TassieSaint

Tasmania
Tassie Tigers
I reckon anyway and I'm getting sick of it. Luke Ball tonight played one of the greatest games of his career, he alone made me proud to go for the Saints. 30 disposals, 8 clearances, 16 contested possessions, he went out there and tried his hardest to drag his team over the line but not enough people were helping him. The same players keep doing their best; Ball, Hayes, Harvey, Montagna, S. Fisher and Hudghton would have about 90% of our B+F votes between them. We have half our team putting in their best each week and whilst it might be good enough to beat the likes of Essendon and Carlton it is not enough to beat finals teams and we are heading for a 9th-12th finish when it could have easily been higher. I might be being harsh on some, but I'd give the following ratings from tonight:

Top Marks: Ball, Fisher, Hayes, Dal Santo, Montagna, Hudghton (6)
Good: Blake, Birss (shut down their opponents but offered NOTHING offensively) Goddard, M. Gardiner, Armitage, Milne (6)
Passengers: L. Fisher Gram, Kozi, Schneider, C. Gardiner, Gehrig, Clarke, King (8)

And therein lies the problem. We had more than enough great performances to win, but too many passengers are dragging us down. If just a couple of those guys had had good even solid performances we could have won this. Consider this, 9 of our players had less than 10 disposals (Collingwood 2). 6 of our players had just under 50% of our disposals. Ball and Dal Santo had a third of our contested possessions. Ball and Hayes had 40% of our tackles. The most annoying thing is that our top line players are doing enough for us to be contenders, but aren't getting enough help from the rest of the team.

Gram,Kosi,Gehrig,Blake all very good players but never stand up when needed, Milney just has to kick the goal when needed and Frase if you don't want to do the hard yards mate give it up and let a young fella come in with some passion and chase and tackle and contribute to the team,been great for the team but time has past old mate,do us all a favour and give the game away,sick of waiting for you to turn it on !!!!!!!

The Wash Up From The Pies Match

Once again, only half of the team decided to show up. Clearly a problem and needs to be addressed. Every week we always have 7 or so players who do absolutely jack shit, no way are we going to grow and develop as a team if we are continually playing with 15 players who actually want to play footy.

Clearly Gehrig is struggling and needs to be dropped, Kosi is not at his game busting best in the forward line, the ball moves to slow so defenders drop back on him and take him out of the game early, needs a move up the ground.

I know it's not the end of the world/season but i would like to give the kids a go. We have a team that can get to finals, but thats it.
Over the next couple of weeks slowly bring in players such as McQualter, Ferguson, Allen, McEvoy, Geary etc. Some young blood would do us a world of good.

Good to see Ball is getting back to his best, Goddard recovering well too.
Liked how Goddard, Fisher and Gram were pushing forward around the 50.
Armitage 2, Dal Santo 2 slowly but surely.:thumbsu:

Your thoughts on the match?

Gram,Kosi,Gehrig,Blake all very good players but never stand up when needed, Milney just has to kick the goal when needed and Frase if you don't want to do the hard yards mate give it up and let a young fella come in with some passion and chase and tackle and contribute to the team,been great for the team but time has past old mate,do us all a favour and give the game away,sick of waiting for you to turn it on !!!!!!!

you seemed to be 2 mids short in the rotations, and the clarkes havent given you the run that was expected from them (understand one was out), and your ruck was all over the pies

Re: The Wash Up From The Pies Match

Milne continually costs St Kilda. I have no doubt that in half a dozen contests tonight he either shirked the issue or lairised to the point where he coughed it up.... and these were in direct goal opportunity situations. While he was excellent last week, he must be sooo infuriating to follow.

Blokes like this who constantly fluff regulation opportunities will cost you big games time and again. What's with having a set shot at goal from 30m out on a 45deg (generous) angle, and playing on to snap at goal?? Poor, poor decision maker.... He's gotta go.

Heres a thought...we are not good enough and need to do a Hawthorn and rebuild. Trade blokes like Kosi ala N Thompson and get some early picks for him. Im also not averse to trading Joey for some eraly picks or even Roo for pick 1 and 3 when GC come in. Nick, our captain who still says in interviews when quizzed on his future...''At the moment Im staying with the Saints''. Drop the 'At the moment' or take a hike.
This club has been shit for too long and is bigger than individuals and the present so called stars, and its not the coaches fault. How can you continually kick 6 goals in the first q and then 6 in total for the rest of the match... i knew it would happen again! Wheres Eddy, Jack Steven and the young kids? Wheres Geary?

My thoughts exactly mate, too many passengers. In fact, I think our threads probably need merging. Our best 5-8 blokes keep having to try and do it all themselves.

Some other thoughts from the game:
- Ball is an absolute champion, what a performance.
- Goals from Mids: 6, Goals from Backs: 2, Goals from Forwards: 4, Goals from Shane Birss 2 (he played off half forward on Shaw, but isn't really a forward). 4 goals from a forward line not good enough. 2 Goals from CHF and FF even worse.
- Disposal efficiency poor

Heres a thought...we are not good enough and need to do a Hawthorn and rebuild. Trade blokes like Kosi ala N Thompson and get some early picks for him. Im also not averse to trading Joey for some eraly picks or even Roo for pick 1 and 3 when GC come in. Nick, our captain who still says in interviews when quizzed on his future...''At the moment Im staying with the Saints''. Drop the 'At the moment' or take a hike.
This club has been shit for too long and is bigger than individuals and the present so called stars, and its not the coaches fault. How can you continually kick 6 goals in the first q and then 6 in total for the rest of the match... i knew it would happen again! Wheres Eddy, Jack Steven and the young kids? Wheres Geary?

what needs to be done, needs to be done asap, as the 2nd qld team will make a hawk transition almost impossible in 2-3 years time
kosi does not seem to be up to it, and your rucks look ok with gardiner and king, and harvey will sooner or later retire, the club seems to really lack hammill's influence

hope you guys come good, as the gfc st k games were awesome

merge away.:thumbsu:

Forward line = Well and truly in disarray.

Milne from the goal square.
He's a friggen crumber, it's not his job to lead and jump for marks.

Gehrig has lost it, Well and truly.
Kosi not a full forward.

They don't counter the flood when the opp team drop players back. Man 'em up ffs!

For your forward line to kick 4 goals at your home ground is an absolute deadset disgrace. :thumbsd::mad:

BTW Get Goddard up on a wing, his delivery to the forwards is sublime.

Gardiner HAS to go, he has been poor the last few games. Charlie that is.

What suprised me is how you guys lost when you had King and Gardiner get about 40-50 hitouts between them and then Bryan got 8 hitouts as Collingwoos first ruck

Milne continually costs St Kilda. I have no doubt that in half a dozen contests tonight he either shirked the issue or lairised to the point where he coughed it up.... and these were in direct goal opportunity situations. While he was excellent last week, he must be sooo infuriating to follow.

Blokes like this who constantly fluff regulation opportunities will cost you big games time and again. What's with having a set shot at goal from 30m out on a 45deg (generous) angle, and playing on to snap at goal?? Poor, poor decision maker.... He's gotta go.

Rubbish, nothing but rubbish !

He had a poor game, yes, and he's probably responsible for at least 25% of grey hair of the average St Kilda supporter, but why should he go ?

As far as I remember, he had 7 against the Tiges - we would have lost that one without him...

I'm really fired up and the last I need is silly comments like these - why don't you go enjoy Ackland play tomorrow !

Sorry, nothing personal, I just have enough of it at the moment.

I thought defence did a pretty good job, just that our foward line didn't do well enough. didn't put enough pressure, letting the pies passage through the corridor and wings and counteratking, adding pressure to our defense.

Schneider didn't do shit
Gehrig didn't get much markable balls, so i dunno bout his situation
Kosi needs to start playing a riewoldt role

Defense did really well - creds to maxie, fisher and gram. dempster and goddard did alright
Ruck did ok, dominating but not to advantage
Midfield was awesome, clean hands and finally some hard contested footy led us to the score we have. creds to montagna, dal santo, ball, harvey and hayes

but in truth, a game we could have won

What suprised me is how you guys lost when you had King and Gardiner get about 40-50 hitouts between them and then Bryan got 8 hitouts as Collingwoos first ruck
We can dominate the centre clearances all we want (and we did) but it's no use when our forward line isn't firing. Milne... is Milne, Kozi set up a couple of goals but that was the extent of his performance, Gehrig... lost it I'm afraid (although he was rested at some strange times), Charlie Gardiner shocking. Our mids pretty much had to take it upon themselves to score because our forward line was all over the place.

He had a poor game, yes, and he's probably responsible for at least 25% of grey hair of the average St Kilda, but why should he go ?

As far as I remember, he had 7 against the Tiges - we would have lost that one without him...

I'm really fired up and the last I need is silly comments like these - why don't you go enjoy Ackland play tomorrow !

he seems to cop it like richo at the tigers, his role is to crumb and he kicks more thn his fair share of goals, it was the key big forwards that were lacking

Sorry mate, but if you reckon Milne is worth a cracker then you're kidding yourself. One decent game in 20 shouldn't warrant credits in the bank. Why should he go?? Consistent costly lairising, wasting golden opportunities, squibbing efforts, pissing his teammates hard work up against the wall... should I go on?? The sooner he's gone, the better St Kilda will be. You will always struggle for success while he's in your starting 18.

He had a poor game, yes, and he's probably responsible for at least 25% of grey hair of the average St Kilda supporter, but why should he go ?

every game I watch I always say the same thing. Milne is soft and doesn't kick the goals when they count. I tipped your boys and it it pisses me to see him disappoint time and time again. Don't know how you can defend him, as long as he is in your side you'll never make it. Nothing personal of course!

I think you guys are right about not getting 22 blokes to contribute.

I have not checked the stats but I heard them say that 10 odd blokes had less than 10 possies. Thats terrible.

Ball, Dal Santo, Harvey, Hayes and Montagna are great but the next lot drop away a fair bit.
Raph Clarke is with out doubt one of the worst regualrs in the AFL, he is not quick, he is not strong, he is not a good kick and he makes poor decisions I have not idea what he is actually good at.
Milne at least has a crack and is dangerous, sure he messes up but i think with guys like him and Medhurst you kinda roll the dice.
Schneider is another that you now know why Sydney let him go, he is a dime a dozen player, sure he can get a few important touches and be brilliant but 90% of the time he is a run of the mill player.
I understand your injury list is very long so it aint the end of the world but from an outsider thats how I see it.

BTW Blake is terrible I think he is actually one of the worst footy players going around in the AFL.

I think people are letting their hate of Milne get in the way.
He has averaged 2 goals a game throughout his career, and is currently 10th on the goal kicking list. We already don't have many goal kickers in the side at the moment and we can't afford to lose another one. Our forwards kicked 4 goals tonight, Milne kicked 2 of them.

I think you guys are right about not getting 22 blokes to contribute.

I have not checked the stats but I heard them say that 10 odd blokes had less than 10 possies. Thats terrible.

Ball, Dal Santo, Harvey, Hayes and Montagna are great but the next lot drop away a fair bit.
Raph Clarke is with out doubt one of the worst regualrs in the AFL, he is not quick, he is not strong, he is not a good kick and he makes poor decisions I have not idea what he is actually good at.
Milne at least has a crack and is dangerous, sure he messes up but i think with guys like him and Medhurst you kinda roll the dice.
Schneider is another that you now know why Sydney let him go, he is a dime a dozen player, sure he can get a few important touches and be brilliant but 90% of the time he is a run of the mill player.
I understand your injury list is very long so it aint the end of the world but from an outsider thats how I see it.

BTW Blake is terrible I think he is actually one of the worst footy players going around in the AFL.

Not that I agreed with your point about Raph but you weren't going too badly until the last sentence.

Did you watch the game tonight?

He gave Travis Cloke a bath.

He's one of the group of players who can hold his head up high tonight.

Blake has got what a lot of these so called glamour saints havent...a heart. He always gives 100%, even if his disposal is average, he's my first picked every week. Imagine if Kosi had Blakes heart and bled for the cause, which he admitted he didnt do vs Melb in 06 final.

Blake was very good tonight, towelled Cloke up big time.

I know this might be a radical call but why doesn't Ross Lyon adopt the same stratergy as Terry Wallace, drop a big name or regular to the 2s to give a few of the middle tear and the fringe players a wake-up call? Definately get less passengers that way.

Also why don't some of the kids, Geary, Ferguson, Jones, Steven, Allen that are performing in the 2s get a go? They would add just as much as L.Fisher, Dempster, Gehrig, C.Gardiner, R.Clarke plus they would gain great experience for the future playing with players like Hayes, Harvey etc.

alright im gonna limit my opinion as im sure most r atm because anger will just get hold of me but for once i was happy with birss and blake they were good and so was hudghton but to dominate so many clearances and have r midfielders play there best games (all the same night) and not turn that into sufficient scoreboard pressure is just pathetic. i was quite disapointed with r forward line tonight and for once it was r midfielders kicking goals. stephen milne needs to get his head screwed on straight when hes good hes good but he has to learn when the team needs him to steady and take a set shot.

i thought we got a bit slack in the last quarter due to fatigue but cred to the pies thought they played well i waas always worried about didak, medhurst and davis and well as expected the 3 of them got away (medhurst not as much) but yeh too many passengers and we just dont have enough pace - the amount of times iv watched recently the opposition midfielders just cruise away with all r middies struggling out of their minds. once again we have struggeld for a good start and the 4-7 start last yr is startin 2 look like it again. tough game against brisbane next week... just v disapointed atm. AND frustrated as usual!

Take it easy on Charlie Gardiner, you got him for nothing with King. When he got run down inside 50 that time i cringed, GFC fans know his fault is decision making and that was an epic bad few extra steps. I think he's had a few good games this year but i'm not surprised he struggled under Collingwood pressure.

Gotta be said again your team was top 4 pushing for a premiership under Grant Thomas. Your frustration and anger should be directed at those who sacked him for personal reasons rather than performance. Right now your key players are in their prime and after this year there is no draft to rebuild from. If you do not look like a finals threat at the end of the year demand a spill of the board - whats the worst that could happen?