Radio The SEN Thread 6

• Thread starter Thread starter red+black

Hungry For [Tanking]
KB clearly took a always-happening points loss to Putz Smith on the tank debate. But he wasn’t knocked out or even TKO’d. Will the great KB finally be seeing the light? Will Grunk Denham, off the interchange bench deliver some telling blows that finally leaves our champ on the canvas?

KB vs. Grunk in the continuing tanking imbroglio.

KB’s Take It’s real. Tanking happens says the Herald Sun and former St, Kilda coach, Grant Thomas. Collingwood president, Eddie McGuire stopped short of being definitive, but, who is tanking? Thomas says when the Saints had priority picks in 2000 and 2001, no tanking took place. As a coach and board man he never tanked claiming his club was so bad it couldn’t win anyway. Eddie McGuire obviously didn’t think Collingwood tanked in 2005 when asked by a caller on Morning Glory this morning ‘what was the Pies position?’ Terry Wallace says he was compromised in round 22, 2007, but no tanking took place at Tigerland. If Eddie or Grant had put up their hand and said yes we tanked, then tanking talk had credibility. But as grant Thomas said, hand on heart, ‘we didn’t tank at Moorabbin.’ So who is tanking? Melbourne, Carlton, and Richmond, will tell us they haven’t been good enough to win games in recent years, either. It seems to me that everyone but no-one is tanking.
I’m KB, that’s my take.

Uh-oh, sounds like KB might be punch drunk. Now here comes the Grunk via the distinctive tones of Marty Rhone. I’m expecting Grunk to open by throwing hay makers, and I’m not disappointed.

KB: Good morning Grunk. Who is tanking, Grunk?

GD: Well, KB, good morning, um, I don’t know, are you on the AFL’s payroll now?

KB: [pneumonic sounding KB off the bat] No I’m not on any payroll! I don’t get paid by the AFL for anything. O.K., Can I put that on the record?

GD: You’ve got your head in the sand today, KB, once again.

KB: No, I’m asking, who is tanking? Coz grant Thomas says absolutely there is tanking. Anybody that doesn’t think there’s any doubt is delusional and putting their heads in the sand…[repeats rant on Thomas from KB’s Take]

GD: Well it’s not a question of who’s tanking right now. It’s a question of who has tanked in the past.

KB: Certainly St. Kilda didn’t tank when they got their priority picks because grant has put that on the record.

GD: Well, you can’t declare, KB. Otherwise if you declare-

KB: So everyone’s tanking except me?

GD: Not everyone. But over the years, Collingwood’s tanked, Essendon’s tanked, the Kangaroos have tanked, Richmond’s tanked, Carlton certainly tanked. I mean-

KB: Not according to Grant. Grant Thomas said he never tanked. And Eddie McGuire- [this time Grunk cuts KB off mid-sentence]

GD: We’re all working in this industry, KB - [ cut off again]

KB: Eddie McGuire certainly hasn’t put his hand up to say Collingwood tanked.

GD: Well, you’re a bit like Andrew Demetriou who’s saying there’s no evidence from clubs, of tanking. Coz if he did-*

KB: Well, Grant Thomas is the straightest shooter in football. You, you’ve told us that before. He speaks his mind. He never, never, ever takes a backward step.

GD: Well maybe he didn’t need to tank at that particular time, KB, but I’m saying, there’s evidence at many clubs that, of course, there’s been tanking. I mean for Andrew to come out yesterday and-*

KB: Could’ve they’ve been just not good enough?

(* Grunk’s clearly only possessing offence as KB scores points by butting in on him twice when Grunk’s about to dump on the AFL boss. Hmmmm)

GD: That’s been the case many times but that’ enhanced by, ah, as I think it was Johnny Ralph yesterday, Ten Points of How to Tank. And I think there’s many ways to do it-

KB: Arghhhhh!

GD: It’s interesting, KB, that players come out and say look, they’re surprised, they’re staggered. Chris Newman yesterday, …‘no knowledge.’ Well, of course the players, they’re the last to know. There would be very few-

KB: So they’re telling fibs?

GD: Well they’re not telling fibs, KB! But they’re left out. Tanking’s not orchestrated by the eighteen members on the ground at any one time, it’s orchestrated by footy clubs and the coaches that play people in positions, don’t play them in certain positions, take ’em off the ground early, send players in for early rehabilitations to get ’em right-

KB: I’m not saying the opportunity’s not there to tank, Greg! But do people tank? It’s like working in a bank. You can embezzle money but not everyone embezzles money. But the opportunity is there to embezzle money if you want to. So there’s an opportunity there to tank There’s an opportunity to do most things in life. Most people are pretty good people. And got good quality people. People of honour.

GD: Most embezzlers get caught, KB. And they’re punished, whatever it is. Footy clubs came out and actually got caught, and they only way they can get caught is if they admitted they did it. No-one’s gonna come out and admit they tanked. That’s ridiculous. They’d be sent to Siberia; they’d be playing away-games in the Northern Territory every week; premiership points would go. They’d be bringing the game into disrepute. (Ahhh, I knew a disrepute sighting wasn’t far away) Of course they’re not going to declare. You know, look, the AFL is off the pace with what happens at club land. Quite often. And I think the best example we’ve seen of that lately is stadium deals where they’ve just woken up in the last 12 months to how severe it is. I think blind Freddy knows that there’s tanking in footy because the prize at the end of day is too great to overlook.

(KB’s has no response, but, Mr. Demetriou escapes :D - off to talkback)

First bloke, Paul from Essendon claims AFL and KB are on a different planet and goes over Terry Wallace and Richmond stuff.
Ding Ding. KB vs. Grunk - at it again

GD: He [Wallace] said he didn’t do anything in the box.
KB: [repeats yesterday’s argument]
GD: And you know what happened in the box that day, KB? They were shell shocked. They were feeling very, very uneasy until the final siren-
KB: Oh (!) you know that for fact, do ya Grunk?
GD: I do
KB: Well put up ya hand and tell us what you do know then, Grunk.
GD: I’m just tellin’ ya. The box-
KB: Well who told you that? Were you in the box that day?
GD: No, I wasn’t in the box that day.
KB: Well who was in the box that told you that?
GD: You’ve got to understand that are lot of things are talked to(sic), particularly the journalists-
KB: So someone in the box told you they were shell shocked?
GD: Yep
KB: O.K. [thanks the talkback caller who got short shrift long ago, and on to the next caller, Craig, but not before our flyweight champ keeps digging at Grunk first]
KB: Who was it, Greg?
GD: Someone in the coaching box, KB!
KB: Was it the coach?
GD: Someone in the coaching box, that particular day.
KB: What, a guest in the coaching box for the last game of the year?
GD: No it wasn’t one of those people that win a raffle and sit there with the coach. No, I can guarantee you it wasn’t that.

Craig from Essendon piles on requesting KB not to be pigheaded on tanking, like Andrew Demetriou and the AFL…and KB and Grunk lace ’em up again
[…]

KB: Well, maybe we fix the perception and just say it doesn’t happen
GD: Well, that’s what you’re doing
KB: If it’s only a perception?
GD: Well, that’s what you’re doing
KB: That’s what I’m saying. If it’s only a perception. Most of the sides that finish on the bottom that people reckon are tanking, Greg - I agree here with Grant Thomas - sometimes your side’s so bad you can’t win games anyway, Grunk! So you go three-quarters of the way through the season playing Kevin Bartlett and Grunk Denham and all of a sudden you think, ‘you know what, we’ve only won two games with these guys, we’ll toss these guys out, we’ve got nothing to lose, and try a couple of young kids.’ You’ve got nothing to lose; is that tanking?
GD: Don’t be silly! Between rounds one and sixteen, normally, everyone plays to the best of their ability. But all of a sudden, reality bites, we’ve got six games to go, we’ve won two or three games, now come on guys let’s get real. We’ve got to look, list management for the future, KB
KB: Is that tanking is it?
GD: YES
KB: Because you get rid of blokes…you’ve won two games in the first sixteen rounds, so you’re gonna try some new blokes. That’s tanking?
GD: Not just that. There’s a number of ways it happens and you know everyone of them, KB. And I’m just saying to you, you’re asking who’s tanking now? We are only approaching round 17 so we haven’t seen a great deal of it at the moment, O.K. We’ve seen little bits and pieces of it…
KB: Well tell me, who’s going to tank?

(KB goes back to the phones to ascertain who is going to tank)

Chris from Oak Park challenges Grunk on including Kangas in tanking allegation. Grunk nails him decisively stating the actual game. The phone beeps… Harry from Huntingdale (sounds real) rehashes Chris Judd Visy deal (yawn) and adds a crazy analogy - KB and Grunk tag-team to destroy him with gusto… Bourkey from Riverside says “anyone that says they don’t tank is a tanker I reckon.” KB defends points as the ubiquitous “Blind Freddy” gets another mention. Rehash Wallace argument.
[…]
KB: …Ah, if we win it, you know, people will go crook at us - would have been better to lose. Ands if we lose, people will say we didn’t try to win.
GD: Mmmm, and halfway through the last quarter he had kittens!
KB: We’ll take a break…

Steve from Maribyrnong sounds like a KB corner man as he goes after Grunk, and his fraternity brothers in the media. Uses Scotland and Nick Stevens being omitted recently in argument for Grunk to write article on the Blues tanking now. “Gotcha on toast there,” exclaims confident KB …Bobby from Mulgrave quotes Pies v Blues ‘07 (Rd18) game as example of tanking (Blues rested key players during game; Pies kicked 8 goals in final QTR), KB explains that situation; Grunk replies: “you’re so naïve, KB.” … Ivan from Melton says “sooky la la Collingwood supporter, complain Chris Judd…” (with that I’m off for a leak)… KB and Grunk agreeing on crafty Eddie McGuire working of Malthouse/Buckley situation…Peter from Thomastown again on Juddy’s earnings from Visy. “That’s ridiculous” says Grunk seemingly tyring of Judd bashing…Nick from Dandenong takes aim at Grant Thomas’ statements. Grunk restates why people can’t admit to tanking, and KB continues to jab away using a bank teller analogy, then quotes Webster’s Dictionary for definition of tanking and hightails it for a commercial break.

Ritchie from Ringwood says players would never tank (where‘s this guy been?). Grunk sounding frustrated covers his points again… KB taunts Grunk with SMS's on Collingwood’s starting bench of Didak, Davis, Thomas, and Swann, against the Hawks on the weekend being done to allow Hawks to win. Ding Ding Ding

GD: Oh, well, please, how stupid is that?
KB: No it’s not
GD: Well, Mick obviously had a coaching plan there-
KB: Ohhh, so that’s a coaching plan. It’s not tanking?
GD: Oh, turn it up, KB. Ya sitting fourth, you’re gonna play finals this year-
KB: Oh, O.K. So if your sitting fourth, you can have your star players on the bench and that’s fine, but if you’re on the bottom of the ladder and you’ve actually got a couple of star players on the bench, you’re tanking. You’ve got no credibility there, Grunk
GD: [can only let out a frustrated groan as the relentless KB moves to the next caller]

Steve from Mooroolbark asks if Crocker looses every game, can he be appointed in 2010? Grunk messes up a little with his points on Brett Rattan…John from Narre Warren backs up Grunk by using Tony Liberatore example; KB queries the Libba reasoning… Ross from Geelong ways in on having hoped his team [Carlton] lost in ‘07. Grunk’s feeling good again; KB says Ross may be in the minority. Ross starts to explain the NBA lottery example, but KB and Grunk want none of it. …

Steve from Brunswick leads in from the break stating 2007 Melbourne v Carlton match-up must be on tape (nah, ya reckon?)…Shooter from Chadstone states that draft is to equalize bottom teams with higher teams…Dale from Endeavour Hills agrees with Grunk on companies’ agendas analogy; KB brings up the moral issue and (YES, I been waiting for this) the Teddy Richards defence.* Michael from Collingwood wants competition to be professional enough to not see tanking as a shameable thing. Its’ list management and you do what you can for the future.
KB continues with still lots of verve that bottom teams just can’t win…Johnny on the road is succinct: Kevin, you’re frustrating me to death, bloody hell. KB laughs, but not for long. Johnny goes the “rewarding mediocrity” slant. KB asks how then do you get teams off the bottom? “I’m not smart enough to understand all that, Kevin,” replies Johnny. And with that brilliant argument, it’s time for the news.

KB’s not on the AFL payroll but he should be. One whole hour and barely a glove laid on the AFL and Andrew Demetriou. That KB sure is something'.

Me thinks an interview with “Colonel” Bob Sheridon and some smelling salts is all that will be needed to have KB freshened up for many more stoushes. Six more tanking weeks to go. :rolleyes:

Hungry For [Tanking]
KB clearly took a always-happening points loss to Putz Smith on the tank debate.
:
Yep, totally. And the day I was listening, the dozen or so subsequent callers all disagreed with KB!! :p It was pretty funny.

Who do KB and Demetriou actually think they're fooling with their "tanking just doesn't exist" rubbish? Perhaps a great lump of football fans are so stoopid they can be conned by this crap. :D

caller just praised kelly underwood on her calling AFL games and informed Doran that websites were grilling Kelly! His response was ''Don't waste time reading those websites''. Is that a thinly veiled sledge at Big Footy?At least he didn't inform us that Brian Lake was a ''battler'':p:p

He wouldn't of said that if he had his share of compliments. But I'd say across all relative forums, it's 98% abusive of him. Probably had a read once and didn't like what he saw.

Prob has fears of joining facebook with the abuse he will cop!

Doran was reading an SMS today and got to the end and said it says LOL. He said, that's nice of them to say Lots of Love.

I'd laugh and call him an idiot, but my Dad and GF's mum also thought LOL means lots of love. Must be an old school thing.

caller just praised kelly underwood on her calling AFL games and informed Doran that websites were grilling Kelly! His response was ''Don't waste time reading those websites''. Is that a thinly veiled sledge at Big Footy?At least he didn't inform us that Brian Lake was a ''battler'':p:p

I've heard him queried about the Internet sports sites before. He got real agitated and was quick to exclaim he doesn't know anything about them. "Doesn't read them." I'd believe it, too.

Anywayses, where did you get all that? :D

If I've got to go out or I just guess something good may be on - like during netball season, duck season, tanking season - I just run a tape and listen later while I'm scoping and monitoring the betting markets. Swanies in from an early-week $1.58 to a $1.35 this afternoon. Tanking may be AFL footy's Apocalypse Now. I just love the smell of tanking in the morning. And I Jake-Nialled the $1.58 on Monday morning. :)

Lots of one line post references on BF. A lot people don't get to hear much of the morning and afternoon shows, so what's the harm in a little sports' War and Peace, eh. I know one person gets a kick out if it…and that'd be me.;)

Only do it a handful of times a year. If I missed any of Dance You're a#% Off (dumped after 1 WK), or the Ellen DeGeneres Show on Nine. (even though it airs twice a day:eek:) Weeeeell that's too bad for me. Took a lot longer for me to write that then for Bazzar to use the scroll bar.:D

couldn’t be bothered with War and Peace, so what was the gist of the previous post:confused:

Sorry, Bazzar. :( Gist? Hmmmm… Maybe KB can't understand why every person that fakes illness and takes a day off work (personal tank) as a sickie, doesn't just admit to the boss upon return, that he or she wasn't really sick. No one is ever going to say anything. No one's wants to be a whistle blower on the tank.

Its dumb how Doran gives Rita a hard time every week - and Harf joins in. I guess its supposed to be in fun but for me it seems like he is insecure about her being better than him or whatever. Kind of like Caro on Footy Classified or whatever its called.

Yep, today KB’s all about this week’s marquee match-ups in his Take. Cats are cold with the punters…where’s Mick Malthouse at?

Marty Rhone means Denham’s back to tussle with the morning master. Oh boy, Grunk’s still obviously pissed at KB and dumps on him from the get-go. There’s to be no rope-a-dope tactics here. Will a spike be driven through the heart of the world’s leading Tanking Denialist once and for all?

KB: [cheerily] And a good morning to Grunk Denham, the news breaker, G’day Grunk
GD: [sternly] G’day KB. Pretty soft “Take” this morning, I mean-

KB: [inquisitively] Why’s that?
GD: [damningly] Let’s get to the nitty-gritty. Jackhammer Niall’s got you pegged in The Age today - having lunch at Lynch’s in a private room with your Richmond fogies. I could almost pick your company, I bet there’d be power brokers, Tony Jewell, Barry Richardson, Neville Crowe would be a certainty, Ian Wilson I bet was there too. So what are you scheming now, KB? Come clean

KB: I’m not scheming anything at all, Grunk
GD: You’ve been undermining Richmond for a while now

KB: You should have read what Jackhammer Naill’s comments were
GD: I did read it. I don’t believe you

KB: Mike Perry the past players president said it was just a few mates getting together as we do every year, from time to time. We have some great memories and a lot of laughs. (certainly no dearth of handball gags, I bet)
GD: Just come out and declare you want to be president. I mean, just, just, just be open about it; and then you turn to the Herald Sun, KB, and you’ve made it again. Mike Sheahan’s nailed you in the Herald Sun again today. “Buried your head in the sand over tanking,” He’s pegged you brilliantly

KB: Ahhh, yes, I’ve read that, what Mike has said,too: “The boss’s head is stuck in the sand; my head is stuck in the sand.” I think he said Leigh Mathews’ head is also stuck in the sand
GD: He said Andrew Demetriou’s head so deep in the sand he should be able to have a look at China. [KB and the Grunkster LOL] You’re in that category

KB: Well, can I say this to Michael. Now he’s writing these articles. He’s absolutely convinced that tanking is taking place. Terry Wallace said he felt compromised but there was no tanking taking place. He said that on …The Run Home. He came on and wanted to clarify those comments that were made in the press. He didn’t say he tanked at all. He said he felt compromised. Grant Thomas, now there’s no straighter talker in the game than Grant Thomas. … said that he never tanked as coach of St. Kilda even though they got priority picks. Dean Bailey says that he’s not taking at Melbourne. He’s doing exactly what he’s been doing at Melbourne ever since he’d taken over the job, trying to develop young players and trying to win a game. (not a good week to throw eight-change Bailey into the non-tank mix, KB:rolleyes:) Jade Rawlings last night came out and said he’s not tanking…
GD: Well why would Rawlings want to tank? He’s trying impress with his résumé

KB: He’s not tanking. He’s trying to win games. Tigers are trying to win games
GD: Of course they are

KB: So does Mike have some dirt on maybe, Worsfold, or, Mark Harvey? Now if he has, lets expose, ya know. Give us some facts and give us some comment. Name the tankers, Mike!? Who are they!? …Who have brought the game into disrepute!? (Ahhh, my daily disrepute sighting) Ah, who are the, ya know, who are the players out there, um, that are risking their life and their limbs; and, you know, people are conspiring against them to lose games (I smell a Teddy Defence) from the coach’s box. Who are these coaches? Who are these coaching panels? I mean this is a moral issue that Mike should be addressing if that is his strong belief. So Mike can give us a buzz and come on and he can tell us who is tanking.
GD: Well, he’s totally correct

KB: Come on and tell us who is tanking. Don’t just give us headlines saying everyone’s got their head in the sand
GD: You’re just dirty because your name-
KB: Give us some facts, Michael! Give us some facts!
GD: We gave you facts yesterday, KB-
KB: NO, you gave us a lot of innuendo
GD: No, what about last-
KB: And hearsay!
GD: What about Mark Williams-
KB: Hearsay!
GD: Almost cost him [Williams] his job last year, KB-
KB: And hearsay
GD: Mark Williams came out and said ‘look, we can’t make the eight, we’re gonna tank it for the rest of the year.’ The crowd’s dropped off over there in Port Adelaide
KB: [LOL] He didn’t say we’re gonna tank it for the rest of the year. There’s no direct quote from Mark Williams saying that.
GD: He didn’t exactly- He wasn’t quoted as saying tanking but it was just put out there
KB: YOU just can’t make up stories like that, Grunk
GD: List management, KB
KB: That’s what Nathan Buckley said this morning on Sunrise: ‘Confidence is what you have before you understand the situation and there’s a lot of media out there with a lot of confidence.’ What does that mean?
GD: Well, it means you’ve got none when you talk about tanking

KB: I mean, we all know Eddie’s trying to broker a deal that has Mick Malthouse and Nathan Buckley at Collingwood. So, what does that mean, that Nathan made that comment from?(sic)
GD: Well, KB, all I know is The Age has done the biggest about-face I’ve ever seen in journalism. Yesterday, Caroline Wilson reported the Malthouse/Buckley alliance cannot work. Today, the partnership with Malthouse looking likely. I mean, fair dinkum, honestly, I mean there’s been so much media hysteria over this and just wait and see how it plays out

(Interestingly, most recently, Grunk himself hasn’t been so patient on the Western Bulldogs coaching conundrum. Now seriously, worse than a Party losing an un-losable election, how can Denham be losing ground on an un-losable debate on tanking as he stumbles, fumbles, mumbles with Choco miss-quotes. But he is. Grunk needs the cavalry, and it’s on the way.)

KB moves to talkback asking the first caller if he’s on his side or if KB, himself, has gone mad? Caller says, “yeah, I think you have gone mad.” Grunk also chips in with a cheeky “yep.” Usual Friday footy follies ensue before KB and Grunk continue their tanking tête-à-tête.

KB: Well, he‘s [Rawlings] not tanking if he’s bringing back Nathan Brown, is he?
GD: [exasperated] No, KB, coaches in the final year of a contract, or coaches that are trying to impress to get a senior gig, don’t tank
KB: O.K., then who is tanking, Grunk?
GD: Right now?
KB: Yes
GD: Oh well, we’ll just wait for the last few rounds, KB. Have a look at Melbourne tomorrow. They’ve got one hundred injuries playing Sydney…
KB: Are they tanking, are they? Melbourne? As a matter of interest?
GD: Watch this space!
KB: So you reckon Melbourne’s tanking. Gee, you’re crook on Melbourne because you tipped them to make the finals last year. So for someone who tipped them to make the finals last year, you’ve done an about-turn. They’ve gone from making the finals to absolutely tanking for the last two years
GD: Mate, I tell you what could be a tank this weekend - Fremantle and West Coast. I mean it could be a nil-all draw at Subi tomorrow.
KB: Oh, John Worsfold said he’s not tanking

Back to talkback and KB prodding, as our SEN champ continues in his usual Pacquiao style. (Grunk’s third-party help is on the horizon) Blighty cops a pasting for S.A. rivalry talk eclipsing Vic teams…then back to the pre-weekend match-up banter

Returning from commercials with the tones of a John Worsfold non-tanking sound bite: “For the people involved in the industry it’s not an issue; doesn’t exist.”

The cavalry is here to finally to shoot down our expert on the subject of Tankitis. KB asked, and he’s obliged. Never fear Mike’s here! As in Sheahan.

Re-cue the Rhone music - it’s now Denham and Mace, and they attempt to spray KB fair in the face. Now, seeing Fox TV and 3AW’s “Mace” Sheahan has graced SEN with his valuable time, the station will almost surely podcast the double-barrel attack on KB. Hungry for WWE. And so it’s on!

Kevin, Libba was sent to Guantanamo Bay after what he said at Carlton
- Classic Sheahan

Now for the little matter of playing the games.

Its dumb how Doran gives Rita a hard time every week - and Harf joins in. I guess its supposed to be in fun but for me it seems like he is insecure about her being better than him or whatever. Kind of like Caro on Footy Classified or whatever its called.

It gets pretty boring. Still Casual Friday is far and away his best show thanks to Rita and Harf.

From facebook Rita is the one holding the box of brumbys and Doran is on the end looking like a homo dweebster:D

casualfriday4.jpg

Jesus harford's losing his feathers. :eek:Rita's better looking than I thought. Pity nothing but utter drivel eminates from her mouth :rolleyes:

It gets pretty boring. Still Casual Friday is far and away his best show thanks to Rita and Harf.

From facebook Rita is the one holding the box of brumbys and Doran is on the end looking like a homo dweebster:D

casualfriday4.jpg

LOL that is the most 'gay' picture I have seen since the Essendon 2009 team photo ... ROFL :D