Tivendale

• Thread starter Thread starter CJH

Send him to Fitzroy street,StKilda.

I reckon most people who have bagged Tivendale will be singing a very different tune comes seasons end.

How quickly we forget what an important player he was to the RFC.

You will remember soon enough. If he was 28, had no skills, pace and was ready for retirement. Your arguments would make sense. (aka chaffey)

But the simple fact is spudley has driven him out of form and it will take some time for him to overcome this.

tigertime said:
I reckon most people who have bagged Tivendale will be singing a very different tune comes seasons end.

You will remember soon enough. If he was 28, had no skills, pace and was ready for retirement. Your arguments would make sense. (aka chaffey)

But the simple fact is spudley has driven him out of form and it will take some time for him to overcome this.

Loverly long left foot kick which has average pace.

Soft as butter and doesnt have much else going for him.

Can only play wing/flanks - albet not well.

He cut the lions up in the 2001 final.

I dont recall too many other richmond players stepping up to the plate.

Bentleigh said:
Loverly long left foot kick which has average pace.

Soft as butter and doesnt have much else going for him.

Can only play wing/flanks - albet not well.

tigertime said:

You're going back over 3 years now. In over 3 years you could go back and pick out most players that have had at least 1 good game. There's no doubt about it, he's on his last legs. Needs to show something very soon.

tigertime said:

Nearly his whole career was played under Spud. And now you are telling us that Frawley has driven the form out of him?

You then mention 2001 where he played great agaisnt Brisbane, wasn't spud coaching then?

lmfaooooo@how important he has been to us. What rubbish. He has had some moments, no doubt, but the overriding contribution of Greg Tivendale to the RFC has been one of resounding mediocrity. Has had a couple of seasons where he has been above average, a couple where he has been below average and a few more that have been average.

tigertime said:

3/4 years ago Gaspar/Chaffy/Kellaway/Campbell and co. were amounst the leagues best players.

As you will note, the big difference between Tivendale and these players is that he is much younger.

As I stated, if he as old as Campbell, clearly you wouldnt consider persisting with him.

As you well know John, Frawley took his time depleting our list. The results of his hard work didnt begin until 2002 and will still be felt well into 2005.

Bentleigh said:
3/4 years ago Gaspar/Chaffy/Kellaway/Campbell and co. were amounst the leagues best players.

tigertime said:
As you will note, the big difference between Tivendale and these players is that he is much younger.

As I stated, if he as old as Campbell, clearly you wouldnt consider persisting with him.

As you well know John, Frawley took his time depleting our list. The results of his hard work didnt begin until 2002 and will still be felt well into 2005.

I dont consider persisting with a below average, mid age AFL player when we a plethora of potential players which will be an upgrade of him and are half a dozen years younger.

Tivendale hasnt reached his potential. Anymore than Richo has reached his potential.

It was a credit to Tiva's that he had ok years in 2002 - 2003.

Correct me if I am wrong, but he was used exclusively in the backline last year. Defence isnt a natural feature of his game and this certainly hurt him more than anything else. He will be a strong contributor when he runs forward of the centre. This is where he plays his best football.

The younger players are at least a couple of years off from forming a decent team. Getting rid of Tivendale will not help this process.

JohnF said:
His best years were 2002 and 2003 mate, deep into the spud abyss.

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/G/Greg_Tivendale.html

tigertime said:
Tivendale hasnt reached his potential. Anymore than Richo has reached his potential.

It was a credit to Tiva's that he had ok years in 2002 - 2003.

Correct me if I am wrong, but he was used exclusively in the backline last year. Defence isnt a natural feature of his game and this certainly hurt him more than anything else. He will be a strong contributor when he runs forward of the centre. This is where he plays his best football.

The younger players are at least a couple of years off from forming a decent team. Getting rid of Tivendale will not help this process.

I think Tivendale was moved to half back about mid-way through last year after he suffered a bit of a form slump (due mainly to other teams figuring him out and disallowing him to get onto his left side) whilst playing on the wing. His kicking in from full back was pretty good I thought but he isn't a natural backline player.

The potential tag doesn't wash with me. He is 26 years old and if he hasn't shown us what he's made of by now he never will.

I'd give him two or three more weeks to get his schit together otherwise and if he can't he can spend a good month in the 'burg.

On 2001 and early 2003 when we were winning more games than we lost, Gaspar, AK, Chaffey and Tivendale were all playing good footy. Tivendale possibly has the most potential out of that lot to get back to that kind of form, but this relies on a number of things:
  1. Other teams have worked him out and coral him onto his right side every time. He needs to work out a way to overcome this.
  2. He is a receiver/ball carrier/finisher type. Nothing wrong with this, one or two of these types in a team can put the icing on the cake. But these types don't tend to do well in bottom teams where you spend most of the time defending. Unlikely at this stage of his career that he will suddenly start winning lots of his own ball, so his improvement will be linked in part to improvement in the team.
  3. Because of 1 and 2, his confidence is shot. When he gets the ball he seems full of indecision because he doesn't have the confidence to take on the opposition. You can tell just by watching him play he is scared of making a mistake. Never underestimate the effect confidence has on a player.

He needs to go back to Coburg for a few weeks to get some kicks to build up his confidence. This isn't without a risk for him though. We've had plenty of players (James, Keays, Plapp, maybe Houlihan) who dominated the 2nds but weren't good enough for the 1sts. The bad habits of these types can be magnified in the 2nds because they can run around as they please. If Tivendale and the coaching staff can't work out a way around point 1 between them, he is gone. But the first step is to build up his confidence and I think the best place for that is Coburg.

What is the likelihood of him developing a right foot? That's the only way around Crum's point 1 that I see.

Don't like his chances at this stage of his career.

That's pretty much the nub of it JohnF. The other way is to try and get him in to space, which other teams won't willingly allow. (Maybe one day we'll rediscover the lost art of shepharding which would help.) But he's not a player you would build a gameplan around. He's one that needs to fit in with the existing plan.

tigertime said:

Saying Tivendale is going to be good come seasons end if thats the case you could get a game with the Brisbane lions lol it just wont happen

he will not magically improve this year, he has shown what he can do play an occassional one good game in 7 with some nice flashes, this player is not going totake us tot he next level but neither is chaffey, a kellaway, gee i could go on, the reason why we are where we are is because of players like these

Tivendale needs to improve quite a bit, yes his confidence is shot but you could say that about 90% of our list so it really isn't an excuse for the boy.

I've read quite a few arguments here about how good he has been in the past and how bad he has been in the past and realistically both arguments are irrelevant. What is important is what he does right now under Wallace, if he doesn't cut the mustard then I'm afraid it's Coburg for Tivendale and it will be up to him to get his act together enough for the Coaches to belive he deserves a spot in the seniors ( It wont be because he had a good season in 2001).

If he does get dropped and doesn't play well enough at Coburg to warrant selection back in the senior side then I'm afraid it's either a delisting for him or at best a trade to another club. For me he needs to improve quite a bit to warrant remaining on our list, but he has 20 weeks to do something, for his sake he needs too.

The reason we are where we are is because of bad coaching and bad recruiting.

We are 2 years into the cycle as Wallace puts it.

Tivendale is one player that we can salvage from the wreck. He doesnt have to magically improve. He just needs to try. You may have missed it, but thats what he did when he came on last week. TW was pretty clear on that.

cairo tiger said:
he will not magically improve this year, he has shown what he can do play an occassional one good game in 7 with some nice flashes, this player is not going totake us tot he next level but neither is chaffey, a kellaway, gee i could go on, the reason why we are where we are is because of players like these

So having a player play out fo position isnt a concern to most of you lot??

Lets play Richo in the back line for the next 3 months and if he doesnt fire lets sack him.
We may as well play Johnson in the forward pocket and if he cant cut it, lets sack him too.

Tivers problem is ever since Cameron retired there hasnt been anyone else with the ability to hit targets from kick out so he has been filling that role. But then you cant have a player that kicks out run to h/f, wing and play in his rightful position, the game is too fast for that. He needs to stay in defence. Well Tivers is not a defender simple.

But then again all you coaches out there know it all.

Who cares if he has only a left foot, its better than most Tiger players two feet!
And the bit about "they have found him out that he only has a left" is the biggest load of ********e I have heard. Obviously this statement comes from non-participants of footy or couch potatoes.

Get a grip people.

Alot of talk about not being able to hit targets out of the backline.

Even mor reason Bowden needs to stay on a half back flank.