Tonight's Game

• Thread starter Thread starter -PC28-

-PC28-

I know this may come as a disapointment to a lot of you, but i will not be attending tonight's game at Colonial...

Even after having a conversation with some about buying tickets, i failed to realise it was an all ticket affair, and now can't be bothered going and sitting on my own.

A sad state of affairs this is, but it can't be helped...

Rest assured good Melbourne folk, i will attend more games with you and your "Jolly" men very soon :D

Originally posted by -PC28-

;)

Have a Jolly good time then :)

I am not going either PC! It's just too difficult coming up from Geelong and getting back.

But you watch on TV....Jolly will dominate!!! :D

Originally posted by -PC28-

Thought you might enjoy the Jolly references ;) :D

Always mate, Always! :D

PC, CFH - ya's didnt miss much. :( I had a reserved seat in the end, behind the goals, level 1, but the view was **** so we ended up standing on the wing. I went there expecting nothing less than a win tonight. They were missing some crucial players and we were coming off a good win. But, what I saw was ****. 3/4 of dumb and frustrating football which I blame Daniher for. It was so obvious we were losing it at Centre Half Back and Centre Half Forward. Every time the footy hit the ground in our forward line it just rebounded back out. Our backline was too open, which resulted in them running straight into goal about 5 or 6 times. If the Bombers are playing one loose in defence, you'd think you'd counter attack that by playing one loose in their defence. That might've just stopped their easy runs into goal. :rolleyes:

Anyway, not many positives to come out of tonight. I think we showed that when we play with a bit of desperation we can play good footy, but otherwise we've got no hope. Were really missing Nicholson. Ellis was probably our best player and killed Lucas but we still need another tall down there to stabalize things. Junior Mac was sensational on on Jason Johnson and Nathan Brown and Danny Ward were hard at it as usual. But, apart from that were were ****house. Travis Johnstones forgotten how to kick, David Schwarz will probably be dropped if he isnt suspended and Stephen Powell is either injured or out of form.

I dont know if Ill be able to get on the next couple of days, so here are my votes.

3. James McDonald
2. Nathan Brown
1. Craig Ellis

Whitey, Ward and Neita unlucky.

yeah... well... i dunno what to say :(

i think we played REALLY well in the last quarter and it was good to see they hadn't just given up. there were a few mistakes that really cost us the game - greens mark and then playing on to stuff up and get a rushed behind :mad:, neita's missed shot, geez we came up with heaps of them on the train on the way back but i cant think of them now. the main one was if the dons we're playing so well in the 1st half :(

we had good seasts tho - 2nd level and they were cushy seats :D thats about it from me... shame you guys didn't go - no, maybe not... :(

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP
PC, CFH - ya's didnt miss much. :( I had a reserved seat in the end, behind the goals, level 1, but the view was **** so we ended up standing on the wing. I went there expecting nothing less than a win tonight. They were missing some crucial players and we were coming off a good win. But, what I saw was ****. 3/4 of dumb and frustrating football which I blame Daniher for. It was so obvious we were losing it at Centre Half Back and Centre Half Forward. Every time the footy hit the ground in our forward line it just rebounded back out. Our backline was too open, which resulted in them running straight into goal about 5 or 6 times. If the Bombers are playing one loose in defence, you'd think you'd counter attack that by playing one loose in their defence. That might've just stopped their easy runs into goal. :rolleyes:

Anyway, not many positives to come out of tonight. I think we showed that when we play with a bit of desperation we can play good footy, but otherwise we've got no hope. Were really missing Nicholson. Ellis was probably our best player and killed Lucas but we still need another tall down there to stabalize things. Junior Mac was sensational on on Jason Johnson and Nathan Brown and Danny Ward were hard at it as usual. But, apart from that were were ****house. Travis Johnstones forgotten how to kick, David Schwarz will probably be dropped if he isnt suspended and Stephen Powell is either injured or out of form.

I dont know if Ill be able to get on the next couple of days, so here are my votes.

3. James McDonald
2. Nathan Brown
1. Craig Ellis

Whitey, Ward and Neita unlucky.

I actually made it to the game in the end too:rolleyes: I missed the 1st qtr but I saw enough of the game to make me very angry:mad: BPP you've pretty much covered it, few positives, very very poor 2nd qtr. Decent 3rd & a great last.

Robbo did some good things but I agree with Adam, save the celebrating till we've won the damn game!

Fletcher is Neeta's bitch! Whitey was great.

as everyone has said, we started off alright! then played very poorly for the next 3/4 then had a great last quarter and i really believe if we had another 5 minutes we would have won! but the run should have come earlier and we should have played to our full ability the whole game and as mishy said we went thru ALL the 'what ifs' and we came to the conclusion that if we had of kicked more goals than essendon we would have won!
but yeah not looking too good going up to brisbane but u never know, we are playing with confidence, very unpredictable so yeah, i wont be writing us off.

Originally posted by BT

I actually made it to the game in the end too:rolleyes: I missed the 1st qtr but I saw enough of the game to make me very angry:mad: BPP you've pretty much covered it, few positives, very very poor 2nd qtr. Decent 3rd & a great last.

Robbo did some good things but I agree with Adam, save the celebrating till we've won the damn game!

Fletcher is Neeta's bitch! Whitey was great.

That last line was spot on! :D :D :D

And the call you gave me after the game was brilliant BT, the best call I have recieved in a long time! :D

Originally posted by dees*gal

we had good seasts tho - 2nd level and they were cushy seats (
I know, how good are they!

You cannot expect to win only playing one good quarter.
We did start well but faded by midway through the 1st quarter. The 2nd quarter was one of the side's worst for the year.
What was also costly considering the margin was late goals Essendon got in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. They were too easy.
It was frustrating in the 2nd quarter. No manning up and when we had the ball were so hesitant. Had no idea what to do with it. You can not blame the forwards, the delivery was not good enough.
In the last quarter, there was more direction and they had a better system going. It was good to see. But I think the coach has to take some responsibility for the poor start. It is not good enough. One week we come out firing, next week as flat as anything. Good teams fire EVERY WEEK.
And if only Neita got that goal. There was still 3 minutes left!

How arrogant are those Essendon supporters? Luckily I was seated around Melbourne supporters but when I went for a walk at 1/2 time the comments made were appauling. Its a training run!, How easy is this? Hope it comes back to bite them.:mad:

Also, umpiring was pathetic. That number 10, If I was Craig Ellis, I would have decked him. Umpiring was terrible all night. We got nothing for a lot of the night. However it does not make up for our bad play.

Originally posted by dees01

I know, how good are they!

You cannot expect to win only playing one good quarter.
We did start well but faded by midway through the 1st quarter. The 2nd quarter was one of the side's worst for the year.
What was also costly considering the margin was late goals Essendon got in the 2nd and 3rd quarters. They were too easy.
It was frustrating in the 2nd quarter. No manning up and when we had the ball were so hesitant. Had no idea what to do with it. You can not blame the forwards, the delivery was not good enough.
In the last quarter, there was more direction and they had a better system going. It was good to see. But I think the coach has to take some responsibility for the poor start. It is not good enough. One week we come out firing, next week as flat as anything. Good teams fire EVERY WEEK.
And if only Neita got that goal. There was still 3 minutes left!

How arrogant are those Essendon supporters? Luckily I was seated around Melbourne supporters but when I went for a walk at 1/2 time the comments made were appauling. Its a training run!, How easy is this? Hope it comes back to bite them.:mad:

Also, umpiring was pathetic. That number 10, If I was Craig Ellis, I would have decked him. Umpiring was terrible all night. We got nothing for a lot of the night. However it does not make up for our bad play.

lol!! sure... i can see you decking the ump... or anyone...

but i do agree with all that you said. once they get going, they just stop suddenly, and fall asleep. then again, if they're playing well, they play really well! they just need to learn how to play a whole match of footy, and we'll be fine!

Totally agree with the Craig Ellis thing. I got REALLY ****ed off when I saw the ump give a 50 against him. He ran off his line and then Ellis tackled him. Shoulda been play on, Ump made a BAD mistake as usual!

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Totally agree with the Craig Ellis thing. I got REALLY ****ed off when I saw the ump give a 50 against him. He ran off his line and then Ellis tackled him. Shoulda been play on, Ump made a BAD mistake as usual!

yep! i looked at it a few times and he even ran faster to play on, bad call but its in the past, nothing we can do.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
You would have been quite proud of me Adam. As someone who is normally quite reserved at the football, I let go the biggest spray at that umpire. I was right behind the goals at that end so trust me, the umpire heard what I and the rest of us had to say!

Originally posted by dees01

You would have been quite proud of me Adam. As someone who is normally quite reserved at the football, I let go the biggest spray at that umpire. I was right behind the goals at that end so trust me, the umpire heard what I and the rest of us had to say!

well done andrew! i still cant believe you're quiet at the footy!!!

Originally posted by BT

Glad you enjoyed it Adam ;) . I was very fired up & had to vent, so you copped it mate.

Doesn't matter, I understand! I was annoyed my phone cut out, I was low on battery and my reception is no good when that happens!

We must go to the Carlton game! I'll Pm ya.......

And I am proud of ya Andrew! :)

I was doing it at home, you substituted for me at the footy! Good work! :D