No Oppo Supporters The Umpiring thread.

Fair dinkum.

We were out of the game after the first fifteen minutes.

Umpire bashing just comes across as sour grapes.

We got smashed.

For me the Cam McCarthy tackle on Yeo was a 50/50 decision.
Many here felt that was a shocker ... I don't.
Yeo had prior, but on slow replay, after being tackled, he did get a handball away (as pathetic as it was). So technically it was not a Free Kick.
I still say the decision was a 50/50 because typically you will see the umpires award these ... even when they see the player get a handball away ... if they have had plenty of prior and the handball is not obvious.

I don't remember that one but the one that sticks out to me is the one on Kennedy in the first quarter. He picks the ball up, gets tackled, tries to fight out and ducks into another tackle and drops the ball. Josh Hill picked it up and kicked the goal from the loose ball. That one pissed me off the most.

Thanks Clem. 5 pages already suggests it wasn't the worst idea.

Any chance of making this a no opposition supporters thread? Eagles fans are already coming in here on a wind up.

I don't remember that one but the one that sticks out to me is the one on Kennedy in the first quarter. He picks the ball up, gets tackled, tries to fight out and ducks into another tackle and drops the ball. Josh Hill picked it up and kicked the goal from the loose ball. That one pissed me off the most.

Any chance of making this a no opposition supporters thread? Eagles fans are already coming in here on a wind up.

Better here than elsewhere tbh, I think i'll leave it the way it is for the time being. They deserve to be educated on the matter like anyone else. As long as they stick to arguing the points rationally and without hostility they're fine. It's the one-line quips which add nothing that need jettisoning

Also means he didn't give fyfe a free against for striking yet he saw the hit so that's a win for freo yeah?

Hardly!

Why wasn't Yeo called for holding? There were plenty of calls for holding against Freo players.

Asking for the MRP to investigate is hardly a win for Freo

Better here than elsewhere tbh, I think i'll leave it the way it is for the time being. They deserve to be educated on the matter like anyone else. As long as they stick to arguing the points rationally and without hostility they're fine. It's the one-line quips which add nothing that need jettisoning
That could easily be viewed as you trying to show your not biased and in turn being biased against hmmmmm

Hardly!

Why wasn't Yeo called for holding? There were plenty of calls for holding against Freo players.

Asking for the MRP to investigate is hardly a win for Freo
But if he was so biased wouldn't he of blew the whistle then reported fyfe straight away?

That could easily be viewed as you trying to show your not biased and in turn being biased against hmmmmm

Or it could be viewed as not being thinskinned and promoting a robust discussion but you're entitled to your defective opinion.

I have no need or desire to prove I'm not biased btw. this is the Freo board and I'll always be biased in favour of Freo and our fans. I make no qualms about that.

Or it could be viewed as not being thinskinned and promoting a robust discussion but you're entitled to your defective opinion.

I have no need or desire to prove I'm not biased btw. this is the Freo board and I'll always be biased in favour of Freo and our fans. I make no qualms about that.
Dont take it so personally. There was nothing meant by it in fact i thought it tied back nicely to the thread with mods and umps basicly being the same thing.

I wasn't taking it personally, I just think your opinion is stupid :thumbsu:

Margetts would have known that if he had of blown the whistle against Fyfe for the elbow, then Fyfe would have been all over Margetts for not pinging Yeo for Holding.
Very true still it could of been worse and given the free as well but yeah i think its basically as you discribed

Such such a pity you cant ignore mods

Might be time to hush now. You trash our club more than many of the opposition fans you're apparently so concerned about so I'm getting a little tired of justifying myself to a hypocrite such as yourself.

We have two threads already with the "No Opposition supporters" tag and right now I don't think we need a third. That's not saying it's not subject to change though. End of discussion.

is it true the umpire from last nights game? Mckerney? Has a wife who works at WCE and was the best man at Dean Cox's wedding? seems hard to believe.
Dean Margetts I can assure you from checking with a mutual friend last season wasn't the best man at Cox's wedding and I don't beleive that Dean's wife works at the WCE and those furphy's should be put to bed. By the way Dean Margett's umpires the Dockers Intra Club matches and has done for the past 2 seasons that I know of personally as I have seen him at those matches..

I'd argue that but can't be bothered. How about a settle for a draw?

Nar because the A-League is the worst officiated league in world sport by a long way.

Don't mean to intrude on the conversation but I have been saying this for years.
There is bias in umpiring without a doubt.
The eagle cop it against teams like Essendon and Collingwood in Melbourne.
I've been saying we need neutral umpires and find out about any history before appointing umpires.
The AFL dismisses it as conspiracy theories but there is clear bias in some games.
Whether Margetts was biased against you last night I don't know but I did think Kennedy was htb.
Having said that I don't think it would have affected the result.
Peace.

Sorry but you can't go banging on about the massive influence of momentum in today's footy (AFL, media etc) and then say that those 50/50 calls, blatant frees not paid and momentum arresting frees in attacking 50 that result in free shots on goal have no effect on the result.

It's one or the other. If corruption in global politics is rampant and obvious, corruption in a private, local sporting league has to exist purely through law of probability. The AFL needs to be fully transparent on their officiating of matches if they're to be taken seriously as an elite, 'global', professional sporting league.

The fact that they share no statistics and have their own paid media arm to put spin on things, have a non-neutral tribunal system and have fixturing that is not neutral or weighted by any public data system speaks volumes.

The whole stacking of the ledger for COLA and GWS/GC's trade picks etc further de-legitimises the AFL as a professional league. When you add the amount of money poured in both to clubs (through pokies) and the TV licensing deals which are paid for by gambling ads - it honestly should have an independent commission governing their conduct and since they are so representative of Australia and Australian culture, I believe that should be a government mandate.

Hah.

Good luck. I'm having a hard time following the sport as passionately with all of this going on.