Suspended
Oct 8, 2004
Newcastle
Pies,Bulls,Liverpool,AUFC
In a few weeks when we have Fraser and Richards back im just wondering if we have a few to many solid talls. walker has been good and doing his part each week, Cam Cloke has been good so we could go into the game with Walker, Cloke, Rocca, Fraser and Richards. I suppose you can play Cam and Josh as fowards changing with Richards in the ruck with Walker used as a tall defender.

Thoughts???

Walker will make way for Josh. Richards will come back through the reserves.

Cam Cloke will have to play out of his skin to retain his spot. Same too for Maxwell. Its all good.

I would have thought that is a good thing, players are now under pressure to keep their spot in the team every week AKA Lonie. It's good because players are no longer asured a place in the team everyweek.

Yep.
Carlton need a tall defender, so do Wet Toast.
We need an on baller and another key forward

Trade Walker for Walker.

Trade Hall for Hansen

Its just dream of mine

im with guess_who, always good to have players having to perform to hold a spot in the team because we have players coming back from injury or in-form at Willy....always better than picking players due only to half the best 18 been out with injury

lol Andrew Walker you referring to Murray? would be nice but a fair pipe dream, but i share it with you mate :p

Tristen Walker we can trade off to another club, because he wouldn't hurt as much at another club as what other tall forwards in our team would.

Give him to a team that needs a tall forward/back, and make them trade an onballer, It makes it a Win-Win situation for both clubs (Collingwood and ?).

Like what Murray said, but I doubt that Carlton would trade Walker. Tristen Walker might want to go home and play for either West Coast and Fremantle.

As it stands, I wouldn't be trading Walker anywhere. He's improving nicely. Whilst Presti and Wakes are in very good form, they won't be forever and Walker looks the goods for a KP defensive post IMO.

Cam Cloke appears to be up against it at this stage, but he's servicable back up for the time being.

Billy will have to do something special for the rest of the year to keep his spot. I have only seen Hall play once, and I do think there is something to work with, but he's a bit soft at this stage.

Fanny will have to continue his rate of improvement to get a gernse and you can pencil Travis in as a definite KP forward. I count Max as a defensive flanker.

We might have a lot of talls (KP+), but it's the talent within them that counts. As it stands, I reckon I'm most confident about Trav and Tristen.

Talls always seem to be good value at trade time. Every club has half a dozen to ten AFL-standard midfielders, but not many have a full set of FB, CHB, CHF, FF.

So we will (or at least should) always be able to trade well provided enough of our talls produce the goods.

Kerr from the Eagles interests me as a potential magpie in exchange for a key position player (plus some draft pick or whatever)

Better to many than to few. And for those bagging Billy, he's 19, Ashley Hansen also looked clueless as a 19 year old, he's now 22 and this is the first year he's looked the goods.

Rocca Flys High said:
the taller the better the marking chances!
Yeah that's why Sandilands is going to be a future star. "Oh he's so tall he'll outmark everyone"
Height makes a fair bit of difference but a defender is only caught out if they are around 8-10cm shorter than their oponent.
If no player could jump or touch another player then perhaps height will be THE only factor in KPPs.

I'll think it'll be a couple of years before we offload any of these young talls.
The good thing about big Josh and Richards being out is we can see who has the goods. Walker looks like he's got it.

I'd get Richards in the side and get him some games under his belt and offer him up as bait come years end. Seems a little fragile and injury prone...

Definatley keep Walker.....

yes there is to many talls when you include richards, fanning and fraser into the team. plus we already have walker, cloke. i guess there would be plenty of changes through the year

pieman1 said:
Better to many than to few. And for those bagging Billy, he's 19, Ashley Hansen also looked clueless as a 19 year old, he's now 22 and this is the first year he's looked the goods.
I went to high school with Ash, he and my bro were good mates. Consequently, my bro, Ash and Scott Thornton from Freo were all friends; even in the same homeroom in Year 11.

Anyway, Ash never really looked like a "great" player, even playing school footy. Good, yeah, but not great. He has come on in absolute leaps and bounds since being drafted.

Billy Morrison is still young. He's actually younger than a lot of the draftees from this year. He's only 11 days older than Iacobucci, and just 9 months older than Egan and Rusling.

In comparison to some of the other talls from this draft, he's 5 months older than John Meesen (drafted #8), 2 months older than Adam Pattison (#16) and Thomas Murphy (#18).

He's still very much within the age bracket of being a rookie, and even if he wasn't, he's only a 2nd year player. If I'm not mistaken, generally, isn't the word that talls can take 2 to 3 years to develop? Billy hasn't even had close to 2 years yet, and people want to read him his last rites...

I'm glad the football department isn't as impatient as some people on here.

To many talls