Tigers Flounder

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawk Dork

Would Lyon have written such a negative Richmond article if we were like the Hawks 2-1 or 3-0. Dare I say if we were sitting at that level at this poinnt most of the media would have jumped on board telling the football world to watch out the sleeping giant that is the Tigers has awoken.

The funny thing is Lyon speaks about apparent Blue Chip kids the Hawks have still got waiting in the wings like Muston, Dowler, Murphy, Little & Bailey yet fails to talk about Riewoldt, Casserly, Edwards, Connors & Thursfield can still be brought into a Tigers line up. Talks about how kids like Gilham, McGlynn, Roughead, Ellis & Taylor have played roles in their 2 wins then question the value of Pattison, perhaps Lyon forgets this kid was thrown to the wolves and asked to match up against more experienced ruckmen over the first 2 weeks and handled himself ok to some degree, McGuane who has not been touched up by an opponent yet is a fair way off it, Howat who is strugglling yet I suppose it is not something a kid with less than 10 games of AFL is allowed to do. Will Lyon say the same thing when Ellis struggles or McGlynn struggles, doubt it very much because this article will be forgotten about.

It seems Lyon has gone down the path of other media and gone for somewhat of a sensationalism style of writing for this article, making it seem like the cupboard is bare at Richmond, which is wrong the difference is our youngsters are given the opportunity to develop at VFL level while the Hawks through necessity rather than choice have had to play their youngsters at AFL level. Time will tell which side went with the better option.
:thumbsu:

I don't mind the media putting the blowtorch on us for losing 3 games, and there is no shortage of things to pick on. But this article is a joke. Picking out our kids for criticism like he has is way off the mark. He raves on about Hawthorn having 5 picks in the top 22 in 2005, but ignores Richmond having 5 in the top 20 the year before. Young kids that either haven't played or have shown about the same for both clubs are "blue chip" or "will be good players" when talking up the Hawks, but have "seem some way off it" or are ignore completely when talking the Tigers. By all means get stuck into our senior players, Lyon. But this article could have been written by Mike Sheehan it is so lacking in analysis and substance.

And who the hell are the "expensive investments whose return has not matched expectation"? Simmonds has exceeded my expectations, as has Browny before he got injured. Polak hasn't had time and Johnson is the only other expensive investment. Knobel, Kingsley and maybe P Bowden are no champions, and recruiting them is open to question, but they are hardly expensive investments.

why cant they make the finals?

dees and freo are shot and the dogs are starting to beleive their own hype, its wide open and if ever there was a chance for us to do something it was this year and we stuffed it

hawks will finish just outside it i reckon

lol at people bagging lyon and saying he has jumped on hawks bandwagon this has nothing to do with win/loss ratio it is an article about how the 2 clubs have gone in their seperate directions since finishing 15th and 16th in 2004

the start to the 2007 season is merely a kpi
Hawthorn have some exciting youngsters. I have no beef with that part of the story. But I reckon if you took Crawford and Mitchell out of their team for two years like we have lost Brown and Cogs, their team mightn't look quite as exciting.

We have no middle rank of players, and Wallace has known that from the day he arrived. Unfortunately its not a problem you can fix overnight. Maybe Lyon should have thrown in a few comments about how his mate the spud stuffed up our list.

Lyon talks up Hawthorn trading off players for draft picks. Unfortuntely none of the 20 odd players we've offloaded in the past couple of years were good enough to get interest from another club, except for Ottens and Fiora.

That's right, it will be us with the head start because for starters we have an experienced coach as opposed to Peter Rohde mark II.

Hawthorn may have better talls, but we are not building a team based around that. It is not 1970 anymore. We are building the fastest most skillful team around. It may not work, but if it pays off it will take other clubs years to catch up.

People can bar up over Buddy Franklin all they want. Big deal. Look at the crap end of their list and it is full of duds or kids that are unproven, despite what Garry Lyon may say. Hawthorn are no better than us.

...and then you woke up

OK then, here's a bet.

If we beat Hawthorn you will agree that Richmond is better. If we lose I will agree that the Hawks are better.

Sound fair?

OK then, here's a bet.

If we beat Hawthorn you will agree that Richmond is better. If we lose I will agree that the Hawks are better.

Sound fair?

well the last time they played we lost :rolleyes:

this isnt about head-to-head or ladder positions its about the proper planning and development of a young side and one is getting their slowly and the other it just stumbling along

Gary Lyon is trying to use the Eddie McGuire model of getting himself as much media exposure as possible to try and make as much money as possible, in as short a time as possible.

Difference is that Eddie (as much as I dislike the man) used to be a footy reporter and had decent contacts to get a story. Gary on the other hand has no experience (or intellectual ability) to write a story of any substance. He's just writing crap to remain on the payroll. The same way that he runs TFS and that new Monday night garbage. Absolutely no idea how to get the most out of anyone. No wonder he won't coach.

That said, I was disappointed before the season when there were afew people in the media suggesting we would get the spoon this year. I didn't see it myself (carlton, North etc) but after the first few weeks it is going to be a long and hard season. Those young fellas running around don't have much support from a non-existent mid-range list (thanks to Gary Lyons muppet aka Spud Frawley) and the old guys aren't getting any younger.

Hopefully the guys like Hyde, Hartigan and Newman that have gone missing for what-ever reasons (injury or form) over the past season or so, that have the bigger bodies and more recent birth dates, can start to show some leadership and bring out the quality in the younger guys on the list.

Gary Lyon is trying to use the Eddie McGuire model of getting himself as much media exposure as possible to try and make as much money as possible, in as short a time as possible.

Difference is that Eddie (as much as I dislike the man) used to be a footy reporter and had decent contacts to get a story. Gary on the other hand has no experience (or intellectual ability) to write a story of any substance. He's just writing crap to remain on the payroll. The same way that he runs TFS and that new Monday night garbage. Absolutely no idea how to get the most out of anyone. No wonder he won't coach.

That said, I was disappointed before the season when there were afew people in the media suggesting we would get the spoon this year. I didn't see it myself (carlton, North etc) but after the first few weeks it is going to be a long and hard season. Those young fellas running around don't have much support from a non-existent mid-range list (thanks to Gary Lyons muppet aka Spud Frawley) and the old guys aren't getting any younger.

Hopefully the guys like Hyde, Hartigan and Newman that have gone missing for what-ever reasons (injury or form) over the past season or so, that have the bigger bodies and more recent birth dates, can start to show some leadership and bring out the quality in the younger guys on the list.

lol at bagging lyon and then agreeing with what he said

as supporters i know its common to blame the messenger rather than look at the facts but some people need to grow some balls and take it for what it is

lol at bagging lyon and then agreeing with what he said

Lyon was saying we've recruited crap youngsters.

I was saying that we've got youngsters of the same quality as the Hawks that have no support. Don't you think our guys would look better if they had Hodge, Mitchell, Crawford and Lewis getting the ball to them?

Somewhat different:rolleyes:

Who the **** cares what Garry Lyon says, he thinks he can do better? He had his chance to coach and chickened out.

Has no right to critise when he didnt have the balls to try it himself.

Lyon's high profile has copped a hit of late.
So it seems he's sniffing around for a bit of controversy to inject some interest back into those who've stopped buying his junk.:thumbsd:

Lyon was saying we've recruited crap youngsters.

I was saying that we've got youngsters of the same quality as the Hawks that have no support. Don't you think our guys would look better if they had Hodge, Mitchell, Crawford and Lewis getting the ball to them?

Somewhat different:rolleyes:

crawford - johnson
mitchell - tuck
hodge - cogs
lewis - polo/foley

your point?

We beat Carlton, close loss to Sydney, then beat Collingwood = no article.

They can't keep writing about West Coast.

Rubbish journalism. Wayne Carey should become an editor.

"We beat Carlton, close loss to Sydney, then beat Collingwood = no article."

but we didnt :o

well done garry lyon. an accurate and concise article. my only question is did someone write it for you.

Did anyone read this in the morning Sun?

THE popular perception is that Terry Wallace had his choice of either the Richmond or Hawthorn job at the end of the 2004 season and elected to go with the Tigers

]

I say to the simple minded misfits that try and taunt us with this line that to date, he has been proved right as the tiges have finished many lengths ahead of Hawthorn. I dont think Hawthorn has convinced the football world they have emerged...We're in a hole right now and it's easy for the fraternity to throw the baby out with the bath water when making a judgement on the tiges. Facts are that we have a host of youngsters at a level no worse that where the Hawks are. With a couple of key players out we have been exposed...reverse the situation and Im certain we would have wins. EG sydney, No ruckman and fit and firing simmonds...similarly v Blues...Instead we lose and all our youngsters are sh$@. well facts prove otherwise..Exhibit A..VFL result R2.

When the Cats trounce the Hawks this week...outcasts like this knob jockey will be looking for the nearest hole...:rolleyes:

I say to the simple minded misfits that try and taunt us with this line that to date, he has been proved right as the tiges have finished many lengths ahead of Hawthorn. I dont think Hawthorn has convinced the football world they have emerged...We're in a hole right now and it's easy for the fraternity to throw the baby out with the bath water when making a judgement on the tiges. Facts are that we have a host of youngsters at a level no worse that where the Hawks are. With a couple of key players out we have been exposed...reverse the situation and Im certain we would have wins. EG sydney, No ruckman and fit and firing simmonds...similarly v Blues...Instead we lose and all our youngsters are sh$@. well facts prove otherwise..Exhibit A..VFL result R2.

When the Cats trounce the Hawks this week...outcasts like this knob jockey will be looking for the nearest hole...:rolleyes:

lol at the vfl result

we played the kangas you goose they have the worst kids in the comp and tom roach is their gun recruit for north ballarat

open your ****ing eyes

Who the **** cares what Garry Lyon says, he thinks he can do better? He had his chance to coach and chickened out.

Has no right to critise when he didnt have the balls to try it himself.

That's why Sheedy never signs with us as a coach.

All that hype about him being a supercoach would soon disappear if he came to Tigerland!

crawford - johnson
mitchell - tuck
hodge - cogs
lewis - polo/foley

your point?

As much as I love the tiges I wouldn't say that johnson provides anywhere near as much run as crawford since he's been our main tagger.

Mitchell and Tuck are probably the closest in attack at the footy, but Tuck has been getting the best tagger for over a year now and he looks knackered from all the attention.

If Cogs had been on the park for the last year he may have shown himself to be an equivalent. He hasn't been able to perform due to OP/reco's for a couple of years now so not even close.

Lewis was a top 10 pick about 3 years ago now. His strength and conditioning kills Polo, and Foley doesn't get anywhere near the same gametime.

I don't think any of those observations are too harsh.