Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

"It would have been easy to accept a generous five-year offer to stay in Adelaide, or something similar from the Gold Coast or Brisbane, and I also want to thank those clubs for their interest," Tippett said.
http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/149270/default.aspx

Seems to indicate the Swans are getting him for less money than what has been offered by GC and the Lions. This would mean the 1 million price tag being reported is rubbish which would make sense. Can any Crows supporters shed any light on whether he was the outer or unhappy? He always seems wanted from coaches and players yet his choice reflects otherwise?

No, you are paying much more. Brisbane issued a statement saying they couldnt match your offer due to Sydneys extra salary cap room.

He's obviously unaware that Trigg pulled that agreement if he went to a non QLD club.... I have a feeling this is going to get very messy.

Im starting to wonder whether kurt perhaps gets to his club of choice if the deal with Sydney doesnt get done
Interesting, where did you hear that?

The name 'Tippet' is annoying, never liked it, never liked him, he frustrated and disappointed me for years, gtfo son

So how much were you guys offering? IF he says we're offering less I'm wondering by how much.

Actually even if we didn't plan to do this, it would make sense to threaten too. For other clubs to take him they would have to agree to his contract demands which might scare them off but we have a pick before Sydney so we can use that card in any negotiations. ie. You will only end up at the club you have chosen if you do a deal that we are happy with... or we will redraft you.

mate that's people living on mars type dreaming.....he's got a bunch of clubs putting their hands up saying they want him and you reckon they'll just let him slide right on past them for free at the PSD? mate get your head checked

no there has never been any unhappiness with the club he was treated like a princess for six years...he's just a whore and if you think he's going to sign with you for less than what other clubs are offering then you're delusional

Yet the article does indicate that simple fact. The reality is that the Swans are a little smarter with list and player management than to pay 1 million dollars for anyone, I mean Goodes never reached that kind of money so I would assume the reports of salary are wrong.
In regards to a good trade I would expect the Crows to benefit from other deals we make with White, Trent Dennis-Lane etc plus our first round pick. I am sure the deal will be fair.

wtf? mate do you live in reality? for us to pick him back up in the PSD every other club who we finished ahead of would have to pass him up....and we won't touch him again considering what he's done to us...I've been reading your posts since this saga began and I'm really concerned that you know nothing about football

I'm not really serious with that final suggestion mate :eek:

However you're probably right about me knowing nothing about footy :D

Both Roughy AND Kennedy are worth more than Tippett... would need to be something else from the Crows.
You know that,..... I know that .....but apparently Sydney management don't know that .......are either of Kennedy or Roughy getting $1M a year and still outside the top 10 of B&F :p

Yet the article does indicate that simple fact. The reality is that the Swans are a little smarter with list and player management than to pay 1 million dollars for anyone, I mean Goodes never reached that kind of money so I would assume the reports of salary are wrong.
In regards to a good trade I would expect the Crows to benefit from other deals we make with White, Trent Dennis-Lane etc plus our first round pick. I am sure the deal will be fair.

bollocks dont come onto this board talking crap...I live and breathe the crows mate and not once in the 6 years that whore has been with us has there been any type of unhappiness with the club...his issue is living in adelaide because he wants to live somewhere more exciting for the lifestyle he wants...don't talk crap

"It would have been easy to accept a generous five-year offer to stay in Adelaide, or something similar from the Gold Coast or Brisbane, and I also want to thank those clubs for their interest," Tippett said.
http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/149270/default.aspx

Seems to indicate the Swans are getting him for less money than what has been offered by GC and the Lions. This would mean the 1 million price tag being reported is rubbish which would make sense. Can any Crows supporters shed any light on whether he was the outer or unhappy? He always seems wanted from coaches and players yet his choice reflects otherwise?

No it would mean that YOU read it that way

Tippett saying he's going to Sydney for the culture/lifestyle is just cover up bullshite. He's not gonna come out and say I'm going to sydney coz theyll pay me the most! Sydney are kidding themselves if they think they're getting him for less then the Adelaide/Brisbane and gold coast offers

No, what he meant that the offers were generous but not generous enough.

I cant see how the Crows can lose from this to be honest. Youve got rid of near $1m in the salary cap for a player that doesnt deliver anywhere near as much as his pay packet would suggest, you've got ready made plug n play guys to take his spot in Jenkins, Johnston or Lynch, you'll get a very good young player for him in return and also have the chance to hit trade week running with a shitload of salary cap space.

I'd say this is a better outcome than him wanting to go to Qld and having the risk of being bent over or losing him in the PSD.
I agree .....I think Crows will come out in front

1. A 1st round pick that can be on-traded
2. A good Sydney player .....don't think it wont happen, it will
3 $700K spare in cash to hit trade week

Always have said, we'll end up 3 good players for Kurt :thumbsu:

mate that's people living on mars type dreaming.....he's got a bunch of clubs putting their hands up saying they want him and you reckon they'll just let him slide right on past them for free at the PSD? mate get your head checked

You're missing the point mate, even if another club take him in the pre season draft the fact is he doesn't end up at Sydney. So we have that advantage. If they want him they quite simply have to do a deal that we are happy with or they miss out. Also wouldn't bet that too many clubs would be keen at $1m a year for a player that has just shown a lack of loyalty so there would be a reasonable chance that he would slip through. Either way we have more leverage than we would have if he chose Gold Coast.

In the unlikely event Kurt was forced to walk to the PSD do you guys think any club other than Sydney is likely to match Kurt's salary/contract demands?
Definitely ... Freo, Carlton, Melbourne

Sorry forgot to add .....would Port be a cazy outside chance ....wouldn't that be an irony

We need to get over this idea that Sydney has nothing to offer. They just won the flag FFS, and suggesting that they have no good players is just as disrespectful as the Sydney posters on here have been. I'm sure that we will work something out, especially as Sydney aren't stupid, they surely have thought about how to get a deal done before offering him $900,000 a year. Also I know our club thought 6 weeks ago that Sydney or Collingwood were very likely going to be his preferd choice so I'm sure we have being doing our homework as well. I also think we have to get over this Tippett hating thing, looking back I don't remember him ever saying that he wanted to go home, that was just the media saying it and surely it is alright for a player to chase the money if other clubs are offering more. We somehow seem to expect loyalty from a player but are quite happy when a club delists a player or sacks a coach who has signed a contract in good faith and don't talk about the lack of loyalty, in fact we all say "footy is a business now". Well guess what, it is a business now and the average lifespan of a player on a list is only about 4 years so if they can make $500,000 more in their career by moving then invested well over a life time that can make the difference in how your retirement goes. Personally I think the Roughhead idea is a good one and might well be the type of thing that happens.

Thank you. I have read page after page of angry rubbish this morning and have begun to feel and think the same. You have restored some sense to this conversation.
By the way,to everyone else, since when has "flog" become such a popular word?

bollocks dont come onto this board talking crap...I live and breathe the crows mate and not once in the 6 years that whore has been with us has there been any type of unhappiness with the club...his issue is living in adelaide because he wants to live somewhere more exciting for the lifestyle he wants...don't talk crap

No you misunderstood....... I was referring to the salary when quoting the article. I asked if there was friction I did not insinuate it. As far as leaving the Crows board I find it is the easiest way to speak to Crows supporters about Crows/Swans related issues.
Another option is for you to simply calm down a little.

Subject to medical, Rohan is the one I want. Not by himself, but I could probably live with Rohan + 22 for Tippett + 40.

That would be a dud deal IMO.

Rohan has played 22 games for an average of slightly less than 10 disposals including 1 goal per game, and has a busted ankle.

So basically you are suggesting trading a sound leading KPF being offered close to a million dollars per year for Rohan PLUS a swap of draft picks??

That would be just compounding the way we will be screwed in this deal. :thumbsdown: