Analysis The Small Things

• Thread starter Thread starter Portia

1 new girl poster a few months back , had her pic of her in her power gear and omg the comments when she posted for the 1st few times were awful , some creepy vibes coming from some posters and have not heard from her since , agree with you portia on your post 100%
I think you will find they were the apparent age demographic that is supposed to have a better grasp on this.

I'm raising a daughter and live with 2 woman so I see your point and fully understand what your saying here, I get what you want with how this forum can behave at times from what I've read in this thread.

The word **** in general is thrown around a hell of alot, or it is here in Perth. It shouldn't be but it is, dunno why just is used as a throwaway insult in Perth anyway, I can't speak for Adelaide in that regard I don't live there.

If there's a easy way to change people's behaviors it's raising awareness to it as you've done so that's a start. No guarantee all will change, some may which is a start.

My original point with the princess gibe is everyone male or female in my experience has picked it up from either their parents or who they associate with watching footy. It can be taken as sexist that's fine, but trying to stop people using the term is going to be hard, as with the under current of racism in this country alot of its inherited behavior and very hard to change.

PS- I'm not implying anyone is racist or sexist in the last paragraph it's just a generalization of this issue being raised in the context of society as a whole as I see it.
Good post. I hope people ITT realise that no one is being accused of sexism outright. No one intends to be sexist or offensive (hopefully) but unfortunately some don't realise or understand that insults like "princess" aren't helpful. Nor is telling everyone how you want to bang that attractive female sportsperson. It's not even funny it's so low brow.

Terms that have actually been used in this thread or other threads which have covered the same issue today:

PC
dobber (!)
feminazi

Still waiting for:

Do-gooder
Social justice warrior

Mate, you're carrying on about being asked not to be sexist.

Whining babies on the internet are taking cues from you.
You clearly never read any of the comments I wrote and all the issues I brought up with your Thread otherwise I wouldn't have got such a ridiculous response like the one you just gave.

I am in fact dibber dobber cindy, and I do go to kindy for I am significantly younger than 12.
Are you inferring that all dibber dobbers are girls named Cindy?

You clearly never read any of the comments I wrote and all the issues I brought up with your Thread otherwise I wouldn't have got such a ridiculous response like the one you just gave.
hqdefault.jpg

"Dear HighBudget, thanks for your kind post. Your arguments were fab. Your pal, Portia. PS. Please forgive the lateness of my reply"

Portia has basically asked for two things.

> don't be a slimeball
> be nice to others

Why the **** is this even such a big deal? It's not hard, it's not an encroachment on your freedom of speech, it's called not being a campaigner.
If it'd been a generic call for people to be nicer to each other and don't be a slimeball it'd have gone done a lot better. Instead it's come across as a passive aggressive 'too many men are here are sexist' rather than then a lets treat everyone equally. It's the same raise the hackles of White Ribbon day for domestic violence against women, and jump down the throat of anyone who raises that which takes place against men.

Treat everyone nicely, don't ask for a different standard for one gender, but don't have a meltdown like your parents just told you to go to bed early if someone says something you don't agree with.

It should be fairly bloody simple. Instead a day we should be celebrating signing one of our top young guns for many years instead set Port supporters against each other. When I come to this board I enjoy talking with supporters about a common love. That instead it's been set up for conflict by our own within our own is everything I don't enjoy. If I wanted arguments I'd go to the main board or another team board and pick a fight, not pick a fight 'within the family'.

Also people don't understand that all gender based comments; complementary or derogatory can be seen as sexist and a lot of the time have polar opposite connotations for the same thing.

Traditionally comments referencing men are complementary, strong, largely positive and are seen as a sign of strength and power or 'Masculinity'. Whereas comments referencing women are usually derogatory, weak, mostly negative and female professions are largely viewed as lesser people or 'Femininity'.

Some examples:
Complementary: Stud
Derogatory: ****
Despite being exactly the same thing being a **** is frowned on but a stud is praised.

Strong: He's got balls
Weak: What a pussy
Despite one being significantly stronger than the other, the one associated with weakness is the female one.

The comfort of language that people speak is strongly positive to males and weighted very negatively towards females. Terms like princess, girly, and the like can be replaced with one word: weak. Gender is not necessary to describe things, it's lazy and a backwards way of communication.

It's not that hard to adapt.

I agree on the white ribbon thing, the way that campaign is handled at work is actually upsetting to me. All the symbolism and language they use made me feel like I was dodgy just for being a guy. They made us take a big anonymous survey asking us if we had ever hit a woman and whether we thought it was okay to do so. It made me feel quite uncomfortable really.

It really should be for victims of domestic violence in general, but whatever, the message is clear enough.

Andre, have you heard of privilege and how it warps `equal' systems? Because ignoring that is the entirety of why your argument holds no water.

Terms that have actually been used in this thread or other threads which have covered the same issue today:

PC
dobber (!)
feminazi

Still waiting for:

Do-gooder
Social justice warrior

Boutros Boutros-Carly

Speaking of sexism, is stuff like this sexist the other way?
View attachment 199799

I genuinely don't understand the term "reverse sexism" it's either sexist or it's not. It doesn't matter whether or not the comment is from men or women.

I don't think Portia is out of line in asking for people on this forum to take time to think about what they post and how they word it.

It has to cut both ways though, if people are going to get called out for saying sports woman X is hot, then I would expect the same posters to call out people for saying football player Y is hot also.

Hands up who finds male footballers being called hot to be offensive.

When someone is genuinely in that position, lets chat about how that needs moderation.

I wonder where the constant sexual euphemisms and comments that pervade the board fit into this discussion. Innuendos about erections, ejaculations, etc. Posters getting "immediates" etc when they see a port player doing well, or the like.

Seen this from dozens of posters here, and personally find it distastful. I often feel that these posts must surely be offensive to female posters.

Just throwing that out there.

Then explain to me how it isn't as sexist as saying a sports woman is hot. That is genuine request as I don't see the difference.

Or is it one rule for the male posters and another for the female posters?

FWIW I agree with your OP and what you've argued since.