297266am.jpg

CAREER BRIEF
Previous Clubs: Waratahs (NT)
Draft Details: No.49 – 2003 National Draft
Joined the Lions: 2004
AFL Debut: Lions v Port Adelaide (AAMI Stadium), Rd 2, 2005
AFL Finals: 0

CAREER HISTORY
Tom Logan might had to wait more than a year to make his senior debut for the AAPT Brisbane Lions but he could scarcely have chosen a bigger stage on which to do it – a grand final re-match with Port Adelaide

Logan, who was drafted from the Northern Territory with the 49th pick in the 2003 draft, experienced bad luck early in his Lions career when he broke his jaw during an intra-club scratch match.

He was rather more fortunate in 2005, impressing enough in the pre-season to earn a spot in the Lions side that travelled to AAMI Stadium to meet the Power in round two.

Much of the 34,000-plus crowd was made up of Port supporters, ensuring a hostile reception when the Lions ran out onto the field.

But at least some of the crowd were cheering on the visiting side – the 16 members of the Logan clan on hand to see his debut at the highest level. Just before the young midfielder was drafted, his family made the move from the Territory back to South Australia, where Logan had been born.

Logan had eight kicks and a handball as a late Lions comeback fell six points short against the reigning premiers, showing enough to retain his spot for the next week’s home clash with Sydney. After missing two months with a shoulder dislocation suffered in the Suncoast Lions' brave win over Southport in early May, he subsequently returned to make one more senior appearance for the season , in the Round 18 away loss to the Western Bulldogs.

Adelaide is a familiar hunting ground for footballing members of the Logan family. Older brother Sam blazed a trail for his younger sibling by joining Glenelg, where he led the goalkicking twice before succumbing to a career-ending ankle injury.

The Logans, it must be said, are something of a sporting crew. Father Peter was a footballer, while netball was the sport of choice for mother Judith and sister Stephanie (the latter of whom achieved all-Australian selection).

Genes aside, Logan has a couple of other factors in his favour that point to a successful career at AFL level.

For starters he attended Ross Park Primary School in the NT, another well-known alumni of which is Lions triple-premiership player Darryl White.

And secondly he has inherited the number four jumper worn by goal-sneak Craig McRae, a member of the club’s 2001, 2002 and 2003 flags and a veteran of 195 games with the Lions.

Like McRae, Logan is a left-footer but it is in the thick of the midfield action where he is likely to make his name.

With a knack for gathering the hard possessions around the clinches, Logan has seen plenty of the ball in his outings with the Suncoast Lions, also catching the eye with a willingness to run.

A second-place finish behind Shaun Hart in a 2004 pre-season time trial gives an indication of Logan's endurance – an ability to stay fostered in his younger years.

Logan who was also once a promising junior basketballer was formerly a cross country runner and a South Australian State champion in the sport in grade four.

CAREER HIGHLIGHTS
NT under 18 2002 & 2003. All-Australian under 18 2003.

Agility
Jacob Surjan (South Fremantle) – 8.08
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 8.12
Ricky Dyson (Northern Knights) – 8.14
Alex Gilmour (Tassie Mariners) – 8.16
Michael Pettigrew (West Perth) – 8.23
Callum Burges (West Perth) – 8.24
Colin Sylvia (Bendigo Pioneers) – 8.26
Kane Tenace (Murray Bushrangers) – 8.34
Matthew Moody (South Fremantle) – 8.34
Chad Jones (Claremont) – 8.42

Vertical jump (running – right leg)
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 82m
Jake Furfaro (Mt Gravatt) – 82m
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 82cm
Colin Sylvia (Bendigo Pioneers) – 80cm
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 79cm
Alex Gilmour (Tassie Mariners) – 79cm
Jason Whitehead (Woodville West Torrens) – 78cm
Raphael Clarke (St Marys-Darwin) – 77cm
Michael Pettigrew (West Perth) – 77cm
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – 77cm

Shuttle Run (beep test)
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – Level 15 Shuttle 3
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 14.11
Ricky Dyson (Northern Knights) – 14.7
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 14.6
Daniel McConnell (Eastern Ranges) – 14.6
Luke Peel (Sandringham Dragons) – 14.5
Luke Buckland (Geelong Falcons) – 14.4
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 14.4
Brock McLean (Calder Cannons) – 14.4
Brent Stanton (Northern Knights) – 14.2
Bill Morrison (Tassie Mariners) – 14.2
Adam Bentick (Calder Cannons) – 14.1
Ryan Murphy (Gippsland Power) – 13.13

Final day results – 3km time-trial
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 10:04
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 10:04
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – 10.10
Brock McLean (Calder Cannons) – 10.11
Ryan Murphy (Gippsland Power) – 10.17
Brent Stanton (Northern Knights) – 10.18
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 10:37
Raphael Clarke (St Marys-Darwin) – 10:38
Daniel McConnell (Eastern Ranges) – 10:38
Joel Campbell (Pioneers-Alice Springs) – 10:39

(from www.afl.com.au)

49 - Thomas Logan (Waratah) 18, 183cms, 73kgs
Forward/midfielder with good endurance, work ethic and leadership skills. Won under-18 All- Australian honours after playing for the Northern Territory at the 2003 national titles. In the top 10 per cent for agility, shuttle run and running vertical jump at the 2003 draft camp.

Forward/midfielder Tom Logan was rated the best Northern Territorian behind Raphael Clarke and was a fine pick

(from http://www.afana.com/netpaper/nov24-70180.html)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

So ,what do we think fellas? I love the sound of this kid, and when I saw him play in 2003 I was very impressed. Worth a late pick in the draft?

I think so. :)

I like the sound of this lad barring injury I think he looks a bloody good prospect. I even said to the wife I wanted to marry Scott Thompson this year as he will be good for us.

The great thing about him is not only does he win the hard ball, but his pace and endurance allows him to carry the ball. Craig McRae anyone?

Another thing about his endurance: NC seems to love people with enourmous aerobic capacities - Doc Meesen, The Count, Boogie Knights, etc. Logan's got great running ability so I reckon NC would be looking very seriously at this. :)

Bockchoy67 said:
Firstly, nice shiner :D

Secondly, I would take a punt either late in the draft or invite him to pre-season training with us and pick him up in the PSD if he impresses us enough.

He appears to be an "athlete" type that Craig likes. Agility, vertical leap and most importantly beep test and 3km time trial. The question is can he play footy. If he can great. If not pass. Sounds promising but I just can't see Leigh Matthews delisting a good prospect unless there is more to it. I rated Cupido highly while he was with Brisbane and was surprised that Brisbane let him go for practically nothing in a 3 way deal. Now you realise why Brisbane let him go.

Leigh Mattnews doesn't let great prospects slip through his fingers. The fact that they delisted Logan is somewhat a bit of a worrying sign IMHO.

Bockchoy67 said:
[Vertical jump (running – right leg)
Tom Logan (Waratahs-Darwin) – 82m
Jake Furfaro (Mt Gravatt) – 82m
Andrew Walker (Bendigo Pioneers) – 82cm
Colin Sylvia (Bendigo Pioneers) – 80cm
Leigh Ryswyk (Southport) – 79cm
Alex Gilmour (Tassie Mariners) – 79cm
Jason Whitehead (Woodville West Torrens) – 78cm
Raphael Clarke (St Marys-Darwin) – 77cm
Michael Pettigrew (West Perth) – 77cm
Farren Ray (Peel Thunder) – 77cm
Well I'm sold. Anyone with a vertical leap of 82m would be very handy around the ground. I would be a bit concerned about the impact injuries/death he would be susceptible to upon landing. :p

Bockchoy67 said:
The great thing about him is not only does he win the hard ball, but his pace and endurance allows him to carry the ball. Craig McRae anyone?

Another thing about his endurance: NC seems to love people with enourmous aerobic capacities - Doc Meesen, The Count, Boogie Knights, etc. Logan's got great running ability so I reckon NC would be looking very seriously at this. :)

He looks alright BC.

Stiffy_18 said:
Firstly, nice shiner :D

Secondly, I would take a punt either late in the draft or invite him to pre-season training with us and pick him up in the PSD if he impresses us enough.

He appears to be an "athlete" type that Craig likes. Agility, vertical leap and most importantly beep test and 3km time trial. The question is can he play footy. If he can great. If not pass. Sounds promising but I just can't see Leigh Matthews delisting a good prospect unless there is more to it. I rated Cupido highly while he was with Brisbane and was surprised that Brisbane let him go for practically nothing in a 3 way deal. Now you realise why Brisbane let him go.

Leigh Mattnews doesn't let great prospects slip through his fingers. The fact that they delisted Logan is somewhat a bit of a worrying sign IMHO.

Yeah, that's the thing that caught me off guard. I've heard from a few Brissy supporters on the boards and they are as surprised as I am that Logan is gone.

ON the subject of his ability, I'm confident he has the smarts to go with the athleticism. Reportedly racks up the disposals and uses it quite well.

I've looked around for faults in his game but can't find many - why then was he delisted after two years??? :confused:

Here's another article I found from earlier in the year:

Logan keeps tabs on hopes
12:23:10 PM Mon 21 March, 2005
Andrew Browne
Sportal for afl.com.au
Young Brisbane Lions midfielder Tom Logan is playing down his chances of making his AFL debut in the opening round blockbuster against St Kilda at the Gabba on Thursday night.

Aside from Logan, a new breed of young Lions such as Troy Selwood, Jaydn Attard and Justin Sherman have been mentioned by coach Leigh Matthews as possible contenders for a midfield berth against the Saints - after the season-ending knee injury to Richard Hadley.

Club champion Nigel Lappin is also in the mix as he races to recover from an ankle injury he received during the pre-season, but is yet to taste any competitive football in 2005.

"My chances may have increased, but I think there are still a few boys in front of me," Logan told afl.com.au, admitting he was trying not to get his hopes up too high.

"It would also depend if 'Nige' (Lappin) can come through."

A second year player from the Northern Territory, Logan was a third round pick at No.49 in the 2003 NAB Rising Stars Draft. His debut year for the Lions got off to a terrible start when he broke his jaw in an intra-club game at the start of last season.

The 19-year-old recovered to play most of the season in the local AFLQ competition which was briefly interrupted by a two-week lay-off for an elbow injury mid-year.

Logan, though, has put that all behind him reaping the benefits of a full pre-season, albeit still being in the wars, as he nurses a black-eye courtesy of a club boxing training session.

"I have worked pretty hard on the track to get fit and my aim is to have a crack at senior footy this year," he said.

"Whether it happens early or late this year I know I have been able to give it my best shot so far."

He is the first to acknowledge there is plenty of improvement still required in his game and has learnt a great deal especially from the likes of newly-appointed Lions vice-captain Luke Power during the Wizard Home Loans Cup and regional challenge matches.

"(Against Richmond at Optus Oval) I was able to get more of a run and the ball so I was reasonably happy," Logan said, adding that work is needed on his ground level and short kicking skills.

"It is not so much being out there and just getting the ball, but observing what Luke does and learning as much as you can from his game.

"Learning as much as you can from the older players you play with and against is probably what I have been able to achieve out the matches we have played."

Logan inherited the No.4 guernsey over summer made famous by the now retired Craig McRae and from one stylish left footer to another, the youngster has received nothing but support.

"I talk to 'Fly' a fair bit and he doesn't put any pressure on me, he just says to go out and do your best."

If Logan can squeeze into the 22 for round one and hold his place the following week then the round two grand final re-match with Port Adelaide at AAMI stadium would hold extra significance.

Just prior to being drafted by the Lions, Logan's family moved to Adelaide so he would look forward to a special family reunion - this time as a fully-fledged senior player.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just a few things of interest I highlighted there. :)

I saw him in the Flinders Uni tav a few weeks ago, he had his arm in a sling which looked the result of some post-season shoulder surgery.

I actually wouldn't have known him from a bar of soap but the friend I was drinking with was childhood friends with him back in the Territory and promptly left me alone with my pint in order for her to renew acquaintances :o

dyertribe said:
I saw him in the Flinders Uni tav a few weeks ago, he had his arm in a sling which looked the result of some post-season shoulder surgery.

I actually wouldn't have known him from a bar of soap but the friend I was drinking with was childhood friends with him back in the Territory and promptly left me alone with my pint in order for her to renew acquaintances :o

thats a shame.

Bottom line is he most likely cant play, otherwise the lions wouldnt let him go. They need young need young midfield utility types after all. They are also willing to let players develop so its more than likely they didnt like what they saw. Better off trying to find the next pearce or davey with a late pick.

outback jack said:
thats a shame.

Bottom line is he most likely cant play, otherwise the lions wouldnt let him go. They need young need young midfield utility types after all. They are also willing to let players develop so its more than likely they didnt like what they saw. Better off trying to find the next pearce or davey with a late pick.

i agree with you. we dont need him, he is obviously nothing special otherwise they would have kept him.

outback jack said:
thats a shame.

Bottom line is he most likely cant play, otherwise the lions wouldnt let him go.

Well that's it. He was only a third or fourth rounder to start with.

We could always put him on the rookie list.

Matthews never delists anybody without good reason. This alone should be sufficient to raise warning flags to people considering drafting him in the ND or PSD.

I would suggest putting him on the rookie list. If he develops in 12 months we could promote him. If not, we could delist him then. Either way, the risk is minimal.

I think it is a shoulder operation

Brisbane need young players but Matthews also needed to delist someone, so why not the injured guy ?

saying that because someone has been delisted means they are no good is tripe - it could mean that they didn't fit into that teams structure. Somehow someone who is traded instead of being delisted is better than someone who is delisted ?

Without knowing anything about him ... I'd be surprised if we picked him up in the ND. If the club is half keen, invite him out to 'rookie camp' CLOSE THE ********EN DOORS THIS TIME so the other clubs cant monitor the kids and if he's any good, look to pick him up in the PSD or rookie draft.

My guess is, if the draft is shallow like may are saying, a few players could be recycled in the ND this year, ir Campo, Lappin, Spaand... ,Logan, Selwood, etc etc.

GoSarge said:
Without knowing anything about him ... I'd be surprised if we picked him up in the ND. If the club is half keen, invite him out to 'rookie camp' CLOSE THE ********EN DOORS THIS TIME so the other clubs cant monitor the kids and if he's any good, look to pick him up in the PSD or rookie draft.My guess is, if the draft is shallow like may are saying, a few players could be recycled in the ND this year, ir Campo, Lappin, Spaand... ,Logan, Selwood, etc etc.

here, here

Stiffy_18 said:

Well you got your wish, young Stiffmeister.

Ch 9 announced tonight that Logan would be doing his pre-season with Adelaide in an attempt to revive his AFL career.

Who said that they don't read BigFooty? :p

I like the sounds of ""knack for gathering the hard possessions around the clinches"" - Maybe we should look at using pick 64 or 80 on this kid.

RooDog said:
i agree with you. we dont need him, he is obviously nothing special otherwise they would have kept him.

Load of tripe.

This is based on an assumption that Leigh Matthews is never wrong.

Of course he is.

macca23 said:
Well you got your wish, young Stiffmeister.

Ch 9 announced tonight that Logan would be doing his pre-season with Adelaide in an attempt to revive his AFL career.

Who said that they don't read BigFooty? :p
Yeah I saw that :D

Lets see what the kid can bring to the table. He is probably a better value than someone picked up with pick 80.

A couple of weeks ago Triggy said that the club will make the decisions by the end of following week. A week later and we still haven't heard a thing regarding rookies. I know that coaches were on holidays but I was sort of expect some sort of announcement this week :confused:

Stiffy_18 said:
Yeah I saw that :D

Lets see what the kid can bring to the table. He is probably a better value than someone picked up with pick 80.

A couple of weeks ago Triggy said that the club will make the decisions by the end of following week. A week later and we still haven't heard a thing regarding rookies. I know that coaches were on holidays but I was sort of expect some sort of announcement this week :confused:

That's what I was thinking. Why not use pick 64 or 80. Why wait until the PS draft, where there is a chance the 12 teams ahead of us may pick him up.