Radio The SEN Thread 9

It was some log in for andrewsegawa.com or something like that saying it was an authorised area. Freaked me out.

It didn't pop up this time but something from the same site loaded when the thread loaded.

I don't get KB's show. Why does he fill it up with douches like Pattie Smith, John Ralph and that a******* on thurs/fri mornings? On his own, he's the most knowledgeable broadcaster on the station and, I suspect, to someone who didn't know any better, you wouldn't think he had a long and successful sporting career. Yet, he has those idiots on the station?

John Faine may be a mega douche but is still a half step behind those three, as a result. I end up listening to him more than KB.

Also, just wanted to ask. Of all the ex-footy players on the station, who was the best player? A toss up between KB and Tim? Wayne Carey said he thought Schwatta was the best player/team mate at North, that's not a bad endorsement.

I don't get KB's show. Why does he fill it up with douches like Pattie Smith, John Ralph and that a******* on thurs/fri mornings? On his own, he's the most knowledgeable broadcaster on the station and, I suspect, to someone who didn't know any better, you wouldn't think he had a long and successful sporting career. Yet, he has those idiots on the station?

John Faine may be a mega douche but is still a half step behind those three, as a result. I end up listening to him more than KB.

Also, just wanted to ask. Of all the ex-footy players on the station, who was the best player? A toss up between KB and Tim? Wayne Carey said he thought Schwatta was the best player/team mate at North, that's not a bad endorsement.

A clever boss never employs someone smarter than themselves , lest they might be overthrown.

I know people on here and elsewhere cross the line sometimes in starting ridiculous rumours but I find it hypocritical that Robbo has a crack at people posting anonymously when whenever a controversial footy story breaks it is always staff writers or some nobody no one has ever heard of with their name on the story in the paper.

sorry mate, i dont know what your point is. lost breath halfway through

I've given up listening to the GBU Crew. Zanners and Milney were mildy amusing when they first started, and now with Finey, turned into a pack of annoying hoons.

I gave up after their first ep. Never found them amusing at all tbh.

In other news..ANA Live broadcast from the Warrigal rd PP tonight. All the big guns there, including SJP! Get down there bitches!!

:D..One of the funniest Casual fridays today with Rita, Richo and Nathan Thompson!!....Was driving along (on my own, so other drivers must've thought I was a crazy:eek:) anyhow, it was about the tourist who got bitten on the.. er um..private bits by a deadly snake...his mate drove him to hospital instead of sucking out the venom!!

Our SEN crew talked about it with great mirth and speculation, then asked listeners how far they would go to save a mate, and would they do THAT!!

I had tears pouring down my face!!:D:thumbsu:

Hungry for Double-Shot Denham

KB being a teetotaller would never be involved with any journos doing the tipsy two-step. With the week starting with the proverbial blunderbuss, Grumpy Putz Smith whom I’m guessing could menacingly stare down a bottle of Jack Daniels until the top pops right off on its own and then give it a severe Roebuck-like tongue lashing. Then moving on to Wednesday’s smooth Jon LeBaron-Ralph who the ladies know demands his martinis shaken, not stirred. Meanwhile Grunk is unlikely to even be a single shot JW bloke, Red or Black; he’s more the cool West Coast blue and yellow casual Corona type. Not too fussed, not too panicked weather always fine, and Eagles on the rise. Whatever the bar tab for the verbal liquor-cabinet-loving media that join KB over the week we know one thing from Turfy that Lan-Choo Lite KB ain’t putting his hand in his pocket. Which of these soaped up journos, if any, will get the better of the SEN’s master this footy season?

While two days of KB’s ballyhooed Grunk “Venom” Denham prognostications in the past has been enough to drive some head-shaking sports fans to reach for a stiff morning wake-me-up shot of Cabo Wabo tequila, or thrust their furious fists in rage as if rallying to the finest C.C. Deville riffs, it was 2011 where Mr. Denham with his best year at SEN injected the venom into many a KB opinion while also leaving many a Dees supporter spitting out the verbal poison they felt was directed at their club. With footy back tonight, and the Fevola/Lions “won’t happen” prediction as forgotten as Putz Smith not wanting Glenn McGrath in our 2007 World Cup team, the question is what can Grunk possibly spew forth in the 2012 footy season to upset KB and the SEN bar flies?

So as Nickelback sang: “’Nother round, fill ‘er up, hammer down, grab a cup, bottoms up!” It’s a Thursday/Friday double whammy shot of SEN’s pre-season Grunk Denham

August 19, 2011:
Grunk: Who are you tipping?
KB: Port Adelaide
Grunk: Idiot!
August 21: 3QT- Western Bulldogs 22-12 vs. Port Adelaide 9-3

Grunk expects Pendlebury to stay a Pie; fears for Hurley staying a Bomber pilot, and Goddard at GWS as choice three … KB argues his Goddard for GWS theory but Grunk is selling it … “Tigers have a lot of youngsters …,” “Awright, now we’re talking, who you’re looking for!?” fires KB now with some pep in his step … Derickx, Morris, Ellis, Elton, Arnot are names from Grunk. Is Maric the answer? … Hawks to win NAB Pool 1 says KB … No love for Tom Hawkins on SMS; KB thinks Pies fans may be texting … Who are the teasers? KB names Colin Sylvia and Liam Jurrah for Melbourne which is a tasty baited hook for Grunk to snavel like a snapper; no bites by Grunk who later says he expects better forward structure by Dees. Hmmm, something already said by very Dees’ fan on the planet.

:(Once regular caller Dennis of Northcote has passed away which briefly creates a sullen mood for KB and Grunk … KB agrees with a caller – Pat Ryder is a big tease … Hello, Didak gets a mention from a Mensa caller; “well he’s twice all-Australian” retorts Grunk, as caller waffles on and then retrospectively names Leon Davis (tough crowd at Westpac Asylum) and both SEN gurus can’t comprehend no “Neon” Leon in 2012 … If Colin Sylvia ever thinks there may be a bad luck voodoo doll of himself somewhere he should listen to SEN for clues as he cops another needle … It must be close to 10 O’clock as Sam Blease gets a mention for reasons that end up having nothing to do with being a tease. Now clearly shifting away from the question of the day as Mark LeCras’s name comes up in query as a midfielder in SuperCoach. May be a timely question.

:rolleyes:Caller Peter [on the road!] is a Bomber member for over 30 years who thinks Hurley’s gone and he wants his club to stand up and be strong because he doesn’t want the circus that happened at Melbourne last year. He wants Hurley to get six weeks – “anyone can make any decision in life in six weeks – give him six weeks to round 1; give us a decision, if you’re going we can’t blame you, but you’re not playing.”

KB and Grunk turn into Zig and Zag and actually discuss the question of to play or not to play Hurley in some stunning sports radio and KB will discuss it with LeBaron-Ralph after 11:00. Of course there is no discussion of the law of unintended consequences, free agency, CBAs, or little golden Hurley nuggets being jettisoned out of sputtering fighter bombers and crash landing in the AFLPA’s hip pocket.:) As the 10 O’clock news signifies half time, caller Peter is surely on the Horatio to Orlando, Florida to demand the immediate cessation of Dwight Howard’s NBA career as a Magic player until he commits to staying or leaving Disney World’s land of magic. Australia! As team pro sports mentality goes we might as well call ourselves Afghanistan.
smhpics-archivecircus_20110801120126116180-80x80.jpg

Here’s KB (left) and Grunk pictured in deep discussion on whether to play Hurley.

Almost certainly at half time it’s tea and TimTams for KB while the journo may knock back a gin and tonic or six before KB starts the premiership quarter off with his take:
Now forget about the death of the ruckman that was flagged last year by the doomsayers, how silly they must feel; remember the sub rule had made them dinosaurs and of course, extinct. Ruckman has always been the most important player at a club. It’s imperative to gets your hands on the ball fist; stoppages in the modern game, it’s a science. Premierships are generally won when you have a dominant ruckman. This season will be determined by the strength or weaknesses of a clubs ruck stocks.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Ruckman, eh? Somewhere in suburbia Grant Thomas has just surprised his family at the breakfast table by tipping his morning coffee into the sink and plonking down a bottle of vodka while lighting up a gasper and mumbling quotes from Lloyd Bridges character in the movie Flying High. Thomo is sure to crack a mention today.

No success without strong ruck stocks says KB as Denham re-enters the fray and lets fly at the topic: Ottens, Jolly, Dean Cox, Clarke Keating … “Lions always had two big ruckman” adds, KB … Campbell and Renouf in 2008 for the Hawks was probably an anomaly muses Grunk … Hawks probably pretty lucky in ’08, Cats kicked themselves out of it, concludes KB … Maric for Richmond seems to be a barometer by the sound of things at Bar SEN … But enough with the post-half-time partisan niceties as Grunk tips some salt in KB’s tea:
Grunk: There’s only two certainties this weekend though, unfortunately for you.
KB: Two certainties of what?
Grunk: Two certainties on the whole weekend.
KB: O.K., who are they?
Grunk: Black Caviar.
KB: Yes, that’s one.
Grunk: And Richmond won’t win a game tonight.
[Momentary pause]
KB: Well that’s a stupid thing to say!
Grunk: I just think North Melbourne’s far in advance and Hawthorn’s way too good.

Back to the discussion of the astute people and many coaches in 2011 that erroneously predicted the death of the second ruckman due the new substitute rule … Bombers, Blues, and Swans ruckmen dissected with KB putting question marks against Warnock and Hampson … “fans will love new ruck rule.” And without any further ado, Thomo cracks a mention for rucks needing to do more.

Lots of love for ruckman continues and by the end of the show they’ll be ranked right next to lingerie and swimsuit models … should the third-man-up in the ruck be banned; fair tactic says KB … Mark LeCras’s season looks down already with a knee injury according to Grunk’s West Coast sources … KB almost breaks out a Cossack dance as he samples the new GWS song and a caller loves it and thinks it’s better than older ones like Carlton’s … KB’s not buying the death of full-forwards as suggested by a caller … Grunk finishes with query on whether Tigers will win a game on Friday night and KB has changed his tune on Pool 1: “I think they’ll win, out of the three sides tonight, I think, Richmond. I think they’re ready to explode, [Grunk]. Ready to explode!”

Baritone Bartlett
KB: So, better than Carlton’s theme song?
Caller: Heaps better than Carlton’s theme song
KB: O.K. It’s a bit droney, Carlton’s theme song, isn’t it? “Weeeeee arrrrre the navy Bluuuuuue, we are the ooooold darrrrrk navy bluuuuuue.”
Grunk: Everything’s droney at Carlton in your eyes, KB
KB: Hasn’t got much oomph about it, has it.

Humour of the Day
I’m looking outside the window at the moment at it looks like it’s going to rain so I’m suggesting that practice game will be cancelled today at Carlton because as you know, Carlton don’t play in the rain.
-KB on Friday’s practice game at Carlton

Denhamism of the Week
KB: Graham Cornes last year, before the season started, said they had three players at Port Adelaide that could win the Brownlow medal: Travis Boak, Hamish Hartlett, and Robbie Gray
Grunk: Graham Cornes is mad!

Surveying The Weekly Denhamography
a) His order of KB’ GWS targets: 1. Hurley, 2. Pendlebury, 3. Goddard
b) Hurley clearly ahead of Tom Hawkins as a player
c) Hawks’ Achilles’ heel, if they got one, is Max Bailey
d) Dons moved on Hurley mid-2011; hasn’t worked so far; “I smell a rat”
e) Liam Jurrah needs more time
d) Graham Cornes is a crazy, loony, mad man! (Some embellishment added)
e) Richmond won’t win a game on Friday night
f) If Mark LeCras is out for ’12, Carlton will take Eagles spot in top 4
g) Likes the new GWS song; pity they won’t get to play it

The Dead Air Scrolls after 10 O’clock has massive ins and outs with Puddy Balme and Dave Croupier unavailable and replaced with and government radio’s Peter “Crackers” Keenan and Wayne Hawkes, and of course, Greg Swan “will give us an update on the Blues and their dreary, droning, theme song.” The new GWS song became a diatribe on the Blues tune.

Andrew Gaze and Carlton FC seem mired in KB’s doghouse.

Did they mention the time Rita got bitten by a snake?

She hates snakes It is like the negitive nancy of SEN.

She put herself out there looking for a bit of fun so to speak. Then tell everyone that she is not interested.

but....

from 11:30pm till 2pm yesterday was one of the funniest thing on radio.

Round 2 is going to appear with KB vs Richo.

Richo tipped the $11 winner at Race 2 in Caulfield today

Marco has just suspended Mario for 3 months after Mario just went on a rant about Carlton's family day. Apparently he told Victoria Police! The guy is a dead set nutter!

I found it pretty humorous actually.

He said something like 'Carlton had a *can't remember, synonym of gathering with a negative connotation*' and Marko said 'they had their family day'. Mario replied with, 'I rang crimestoppers and told them if they wanted to solve half the unsolved crimes in Melbourne all they had to do was head down (or similar).'

Then Marko cracked it and basically said 'that's enough from you today' and banned him for 3 months. The Ox thought he was being a tad harsh.

Hungry for Sport
Caviar and Diet Coke on Manic Monday’s Menu. And a Crappy Footy Show Too

Now we should be hoping Black Caviar has pulled up well. It runs on Saturday in the Futurity Stakes at Caulfield. I’ll go to see the great mare create history by winning 20 straight races on home soil. It would be the last time we would see the mare race live in Australia before heading overseas to take on the world. Racing would have a great promotion, with free entry and a day built around the champ. A figure of 50,000 fans is realistic to wave goodbye to the wonder horse.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Ticks and crosses from a big weekend in sport, Goose and Guus nominations from Putz, lots of calls, an SMS or many; big show coming up, and, Kevin Sheedy, Robert Craddick, Zappers and the world of soccer, Mark-Oh Allen, Brian Martin, Nigel Purchase for some hoops, Matt Keenan, too. Something’s missing. Uh-huh! Hungry For Sport is clearly a sexist, chauvinistic programme. What ever happened to that Netball show?

If KB thinks he can just skate away on the thin ice of a new week he is kidding himself as Putz rains on KB’s 50,000-strong crowd prediction: “You’re absolutely dreaming...” KB thinks it’s a “promoters dream…never see the horse race live again in this country” … Smith states previous winning arguments and adds: “when racing gets outside its own circle and stops talking to itself like it does on TVN and its radio station … it doesn’t talk to the broader community.” … Higher attendances are only racing people argues Putz. Back and forth they go and KB believes that “the sporting public of Melbourne would turn up to wave her goodbye.” Kev Kev want to wave bye bye to little horsey.

Enough of that; time for footy. Putz is livid at players instinctively handballing without thinking about where the ball is going … KB hates seeing players kicking the ball to a team-mate who’s running at full speed towards the boundary line under pressure … Black Fish Eggs opens up talkback with no love for KB’s flailing argument … clash jumpers is always a popular talking point … KB won’t quit on the nag and Putz repeats his points again … Kermit Bretheraton gets a right smack from talkback for his - Kermit first, what’s happening on the field second - commentary style …

HFS gets No.23 on the line to explain himself for talking too much. When he stops giggling he’ll say something. Kermie goes on to blame a loose bottle of diet coke spraying the equipment and he was the only one with a “fit and healthy mic.” He then explains the process of how this coke spray thing happens. Funniest thing in 15/17 years of being on the other side of the mic, he says, while of course, giggling. Explains how and why he struggled with the young players names. Nice move Fox! Limerick Pickering, who knows all the young players, is the boundary rider while Kermit blathers away in the pre-season com-box.

Putz and KB both call shenanigans on the A League’s Clive Palmer … Putz backs Kev Sheedy’s defence of Israel Folau … A few Fox Footy teething problems get listed off the SMS by KB and Putz chimes in:
Putz: I did see something quite horrific called After the Bounce, or Before the Bounce-
KB: After the Bounce…
Putz: Can we have that taken off air now?
KB: [LOL] OH, give it a try, [Putz].
Putz: It was the worst television I have ever seen.
KB: Danny’s there and Jason Dunstall, and Damien Fleming
Putz: For the sake of those poor people, Kevin. There own image and self-esteem, just take them off.
KB: It’s always been on Fox Sports … It was called Before the Bounce, remember?
Putz: It’s got to be called something, Kevin, and it’s got to be called – Off.
KB: What didn’t you like about it?
Putz: Well, it’s puerile. People wearing all sorts of things on their head, and tight shirts and talking dribble, Kevin. Got to get rid of it!
KB: Get rid of it!?
Putz: Absolutely. We’ve got to start a campaign
KB: Sledgehammer effect, [Putz]?

Mixed responses, yay and nay off the SMS for After The Bounce and Putz pounds away … Goose of the Week is easy with Clive Palmer getting nominated by Putz and Guus of the Week (Oh struth!):
Putz: Winner of the New Zealand Women’s Open, Lindsay Wright!
KB: [barely audible] Oh yeah.
Putz: Sorry?
KB: [whimsically] Yeah, no, that’s right. That’s good.
Putz: Former No. 12 back in form. Um, that’s a great effort to win that, um, pity some Australian men can’t.

Putz whacks India’s Virat E-Kohli for his behaviour and lousy sportsmanship, and our courageous, gutsy, and marvellous Mike Hussey gets lots of love for his sportsmanship (liking the cut of Smitty’s jib today) … some familiar voices associated with the SEN Mensa Talkback Society appear on the airwaves which signifies we’re close to the end … Putz may say he hates whips but he uses his again, this time on Mark-Oh Allen:
Putz: I think [Mark-Oh] Allen is the Clive Palmer of your show. Now that he’ s got his own gig-
KB: Yes?
Putz: I think he’s trying to mess with you.
KB: Why?
Putz: Well I think he’s trying to boost his own show. He’s just trying to mess with you. He’s not available some days, then he comes on-
KB: Well he’s available today!
[…]
Putz: His only claim to fame, Kevin, is that he drives it further than Karrie Webb
KB: Well he can do that.

Humour of the Day:
My golden retriever wagged its tail occasionally watching it, Kevin, but that’s about the only thing I saw happen. And he’s an awful judge!:D
- Putz Smith, on Fox’s After the Bounce