Radio The SEN Thread 9

Yeah, how's the way Thompson was trying to pump up Cowan's comments last week (or the week before)?!? He was like: "THIS IS EXTRAORDINARY! I'VE NEVER HEARD ANYTING LIKE IT! LET'S HEAR IT AGAIN! Wow!"

It barely got a mention anywhere else on the station, let alone on any other station
my favourite most recent 'so bad, he's good' matty thompson moment was the steve williams/tiger woods racial slur. i swear he must of reeled off a hundred different synonyms for disgusting. :D

Lucky Thompson's going now so they've got a whole footy season to work out who's going to do filler weekend programs and ask talkback callers " but what do YOU think?..." about the most pointless of topics.

His finest moment was when Fev got accused of flopping the chop and Thommo came shockjocking himself into a frenzy only for every caller for the next hour to ring up and abuse him for his opinions. Some of the most defensive radio ever - deserves a spot in any SEN greatest hits package.

KB introducing Monday’s line-up:
Nigel Purchase talking some basketball. Maybe someone who can talk sense on basketball instead of Andrew Gaze.

Andrew Gaze needs to sharpen up on the verbal stoushing because not only does KB have a long memory, he doesn’t verbally handball, rarely drops a topic, and if he ever does, he still throws his arms out looking for a freebee. He will keep kicking goals on Gaze until he gets an extraordinary retraction on the fabricated extraordinary good health of basketball in Australia, or Gaze delivers the return of the Geelong Super Cats. As Neville Crow found out, the simplest perceived faux pas against KB can have ramifications for years. A lot of years.

Wacky Wednesday

KB’s Take
Now I’m glad to see leading CEOs in Brian Cook and Gary Pert calling for clubs to restrict assistant coaches from departing their clubs during finals campaigns to take on senior appointments. Now if we are to believe their rolls aren’t significant and viable to team success then surely their presence during the finals is paramount to winning. I just couldn’t believe Mark Neeld and Brenton Sanderson went missing for the Pies and the Cats as they went for the holy grail last year. Both sides must have suffered in their build-up and preparation. You can’t preach commitment all year and then dump it.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

There’s more:
[Assistant] coaches who preach commitment all year and clubs preaching just how important these coaches are and then you get to the finals and all of a sudden “I’m off” or the club says “we don’t want you because you’re gonna coach somewhere” or the coach says “I’ve got a senior coaching job so now I’m out of here.” I don’t think it’s the right thing and I thought last year, even when Brad Scott left the Pies during the finals series when he took over as coach of the Kangaroos. To me it just seemed incredible that these coaches can preach all year and talk to these guys, and what we’re told is a major role in how the clubs plays, and they talk to them at quarter-time and half-time, and three-quarter-time, and then you get right down to the pointy end of the season and you get another job and you say “see you later.”

And there’s even more:
Ya see, Mark Neeld last year, now we can see him at Melbourne. They’re very, very impressed and they just love what he’s doing at Melbourne. Now obviously Collingwood were very impressed with Mark Neeld as well. Now surely he played a very important role in Collingwood. They lost the Grand Final; at one stage they got 20 points up in the Grand Final, don’t forget, but they lost the Grand Final going back-to-back. Would Collingwood have been a better and harder side to beat on the day, and even Geelong might have been harder if Brenton Sanderson and Mark Neeld had been in their rolls that they’ve had all year? Supporters deserve better. Players!

And there’s still even more:
That is rubbish to say because you’ve been in the job for 28 weeks, now we get to the Grand Final, their input is worthless because we’ve put in the 28 weeks and what he’s gonna tell us on preliminary final day or Grand Final day is not gonna make any difference whatsoever. You’re working with this group of players all year, getting the best out of them, cajoling them, talking to them at all these breaks, all the team meetings, then all of a sudden you get down to the Grand Final or the preliminary finals, it doesn’t really matter. Now does that sit with anyone else? That is gibberish, as [Putz] Smith would say.

With assistant coaches not high on the totem pole of talkback and not much else of interest on the Wednesday pre-season discussion table, KB often likes to get a little wacky with reality and if he has one favourite punching bag for these moods, it’s Blue Bagging. With LeBaron-Ralph to kick around in the studio, KB sets his mind to his perennial radio target – Carlton supporters. Then again, they could talk women’s golf. Let’s see if anyone brings it up.

ferengistaredown.jpg

The debonair smooth-talking sliver-spooned Jon Rossiter-Peacock-LeBaron-Ralph goes head-to-head with the gnarly KB on Wacky Wednesday. Will KB make the wackiest call of the year?

LeBaron-Ralph goes way out and does The Man on a Ledge predicting Carlton is a monty to make the top four and quickly is accused of being on the Blues bandwagon and is also reminded of Judd’s crook shoulder (KB’s 2,102nd reference to Juddy’s alleged dodgy shoulder). The crack full-back Jamison’s in trouble too with a stress facture, claims KB. “If he’s got a stress fracture in his back he’s not gonna play for at least three months so he’s gone.”

KB: So the full back’s gone. Has anyone ever seen Judd lift his hand above his head yet?
JLR: [Well] I think they got the most capacity for improvement out of any club in the AFL.
KB: Carlton!?
JLR: Yeah, maybe apart from Melbourne. And look, I know Melbourne can come a long way but they’re starting from a long back. Kruezer, he’s absolutely flying; he said it himself in the press today; we’ve been hearing reports; I think he can be in the top 10 in the AFL in terms of players. Do we realise how good this bloke was two years ago. I think Gibbs will go to another level; Hampson will finally get himself fit … Waite! Waite hardly played, second half of the year. Yarran can be-
KB: So these are all question marks?
JLR: Jordan Russell, Kane Lucas; they’re not question marks. …
KB: So you believe Carlton has the greatest capacity to improve this year than any other club in the competition.
JLR: Yeah, they do.

LeBaron-Ralph stays on the edge by predicting an all-interstate bottom five: Brisbane, Adelaide, Port, Gold Coast, and GWS. And he finds that amazing. His top four is on the cutting edge: Geelong, Pies, Hawthorn, Carlton are the no-brainers with West Coast a chance to pip one of them. The brain storming that must have gone into that!? :rolleyes:
[…]

JLR: I think Carlton may even finish top two. I just think-
KB: Top two now!
JLR: Top four, monty-
KB: Ohhhh, geez!
JLR: But I think the pressure is off Brett Ratten. It’s amazing to think what they did with the pressure on him-
KB: The propaganda’s got to you with Carlton hasn’t it? They’ve got the Blues Zone down Lygon Street and all of a sudden you’ve got ‘em top two!
JRL: KB, you’re so negative towards Carlton-
KB: Nah, I love Carlton!
[…]

Caller Sam agrees with JLR but is keen to take KB’s bait and tries a different angle. A second team for Carlton to show the Blues’ depth:
B: Joseph, White, Davies
HB: Touhy, Watson, Bower
C: McInnes, McLean, O’Keeffe
HF: Thornton, Rowe, Andy Collins
F: Kerr, Casboult, McCarthy
Foll: Hampsen, Curnow, Armfield

Sam: That’s a second side that probably won’t play too much football, that can when they need to, so-
KB: Yeah, wouldn’t beat Port Melbourne, Sam. Cannot beat Port Melbourne.
JLR: Tuohy. How good was he last year? Look, he’s had another-
KB: Well, he was promising
JLR: Oh, you’re kidding?
KB: Tuohy was a promising player
JLR: What about that goal he kicked; was it in the final? From a kick-out, lept, overhead, took a bounce, slotted from fifty. He was-
KB: Ya ranking him alongside Kenny Hunter are you?
JLR: [LOL] And Ed Curnow, too. Cracked his shoulder for the second time late last year. Didn’t tell the club, he was so keen to play on. He’s flying now, got miles in his legs, had the shoulder reco. …
[…]

Next caller wants LeBaron-Ralph drug tested for thought on Carlton’s predicted improvement. JLR requests KB’s top eight.

KB: Pens poised for my top eight too because I think last year I had six out of the eight. Very unlucky last year with North Melbourne finishing ninth and not in the eight. Because I don’t go with propaganda, I don’t take in all the crap that’s given to us in the pre-season. I give it to you straight, Ralphy. Who’s gonna be in the top eight.
JLR: I’ve got an idea of yours and it might be quite controversial.
KB: It won’t be controversial, it’ll be spot on!
JRL: Geelong, Pies, Hawks, Carlton, West Coast, Fremantle, Sydney, Essendon; and from then on in you’ve got the bottom five and nine to thirteen, Saints, Roos, Richmond, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs …

The clearly fence-sitting LeBaron-Ralph has Fremantle giving the Saints the Freo heave-ho out of the eight and that’s it.

KB: My top eight, this year, at the end of the home-and-away series: Collingwood, Geelong-
LJR: [sarcastically] Oh, you’ve gone out on a limb there. (Says the Man on a Ledge)
KB: Geelong; I’m giving you the facts; West Coast, Hawthorn-
JLR: [whispering] No Carlton!?
KB: Freo-
JLR: No Carlton!
KB: Sydney-
JLR: Carlton?
KB: St. Kilda-
KB: It’s got to be coming soon.
KB: North Melbourne
JLR: WHAT!
KB: That’s my top eight. Collingwood, Geelong, West Coast, Hawthorn, Freo, Sydney, St. Kilda, North Melbourne. Outside the top eight. Do you want my outside the top eight?
JLR: Yes, I’m waiting
KB: Carlton
JLR: Oh good, Carlton. You’ve got Carlton; you’ve squeezed them in did you?
KB: Yep. Essendon, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, and then… (Brisbane, Ade, Port Ade, GCVS, GWS)
JLR: Well, that’s just ridiculous. That is [gibberish] of the millennium to think Carlton are going to miss the top eight, KB. I know you’re a hater but I thought you had a modicum of sense and fairness as well. Just swirling in there with your gibberish, but to think that they’re going to miss the top eight, KB, is the stupidest call of the year.
KB: I suppose when the Bombers won a premiership in 1993 and ya didn’t tip them to finish in the top eight the next year, that would have been gibberish too? They didn’t make the top eight.

(Essendon used 40 players in the 1994 season when the club incurred the then-highest yearly medical costs in the club’s history, surpassing the ill-fated 1986 campaign where Daisy, Vanda, and Timmy were seriously injured in a four-week period in the search for back-to-back-to-back premierships. KB’s smarter than the average legend.)

JLR: Yes, but Carlton-
KB: They didn’t even make the finals.
JLR: But Carlton hasn’t got a premiership hangover. They’re hungry and they’ve got improvement and-
KB: Hungry? You’ve just read out six players to me that have all got question marks and now Jamison’s got a stress fracture of his back
JLR: The question is whether they’ll improve 10 percent or 30 percent.
KB: Don’t go by the pre-season hype and all the propaganda. Just go by what you see. Facts and figures and weigh it up. You’ve been in football long enough.

Next caller claims LeBaron-Ralph is off his head.
Following caller: Ralphy, you’re off your chops. [States North Melbourne’s good draw]
KB: I could have told you that.

JLR wants to see North Melbourne “prove to us that the improvement is tangible” so he’s not putting them in his top eight. Uses Tigers as example and will dock his cap to North when they do improve. You see he wants teams making the eight before he tips them to make the eight. Just cutting edge stuff.

Next caller claims KB has lost the plot; he “must be crazy, mate.” Push KB, he pushes back.
[…]
KB: What ever happened to Mathew Kreuzer and his foot going numb? Has Carlton ever come out and been honest and told us exactly what happened to his foot? … No, there was no cyst! There was no cyst pushing on a nerve because Greg Swann told us that last year and there was no operation. So how do we know when we get to round one and his foot doesn’t go numb.
JLR: It’s the first bit of sense you’ve made this whole hour, KB.

Next confident Carlton caller predicts flag and wants KB to get over the ’82 Grand Final.

JRL: Oh, I think they can definitely win the premiership
KB: OH, geez. Even Stephen Kernahan is saying we got to go for the premiership. … He said dark days are gonna spur the club on. Gonna spur ‘em on. And legitimate premiership threat!
[…]

KB states his predictions are generally spot on and his very “chuffed about that.” Informs JLR to jot those tips down for comparison at the end of the season. KB’s stirred enough Carlton fans but he once again has gone too far and has incurred the wrath of one too many blue-hearted faithful:

KB: Johnny’s from Camperdown. G’day, Johnny
Caller Johnny: Kevin, John Goold, mate, how are you?
KB: Ahhh, Johnny. Johnny, Johnny. Now Johnny will talk some sense here. Johnny is a realist when it comes to Carlton.
JG: Kevin?
KB: Yes John.
JG: I’ve always admired you. Your intellect on the football field and your intellect in life is wonderful. But you’ve had a brain seizure. Now emotions have grabbed you, mate. … Hampson will be the most improved player in the AFL this year, and look out Carlton. … I think that Jon Ralph speaks a lot of sense. I think he’s being rational and we did play with an un-resourced group of players last year in the finals, and if the big word, lady luck allows us to stay sound we have much better cattle than last year. ... I would be disappointed if we didn’t make the four.
KB: The top four from “Raggsy” Goold. Johnny thanks for that.
JLR: Nine-fifty-nine and finally we get some sense. Thanks, John
KB: Greg Swann’s gonna join us. CARLTON CEO, he’ll be talking dribble.

John Goold : KB has had a brain seizure

KB tipped Richmond to win.
2009: Carlton 23-12-150 d Richmond 9-13-67

KB tipped Richmond to win by 36 points.
2010: Carlton 18-12-120 d Richmond 9-10-64

KB tipped the tigers again last year.
2011: Carlton 14-20-104 d Richmond 13-6-84

2012?
KB’s prediction is currently holding at a lazy 108 point victory for the Tigers.

KB: That’s my top eight. Collingwood, Geelong, West Coast, Hawthorn, Freo, Sydney, St. Kilda, North Melbourne. Outside the top eight. Do you want my outside the top eight?
JLR: Yes, I’m waiting
KB: Carlton
JLR: Oh good, Carlton. You’ve got Carlton; you’ve squeezed them in did you?
KB: Yep. Essendon, Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, and then… (Brisbane, Ade, Port Ade, GCVS, GWS)

Tigers for the spoon then? KB couldn't slot Richmond into the top 17?

Just listening to the Golf Show masquerading as the show formerly known as the Run Home.First time in a while I've listened, terribly awful:thumbsdown:Lost me

Fair bit of golf on Sports Tonight on 3AW.

After playing audio of Putz Smith from the previous morning, KB asks his real golfing expert, Rowan Dammit! how he thinks Yani Tseng would go against Luke Donald. Even though the following is irrelevant as to why men don’t follow women’s sport, Dammit! throws a bunker, a water hazard or two, and a 7-iron into Putz’s bigotry, chauvinism, and sexist claims.

I think Luke Donald would be so much better than Yani Tseng from 150 [metres] in, over 18 holes, or over 72 holes, put it that way. If there was a golf tournament where every hole was 150 metres and they were playing against each other, Luke Donald would win hands-down. He’s just in my opinion, a better golfer than she is. She is a magnificent golfer but there are differences between men and women obviously.

Luke Donald would hit at least one club less into the greens so if Yani Tseng from 150 is going to be hitting six-irons, he would hit seven or eight, or maybe two clubs stronger. So that’s gonna make a big difference for a start. I think he’s probably more seasoned even though she’s won five majors. The pressure in women’s golf is not the same as men’s. And I think technically he has better technique than Yani Tseng does also. …

The women’s tour is not set up the same as the men’s. The golf courses are not as difficult, they play on courses which are obviously shorter which is fine but they’re not set up like Men’s US Open courses or Augusta National or anything like that. So I don’t think the ladies are used to playing on quick undulating greens and heavy rough and so on. They’re certainly set up differently so I would suspect they would struggle playing courses that are set up for the men’s tour, even if the holes were shortened for them. And it will really be interesting to see how they go at Royal Melbourne this week because they are playing a very tough course, still quick, but they won’t be set up the same way as the President’s cup.

-Rowan Dammit! (Father of four girls, but obviously a misogynist, like KB, and Tony Abbott :rolleyes:)

To be fair Mark Allen gets a lot of people calling up talking about golf and asking him questions which as a golfer I don't mind myself.
It's a bit like when Basher Balme is on KB's show you get a lot of callers asking questions about Geelong which a find a little annoying. (Then when Greg Swann is on you get the Carlton callers which I don't mind. Quite the hypocrite aren't I? :thumbsu:)

KB’s was locked and loaded with the Roos in his crosshairs.
North Melbourne football club today has suspended Majik Daw for one week for breaching rehab protocol by staying out late. He will spend next week at our VFL club Werribee. Majik was not truthful in his version of events and was extremely remorseful. That’s all North Melbourne has to say yesterday. Now it’s been blown out of all proportion to the extent that we now know he owes a few dollars to a team-mate and also he went out with an ex-girlfriend of a former team-mate. Whoopie doo. Hope North perform better on the field.
I’m KB, That’s My Take [cuts to Aerosmith’s “Dude (Looks Like A Lady)” for some female content?]

But after a quick listing of an all-male line-up on Thursday’s sexist, chauvinistic, bigoted 3-hour show, it’s Marty Rhone’s “Denim & Lace” which can only mean one thing: The future agent provocateur President of the Melbourne Football Club - Grunk “Venom” Denham:
Look, I agree with you. Yesterday’s action by North was a public relations disaster. I’m mean even to the extent they got their coach Brad Scott involved later on in the evening. That shouldn’t have happened. The coach didn’t need to speak on it yesterday. Look, during the pre-season I’m pretty sure Adelaide had a problem with one of its younger players involving, I think, police; Hawthorn certainly did with young Bradley Hill in Perth. You know we got minimal press coverage over that; I think one was a rookie perhaps; one was certainly new to the club. It was just really, really unfortunate. I don’t know why they didn’t just come out and disclose it. … That’s exactly about the press release [KB’s] I would have been responsible for if I was working at North Melbourne. … It’s got out of control, I think.

And this poor kid now, all of a sudden the whole world knows he owes a few dollars to one of his team-mates, so put up your hand if you’ve never owed a mate some money? And whoopee doo, he went out with a girl who was an ex-girlfriend of a team-mate. Whoopi doo to that too.
-KB

Night Finals, Fireworks, More Majik
A night final is an absolute no-brainer; it’s an absolute no-brainer! We play all our marquee games on a Friday night, we play finals on a Friday night, things look better at night. … Fireworks, forget fireworks; all they do is scare dogs and they jump fences. But at night? Sport looks fantastic at night. … You know the other thing I’m a little bit sick of, [Grunk]? A little bit sick of “earn the trust of leadership group.” Now all these sayings that we come out with in AFL football now; this Majik Daw, he can’t come back to the club until he earns the trust of the leadership group. Did he try and blow-up Government House or something, did he? Is he an international spy or something? Espionage!? He’s got to earn the trust (in the timbre of an angry whispering Ted Lowe) of the leadership group. I’d hate to see anyone do anything bad down at a football club, particularly North Melbourne. … They said “Daw had failed to meet professional expectations and had been acting in a manner contrary to the club’s culture" [KB lets out a heavy sigh to the amusement of the chuckling Grunk] …

St. Kilda’s Michael Nettleford can only smell roses through the Aints closing window:
[Nick Reiwoldt audio]
To be perfectly honest it’s a position I’ve never been so excited to hold given the current situation the club finds itself in, and I just think we’re in a fantastic position at the moment to really attack the future.
Who’s writing his creed? Ivy Moyle?

50px-Red_Rose-icon.png
187840_177017808984082_158431215_q.jpg
animated%20small%20black%20rose%20flower.gif

Grunk opens the bowling for team KB, starting with the $1.5 million dollar loss presented at the AGM. Breathe in the wonderful red, white, and black confluence of fragrances that is the Aints’ rosy future:
Look, our members are disappointed, we’re disappointed, [Grunk] but, you know, we’re making some good progress on the commercial side … future fund allocation is gonna support our financial endeavours this year and the AFL are coming to the table with almost $8 million over the next three years to support some of the clubs that have different arrangements in stadiums … we think the outlook’s really positive. …

On being the only club not to provide Herald Sun with membership figures:
Was a busy week; it was a bit of an oversight, [Grunk] … our membership is in pretty good shape and the phones are running hot here at the moment.
[…]

On the red-ink rosy $1.5 mill loss:
Down $1.2 mill on sponsorship, but the highest net sponsorship team in 2010 … and match attendance numbers were off a bit as well, down 500,000 (bring on live against the gate :D) working hard at sponsorship and making some very solid progress … don’t actually have a contract at Etihad; AFL sets fixture and Aints allocated to play at the Collo Coliseum … AFL has recognized difference in returns between “G” and Etihad and has been addressed through AFL [welfare program] over 3 to 5 years …

Whoever once upon a time was responsible for all those new-age business management seminars has a lot to answer for as Nettleford proves:
Lenny Hayes is in leadership group because he’s fundamental, although not named as one of the leadership players but has significant mentor role across the entire group … Lenny wanted flexibility to work with everybody in the leadership area and keen to have time to concentrate on own preparation … Lenny sees role as to continue to work and develop next range of leaders which is better achieved with Aints’ structure (“Achieved” mentioned 3 times in one sentence describing Hayes’ floating across that entire group). “So he’ll be fundamental to what’s going from the leadership perspective.” … The process of Hayes position was fundamental and the Aints worked through it. … Team had gone back and looked at leadership and cultural structures and did a range of work over the last three or four months in terms of how leadership modal needed to look like. … Can’t state a time requirement number of hours that the player leadership group entails … New Watters’ coaching group is (you guessed) fundamentally different to what it’s been, but everyone is on the same (fundamental) page so message is consistent right through. … Ball movement forward needs improvement and kicking a few goals is an emphasis… tweaking preferred over re-invention is the issue.

(Most fans would settle for Nick Reiwoldt just kicking the Sherrin fundamentally straight.)

Nettleford in response to Putz Smith’s criticisms of Aints recent “infantile” training sessions:
Having some fun, but, it was a three-day leadership camp which included leadership sessions and they worked with Matti Clements, the leadership psychologist … range of different activities and group came down to facilitate some things which was all part of the mix. … Goddard committed to footy club … club is committed to Goddard … don’t see Goddard as anything other than committed to club … confident Goddard sees it the same way …

Finally KB reiterates is desire to see a twilight/night final … expresses on-going adulation for Nic Natanui over Cyril Rioli … If Nic Nat played for Richmond they’d have 10,000 more members! … still predicting a Brownlow because “Natanui can jump up over tall buildings in a single bound, taps it down to himself, grabs it, runs away, bounces the ball and kicks a goal from the centre square – that’s an x-factor.”

The Roo Shoot Continues on Friday:
Even Rita “Softpaws” Panacea of the Friday afternoon Triad sprung some claws and sunk them into the bureaucratic bunglers at Arden Street:
What’s up with North Melbourne’s amateur-hour antics? Clearly balancing a spread sheet is beyond this club but given the media profile of their president you’d think they’d at least have some idea of how to handle minor matter. Well, you’d be dead wrong. A first-year PR student zooped up on disco treats would have handled a very minor matter of a rookie who has never even played a senior game being suspended for not doing his rehab properly and then telling a fib when caught. But, oh, no, the geniuses of North Melbourne decide this is worthy of a press conference, but one where they refused to outline what the young man did wrong. Therefore creating and atmosphere for mad conjecture and unfounded scuttlebutt. Then to try and control this self-inflicted damage of their own spectacular stupidity, they have to release all sorts of salacious detail that causes considerable damage to the reputation of a young man and makes a non-issue a front page scandal. North Melbourne and indeed the AFL have been very happy to use Majik Daw for feel-good puff pieces about how inclusive our great game is. It appears we are so desperate to have an African refugee play at the highest level that we turn a young kid into a sporting hero before he’s even done anything, and tear him down just as fast when the fame and attention goes to his head.
-From What’s Up With “Softpaws”

Can only think that the men that mess with “Softpaws” in her personal life get what they deserve – grief!

The girl continued to hammer Roos’ management.
They’re incompetent Arse Clowns
-Rita “Softpaws” Panacea

And congratulations to Mutt Thompson. All SEN listeners couldn’t be happier at his rise, and rise, and move, far, far away. He stinks, but lots of lousy efforts have still has paid off. Good luck to him. :)

KB Delivers Friday Death Blow to ODI
One-day cricket is dead and buried. Australia plays Sri Lanka today and no one cares. The India/Sri Lanka game was shown on Gem. The Aussie team couldn’t watch it as their hotel didn’t even have high definition. And they couldn’t even be bothered to walk one kilometre to the ground. Check out the media coverage today: AFL footy stories, soccer, women’s golf :eek:, Black Caviar, have a higher priority. Twenty/20 has killed the once-popular format.
I’m KB, That’s My Take

KB’s has got ODI’s in his sights and Grunk gives it a lashing, too. … KB wants callers to name the players at their clubs for whom the jig is up on using excuses … First budding pro sport economist calling in wants Big Bash on at the start of the season when, you know, kids are in school and families aren’t on holidays yet, so they can’t go. Mocks Mitchell Johnson as all washed up but patriot KB says not so fast. … The Tiges Brett Deledio is first player called as required to step-up by a Mensa Talkback Society member and the off-microphone thud may be Grunk falling off his chair … The first of a the usual corrections by KB on callers follows and he is selling Bulldogs as Grunk plonks himself on the safer broader fence after what he considered a “harsh” call on Brett Deledio.

Grunk: You’ve tipped Carlton out of the eight; you’re opinion, KB, in picking top eights leaves a lot to be desired.
KB: I think my record stands up pretty strong, [Grunk].

Jetta, Davey, and Ryder get their names called and Grunk can smell big things for Ryder who is coming out of contract … Sheeds gets thrown to the wolves by Dons’ fan for trying to sell bridges in Western Sydney; KB states 13 first gamers in round one and sees zero GWS wins in 2012 … A Deledio defender emerges and warms KB’s heart by predicting 14 Tiger wins in 2012 … KB raps North’s pres for my bad approach to the Majik Daw Non-Affair but Eugene Arocca’s defence of original statements creates much mirth and ridicule.

And then, it didn’t take too long:
KB: [Grunk] I was reading a story that you had about Chris Judd and you revealed something that really surprised me about Chris Judd and Carlton
Grunk: Well it was on the back of your interview with Greg Swan on this programme earlier in the week … how many years should he really get if he’s re-contracted at the end of next year? … But in his four years after that really bad year at West Coast when he carried an injury for most of the year, he’s missed only one game through injury.

KB: [softly] One game!
Grunk: And you know what it was caused by? Concussion.

KB: Is that when he ran into, was it Matthew Lloyd?
Grunk: … One game with concussion he’s missed. He’s been fantastic fitness wise, really. So he may well go on into his thirties if he wants.

KB: [whimsically] Well if he’s only missing one game in that period of time, that’s fantastic. That’s great.
Grunk: I hope I haven’t just put the mocker on him but he’s stood the test of time that’s for sure.

KB: He’ll miss the opening game this year won’t he? Because his shoulder, you know, he can’t get it above his head. You know, he runs it really well. (Ding, ding. KB’s 2,104 reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)
Grunk: Oh, they’re telling me down there that he’s doing cartwheels and everything; he’s fine.

KB: He can run … Cartwheel?
Grunk: Oh absolutely.

KB: Yeah, but can he lift his arm? (KB’s 2,105 reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)
Grunk: He’s absolutely training the house down. (Yep, verbatim; he said “house down”)

KB: Well I’ve been told by my spies he has yet to lift his arm above his Head! (KB’s 2,106 reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)
Grunk: [dismissively] Hmmm.

KB: Has anyone that’s been watching Carlton train, have they actually seen him lift his arm above his head yet, [Grunk]? (KB’s 2,107 reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)
Grunk: Oh he’s doing the weights and everything. You Know-

KB: Has anyone seen him waving his arms, [Grunk]? No-one! (KB’s 2,108 reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)
Grunk: Oh according to you.
KB: No-one!
692621-chris-judd.gif

Horse talk … no women’s golf … records that may never be broken … no women’s golf … Tiger supporter Herb Elliott’s greatness … no women’s golf … Manny, Mayweather, Famechon, Rose … no women’s golf … KB predicts someone will one day kick 150 goals in a season; Grunk rightfully queries said future 150-plus goal kicker due to being dragged after every goal … several more different sporting records on the menu and the cognizant KB is trumped not once. He certainly is Hungry for Sport.

“You set the sporting agenda,” repeats KB ad nauseam all week but there is little interest in one particular sporting event. “Principled” Putz Smith should start a hunger strike for as long as it takes to get women’s golf discussed regularly on Hungry for Misogyny, or, he becomes too ill to go on the radio with his hubristic huff and puff stuff.

After 10:00 it’s the Dead Air Scrolls where the only thing the Cats’ Puddy Balme will confirm is that he is actually in the studio. If KB slipped in a question about the health of Geelong midfielder, Muammar Gaddafi, Balmey would answer, “oh, yeah, um, been out for a while, not too serious an injury, couple of weeks, should be back on the track.”

Another great week by the Great KB. Except for Smith, of course.

^^^

Great reads Monty keep'em coming :thumbsu:

Just heard a replay of the interview Darren Parkin did with Black Caviars jockey Luke Nolan , on win 18 and the future of the horse , 25 mins of one of the best interviews ive heard on Sen. :thumbsu:

Dr. Turf Issues Apology on SEN Radio
On Saturday, February 11, 2012, SEN’s betting guru and turf doctor made an insensitive statement about Imran Khan possibly being the next president of Pakistan. Turf (real name) attempted to be humorous by saying that “[H]e might be, before he gets assassinated,” an egregious reference that indicates a parlous political situation in Khan's beautiful, peaceful country, whereas fun-loving freedom-loving, democratic Australia is full of racists, bigots, homophobes, misogynists, evil sword-wielding medieval Christians, and sexists. Turf’s statement greatly annoyed host Craig Hutchison and upset the show’s often-aggrieved resident raconteur, Limerick Pickering.

The upset and politically correct Pickering referred to Turf’s comment as garbage, insensitive, and unbelievable as they related to a topic about cricketers and assassination which Pickering had decided not to discuss on the show. While still on air both Hutchison and Pickering harangued the bemused Turf for his insensitive comment prompting an immediate retraction.

The clearly chastised and remorseful Turf immediately issued what’s been described as a Turf-esque apology:
“Ya right, I apologize; they do hang some of them!”

God, I can't believe I agree with Jackboot Try hard celeb Rita.
Apparently someone was found on the Ashfault according to the literacy dept.
(SEN News)