Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

I have visited Adelaide many times for work and pleasure and enjoy the character, leafy suburbs and stone houses, but then again I am in my 40's so probably rather than counter your argument I am probably making it :D

I can't disagree - Adelaide isn't for everyone. Hell nearly half my friends left, and the majority of people I went through Uni have left.

This isn't always because of the city - it's sometimes because of lack of opportunities.

I really like Adelaide, and nowhere is for everyone. I think people would be moving for opportunity rather than a dislike of the place, I have lived in Melbourne, Sydney, Gold Coast and now Brisbane and all have good and bad points, nowhere is perfect but geez I must admit SEQ is as close as I have come (so far anyway).

I am sure if you had your time again you would of taken Wells instead of Careys 28 games and 50 goals (approx)

Its a good point you make as clearly even a champion like Carey you can pay overs

I'd take Pavlich, who wanted to come home at that time, and we had the currency to get him.

Was our only real chance, and Ayres got carried away with Carey being available.

I wonder how home sick Joel would be if he was listed by the Crows?

Knowing he'd already been delisted by the Gold Coast and the Brisbane Lions - I'd think that home sickness wouldn't be much of an issue.

If this is about money, I'd rather make $650,000 in Adelaide than $1,000,000 living on the East coast. The value for money and cost of living off sets that quite dramatically and he can still invest his money wisely away from Adelaide.

If this is about football, he's been poorly advised, if it's about money, he's been poorly advised. If this is about lifestyle, he is soft as he only needs to live in Adelaide for 10 to 12 years of his lift and make enough money to have a very comfortable lifestyle after his career is over. If it's family, I can understand and accept that but somehow, I doubt that is the actual issue as he would have said that months ago, or at least weeks ago.

What has the club or playing group done to him? that's the only explanation as he seems to be running away from someone or something.

I stand corrected, thanks Danoz (cracker of an avater BTW :thumbsu:)

Can I just put out there (at the risk of being smashed) if Carey one of the best players of all time with more than 700 goals to his name and an avg of 2.6 goals per game as a CHF was worth pick 4 but Tippett with 1.6 is worth pick 2?
noone else wanted carey and he wasnt 26, from memory he was 30+

This is great from our club's perspective to have two quality ruckman BUT its just another Ivan situation. Neither Giles nor Sauce can play as key forward which is something we should be looking for. Having said that, I would love to have someone of Giles quality on the list because if Sauce goes down, we have a ready made replacement.

As for GC and Tippett, I reckon we would be angling for Sam Day and the pick they get for Caddy. Whether we get it or not is another question.

Kurt is one of the best Key forwards going around and his ability to also play in the ruck in a major bonus. There is a reason why he is such a wanted commodity in the league. Players like him are bloody hard to find and are at a premium. His values would be 2 first round picks inside top 15 one of which would be in top 10.

Once upon a time Rutten wasnt a defender and Walker couldnt tackle. I dont see why Giles and Jacobs couldnt ruck 50% of the game each, spend 30% each up forward and the rest on the bench. No way in hell we would burn out Jacobs this way. Jacobs/ Giles kicked 25 goals between them this season, no reason this couldnt be 40-50

Playing a player like Tippett who is a forward who can ruck part time is a massive headache for opposition coaches. Even when Tippett is soundly beaten, he had to be manned up with a top defender or opposition risks Tippett breaking a game open. It hasnt always been what Tippett will do, its what he threatens to do if not treated with respect. This then free's up Walker.

Why would it be any different playing Giles and Jacobs in the ruck for 50% game time each, and 30% each up forward? Ive never seen Jacobs forward without a decent defender or ruckman on him. Coaches would be forced to give Walker the 2nd or 3rd defender.

A forward line of:

Giles/Jacobs, Walker, Porps
Petrenko, Jenkins, Henderson/Lynch/Johnston
INT Callinan, SUB Stiffy

The rotations in that forward line would cause so many mismatches throughout the game, tall on for small etc, it could work. The tall who is having the least impact could be subbed for Stiffy in the 3rd again changing the match ups an causing the opposition hassles

Jars on MMM last night said that one of his friend's who's daughter dates Joel Tippett said that Kurt's gone to Sydney, deal was done 3 months ago and Joel will be leaving SA after the SANFL Grand Final as well. Was told this on the weekend after picking them up after they'd had a quite a few drinks and that they had to keep it secret until season's end.

noone else wanted carey and he wasnt 26, from memory he was 30+

Sorry that is not correct, Sydney and Hawthorn went as far as to present him with jumpers with No18 on the back. Collingwood also had a meeting with him. He chose the Crows as he had a soft spot for SA and it was close to his father. Read his book sometime.

Jars on MMM last night said that one of his friend's who's daughter dates Joel Tippett said that Kurt's gone to Sydney, deal was done 3 months ago and Joel will be leaving SA after the SANFL Grand Final as well. Was told this on the weekend after picking them up after they'd had a quite a few drinks and that they had to keep it secret until season's end.
So "my friends drunk daughter" is a plausible source?

Come off it Jars.

If this is about money, I'd rather make $650,000 in Adelaide than $1,000,000 living on the East coast. The value for money and cost of living off sets that quite dramatically and he can still invest his money wisely away from Adelaide.

He doesn't want to live in Adelaide.

It's Jars so there is 99.9% chance that he is talking bullshit on this one.

Had heard very similar...months ago.

He doesn't want to live in Adelaide.

Yeah because he's a sook and acting like a bitch.

FFS, he is a professional sports person who had thrown his skirt over his head and now the dummy is on the floor. I can see why he never stuck with Basketball - I doubt he could demand a trade back to the Gold Coast from Europe or the NBA. It's only 10 to 12 years of his life, he should just suck it up and get on with it. Adelaide is not that bad, we have some top notch clung.

Yeah because he's a sook and acting like a bitch.

FFS, he is a professional sports person who had thrown his skirt over his head and now the dummy is on the floor. I can see why he never stuck with Basketball - I doubt he could demand a trade back to the Gold Coast from Europe or the NBA. It's only 10 to 12 years of his life, he should just suck it up and get on with it. Adelaide is not that bad, we have some top notch clung.

Adelaide is a relative sh*thole.

He's not in it for the footy, he's in it for the lifestyle, the career and the money. It's now blatantly obvious, if it wasn't already.

He's in it to set himself up for life after footy...

So he is the AFL's LeBron James and we're Cleveland?

**** that weak prick.