- Banned
- #1,001
If I was you I'd wait until after summer to get the chooks. Half of them will drop dead when it hits 40 degrees.
I've already lost a rabbit to heat stroke and won't be making that mistake again.

LIVE: Carlton v Geelong - Rd 12 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Cats at 69% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
If I was you I'd wait until after summer to get the chooks. Half of them will drop dead when it hits 40 degrees.
Are you sure it was heat stroke?I've already lost a rabbit to heat stroke and won't be making that mistake again.
Are you sure it was heat stroke?
Or from digging up contaminated soil, from an old Alcoa sludge pit that they reclaimed for residential use?
Roosters are banned outright. Models health local laws generally stipulate that you can't keep poultry within 8 metres of a residence but councils can vary.I always end up with shit loads of eggs as well.
I think you can have them as long as there's no man chickens. They are the problem.
Roosters are banned outright. Models health local laws generally stipulate that you can't keep poultry within 8 metres of a residence but councils can vary.
My advice to anybody would be to get some anyway, but if the neighbours complain and you don't comply then you're up shit creek and you'll have to get rid of them.
I checked, your council is 9m. But then you said 8-9, so yes, you were correct. There are lots of variations. Vincent, for example, is 15m from a dwelling. Yours also requires an 18m setback from the road for the chook house.So I was correct with 8 meters
I think if you ask your neighbour and they are fine its all good. My neighbour has like 6 or something and you wouldnt even know they were there. Pretty much silent. Im in the City of Cockburn as well.So I was correct with 8 meters
I checked, your council is 9m. But then you said 8-9, so yes, you were correct. There are lots of variations. Vincent, for example, is 15m from a dwelling. Yours also requires an 18m setback from the road for the chook house.
I doubt that anybody can comply with council requirements on the smaller blocks in Perth these days. Get a few and run the risk I say. Keep the neighbours happy with a few free eggs now and then. Councils generally don't stick their nose in unless they have to deal with a complaint.
I'm a part time vegan. I try to eat vegan at home and I only eat how I do for health reasons.
If I eat meat at home I'll make sure it's decent quality ie I'm not gonna go buy a 20 pack of sausages from Coles for $5
When I'm out I'll eat meat socially if this makes sense. As people tend to always try and pick arguments if I eat otherwise. People are strange that way
Anyway that's my two cents. I do enjoy a good steak or some nice meat in a burrito but I limit it and rarely eat crap quality meat
You just a cool guy who doesnt eat meat sometimes.I think if you ask your neighbour and they are fine its all good. My neighbour has like 6 or something and you wouldnt even know they were there. Pretty much silent. Im in the City of Cockburn as well.
Yeah man maybe give some eggs to your neighbour every now and then as a gesture. People should be encouraged to make a bit of their own food, its good stuff.6 is heaps but yeah start with two and we how I go. Cheers
That probably doesnt qualify as vegan, not even part time.You just a cool guy who doesnt eat meat sometimes.
Yeah man maybe give some eggs to your neighbour every now and then as a gesture. People should be encouraged to make a bit of their own food, its good stuff.
I think you might mean vegetarian? Don't think you can really be part time vegan..I'm a part time vegan. I try to eat vegan at home and I only eat how I do for health reasons.
If I eat meat at home I'll make sure it's decent quality ie I'm not gonna go buy a 20 pack of sausages from Coles for $5
When I'm out I'll eat meat socially if this makes sense. As people tend to always try and pick arguments if I eat otherwise. People are strange that way
Anyway that's my two cents. I do enjoy a good steak or some nice meat in a burrito but I limit it and rarely eat crap quality meat

Red meat is out for me .Not eating animals keeps gout, heart disease ,cancer ,constipation, alzeimers, dandruff ,runny nose at bay.
Why not take it a step further and stop breathing in the polluted air?
The air would be fine if only people who had backyard chooks cleaned up the chook poo.
But then who would take up the job of clogging up all the roads by driving 20kms below the speed limit?And all pensioners took public transport
But then who would take up the job of clogging up all the roads by driving 20kms below the speed limit?
Bloody pensioners
They are minimising their carbon footprint.