Freo and Bulldogs, ManU
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23149396-5011880,00.html

Mark Harvey says Dockers ready to challenge Geelong Article : Damien Barrett

February 02, 2008 06:00pm
HE played the game with a fearlessness that bordered on stupidity.

He is now in charge of a club regularly criticised for being too soft, which means it is not difficult to work out how Mark Harvey will coach Fremantle.

Interviewed in South Africa, Harvey did not specifically say he would be demanding increased toughness from the at-times fragile Dockers.

More than once, though, he referred to mental toughness and said he would be seeking better outcomes "when the game was in the balance''.

And Harvey says he respects his predecessor, Chris Connolly, as much as anyone he does in football.

Harvey talked of pride associated with finally reaching a senior coaching position and of his belief it was more important to wait for the right role than to apply for every vacancy. He also said the
Dockers were ready to challenge the competition elite, including Geelong.

"Yeah, I am (very comfortable with where he is right now). I've covered a lot of areas in the coaching perspective, a lot of unique areas,'' Harvey said.

"I don't know what the right formula is by the way, but I feel I've prepared myself for what lies ahead.
"And I'm not one of those coaches who's going to worry about the job all the time. I'm just going to try to do the best I can to get the best out of the playing group and not worry about things that happen outside that.''

Harvey paused when asked if the Dockers could win the 2008 premiership.

"We'll have the foot on the doorstep. We won't be far away and it'll be a matter of when the game needs to be won, when you need to be mentally tough ... will we overcome that?'' he said.

"If we do, we'll be around it. From my point of view, we can be up there with the big boys, and I include Geelong, so whatever you make of that you make of it.

"But we're going to be keeping a low profile around that and if something becomes of that, well, we'll wait and see.''

Harvey's appointment vindicated his decision to wait, and wait, and wait, for the job that felt right.

His approach was seen as unnecessary hesitancy by some, and by others as Harvey being unsure of himself.

Some even felt it indicated Harvey was not ready to take a senior role.

"I know that certain coaches were saying: `Well, why aren't you stepping up'?'' Harvey said.

"Well, I never wanted to be too over-anxious about becoming a coach. I reckon people who are that way about whatever it is they're pursuing can go about it the wrong way.

"I think people respect the way you go about it.''

Think of the recent searches for coaches by AFL clubs, and recall how most employed consultancy firms to sound out and short-list candidates.

Harvey does not like where those processes are heading and reckons football clubs need to revert to old-school practices.

He admits to giving a PowerPoint presentation in his application for the Fremantle job, but stressed the most important quality required was one that could not be measured by people who do not know football.

"I did a PowerPoint presentation - all prospective coaches have to do it these days - but the problem I have with that is what they can never judge is your interaction with your coaches and players,'' Harvey said.

"I mean, how do they get that? Seriously, how can they determine that? When guys make decisions on guys at board level, or when someone has come in to analyse a situation, like a group of experts or a psychologist, well, I'm not sure where all that's heading.

"And I'm not sure if we're going down the right path with all of that. I think clubs should reassess the way they go about picking a coach.''

When Connolly resigned last year, Harvey was astounded by the big-picture view the departing coach took to what was a low point of his career.

"Chris was fantastic with how he handled what happened, and the understanding of what he wanted me to do beyond that decision he made was very calming,'' Harvey said.

"It was very credible from a guy who was probably not thinking straight at the time.

"In the end, you have to say he gave it the very best shot he had. I've never seen a guy more passionate about football. He lives and breathes it.''

Harvey loves the Dockers and says their supporters are as "staunch'' as Collingwood's.

He says the club is no longer West Coast's little brother, a fact the Eagles know, but it was also time Fremantle proved such to the rest of the competition.

...and here's a nice fluff piece.

http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23149575-5011880,00.html

Docker Jeff Farmer's South Africa travel diaryArticle from: Font size: Decrease Increase Email article: Email Print article: Print Submit comment: Submit comment February 02, 2008 06:00pm
THE Fremantle Dockers have been on a week-long tour of South Africa this week. Superstar forward Jeff "The Wizard" Farmer shares his personal tour diary.

SUNDAY, JANUARY 27: It was a noon check-in at Perth International Airport for a 10-day experience during which we'll take in a lot of the culture of South Africa.

We also have to keep our pre-season training program going, with our first NAB Cup game only three weeks away.

I've never been to South Africa and I'm excited.

After an 11-hour-plus flight, we arrived at Johannesburg at 7pm. We travelled to the hotel where we're staying overnight before travelling to Potchefstroom tomorrow. Tonight is all about getting some sleep.

MONDAY, JANUARY 28: We were on the bus by 9am for the two-hour drive to Potch, where we'll stay for the next three days.

After we checked into our hotel, we had a quick walk around town, then it was a yoga session before lunch, followed by a weights and running session at the High-Performance Institute.

Potch is where a lot of athletes from around the world base themselves for altitude training. After the session, we went back to the hotel to shower and change for a reception at the Sedgars Park cricket ground.

We also announced our new major partner for our activities in South Africa, Nkwe Platinum. After the reception, we were entertained by some young dancers.

After dinner back at the hotel, everyone was straight to bed to catch up on some sleep.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 29: We set off at 9.30am for a visit to the Thakageng Centre for street kids.

The centre takes in kids who are left on the streets of the township: feeding them, giving them a place to sleep and educating them. Most have been left by their parents and the fantastic people at Thakageng care for them.

Some have been abused, some have addiction problems of some kind or another, and others were just abandoned.

They were so excited that we were coming to visit, they'd been ready from 5am. We had a ball with them, kicking the footy and having a chat. They each received a Freo cap, then sang us a traditional song.

Our next visit was to the regional prison. After clearance from the head guard, we got some footballs from the bus and went over to talk to the inmates. We were watched closely by security guards with rifles and pump-action shotguns as we mixed with rapists, murderers and the like.

After a short lesson on how to kick an Aussie rules footy - we even talked a guard into having a kick - we moved through the women's section and into maximum security. These prisoners are locked up for 23 hours a day, with only an hour a day to exercise.

As we walked through the section, we were among the high-security prisoners - you had to be on your guard. We saw in their cells and then looked into 20-man dormitories with the inmates cramped inside. You don't want to be in prison in South Africa!

The longest sentence being served in this prison was 153 years. After an hour visit, we returned to the hotel for some lunch, then it was off to a clinic at the Ikageng township on the outskirts of Potch.

There were more than 500 kids waiting for us when we arrived. The event was well organised by our volunteer staff from South Africa. These kids were so excited and we had a ball with them for 1 hours.

After a big group photo, we went for a 2km walk through the township; just walking the streets, talking to the residents and seeing how tough they live. We got a chance to look in one of the houses - two bedrooms, a small kitchen and a sort of loungeroom. This was home to eight people!

We were back on the bus at 4pm for a weights and running session at the High-Performance Institute.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 30: After the long day yesterday, we had the morning off, then after lunch went to another clinic, this time in the Promosa township.

This was a smaller clinic with about 150 kids, but it was the same as yesterday's - full of kids just so happy to be running around, kicking a ball and having fun. The clinic lasted for an hour and then we trained at the military base.

We were joined by six of the best local players. They came from a long way from Potch to be there. A bloke called Steve hitchhiked nearly 400km, that's commitment.

Afterwards it was back to the hotel for a team dinner and some sleep.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 31: After a 9am departure to return to Johannesburg, we arrived at 11.30am, but couldn't check in because the power was out. South Africa has huge power problems, so they just shut down sections of the cities and countryside.

We went for a walk through a shopping centre until the power came back on. After finally getting into our rooms and having lunch, we were back on the bus to visit Cotlands, an orphanage where more than 70 per cent of the kids are infected with HIV.

We spent an hour with these amazing children, who ranged in age from four weeks to seven years. We were broken into three groups to walk through a hospice, school room and play yards. It was very moving.

In the babies' section, we heard about an infant who was dumped on the steps of the centre in a garbage bag, saw youngsters affected by AIDS and in need of oxygen, saw kids smiling and playing, and met the 30 or so volunteer staff. The centre receives no government support.

The players nursed babies and played hide-and-seek. As we got ready to leave, the club made a donation to the centre and the players also happily dipped into their pockets. We'll help this fantastic centre even after we leave South Africa.

From the orphanage, it was off to the official welcome for us and Carlton at the Australian High Commission in Pretoria. It was a two-hour bus ride through the Jo'burg traffic - even though we only had to travel 50km.

FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1: We left for a tour of Soweto and the Apartheid Museum. Our time was limited because we had full training sessions lined up at SuperSport Park at 3pm.

The museum has many reminders of Apartheid in South Africa, such as the old public bench seats with their painted "Europeans Only'' signs. And you enter the museum through either of the signed entrances: Whites or Non-Whites.

SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 2: It was an early start for me, leaving the hotel at 6.15am for an interview on SuperSport's Saturday Sports show, which is viewed by more than a million people across Africa.

SuperSport was due to telecast our Carlton game live throughout Africa tonight. It was a normal game day for the players. Breakfast at 9am followed by a team meeting, then a rest until lunch.

We'll leave for the game at 4.50pm.

Guys, have you all seen the Sunday Times article which more or less dedicates half a page to discussing: "Pavlich is due an injury in 2008".

I don't buy the ST anymore but if what you describe is true then that's disgraceful.

Forget tacky journalism, once you start writing stuff like that you're more of a wannabe fiction writer than a journalist anyway.

He's exaggerating and exaggeration...

I guess I should have known. Please tone down the outrage in my previous post as appropriate. :)

Love that 1st article. I think Harvey is just about the perfect fit for our team at the moment.

Our list is undeniably talented, it's just application that seems to be a problem. And Harvey's coaching philosophy seems to be heavily based around the areas that we have been lacking - hardness, intensity, consistency, etc...

Match made in heaven, or irresistible force meeting immovable object?

Time will tell, but I'm thinking (at least hoping) the former.

Taz said:
"I have tried to trim down a bit. I have not concentrated on my weights this pre-season. I think I might have lost the arms, which is probably a good thing — I probably wasn't using them anyway," Tarrant said.

Ok now I'm really convinced the boys mean business.

If Taz is prepared to sacrifice his guns for the good of his game then they must really be serious.

I'm off to the TAB.

Esti, it is an article discussing how FFC would cope in 2008 if Pav's injury free run ended.

Then I stand by my previous outraged comments.

If all it takes to be a sports journo is writing personal fantasies based on worst case scenarios, then I could probably whip up a lovely 1,000 word article on the eagles chances this year based on the assumption a tsunami hits Subi Oval during next weeks training session.

Esti, it is an article discussing how FFC would cope in 2008 if Pav's injury free run ended.

I don't read the Sunday Times so I haven't seen the article but if it is questioning how Freo might cope if their most important player became unavailable then I don't see that as unreasonable.

If however, the article suggested that Pavlich was "due" for an injury that's a different matter.

Pav is without question your most important player and would leave a massive hole to fill if indeed he was injured. (Not that I would wish that on any player, let alone a champion like Pav).

A similar article could be done on the importance of Darren Glass to us.

I don't read the Sunday Times so I haven't seen the article but if it is questioning how Freo might cope if their most important player became unavailable then I don't see that as unreasonable.

If however, the article suggested that Pavlich was "due" for an injury that's a different matter.

Pav is without question your most important player and would leave a massive hole to fill if indeed he was injured. (Not that I would wish that on any player, let alone a champion like Pav).

A similar article could be done on the importance of Darren Glass to us.

That was it.
Non-issue

"X" is training the house down
"X" looks forward to finals
"X" regains lost ground
"X" rookie gains respect with work ethic
"X" says "we can win theflag"
"X" says "hard line approach working"

"Y" thinks we can make the finals
"Y" struggles with long recovery
"Y" seeks to gain respect
"Y" tries to enforce rules

One is us, one is WCE

http://www.afl.com.au/InternationalCupNews/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=54934

josh carr interview type thing.

FOLLOWING Fremantle's Telstra Community Camp in Albany, Josh Carr is looking forward to freshening up before the squad returns from South Africa and the club turns its attention to the NAB Cup match against West Coast.
Carr is now a veteran at the Dockers, meaning he had the choice to travel to Albany instead of South Africa, but preparation for round one against Collingwood begins with training next week.

"We are going into more of an in-season training program now, especially when the guys get back from South Africa. We have an internal trial game and then the [NAB Cup] game against the West Coast Eagles," Carr said.

"We start moving into serious game time and the guys are hanging out to playing football as you get sick of running around the park after a while."

With a host of new faces in the coaching department, Carr can see some changes that he hopes will help the Dockers get back into the finals.

"It has been an enjoyable pre-season with a lot of fresh faces in the coaching staff and some players. It has been good and the guys have worked hard, now we just want to start playing football," he said.

"There have been a few little changes here and there. Mark [Harvey] doesn’t want to come in and make sweeping changes straight away to upset the team, but Mark has put his stamp on the team with his discipline and hardness."

While Fremantle certainly wouldn’t complain about having a successful NAB Cup, its entire focus is on the season proper and Carr is feeling ready to go in body and mind.

"My body is feeling good and has been for a few years, so hopefully that stays the same. I've got through the pre-season well and I'm looking forward to the year," he said.

"I suppose I'll play the NAB Cup. Mark hasn’t spoken to any of the playing group about that yet. I'd say that if you are fit, you'll play, but if you have any troubles at all I don’t think he'll risk you. Whatever Mark says, we'll do.

"Our focus is round one. That's the main thing and we will use the pre-season competition for what it is. It gives you the opportunity to work on what you've talked about in the pre-season and be ready as a team for round one."

As for what the Dockers need to do differently to improve on an 11th-place finish in 2007, Carr believes it starts with having the best players available.

"The most important thing is to have everyone out there," he said.

"Early on last year we didn’t through injuries, suspensions and everything like that. A few little changes to the way we play will hopefully help us win more games."

didnt know where to post this question, but does anyone have details on when this will happen? wanna c my mate palmer in action.

cheers

didnt know where to post this question, but does anyone have details on when this will happen? wanna c my mate palmer in action.

cheers

If he's your mate you should just ask him ;)

I'm pretty sure someone posted all the pre-season training/match times in a thread a week or so ago, try a search.

Guys, have you all seen the Sunday Times article which more or less dedicates half a page to discussing: "Pavlich is due an injury in 2008".

Is it me, or is the Sunday Times basically willing an injury on Pav?

I mean, its just that it is a very odd article topic. When Goodes went through his "injury free period" I dont recall any articles putting a curse on him.

It is very tacky journalism in my opinion.

Journalism..... The Sunday times...
???
I beleive you have an oxymoron there GJ.

Subi apparently. Unless the ground is too chopped up after the Bon Jovi concert last week, then they'll move it to Freo Oval.

But I think it's okay to go, as I think the weagles have their intra-club on Sat evening.

Someone might want to call the club and then let everyone know for sure. :thumbsu: