Chicago Bulls, Aussie Swim Team,
TomAllwright_246a.jpg

Date of birth:
15/6/90
Height: 185cm
Weight: 83kg
Club: North Hobart

Watch Tom Allwright in action

Bio: A powerful midfielder who is strong overhead, Allwright reads the play well and is good at the stoppages. A Tasmanian representative at the NAB AFL Under-18 championships. From North Hobart FC.

Jason McCartney says: He's a strong body-type at 185cm and 83kg. He played wing and through the midfield and was fantastically hard at it against South Australia in the championships. He had a good division two series and continued it on in that match.

Tasmanian U18 coach Andrew Mellor: He's a very strong, athletic midfielder who is good in and around the stoppages and just got better as the championships went on. He's from a strong rowing background and he missed a lot of the pre-season due to [rowing] commitments, so his running suffered early, but he just got stronger and stronger during the champs. He has a strong build, is strong over the ball, is good overhead and is quite a good kick of the footy. He's probably not the quickest player of the group that we sent away to the draft camp, but he's just a good, strong footy player. I'd see him in perhaps more of a half-back/back pocket role at AFL level.

Stats:

NAB AFL Under 18 Championships
Team Mt K HB D M HO T G
Tas 8 8.1 6.5 14.6 3.8 0.4 2.1 0.1

In his own words

Strengths
Head over the ball, marking and quick hands around packs.

Weaknesses
Decision-making, backing myself, taking them on. Little things like that which you need to take to the next level.

Which AFL team do you support?
I go for Geelong.

Which AFL players do you try to model yourself on?
Ben Cousins used to be my favourite player before he stopped [playing]. The thing that I liked about him most was his work rate. He just never stopped. You’d see him come to the bench and he’d be spewing up. That’s what I really like about the amount of work you need to put in, just his tackling and stuff, it’s like the one-percenters that he really put in, not just the flashy stuff.

Re: Rookie - No. 48: Tom Allwright

Looking forward to Tom's 2009. He comes in with VFL experience and is still very young. A good year for Tom to develop, without a doubt Amos will love this guy and spend a lot of time with him.

Really pleased to see him rookied. Reckon the he has all the attributes to be elevated onto the main list. He looks a great replacement for Milburn to me. Able to play on a back flank but can run through the middle.

Surprised he wasn't taken earlier.

Totally agree. Allwright will be pushing hard come the end of his 2 years.

rookies are only guarenteed 1 year

I was presuming that he would be given 2 years given the gold coast coming in and all.

From The Mercury newspaper earlier in the month.

http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2008/12/17/44921_sport-news.html

TASMANIAN Tom Allwright was drafted to his favourite club Geelong in the AFL's rookie draft yesterday.
After being taken in round three of the draft at No. 46, the 18-year-old Hutchins school leaver immediately dropped plans to be a physiotherapist. The only Tasmanian selected among a handful of hopefuls, Allwright said being drafted by powerhouse Geelong was "indescribable".
"It's very flattering. My feet haven't touched the ground," he said.
"I've gone for Geelong since I was a kid, and I've always wanted to play AFL footy."
AFL Tasmania's high performance manager Nick Probert said Geelong would be good for Allwright. "Geelong is a strong club, so it's human nature to think what his chances of getting a game at Geelong are," Probert said.
"But they've been very successful at developing their young, talented players and I think going to Geelong is a great fit for Tom."
Allwright will relocate to Melbourne today and, as the Cats have the day off, will have his first look around the Cattery tomorrow.
"I'll head over for a week and train with the club and then come home for Christmas," Allwright said.
"Then I go back straight after the Christmas break."
Allwright followed his draft fortunes on the internet.
"My eyes were stuck to the screen pretty well, watching it all unfold," he said.
"It didn't really worry me at all which club I went to. I would have been happy going anywhere."
Allwright's hard-at-it game style could even see the Cats test him in a pre-season cup match in February.
"He's a very good inside ball winner, very strong over the football and has good hands at ground level," Probert said.

Interstate rookies guaranteed 2 years. Local only 1 year but are often retained for two.

Interesting the way he seems to be playing all over the ground...get the impression he's the poor man's Jack Ziebell. Either way can't wait to see him play some footy, think he'll be a really handy addition.

(How's that for a pump up Pivot? ;))

Interesting the way he seems to be playing all over the ground...get the impression he's the poor man's Jack Ziebell. Either way can't wait to see him play some footy, think he'll be a really handy addition.

(How's that for a pump up Pivot? ;))

Mate, I think you meant to say Ziebell is a poor man's Tom Allwright.

Nah, can't say that, love Ziebell's work. He was a fave of mine last year. I may even have to soften my stance against the Roos now he is out there.

Allwright really caught my eye when I saw Tassie live on the last day of the Champs. Really faught hard to get the pill and worked well around the ground. Obviously there is something I'm not seeing as I thought he'd get taken in the draft but I think he's a beauty of a rookie.

Unfortunately I'm still not over Broadbent. At least I can select him in Super Coach :D

Is it just me, or is there a touch of Jimmeh about this boy?

Hard at it, strong over the ball, good hands around the packs, great overhead with a good leap. He seems quicker than Jimmeh although still not the quickest over the ground, but seems to get there in time.

If he has a good head on his shoulders and makes premium quality decisions, then I like the boy.

Is it just me, or is there a touch of Jimmeh about this boy?

Hard at it, strong over the ball, good hands around the packs, great overhead with a good leap. He seems quicker than Jimmeh although still not the quickest over the ground, but seems to get there in time.

If he has a good head on his shoulders and makes premium quality decisions, then I like the boy.

Pretty terrible kick though. I think that's what's cause him to be taken so late.

Does seem a bit hit and miss but hopefully it can be worked out because I think he has all the tools to be a really good AFL footballer.

Kicking skills can be ironed out but knowing where to run to, how to find the ball and the in & under stuff is a lot harder to teach.

Allwright strikes me as a guy who has a bit of footy nous, hopefully he'll prove me right.

Does seem a bit hit and miss but hopefully it can be worked out because I think he has all the tools to be a really good AFL footballer.

Kicking skills can be ironed out but knowing where to run to, how to find the ball and the in & under stuff is a lot harder to teach.

Allwright strikes me as a guy who has a bit of footy nous, hopefully he'll prove me right.

I agree there's a lot to like about him but I am not so optomistic about ironing out kicking skills and I would put that as the No.1 skill to have if you want to be a good footballer.

Plenty of footballers have failed to live up to expectations because of their kicking. David Clarke comes to mind as one who was a talent but never got his foot skills right. I know he worked his ass off to improve his kicking but it just never got any better.

That's true, though the flip side is the massive improvement in disposal of the Geelong side overall in 07...that could have been more fitness related, though.

From what I saw he looked ok, maybe his team mates weren't working hard enough to present themselves as targets.
Remember they can make or break your disposal stat!!!

Meto.

I keep thinking back to Egan. From all reports he couldn't kick when he first arrived at the club but I thought he was very reliable by foot in *sob* the last season he played.

But then there is the counter of Clarke.

I guess you just gotta have faith. In Allwright I trust. :)

I keep thinking back to Egan. From all reports he couldn't kick when he first arrived at the club but I thought he was very reliable by foot in *sob* the last season he played.

But then there is the counter of Clarke.

I guess you just gotta have faith. In Allwright I trust. :)

And Tenace.

And Matty McCarthy.

And Spriggs, Carrazzo, Playfair, Callan.

And if we include kicking for goal, how about Byrnes and Kingsley?

Some players will never learn to kick well.

And Tenace.

And Matty McCarthy.

And Spriggs, Carrazzo, Playfair, Callan.

And if we include kicking for goal, how about Byrnes and Kingsley?

Some players will never learn to kick well.

Well give him a chance forgoodnesssake!
He looks Allright to me.

Meto