tige19

10k Posts
Thought i would get an early thread up and running for this Saturdays game at the MCG. There should be a fair bit of discussion about this weekends game and im sure a few Hawk supporters will have a bit to say on the thread to.

This weeks game is shaping up to be massive, both teams had great wins and especially with you blokes getting a few key players back will make things even more interesting. I havent really seen your mod play to much this season but when i have i must say there wasnt much to be excited about, im not trolling at all just being truthfull, hell even with my mob i tell you there was not alot to get excited about.

There are gonna be some exciting match ups that could possibly happen. Tarrant and Croad will be a ripper and Williams and Clement another cracker. I dont see you blokes having to much for Hawthorn to be worried about yet on the otherhand other than if Collingwood can put a holt to our midfield there wouldnt be much else i would be concerned about if i was Collingwood.

Anyway a few questions: Key match ups that could have huge influences on the game? Crowd figures? and what are you worried aboutas a Collingwood supporter? and what would you be worried about if you where Hawthorn.

cheers boys and good luck for Saturday ;)

Yh the numbers that crawford and mitchell are getting shows how well your midfield is going, and I suggest Collingwood may try and get a tag on luke hodge as he sets you up out of defence.

On our side, Young Travis is playing extremeley well and could provide a headache for your defence. Croad wont go well on Tarrant, smith usually takes him, will be interesting to see how that pans out.

Clement on williams will be matchup of the game.

Important matchups:

Backline:
Clement vs. Williams
Prestigiacomo vs. Roughhead
Wakelin vs. Franklin although Maxwell may get him.

Forward line:
T.Cloke vs. Croad (if hes not out)
Tarrant vs. Hay
Osbourne vs. Carracella
Didak (if hes not rubbed out) vs. Smith

Midfield:
Everitt vs. Fanning or Fraser if hes back
Bateman should be tagged by Holland.
C.Morrison tag Mitchell.
Licuria vs. Hodge
Burns vs. Crawford
Vandenberg vs. O'Bree

well the way the Hawks have dismantled Freo doesnt augur well

should be a great contest against two struggling teams with a bit of confidence behind them

looking forward to it!

How effective will Josh Fraser be coming back after injury?? its a massive task to come back after a lay off and go straight into the middle against Spider.

I think Clement will be the key for you blokes, if he doesnt stop Williams then use are gone, if he does stop Williams Hawthorn will lose its simple. In saying that im not real sure where your goals are gonna come from, i know Caracella had a cracker last week but how often has he backed it up?.

Is the pace of Williams a worry Clement and Maggie supporters?? I know 1 thing im a little worried about and thats if little Leon turns it on, its likely to be our luck that Leon comes back after injury and snags 6.

thoughts?

tige19 said:
How effective will Josh Fraser be coming back after injury??

Might be best to select three ruckmen this week. I'd be inclined to play Fraser C Cloke and Fanning, and drop young midfielder Davies. C Cloke can play forward or back, Fraser can play forward, so we still have heaps of flexibility and Fraser is protected from having to play a full game.

williams is definitely the key for the hawks, and clement is the man to shut him down

clement killed hansen last week, but williams will be another step up again

i think he can handle it

also like your idea hotpie, pick Fraser let him play forward a lot, and ruck sporadically, Fanning ruck most of the game, with Cam having a bit of a ruck and also play forward

under no circumstance should fanning play in the goalsquare

Lock in 40+ hitouts for Spida if Fanning rucks the game out.

I think youll need Fraser back....

Id be inclined to put Smith on his bitch in Tarrant, see how it pans out, then give Croady or Hay a go.
Cloke wont be a problem if Croad is right to play, but may trouble Hay...

I look forward to a contest in which we may be favourites :eek:

Nightwolf_69 said:
Id be inclined to put Smith on his bitch in Tarrant, see how it pans out, then give Croady or Hay a go.

Already trying three defenders on Tarrant? Dont have much confidence do you?

why would you play joel smith on tarrant with the way Croad is travelling at moment, plus our lack of anything substantial besides tarrant in the forward line

i would of thought smith's run and rebound would be more beneficial then scragging tarrant for a game and conceding 1 or 2 goals?

doesnt matter if Fraser plays either, whoever rucks will be mauled, Fanning had a good game against the Eagles but still got spanked in the hitouts

as long as we shut Mitchell down and nullify Everitt's hitouts, doesnt matter if he gets 40+

one match up id like to see is franklin play down back on trav...wont happen but id like to see it

grayza said:
why would you play joel smith on tarrant with the way Croad is travelling at moment, plus our lack of anything substantial besides tarrant in the forward line

i would of thought smith's run and rebound would be more beneficial then scragging tarrant for a game and conceding 1 or 2 goals?

doesnt matter if Fraser plays either, whoever rucks will be mauled, Fanning had a good game against the Eagles but still got spanked in the hitouts

as long as we shut Mitchell down and nullify Everitt's hitouts, doesnt matter if he gets 40+

one match up id like to see is franklin play down back on trav...wont happen but id like to see it

Id consider Smithy because hes done the job on Tarrant 2 times now. But i cant see it happening, as he wil be used for run again id say...

grayza said:
why would you play joel smith on tarrant with the way Croad is travelling at moment, plus our lack of anything substantial besides tarrant in the forward line...
Don't think anyone knows how Croad will be travelling this weekend. Don't think the head injury that earned him a ride in an ambulance was too serious, but you never know how soon he will be ready to go after any kind of a head injury. If he plays and is near 100%, I think Tarrant has a new dance partner for all four quarters.

Croad got injured did he? i didnt know that, i was referring to his great form over recent weeks

he could easily take tarrant and really hurt us on the rebound as well

I would think that Croad will almost be a given to play this week and its to be without saying that he will take Tarrant. For a game between 2 dud clubs at present there are gonne be some of the best match ups will see all season from any club.

Both sides match up well down back.

- Clement of Williams looks good a good matchup on paper, though Willo's yet to be beaten.
- Wakelin and Presti should have the experience to handle Roughhead and Franklin.
- Dixon has played two good games in a row so he's due for a stinker.

- Croad on Cloke hold alot of appeal for us. Shold get alot of drive through Trent.
- Hay on Tarrant looks fine.
- Brown will get Caracella and rough him up.
- Jacobs and Osborne get what remains, while Smith and Hodge continue their midfield/half back rotation.

Ultimately, I think this one is going to be decided in the middle. With Everitt, Mitchell, Crawford, Hodge and Bateman in super form, I think we can get on top there. Our big concern will be the short recovery having spent an extra day in WA.

This will be the first time in a very long time that Hawthorn will start favourites. Looking forward to it.

Collingwood have to be a real chance in this game as Clement would be the best match up on Williams this season with his speed.