Tigers in Tasmania?

and members get a bonus replacement game anyway, so no one misses out. reckon we handled this perfectly and made some significant coin.
cosmo kramer pimp GIF

Who said pimpin aint' easy

Club is never going to be a contender again if we can't overcome our mental demons of playing at Shitihad.
We will still be playing at Marvel, just not as the home team

The club has secured a multi million dollar deal to play 1 game per season in Tasmania for the next 2 years, you make it sound like we've sold all 11 homes games to Antarctica

"Multi-million dollar deal"... net benefit will be less than $1m per season not to mention the loss in prestige. We have shot in the foot our own bargaining power of ever being considered a "big" club again. It wont even make a scratch in the new oval development and we will still be taxed by the communist AFL to hand money to their pet projects like St Kilda and North.

Its a short sighted disaster. Just as Cairns was and Darwin before it

We getting paid 1 million dollars for 1 game in 2026 and another million in 2027 for 1 game.

I doubt we'd even get that with the MCG packed at 70k+ home game.

It's a no brainer but we have some of the worst supporters that will complain about everything, Marvel has been a shit ground for us and members don't show up so stop complaining about missing out on a game, if your not going to travel to Tasmania, you wouldn't go to Marvel anyway.

Yes, the short sighted decisions that let us renovate our possum-shit infested facilities and win 3 premierships. :rolleyes:

"Multi-million dollar deal"... net benefit will be less than $1m per season not to mention the loss in prestige. We have shot in the foot our own bargaining power of ever being considered a "big" club again. It wont even make a scratch in the new oval development and we will still be taxed by the communist AFL to hand money to their pet projects like St Kilda and North.

Cairns and Darwin deals helped fund the last development, which allowed the club to upgrade facilities, which helped us land the 3 premierships. Never mind the fact that it was the Tasmanian government that came to us, knowing that we are a big drawing club even when things aren't always going well on field, we averaged more than 40k per game in 2025 and that's despite playing a home game at the Barossa Valley and away to North in Tasmania & GWS in Sydney.

So you can throw you toys out of the cot and have a tantrum all you want, but I'm quite comfortable with the club signing a deal that will see us paid a millions dollars a game, which is $2m we don't have to find for the development, still maintain 10 home games at the MCG, plus access to a replacement game.

Short term 'pain' = long term gain

We will still be playing at Marvel, just not as the home team
Plus it gives us a little bit extra exposure to playing down in Tassie before the devils come in

Really can’t see the downside

Club makes bank, one less Marvel home game that we all hate for the most part, Tassie Tiger fans get a chance to see the boys play and gives us a nice media bump

Loss in prestige, trading a Marvel "home" game for a Tassie Tiger special, most sensible clubs would jump at this opportunity.

Nobody thinks there's prestige playing at Marvel

Cairns and Darwin deals helped fund the last development, which allowed the club to upgrade facilities, which helped us land the 3 premierships. Never mind the fact that it was the Tasmanian government that came to us, knowing that we are a big drawing club even when things aren't always going well on field, we averaged more than 40k per game in 2025 and that's despite playing a home game at the Barossa Valley and away to North in Tasmania & GWS in Sydney.

So you can throw you toys out of the cot and have a tantrum all you want, but I'm quite comfortable with the club signing a deal that will see us paid a millions dollars a game, which is $2m we don't have to find for the development, still maintain 10 home games at the MCG, plus access to a replacement game.

Short term 'pain' = long term gain

North sold their home games for $2.5m each. We sell ours for 40% of that. Never thought id see the day id be envious of ****ing norfs admin

You're jealous of an administration that has led its club to 6 successive bottom 3 finishes and hasn't won a flag since 1999. Says it all really

Theres prestige in being a big Melbourne club. Big Melbourne clubs play home games in Melbourne not sell them
Just a guess, but I take it the 97 relates to your year of birth.

If so, that and the premise of your narrative suggests you have very little knowledge of how success is built in this day and age.

FWIW, our 2017 success was at least 10 years in the making.

Chill, hang tight and you're about to see plenty of success in the not too distant future.

The "pathetic administration" you talk about that nearly saw the demise of this great club, went out with the 1980s.

Brilliant move by the current administration to capitalise financially during a rebuild period, whilst also acknowledging and rewarding our massive supporter base in Tasmania.

That’s on the pathetic bandwagoning of our fan base (to be fair we struggled to draw decent crowds at the G this year for the same reason).

Oh sorry we kicked a couple of junktime ones late in the humiliation we suffered down in Tassie… makes it so much better…

I’ve never been more disappointed in the club. Pathetic move made by a pathetic administration
You just lack the ability to see this for what it is - a chance to fund the redevelopment without having to hit up the supporters as much. All the arguments have been presented but you are probably losing face after bagging out a mate of yours who's club has sold games to stay solvent. Marvel is crap and we are crap there more often than not and even you cherry picking one result isn't going to change that. We have a 46% winning record at Marvel as the home team but are undefeated in Hobart as the home team (not good as the away team).

Smart business by the club, very smart business. Collect cash and then back to the G when we are ready for finals.

Tigers in Tasmania?