mansize rooster

kangas
got blue valentine on the weekend.been listning to it heaps.Like all the stuff iv heard from him its another dark,witty nighttime record:) this one is from like..'78' so its not real heavy on the ears..its got his classic early sound,****ing love that.Although i love the new stuff from blood money,real gone..its just more intense.

fans?

ahhh yes,that was one of the first waits tunes i heard.from his early years disc:thumbsu:

listning to wish i was in new orleans atm,underrated piano player

also if your a white stripes fan..the last song on get behind me satan 'lonly but i aint that lonly yet' just sounds like an unreleased waits tune to me.there is no melody stealing or anything but the way the chords flow and the feel to the song reminds me of waits 'small change' album.Get into it if you dig that song.Happens to be jack whites finest moment IMO..so there ya go..

Anyone remember his late 70's appearance on the Don Lane Show? One he'd like to forget. I liked Big Time and Swordfishtrombones.

I love his cover of 'Somewhere' from West Side Story, though my favourite album is his debut 'Closing Time'. Has a really great atmosphere. 'Martha' 'Lonely' and 'Grapefruit Moon' are all gold.

I generally prefer his piano tunes, and his drunken bard persona he had in the 70s compared to the weird turn he took in the 80s and beyond.

Pasties And A G String

Smelling like a brewery, looking like a tramp,
I ain't got a quarter, got a postage stamp
Been five o'clock shadow boxing all around the town,
Talking with the old man, sleeping on the ground
Bazanti bootin al zootin al hoot and Al Cohn
Sharing this apartment with a telephone pole
And a fish-net stocking, spike-heel shoes,
Strip tease, prick tease, car keys blues
And the porno floor show, live nude girls,
Dreamy and creamy and brunette curls
Chesty Morgan and Watermelon Rose
Raise my rent and take off all your clothes
With trench coats, magazines, a bottle full of rum,
She's so good, make a dead man come
Pasties and a G-string, beer and a shot
Portland through a shot glass and a Buffalo squeeze
Wrinkles and Cherry and Twinkie and Pinkie and Fifi live from Gay Paree
Fanfares, rim shots, back stage, who cares, all this hot burlesque for me
(scat)

Cleavage, cleavage, thighs and hips
>From the nape of her neck to the lipstick lips
Chopped and channeled and lowered and lewd
And the cheater slicks and baby moons
She's a-hot and ready, creamy and sugared
And the band is awful and so are the tunes
(scat)

Crawling on her belly, and shaking like jelly,
And I'm getting harder than Chinese algebrassieres
And cheers from the (hmm) compendium here
"Hey sweetheart" they're yelling for more
You're squashing out your cigarette butts on the floor
And I like Shelly, and you like Jane
And what was the girl with the snakeskin's name?
And it's an early-bird matinee, come back any day,
Get you a little something that you can't get at home
It's pasties and a G-string, beer and a shot
Portland through a shot glass and a Buffalo squeeze
Popcorn, front row, higher than a kite, and I'll be back tomorrow night,
And I'll be back tomorrow night

:D

lotta love for the old stuff,but what about some of the newer material.i cant get enough of blood money

Fevola4God said:
I love his cover of 'Somewhere' from West Side Story, though my favourite album is his debut 'Closing Time'. Has a really great atmosphere. 'Martha' 'Lonely' and 'Grapefruit Moon' are all gold.

I generally prefer his piano tunes, and his drunken bard persona he had in the 70s compared to the weird turn he took in the 80s and beyond.

I preferred his 70's stuff as well, totally shytefaced & yet still sounded great. :thumbsu:

Rod Stewart had a hit with Tom's "Downtown Train" not suprising that Rod sources great writers when looking for a bit of acclaim or a hit and Tom is a very interesting musician and songwriter, brilliant but eccentric

materamagic said:
Anyone remember his late 70's appearance on the Don Lane Show? One he'd like to forget. I liked Big Time and Swordfishtrombones.

I know what you're saying about the Lane Show, but I tend to disagree. For those who didn't see it, Waits went to the St Kilda Cafe, in Fitzroy St, St Kilda and hung out with some junkies. The channel 9 crew filmed him through the window. Waits seemed seriously at home. When Lane 'interviewed' him in the studio, I thought Waits showed Lane up to be the gormless cretin he was.

I saw Waits in concert at the Palais, in the late 70s and he was brilliant. His backing band consisted of about 12 black guys. All, including Waits, were dressed in black. The exquisitely conceived, evocative lighting created the illusion of watching a 1930s black and white German movie. The intimate atmosphere he was able to create was gloriously at-odds with the barn-like nature of the venue.

Along with other posters, I tend to prefer his earlier work before he affected the growl which became his trademark. Before he did that, his voice almost had a tinge of country to it (only in comparison mind you).

'The Heart of Saturday Night' and 'Closing Time' have never been bettered as examples of the singer/songwriter/poet's art. If you can't seduce a woman/man to 'I Hope that I Don't Fall in Love with You', you'd be better off in a monastery/nunnery.

My favourite of his songs though, was on one of his later albums, the name of which I'd be able to provide, if I could find the damned thing. The song was called 'Ruby's Arms'. This song reduces me to tears, not because of sadness so much, but that I'm a member of the same species as the man who created it. It makes me proud to be human. Hey, reflected glory is better than none at all. Yes, I know it's pathetic.

As a matter of interest, an Australian woman called Annie Gastin did a cover of this song which is incomparable. The only reason I know this is because a mate of mine played violin on the album and I babysat her son on that day, so she could play. The condition was that I got a free copy of the album. The best deal I've ever done.

It's not often that 'genius' is shown to be such an inadequate word, as it is in describing the work of Waits.

great post skilts:thumbsu:

"I saw Waits in concert at the Palais, in the late 70s and he was brilliant. His backing band consisted of about 12 black guys. All, including Waits, were dressed in black. The exquisitely conceived, evocative lighting created the illusion of watching a 1930s black and white German movie. The intimate atmosphere he was able to create was gloriously at-odds with the barn-like nature of the venue"

haha that sounds great.how old are you? loooong time ago:p

im gonna say out of the stuff iv heard old and new 'mule varations'(1999) is my fav.its got the classic sound in there mixed with the mad.Love it how the turntables are used,its rather different.Great how some tunes are experimental 'big in japan' 'Filipino Box Spring Hog' and some songs are heartfull 'hold on' house where nobody lives'

Kathleen Brennan,his wife..writes most of the tunes with him.she realy keeps away from the spotlight doesnt she.Its great that she gets equal credit though. Anyone know more about her origins?

For anyone interested, the recent collection of Waits' interviews "Innocent When You Dream" is an excellent and entertaining read and contains the complete transcript from the Don Lane interview.

I would guess that Australian tour would have inspired the suberb "Town With No Cheer" from the Swordfishtrombones album. Give it a listen.

love this guy. one of my favorite drinking songs would have to be 'step right up'. love it. and when im thinking of unrequited love 'my blue valentine' always gets a guernsey.

mansize rooster said:
haha that sounds great.how old are you? loooong time ago:p

I'm on the verge of being 58, and to those who ask, I usually say, I'm on the verge of being adequate.

A few more notes about that concert. The backing band was the tightest combo I think I've ever heard. Most of them had their roots in jazz. It's hardly surprising really that they should be so good. If you were a muso, wouldn't you want to play that splendid music with the man who wrote it?

The funniest thing about the whole night occured about three rows in front of us though. The drug-of-the-moment was the vile Mandrax. A particularly attractive young girl had obviously been partaking. This girl was sitting on the aisle, and as a result of the effects of the Mandrax, she continually fell asleep during the concert. This caused her to fall sideways into the aisle. Over a period of two hours, I reckon her friends must have picked her up a dozen times. There were lengthy periods when she was on the floor, where her friends failed to notice her absence. It seems they'd also partaken. I've often thought that this poor girl never knew what she missed.

poor girl,god..thats a tad mad haha

"A few more notes about that concert. The backing band was the tightest combo I think I've ever heard. Most of them had their roots in jazz. It's hardly surprising really that they should be so good. If you were a muso, wouldn't you want to play that splendid music with the man who wrote it?"

plenty of greast impov with them to i bet:thumbsu:
i dont think he will ever come here again:(

orphans_album_art_hi_thumb%5B6%5D.jpg

:cool:
must say i am looking forward to this.just hope it isnt to pricey..

The album, officially called Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards, will be a three CD set and will be released on November 21st. It will encompass 54 songs including 30 new recordings. Additionally, it will include a 94 page booklet giving great detail about these recordings. Waits as described Orphans as:

“Orphans are rough and tender tunes. Rhumbas about mermaids, shuffles about trainwrecks, tarantellas about insects, madrigrals about drowning,” says Waits. “Scared, mean, orphans songs of rapture and melancholy. Songs that grew up hard. Songs of dubious origin rescued from cruel fate and now left wanting only to be cared for. Show that you are not afraid and take them home. They don’t bite, they just need attention.”

Great post, Skilts. I've never heard it, but just read the lyrics online. Oh, so special. Can't wait to hear it.

Here are the lyrics:

RUBY'S ARMS

I will leave behind all of my clothes,
I wore when i was with you,
all I need's my railroad boots,
and my leather jacket,
as i say goodbye to ruby's arms,
although my heart is breaking,
i will steal away out through your
blinds, for soon you will be waking.

The morning light has washed your face,
and everything is turning blue now,
hold on to your pillow case
there's nothing i can do now,
you'll find another soldier,
and i swear to god by christmas,
there'll be someone else to hold you.

The only thing i'm taking is
the scarf off of your clothesline,
i'll hurry past your chest of drawers,
and your broken wind chimes,
as i say goodbye
i'll say goodbye,
say goodbye to ruby's arms.

i'll feel my way down the darken hall,
and out into the morning,
the hobos at the freightyards,
have kept their fires burning,
so jesus christ this goddamn rain,
will someone put me on a train,
i'll never kiss your lips again,
or break your heart,
as i say goodbye
i'll say goodbye,

skilts said:
......My favourite of his songs though, was on one of his later albums, the name of which I'd be able to provide, if I could find the damned thing. The song was called 'Ruby's Arms'. This song reduces me to tears, not because of sadness so much, but that I'm a member of the same species as the man who created it. It makes me proud to be human. Hey, reflected glory is better than none at all. Yes, I know it's pathetic......

Clark Kent said:
Great post, Skilts. I've never heard it, but just read the lyrics online. Oh, so special. Can't wait to hear it.

Here are the lyrics:

RUBY'S ARMS

I wore when i was with you,
all I need's my railroad boots,
and my leather jacket,
although my heart is breaking,
i will steal away out through your
blinds, for soon you will be waking.

The morning light has washed your face,
and everything is turning blue now,
hold on to your pillow case
there's nothing i can do now,
you'll find another soldier,
and i swear to god by christmas,
there'll be someone else to hold you.

The only thing i'm taking is
the scarf off of your clothesline,
i'll hurry past your chest of drawers,
and your broken wind chimes,
as i say goodbye
i'll say goodbye,

i'll feel my way down the darken hall,
and out into the morning,
the hobos at the freightyards,
have kept their fires burning,
so jesus christ this goddamn rain,
will someone put me on a train,
i'll never kiss your lips again,
or break your heart,
as i say goodbye
i'll say goodbye,

I can't thank you enough for providing those lyrics, and yes I'm reduced to tears, even without the music. He sings it like a slow anthem to lost love, with most unusual timing, metre, emphasis and phrasing. He almost reaches for crescendos, then, at the last moment, withdraws back into contemplative tenderness. You must listen to it.

I just went to get my shoes so I could go out to the car to see if the album is in it. As I bent down to pick up my shoes, I remembered the name of the album: 'Heart Attack and Vine'.

I haven't heard this song yet, but am dying to.

Two lines from it:

I wore when i was with you

I was lucky enough to have spent a 'last night' with a very special woman recently, where both of us knew it was our last time. The next morning, I literally gave her the shirt off my back, with it's scents of me, to keep. The sentiment in the song is similar.

It speaks to me, too. :)

skilts said:
I can't thank you enough for providing those lyrics, and yes I'm reduced to tears, even without the music. He sings it like a slow anthem to lost love, with most unusual timing, metre, emphasis and phrasing. He almost reaches for crescendos, then, at the last moment, withdraws back into contemplative tenderness. You must listen to it.

I just went to get my shoes so I could go out to the car to see if the album is in it. As I bent down to pick up my shoes, I remembered the name of the album: 'Heart Attack and Vine'.

orphans_album_art_hi_thumb%5B6%5D.jpg

:cool:
must say i am looking forward to this.just hope it isnt to pricey..

The album, officially called Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards, will be a three CD set and will be released on November 21st. It will encompass 54 songs including 30 new recordings. Additionally, it will include a 94 page booklet giving great detail about these recordings. Waits as described Orphans as:

“Orphans are rough and tender tunes. Rhumbas about mermaids, shuffles about trainwrecks, tarantellas about insects, madrigrals about drowning,” says Waits. “Scared, mean, orphans songs of rapture and melancholy. Songs that grew up hard. Songs of dubious origin rescued from cruel fate and now left wanting only to be cared for. Show that you are not afraid and take them home. They don’t bite, they just need attention.”

Excellent collection. 2.19's a classic.

This is a brilliant version of 16 Shell From A Thirty Ought Six-
[YOUTUBE]7VDTa7uXUp4[/YOUTUBE]