Timmy time

My son’s Hawthorn doll (with 23 sewn on) had a name change in 2014.

Timmy has to make it otherwise my son has similar powers to Daddy (re his evil Bigfooty username destructive powers).

Just like Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker.

Your son can save you from the darkside

Blah blah blah
He might not have the short temper aggro of Sicily but he's not timid when it comes to putting his body on the line.
He's crashing packs and rucking when he's giving up 10kgs+ on average to the guys he's running into
Well excuuuuuse me for daring to express an opinion contrary with your own. :rolleyes:

Blah blah blah
He might not have the short temper aggro of Sicily but he's not timid when it comes to putting his body on the line.
He's crashing packs and rucking when he's giving up 10kgs+ on average to the guys he's running into

Let's be clear, his temperament is far closer to Hartung and Schoey than it is Siss, so if you are looking for parallels, start there.

His rucking is a handful of centre square jumps a game and a few up forward as well, so let's not pretend he is thrown into the middle against ruck beasts for long periods of time. Not sure how to respond to the crashing packs suggestion... ???

Let's be clear, his temperament is far closer to Hartung and Schoey than it is Siss, so if you are looking for parallels, start there.

His rucking is a handful of centre square jumps a game and a few up forward as well, so let's not pretend he is thrown into the middle against ruck beasts for long periods of time. Not sure how to respond to the crashing packs suggestion... ???

18DED8D4-E375-465C-9947-AB699CFB9C15.jpeg

The kid throws himself into packs all the time, he just doesn't take the marks as often as he should. Considering his size he probably crashes in more than he should too.

Schoey crashes packs as well.
Neither of them are like Hartung mate.

They are team players, not big egos but that doesn't mean they are timid or soft.

I never said he was Sicily

Looks like TOB has been training a fair bit with the defenders so far this off season.

Not sure if Clarko would play him there or whether there is even a spot there for him but he always looked good down back at AFL level.

He would be a lot more consistent as a defender and in the game a lot more also.

Schoey crashes packs as well.
Neither of them are like Hartung mate.

They are team players, not big egos but that doesn't mean they are timid or soft.

I never said he was Sicily

I'm not saying they are soft, but neither is waht I woudl refer to as a 'pack crasher'.

Anyway, hope they both stack on some kegs and have break-out years in 2018 !!!

TOB tracking ok for mine, still young in KP terms and still has quite a bit of development to come (both physically and as a KP player) he drifts in and out of games but when he decides to go for the footy he goes for it and he does attack packs well, he seems to get his hands to a lot of footys but I reckon he suffers from hard hands when trying to take grabs, he often needs a couple of grabs to hang onto them, not a good thing in a contest. If he can soften up those hands and start taking them with single grabs more often we will have a player who is able to make more of an impact. Would love to see his stats (I’m sure the club would have this data) on the amount of times he gets to contests and gets his hands to the footy compared with actual marks taken. He is a lovely kick for goal as well which is handy. I’m happy with him and think that he will take some more strides in 2018

I'm not saying they are soft, but neither is waht I woudl refer to as a 'pack crasher'.

Anyway, hope they both stack on some kegs and have break-out years in 2018 !!!
Don't think Schoey needs to put any weight on

Actually that's a good point. Maybe for him it's shedding a bit more and adding a yard of speed, since he is not a great contested mark, but a beautiful link up player...

Just noted the post above mentioning TOB as being young for a KPP age. Did a quick check against Hawkins (just for interest as a key forward).

TH's breakout season was his 6th year in the comp. 2018 will be TOB's 5th.

Looks like TOB has been training a fair bit with the defenders so far this off season.

Not sure if Clarko would play him there or whether there is even a spot there for him but he always looked good down back at AFL level.

He would be a lot more consistent as a defender and in the game a lot more also.
The last time I got semi-annoyed about Clarko moving a forward back was Sicily

Time for me to cease getting annoyed I spose.

But would love him fwd...

Just noted the post above mentioning TOB as being young for a KPP age. Did a quick check against Hawkins (just for interest as a key forward).

TH's breakout season was his 6th year in the comp. 2018 will be TOB's 5th.

We are really starting to grasp for excuses now....

Having been in the system for five years now, O'Brien's second best goal kicking return for a year is 12.

Having been in the system for ten years, Hawkins' worst goal kicking return for a year is also 12.

He's been okay. His ability to ruck from time to time is probably his strongest case for being best 22.

He's got some obvious strengths; good KPP ability below his knees, versatile (ruck, defense, would like to see him do better through a wing), can take a grab, reliable set shot, signs of high footy IQ.

But it seems to rarely all come together at once, especially over a whole game. He has definitely played in spurts so far. We can't read minds but it's not hard to get the impression that he's too comfortable with letting other players make the big plays and demand the ball while he just blends in and plays his role. Maybe it's just me over-estimating his abilities, but I think it's mainly a mindset change that can take him to the next level. He needs to be willing to be 'the man' and take the mistakes that inevitably come with that.

He's been okay. His ability to ruck from time to time is probably his strongest case for being best 22.

He's got some obvious strengths; good KPP ability below his knees, versatile (ruck, defense, would like to see him do better through a wing), can take a grab, reliable set shot, signs of high footy IQ.

But it seems to rarely all come together at once, especially over a whole game. He has definitely played in spurts so far. We can't read minds but it's not hard to get the impression that he's too comfortable with letting other players make the big plays and demand the ball while he just blends in and plays his role. Maybe it's just me over-estimating his abilities, but I think it's mainly a mindset change that can take him to the next level. He needs to be willing to be 'the man' and take the mistakes that inevitably come with that.

Agree 100%. He needs to believe he belongs. Am still not convinced he has that in him though.