Top Three Ruckman

torstein

Draftee
Feb 28, 2005
who will be the crows top three Ruckmen. Will Clarke again be number one choice or will Biglands swing back more into ruck with a new coach. Has Hudsen cemented no.2 position.

torstein

torstein said:
who will be the crows top three Ruckmen. Will Clarke again be number one choice or will Biglands swing back more into ruck with a new coach. Has Hudsen cemented no.2 position.

torstein

I think this could be the year we play all 3 ruckmen if available, mate.

Biglands is likely to start in a FP and take the ruckwork up forward, while Hudson and Clarke share the ruck duties.

Hudson' pre-season form has been first rate, particularly around the ground, and he's a big show to start off first.

macca23 said:
Hudson' pre-season form has been first rate, particularly around the ground, and he's a big show to start off first.

Hudson has been great. Rucking okay and doing more and more around the ground. If he can find our players with his hitouts more than 50% of the time, I'd be inclined to give him ruck duties, put Biglands in the pocket and give Matty Clarke a fur-lined parka and a map to Noarlunga Oval.

macca23 said:
I think this could be the year we play all 3 ruckmen if available, mate.

Biglands is likely to start in a FP and take the ruckwork up forward, while Hudson and Clarke share the ruck duties.

Macca - let me play the contrarian. We all love Huddos work ethic and seemingly controlled aggression. But is he realistically up to AFL rucking standard? Can you imagine him competing in the ruckwork with the best 10 ruckmen in the league - without giving away 5 frees a game? You guys in Adelaide would certainly see alot more of him and I appreciate your views.

Biglands seems to get a hard go on these boards IMO. In 2002-03 he was consistently deemed to be part of the best 'rucking duo' in the comp. He finished top 3 for hitouts 2 yrs in a row IIRC. I know he (and especially Clarke) can do more around the ground and this is where Hudson may be relatively more competitive.

Lets hope Hudson is more than just good around the ground - he also needs to be good at this main job - rucking

torstein said:

torstein
Like a few people have said M Clark and Hudson will have the rucking duties in the centre square and around the grounds for the start of the season. Rhett Biglands will start in the forward pocket spot with having the forward 50 rucking duties. After 15 or so rounds if the season is not going to plan then I would like to see M Clark is looking at spending more time at Panther Park down south with one of the young ruckmen coming into the side for next season and then becoming a deputy to Hudson or Biglands.

This is M Clarks last season?

I really don't understand all the negativity about Clarke. Granted he is not a great mark and doesn't pick up a lot of kicks, but I still reckon he is the best tap ruckman around.
He is one of the main reasons we have a good midfield. He puts the ball down the throats of roo etc. countless times

Any way that's my opinion.

For me Hudson is the man for the number 1 ruck spot. Just love this bloke, awesome attitude and gives his all every game. Works very well around the ground and was awesome in the Pt. Lincoln trial.

Id have Clarke coming off the bench to back him up, mainly in the centre square where Clarke does his best work and I'd have Biglands in the forward line a lot more this year and rucking here and there.

Also like to see Meesen get a game or two, especially if say 2 of our 3 best ruckman go down.

rooboy said:
I really don't understand all the negativity about Clarke. Granted he is not a great mark and doesn't pick up a lot of kicks, but I still reckon he is the best tap ruckman around.
He is one of the main reasons we have a good midfield. He puts the ball down the throats of roo etc. countless times

Granted a top tap ruckman, but he's easy to read by the opposition. Its our midfield that need to get to the ball first. Stating the obvious I know. :p

Thunderstruck said:
For me Hudson is the man for the number 1 ruck spot. Just love this bloke, awesome attitude and gives his all every game. Works very well around the ground and was awesome in the Pt. Lincoln trial.

Id have Clarke coming off the bench to back him up, mainly in the centre square where Clarke does his best work and I'd have Biglands in the forward line a lot more this year and rucking here and there..

Yes HUddos work ethic has been nothing short of outstanding and could get the no. 1 job, but he's too small to take on the really big blokes IMO.

Thunderstruck said:
Also like to see Meesen get a game or two, especially if say 2 of our 3 best ruckman go down.

Strewth if that happens we will have to put Mick Redden on the bench as the No. 2. :eek:

Huddo starting in the ruck & hopefully wear out the opposition ruckman, so Clarke can come on in the 2nd half of quarters & dominate the ruck taps for our midfield. With ruckmen, you need to be flexible in increasing the game time for the one who is having a better day, which may also depend on matchups.

I am a huge Hudson fan and I think he will lead the ruck in round 1. Now his actual ruckwork has improved but he is still not to the level that I would like it to be. Having said that he gives us something that our other experienced ruckman don't and thats a contest when the ball hits the ground.

I think this is Clarke's last season and I suspect Craig will give the nod to Huddo as a starter and use Clarke as a back up. Biglands will play more as a forward and do the ruckwork in the forward line. He will also be swung into the ruck if needed. We need to give Huddo as much time as possible and if he improves from 2005 to 2006 as much as he has since the end of last year then he could be one of the best rucks in the comp.

Combination of Hudson and Clarke gives us more flexibility and more varienty than Biglands/Clarke combo.

rooboy said:

Meh, i'm afraid his tapwork has gotten sadly predictable. This year he's hanging around and will mainly be helping out Hudson, Andrews, Meeson, Maric and Griffin. IMHO Hudson should be our first ruck (Every time i see him i am more impressed) with Biglands in a FP swapping with Hudson until Biglands is suspended or delisted.

jo172 said:
Meh, i'm afraid his tapwork has gotten sadly predictable. This year he's hanging around and will mainly be helping out Hudson, Andrews, Meeson, Maric and Griffin. IMHO Hudson should be our first ruck (Every time i see him i am more impressed) with Biglands in a FP swapping with Hudson until Biglands is suspended or delisted.

Biglands is unlikely to be fit for round 1, so Hudson/Clarke combo is a cert.

After that who knows? Anything could happen.

jo172 said:

Yes, his tapwork did get predictable, so much so that opposition sides were reading his taps as well as our guys. But I did notice at the end of last year that he was hitting it forward ala the Brissy Lions.
He nearly gets the tap every time he goes for it, as he has a great leap.
I just think he can still be a bloody good tap ruckman, probably more off the bench this year.

whose fault is the predictability though?

Surely Ruck coach has to take a significant portion of blame for that as Clarke/Biglands et al are merely following the game plan.

I would love to see Clarke given a free rein to sort out with his primary target where to hit the ball.

I wonder if the crows brain trust dropped the ball by not playing biglands in ruck during 03/04 as he looked lost and clumsey in other positions. This coupled with injury made him a passenger in 03/ 04, when the previouse years he was one of the premeire ruckmen around. Craig gave him more time rucking last year and he looked a different player. For the crows to do well they have to win those uncontested moments like hitouts so their midfeild engine can fire. Swinging Bigland into the no1 ruck and improving him could create an everett type player or the primus
of old.

Top Three Ruckman