"Tigers Find a Gun in Schulz"

lids2004roar

"JAY Schulz can yet be the powerhouse forward Richmond needs to sample again September action, judging on his impressive form at Princes Park yesterday.

While the Tigers lost a low-key practice match in 30C heat to Melbourne, their third loss in three weeks, the form of Schulz and the returning Nathan Brown encourage hopes for an improved 2007.

Rather than being remembered as a footballer whose late-night indulgences were blamed for Richmond losing a key sponsorship, Schulz says he is ready to repay the loyalty of everyone at Tigerland with his best season.

"I'm in my fifth year now and want to show the boys and everyone that I am here for a reason," Schulz said.

"I can play and I have a lot to offer."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21359664%5E19742,00.html

I know it was posted in another post but I think this deserves it's own thread.

I love his attitude. "I can play and I have a lot to offer" and a desire to repay the Tiger faithful show he wants to play and he wants to be with us long-term. Sounds like a man on a mission. I think this 21yo KP GUN will be a standout player this year and possibly even being our leading goalkicker. I have high hopes for Jay :thumbsu:

GO TIGES!

how many of these things do you see in the pre-season?

less talk, more action!

I do wish he'd stop talking to the media about how good he is going to be and actully perform.

:thumbsd:

I do wish he'd stop talking to the media about how good he is going to be and actully perform.

:thumbsd:

As benny points out I like the bravado. Needs to be more of it at Tigerland.

If he believes he can do it he's half way there. I wish some of our other youngsters would show as much confidence. Just do it Sarge!

As benny points out I like the bravado. Needs to be more of it at Tigerland.

If he believes he can do it he's half way there. I wish some of our other youngsters would show as much confidence. Just do it Sarge!

If he is such a superstar he should go and do it then.

Not bloody tell the newspapers how good he is going to be.

How can he 'do it' when its just the pre-season? Let's see him tear the Blues up :thumbsu:

I thought he was injured....sigh...again?

He hurt his ankle against the Dees on Saturday but came back on to kick our last goal...he is fine :thumbsu:

I'll take odds of 5:1 he'll be injured before June and miss 8 weeks, come back for 2 games, and get unjured again

Um, he said he has something to offer the team, being a sook just a tad Bentleigh;)

He needs to sell himself he knows his time is almost up, now its time for action.

I'm so sick of the preseason, all talk nothing changes and we still look unimpressive year after year.

2 goals. Yippee

Were you at the game??

He was extremely impressive. He should have had 5 but the way he played was awesome. He played all game too - no cameo in the first quarter then disappearing.

I'll take odds of 5:1 he'll be injured before June and miss 8 weeks, come back for 2 games, and get unjured again

An injury free year for Schulz would give him a good year and a good base for next year.

He can still be the superstar we all want ;)

Were you at the game??

He was extremely impressive. He should have had 5 but the way he played was awesome. He played all game too - no cameo in the first quarter then disappearing.

An injury free year for Schulz would give him a good year and a good base for next year.

He can still be the superstar we all want ;)

What sort of stats did he rack up?

Were you at the game??

He was extremely impressive. He should have had 5 but the way he played was awesome.

No I wasn't there so will of course defer to the views of those who were. Just excuse me if I don't change the number on my Tiger jumper because he jagged 2 (when he could/should have kicked 5) in a praccie match.

Naturally, I hope he shines this year, but I'm just a tad wary of a(nother) false dawn.

My direct observations of the game tell me that only Pettifer was more effective than the Sarge, but what the big fella did show was that he's definitely busting his guts to achieve his potential. If he keeps that attitude and work ethic than I reckon he 'll be a fine servant to the club this year. Good luck Jay and keep up the good work. :thumbsu:

In a way, the pre-season is set up for players like Schulz to shine. The big names are merely going through the motions with little motivation, but for players like Schulz looking to step up its an opportunity to start making their mark.

That said, I was also impressed with his work-rate against Sydney the week before across half-forward. He also looked more imposing in a sleeveless jumper. Time to ditch the sleeves Sarge, they make you look like an under 10 player.

Let's hope he can carry his form and work-rate through to the real stuff. :thumbsu: