serious Turf:

I think Arch may be gawn… And I think maybe SEN’s very own Grant Thomas may be in his place
- On possible changes to Footy Classified which will be back in 2009.
(Caro and Mr. Thomas, that could be interesting. Hutchy must of spilt the beans to Dr. Turf on that little nugget)

I reckon he’s gonna get something of his chest this morning, KB. He’s a little bit narky this morning; well he’s narky all the time, to be honest. He’s a little bit narky about something the coaches are complaining about
- On KB being a little narky.
(KB. Coaches. Rules. Rushed behinds. Hmmm, a brouhaha in the making?)

Re: The SEN Thread 4

The man tells it how it is. None of the allegiance to tv networks or AFL so not afraid to speak his mind without the fear of it jeapordising his position.

Too much conflict of interests with the normal MG guys. KB won't admit or concede the AFL is wrong. Doran has no interests.

A Narky KB
Caroline Wilson reports today that the coaches want a louder voice on the Laws of the Game committee. That’s a decision to be made by the AFL footy department. Also they say they want to have a say on who selects the All-Australian coach. Well, no panel exists. The premiership coach is automatically installed as the coach of the year. So that’s easily fixed. Recent coaches’ surveys show the majority of coaches believe the issue of rushed behinds needs to be addressed, but keep the historic scoring system. Who has created this so-called epidemic of rushed behinds? The coaches!
Now they want something done about it. Try instructing the players not to rush behinds if it’s a blight on the game. Coaches are not happy with four boundary umpires which creates faster boundary throw-ins. Who created this, the so-called problem? The coaches. Up to 120 interchanges making the game so fast the poor single boundary umpire was left behind. Now they suggest wait until the ruckman arrives. What rule says only ruckmen can contest boundary throw-ins? And also they want to address chopping the arms in a marking contest, which say, the coaches believe is too severe. Who created that? GIVE US A BREAK!

I’m KB; That’s My Take

It’s an angry Kevin Bartlett joined by the often indifferent Grunk Denham.

KB: G’dday [Grunk], good morning. Have you got any whinging and moaning to do about the game?

Grunk: Um, no, KB

KB: Sure?

Grunk: I do know since the introduction of the four boundary umpires, decision making has been fantastic. I think we’re averaging one mistake a week. I think in the last six weeks of the season we had one mistake all up. You’re on top of this. Rushed behinds? Is there an escalated figure or something is there?

KB: Well, not really if you look at the average, I think the average in 2007 was 2, and I think in 2008 it was 2.4. As far as the epidemic is concerned :rolleyes:

Grunk: What, should we panic about that should we?

KB: Well the coaches seem to think … the issue of rushed behinds needs to be addressed

Grunk: mkay

KB: I wonder if the fans believe that? But I find it interesting that rushed behinds, and I guess we go back to the Grand Final with Hawthorn rushing about 10 behinds. But who’s caused the rushed behinds?

Grunk: Well, the coaches of course. Slowing the tempo

KB: So can you actually cause a problem and then jump up and down and want the problem addressed? GIVE US A BREAK, [GRUNK]

Grunk: ha, ha, ha

KB: Don’t ya think? They must take us for fools

Grunk: Ha, ha, ha. Well I know, I‘ve got a fair idea-(KB-interuptis)

KB: What’s this, a snow job or something?

Grunk: I‘ve got a fair idea which way that’s gonna go on the rules committee

KB: Nah-o! And what about the ruckmen; 120 interchanges, they speed up the game, which they want to do because they want all their fresh legs, which is fantastic. And then the poor boundary umpire gets blamed because … he doesn’t get there in time to throw the ball back into play. So he gets lambasted for making a mistake. So you create another umpire there because he’s got the whole length of the ground to run and [now] they’ve got the fresh legs on. And then he gets there and throws the ball back in and then people jump up and down and whinge because the ruckman’s not there

Grunk: Is this why we’ve got so many ruckmen trying to be got rid of certain clubs?

KB: Ah well, they’ll probably claim that. We’re probably killing the ruckman off. He won’t exist in a couple of years [sarcastically]

Grunk: Yeahhh (Grunk is sneakily just agreeing mostly and asking questions)

KB: What was that rule that was brought in, was it bring the ball back into play that was going to destroy about 200 careers? And you had to run about 100 yards in about 10.5 seconds? [sarcastically]

Grunk: Yep
(note how Grunk is all on KB’s side but you know the next time the “news breaker” runs into a coach he will have the nostrils in full jock-sniffer mode)

KB: And you also had to run half a marathon under two hours otherwise you wouldn’t get a game?[sarcastically]

Grunk: Yeah. Robert Harvey played on for about 4 years after that and I think Shane Crawford thinking about going on as well (finally the “news breaker” throws at least a tentative punch)

KB: They’re still surviving. We’ll take some calls

(KB and Grunk wax poetic with the cast of talkback characters for the rest of the hour with a couple getting short shrift, as they forgot that KB KNOWS the rules);)

my favourite bp show is thursday when it is just bp and he takes all the calls . my worst bp show is the poker cards show which i think is not that popular they had a quiz yesterday when they gave someone the chance to win a million dollars and they did not get any callers for about 20 mins and they ended up having to give the prize to anyone guessing a number. one caller even rang in twice in a row that was how many people like cards. you can nver get through for other quizes on bps show or on sen but the card quiz 20 mins no callers at all. i felt sorry for bp

Schedule:
Morning Glory: Dr. Turf and Richo
Hungry for Sport: KB
The Good Oil (change the name to something else): Harford and Andy?
The Run Home: Ox and Francis
Evenings: Finey (Mark Allen to be on more often and bring back the orignial quiz).

11pm slot:
Monday: Four Diegos
Tuesday: Born In the USA
Wednesday: Four Diegos
Thursday: Born In the USA
Friday: Four Diegos

We'll this post went from complaining about Matt Thompson to a bloody essay.

Agree with nearlly all that.

Go easy on Matt Thompson. I know he's bloody annoying but he's basicallly just a kid that has been given the jobs that nobody else at the station wants and he's so keen to make a media career he will do anything anyone wants him to do.

Matt Thompson works bloody hard, he seems to be on air reporting from the morning through to Finey's show at times. But he has to stop beefing up stories, making out as if they are big stories in sport, when really they are little stories without much significance. He annoys me the way he presents on the radio, always looking for a big story, similar to tabloid journalism. But I guess that is probably what SEN want him to do. So it is hard to say whether it is his fault or the stations.

SEN should give Doran the rest of the month (well at least to the end of the Spring Carnival) and let Turfy and Simon Marshall run the Good Oil - perhaps with Harf too.

Actually make that a permanent change.

David Schwarz is one horny dude, that's the impression I got listenign to the run home this arvo :D :D

Oh btw my respect for Francis Leach went up, since I found out he's a left-wing voter :D :D (appreaciated the ox calling John Mcain a muppet the other day as well) :D :D

Morning Glory’s Week Of Turfology

Turfology XI

Turf-speak

I hope it was a medical thing and not this - ‘couldn’t get the hang of it’
- On a couple of listeners having a baby on the way after eight years of trying.

And our producer needs some Supplemax, he’s gone off too quick
- On the MG show’s producer gonging quiz callers too quickly.

Of course, he said that when he was wrapped in glad wrap being spanked with a palm leaf
- On Max Mosley saying that Formula 1 is on a road to ruin.

Turfy’s Take

If trade week has come down to the point where clubs and players and whatever need mediators like marriage counselling … what have we come to… If clubs can’t sit down and sort something out and just be honest and lay your cards on the table and come to an arrangement without having to bring in paid people to force agreement between parties, then the system is KNACKERED!

I’m looking forward to, more, seeing Australia play India than those pasty-faced Poms
- A politically incorrect Turfy on the highly anticipated Australia v India Test series

Whoa! Timeout. An SEN netball report without Ben from Sunbury. And almost as lame. ;)

You’ll be telling us about barrels in Snowtown next
- On SEN’s new Mr. Netball, Luke Darcy’s dim description of the city of Adelaide

They must have a salary cap over there. Surely? Yes they do. They’re only allowed to have ten goats per team
- On FC Bunyodkor from Uzbekistan being beaten by Adelaide U, 3-0.

After yesterday’s narky KB performance, time for a little recitation of Thursday’s Hungry for Sport to hopefully find something more hard hitting than Grunk Denham’s Kenny G approach. Enter the fray, the more death metal approach of the crusty curmudgeon, Putz Smith.

The cranky Putzmeister gives his analyses of the upcoming Indian Test series with the familiar sounding voices on the talkback yap, and the not surprising critiquing of the Ben Cousins situation, and then… cycling, the Putz’s least favourite sport.

Putz: And the Goose, [of the week] well, I just heard the newsbreak. What’s his name, Lance Armstrong is going to be cycling - they’re gonna bend the rules to allow him to cycle in the Tour Down Under in Adelaide.

KB: Well they’re asking to bend the rules, [Putz]

Putz: It’s been sanctioned!
KB: Sanctioned?
Putz: Yeah
KB: So Mike Rann’s got his way?

Putz: Yep.. WELL, the greatest goose in all the world, in all of sport, forever and a day, is cycling!

KB: You don’t like cycling, [Putz] do you?

Putz: Cycling, the sport, the people who run it, the people who are in it - honestly, some of the people who are in it - gee they let their sport down.

KB: You’re suggesting today in the Australian that they should scrap the Tour de France.

Putz: Why, why would we continue with it when so many of them cheat?

KB: What about those that don’t cheat?

Putz: Why do we give these cheats any space? Five of the twenty-one stages won by people on drugs. Schleck, he led for three days, had the yellow jersey, he is now suspended because he paid money to that doctor, Fuentes in 2006. Ulrich, Basso, Contador, who they all involved with. Kevin, the sport is riddled with drugs! I pity the poor officials and cyclists who are trying to run that as a clean sport, and complete as clean sport. They have my utmost sympathy. But as soon as you do something like Lance Armstrong and you bend your own rules which say your can’t come back for six months to the day, once you say you’re coming out of retirement, because we need to check ya blood. Once you bend you’re rules, just proves beyond any doubt that the sport is appallingly run and doesn’t deserve to be taken seriously.

KB: I do think … that if a member of your team, because it’s all about team riding in the Tour de France, coz we know Cadel Evans didn’t have a strong enough team… If you haven’t got a good team you can’t win the tour de France. But if someone in your team tests positive, then obviously they’re thrown out during the Tour… But after … they should also lose the great race because it’s a team sport. We do this in the Olympics in terms of relays, if someone in the relay is found to test positive then they just retrospectively take the gold medal from you which we’ve just seen recently with Marion Jones. So I think that’s disappointing because Sastre did win and Schleck was his team-mate and he helped put the pressure on Cadel Evans.

Putz: The Schleck brothers, Frank and Andy, absolutely harassed Cadel Evans, O.K.

KB: [laughing] Frank and Andy

Putz: Made it impossible for him to win. And who won? Their team-mate, Carlos Sastre
twolads.jpg

We are dar Schleck bruuthers, Frank and Andy, and we love Puzrick Schmitt, too.

The Schlecksters’ Motivational Tip of the WEEK!
It's not the size of the dog in the fight... It is the size of the fight in the dog that counts!

Take that Putz.

Putz: So what does it say about the sport? We’ve got Frank Schleck now suspended because he pays this doctor who was feeding drugs to all these cyclists; he paid him 15 grand or something. Oh, please, Kevin.
And nowwww Lance Armstrong.
We’ll break the rules for Lance Armstrong. Dear me! Don’t take the sport seriously. Don’t report it. As I said last year, I wouldn’t even put it in the results page. :mad:

KB makes a beeline for talkback callers after Putz has gone off his rocker about cycling - for a change :cool: No Doran-esque stuff on KB’s first hour again today!

KB isn't good for radio. He doesn't inform his audience about all sports, just the ones he wants. Instead of him informing his audience every ten minutes "we're joined by xxx on Hungry For Sports", he could read out more SMS texts coming through.

The worst part is when you call in and he doesn't give you much of a say.

Basically, he's a radiohead loser. I suppose he's always been selfish, though. I hope someone kicks his head in sooner rather than later.

Thoughts?

KB isn't good for radio. He doesn't inform his audience about all sports, just the ones he wants. Instead of him informing his audience every ten minutes "we're joined by xxx on Hungry For Sports", he could read out more SMS texts coming through.

Thoughts?

either that or:

"world famous talkback number"

the fact that the wheels have fallen off the sen thread since the close of the footy season just goes to show that bugger all happens on the station apart from afl

I heard Patrick Smith's response to a caller on SEN, and all I can say is what an angry, bitter tosser Patty Smith is ..
Honestly the way he treats callers who dare 'criticise' him is pathetic, SEN should sack him ..

Matt Thompson tries to hard to create things! Hear him at draft time?
OMG breaking news Brad Green has..... signed with.... MELBOURNE!!!!...
huddo goes hardly breaking news...::rolleyes:

You can really tell the difference between Turf/Richo and Maher/Watson.

Maher & Watson sound so jaded and tired. Its seems like they are struggling for things to talk about whereas the other two seemed to have numerous things to offer and you could sense they really enjoyed being there.

You can really tell the difference between Turf/Richo and Maher/Watson.

Maher & Watson sound so jaded and tired. Its seems like they are struggling for things to talk about whereas the other two seemed to have numerous things to offer and you could sense they really enjoyed being there.

yep. listened on and off between 7.30-8.15. all i heard was footy talk with a bit on cycling?