Thoughts on the Carlton "Challenge Game"

Sounded like Petrenko was terrific up forward, as were Armstrong, Young and Schmidt in defence. Also good showings by Cooky and Hendo, especially in the first half. And Tippett is virtually unstoppable, those were the impressions I got from the radio.

So my team for Round 1...

FB: Johncock, Rutten, Stevens
CHB: Goodwin, Bock, Doughty
C: Mackay, Vince, Reilly
CHF: Douglas, Hentschel, Dangerfield
FF: Petrenko, Tippett, Walker
1R: Maric, Thompson, Edwards
INT: Griffin, Cook, McLeod, Sloane

EMG: McKernan, Young, Armstrong

Form of Walks and Hentschel concerns me but without Burton they'll probably get first crack.

Very close to the mark for mine. Pending improvemtn in injury status of VB Knight Burton and Porps or other injuries in the mean time.

Bit worried about Trent but he can go forward or back. Would be gutsier to play Davis but I understand he's not ready yet.

We need to have a serious chat about work life balance.:)

Yeah I went the other way and stayed at work (just 2km away from Visy Park) til 6.20pm - was dying to sneak out to the game.

Great result it seems, considering they fielded a very strong side with just the likes of Hampson and Johnson out.

I'm afraid that our white jumper does not look great IMO.

My thoughts of players from viewing it at Visy Park.
Part 1
Walker - IMO had a solid game, he certainly played up the ground more than what i had previously seen of him play. When he was around the contest i thought he held his own and certainly showed what strength he had at times.
Griffin - Thought he competed well, similar to sellar towards end last year. On one occasion back was kicked to him on the wing and his was outnumbered one to three and he held his own and crows won the contest when assistance arrived.
Sloane - Saw his one afl game last year and was impressed. Showed again today that has good quick hands and make good decisions, certainly is competitive type.
Bock - Didn't expect to see that much of him but certainly look fit and played out the game well, playing solid game time.
Young - Did a goal saving tackle in first absolute ripper :thumbsu:, then saw run out of defence similar to otten. Was worried when took on couple blues when he ran but got through them.
Armstrong - Played the half back flanker role well, him and cook were certainly the best of younger brigade imo. Cook seems to work well in the crows stucture and assits with the ball movement.

Saw Petrenko's lovely dodge around Judd(?) and inside out checkside kick at goal in the 1st quarter(?) on Channel 7 news tonight, very very impressive!:thumbsu:

How did Stevens go? What role did he play?
Started down back I believe, and then was switched foward in 2nd half with short stints in the ruck around the ground, which going by reports didn't go too well. Solid game all round again though.:thumbsu:

Part 2 thoughts from today

Stevens - Looks comfortable at either end. When went forward in 2nd qtr, found plently of space and looked active/ good target.
Goodwin - Seemed to be target of the blues everyone wanted have pot shot at him. Had joseph in his back pocket for a bit.
Tippett - Don't know what to add as sure plenty has already been wrote in posts and media reports. Exciting that we have FF. Have him one out in the air or the ground and should win the contest.
Dangerfield - How lucky are we to watch this bloke. What a talent, just loves the contest and very good in winning the hard ball.
Mackay - Was head to head with simpson and they gave each other plenty of space. Wasn't overly impressed with his forward 50 entries today. But sure he will be getting plenty of ball this year and with his good kicking efficiency that should improve.
Douglas - Took a strong mark in last qtr when needed. Will he improve his consistency this year and take next step this year??

Started down back I believe, and then was switched foward in 2nd half with short stints in the ruck around the ground, which going by reports didn't go too well. Solid game all round again though.:thumbsu:

Thanks mate.. does it look set that he will take Otten's role?

Well the clash guernsey turned out to be everything we feared it was going to be, they do not look like the Adelaide Football Club wearing that they looked more like the Basketball team from the Creighton University Bluejays, Omaha. The socks could've at least matched the guernsey but Reebok couldn't even do that, a big thumbs down to the AFC and Reebok.

Thought the standard shorts were blue .......although must say ALL the teams wearing predominately white alternate strips makes all those teams look generic

Each week it's Carlton or Collingwood, or .....playing the "white" side

Does nothing for the brand of each club:rolleyes:

Bit worried about Trent but he can go forward or back. Would be gutsier to play Davis but I understand he's not ready yet.

Still a huge gap between Hentschells output and Davis/McKernan/Sellar ect

And why oh why does everyone assume Moran is a walk up start to our best 22

Davis/McKernan/Sellar will be far better players than Moran .....and his ruckwork is way way overstated on this board

Sounded like Petrenko was terrific up forward, as were Armstrong, Young and Schmidt in defence. Also good showings by Cooky and Hendo, especially in the first half. And Tippett is virtually unstoppable, those were the impressions I got from the radio.

So my team for Round 1...

FB: Johncock, Rutten, Stevens
CHB: Goodwin, Bock, Doughty
C: Mackay, Vince, Reilly
CHF: Douglas, Hentschel, Dangerfield
FF: Petrenko, Tippett, Walker
1R: Maric, Thompson, Edwards
INT: Griffin, Cook, McLeod, Sloane

EMG: McKernan, Young, Armstrong

Form of Walks and Hentschel concerns me but without Burton they'll probably get first crack.
I would have to say that round 1 line up is looking pretty spot on unless Porps and VB are fit enough in time.

As for today's game, I thought our youngsters were very impressive. Cook, Petrenko and Sloane are locks for round 1 after more impressive performances and Armstrong will also certainly debut this year. Was sublime off half back.

I don't understand the negativity towards Tex after a few pre season games... Before the pre season started he was the talk of the town!?

IMO he is such a dangerous player, I have seen him dominate games and have a huge influence at both levels enough times to suggest so that he will be a star! The fact that he loves the big stagfe will only help him too (sanfl finals).

I just think that he will be the player this year to really improve! Danger, Tippett and Mckay will all be awesome, but we all new that! Walker will be the one, if he is given the game time, to really progress and become something.

He has this ability to create something when the ball comes near him and I think we need that. Miles ahead of Davis, Mckernan and Hentschel I think.

He has a smart football brain and ability similar to Bernie and Porps.

We'll see though, bring on the real stuff : )

It's hard to judge the players today becase there was a distinct lack of intensity. Petrenko's goal was nice but he did find himslef in the prime position and extract maximum value from it.

Armstrong is very gifted by foot but IMO he picked up a lot of cheaper posessions today. There's a seriously good player lurking beneath the surface, but he's still a little way off.

Dougy was good today. I'm not a fan but he displayed intensity and leadership well above the norm today. The question is whether he can lift again when the standard lifts for round 1. This is his year, so we'll see shortly.

Adding to my thoughts from before:

Jacky: I thought he had a good first quarter and that was about it. He was able to get into positions worth asking for the ball but just couldn't compete enough when it arrived. His game was a slight improvement on last weekend but I'd like to see him in the SANFL this weekend.

Davis: Looked so much more comfortable out there today. He did not look a step behind the ball at all in fact he showed a bit of speed on a couple of occasions. His poise was a highlight and with a bit of time in the SANFL I can see him nabbing a couple of games this year whereas two weeks ago I thought he wouldn't produce much this year, if at all, at AFL level.

Stevens: Made a couple of Stevens-esque mistakes and gave away a free or two but he wasn't too bad. He presented well up forward later in the game but didn't really compete enough in around the ground ruck contests.

Sloane: I was impressed with his decision making, as someone else mentioned, especially when on a couple of occasions he pin pointed the pass to a forward instead of bombing long to the square. Was a real hard nut and copped a heavy hit in the second or third quarter.

Hentschel: A much better game from Trent today. I really liked watching him further up the ground. He was able to get his hands on the ball a lot more often. He's a brilliant judge at a mark and showed that a number of times today.

Young: Found his feet faster this afternoon and put in a good effort. He tried really hard however he appeared a little flat footed at times. He might be a smokey to sneak a game this year.

Schmidt: I didn't think much of his game. Turned the ball over a few times by hand and foot and was slow getting rid of it. His decision making was poor. Need to see some improvement from him.

I've only seen the NAB R1 game (tv) and todays game but Tex has been ordinary in both. I still love the man (/boy) and think he'll bag 50 this year but it's not something I'd put my hard earned on ATM.

He's hands and his kicking have seemed to deserted him ATM. He just isn't one grabbing it and he's not his usual dead eye self. May be a confidence thing, may be just a blip, who knows. I kinda get the feeling he's trying too hard to impose himself physically and not 'poaching the footy' like he naturally does. But I'm know nothing about footy.

For the people who watched the game, are you still concerned about Sloane's disposal by foot? Has he been using his left leg much?

I've only seen the NAB R1 game (tv) and todays game but Tex has been ordinary in both. I still love the man (/boy) and think he'll bag 50 this year but it's not something I'd put my hard earned on ATM.

He's hands and his kicking have seemed to deserted him ATM. He just isn't one grabbing it and he's not his usual dead eye self. May be a confidence thing, may be just a blip, who knows. I kinda get the feeling he's trying too hard to impose himself physically and not 'poaching the footy' like he naturally does. But I'm know nothing about footy.

I think part of Tex's problem is he was too good too young.

He learnt to play well being 'clever' or 'poaching' as you say. He didn't have the body to compete with the men up in Broken Hill so learnt to be effective without trying to do the hard body work. Clever body work and little shoves early before a marking contests - yes. Smashing packs, big tackles etc - no.

Now he has the size to be able to play 'normally' with all of his natural talent and he's still working his way into it.

Thats how I saw his struggles last year anyway, sounds similar this pre-season.

Look out when he finally gets the confidence in his ability and body at the same time... he will tear it up!

From what i saw today Sloane had good foot skills. As CG mentioned showed poise and good delivery when going into forward 50. Didn't notice if he used his left.

I don't understand the negativity towards Tex after a few pre season games... Before the pre season started he was the talk of the town!?

IMO he is such a dangerous player, I have seen him dominate games and have a huge influence at both levels enough times to suggest so that he will be a star! The fact that he loves the big stagfe will only help him too (sanfl finals).

I just think that he will be the player this year to really improve! Danger, Tippett and Mckay will all be awesome, but we all new that! Walker will be the one, if he is given the game time, to really progress and become something.

He has this ability to create something when the ball comes near him and I think we need that. Miles ahead of Davis, Mckernan and Hentschel I think.

He has a smart football brain and ability similar to Bernie and Porps.

We'll see though, bring on the real stuff : )

People just have high expectations of him because of the extraordinary ability he has. A lot of us mark his performances as if he's the finished product which is unfair, and I'll freely admit I'm one of the ones who gets ahead of themselves with where he's at (though I'm not one of the ones who puts his performances down). Looking at it for what it is, he's a 19 year old KPP who will spend a good deal of this season working out what is and is not beyond him at the top level, and that includes learning how to use this extra strength and bulk he has picked up. A lot of the errors he has been making this pre season from the sounds of it are what I would call positive errors - trying to take one too many blokes on and paying the price. This is part of the learning process and will sharpen the use of his nous. He'll still have a big season imo particularly on the run home.

You can only "know" what you see and it's true, he hasn't had the greatest pre season! I watched him v Port do a few good things, and then v Melb at he wasn't too crash hot either. Just get the feeling he could be more settled in a regular game with 22 players instead of 26.

I think the problem he will have until he establishes himself is that he needs a full game every week to have an impact and they don't seem to have that patience with him. I beleive if he plays a full game he will hit his straps for a small period each week and has the ability to kick 5 goals in a half. We'll have to wait and see though.

Thoughts on the Carlton "Challenge Game"