Scandal Tom Silvagni convicted of rape

3.3 years non parole.

Better than expected but not long enough.

Called it, and basically it gives into the lesser side so less chance of appeals

So you can use the son of a famous football family defence for behaving badly and it works.

As we all predicted.
I guess in some ways the suppression order worked against them. Imagine how much the sentence would have been reduced had his 'family' name been made public all the way through & he'd suffered even more scrutiny & shame 🙄

I'm surprised he got 6 years, still not enough, particularly the 3.3 non parole.

suck shit Rapist Silvagni, your whole family can get stuffed too.
Get stuffed Jo silvagni, get stuffed chemist warehouse, get stuffed Xavier college

Jack silvagni, I’ll be seeing you at the footy mate. I’ll be the one leaning over the barrier Round 2 yelling out: “hey Jack did you tell Tom who made the gravy!?!!”

Merry Christmas you dirty pricks!!!

He'll be off to his new home just in time for Chrissy.

Enjoy it.

Surprise the judge didn't say how unfortunate it was he was missing Xmas pudding

After having a look through previous cases and sentences I’d be shocked if he received over 3 years.
Yes about what I thought. 3.3 years he’ll be out and life ruined.

He’ll struggle to find employment post this. While I understand some might not think it’s long enough this will severely impact him for life.

I'm fascinated by talk of his family situation by the judge. I would have thought that coming from a so-called 'good family' makes it worse, given he grew up with all of the privileges in the world and still did this. He hasn't come from a rough/abusive background with little guidance, fell into the wrong crowd etc. He's just a campaigner.

I dont think it helped him that he showed absolutely no remorse and just went the deny deny deny route. I'm not sure what legal advice they got but the approach the family took definately backfired.

Its obviously a tough position to be in, and nobody wants their kid to go to jail, but I think you need to aknowledge when you're snookered and minimise the damage. Not helping Tom by supporting the ridiculous route he went down as far as defence.

If he pleads guilty I doubt he gets more then 3 years with 18 months non parole.

I'm fascinated by talk of his family situation by the judge. I would have thought that coming from a so-called 'good family' makes it worse, given he grew up with all of the privileges in the world and still did this. He hasn't come from a rough/abusive background with little guidance, fell into the wrong crowd etc. He's just a campaigner.
Affluenza.

I'm fascinated by talk of his family situation by the judge. I would have thought that coming from a so-called 'good family' makes it worse, given he grew up with all of the privileges in the world and still did this. He hasn't come from a rough background with little guidance, fell into the wrong crowd etc. He's just a campaigner.
Plus they're not a "good family" anymore anyway

Sentence seems OK though 👌

Scandal Tom Silvagni convicted of rape