Name: Tory Dickson
Position: Forward
Age (by draft day): 24
Height: 182cm
Weight: 90kg

Favourite of now-Dogs assistant Shannon Grant. Kicked 100 goals in Noble Park’s 2010 premiership and has won a best-and-fairest at Frankston. Can play as a leading forward and rotate through midfield.

IBOLT_GG216946_4096690_resized.jpg

Re: Tory Dickson - Pick #57

NOBLE Park forward Tory Dickson will aim to win an AFL place when he returns to the Victorian Football League this season.
Dickson has signed with Bendigo Bombers after playing a pivotal role in the Bulls' Eastern Football League premiership last year.

The former Frankston VFL player has joined the Bombers in a bid to make the AFL in 2012 as a mature-age player.

http://www.greaterdandenongweekly.c...n-sets-sights-on-afl-via-bendigo/2108936.aspx

THE Bendigo Bombers continue to stack their forward line with star power, signing century goalkicker and AFL hopeful Tory Dickson.

The Noble Park spearhead capped a breakout 112-goal season last year with selection in the Eastern Football League team of the year, a premiership medallion and a top-three finish in the Bulls’ best-and-fairest.

http://moonee-valley-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/dickson-signs-at-bendigo/

Medium forward. It seems that you guys beat EFC to the punch. Tough, mature and can play.

It seems a trend has emerged with Dalrymple's drafting. He takes solid reliable types with the early picks and takes a punt on one or two lower league types with later picks. Skinner is in the air a bit but Markovic has been solid and at that late a pick you're just as likely (in fact probably more so) to get a defeent mature player as a young player who develops well.

Howard was a solid reliable pick? I still don't have confidence in the Howard selection, he still has a long way to go.

Wallis was a father son option, I don't think that counts.

"Pick 57: Tory Dickson
Dalrymple says: "He kicked 48 goals in the VFL while playing for the Bendigo Bombers and basically trained half an hour a week. Given a good pre-season, he could play early next year. He's got a strong body and is a forward who can go in the midfield. We did our due diligence on him, he tested well and impressed in the interview and we think he's ready to go in an age group we probably need to get more players in. And goal kickers are hard to find.""

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/126471/default.aspx

I reckon this one will prove to be a ripper...and I am normally dead-against the deadwood ending up at our club.

This bloke can seriously play.

Howard was a solid reliable pick? I still don't have confidence in the Howard selection, he still has a long way to go.

Wallis was a father son option, I don't think that counts.

By that I meant that he is a player who was picked to play a role and was known for his work ethic and willingness to learn as opposed to someone with great athletic upside and 'X-factor' (a term I am growing to hate).

Looking at previous drafts (particularly 2001), most of the early picks who were solid citizen midfielder types (eg Judd, Hodge, Ball, Bartel, Reilly, Kelly) were successful (Sam Power sadly fit this mould in 2001 and is the exception) while the flashy types taken early, or those with questionable attitudes (Clarke, Sampi, Cole) weren't. It's a gross generalisation but I think we've reversed our recruiting strategy somewhat - take the lower risk midfielder types with good attitudes early (Howard, Wallis - agreed, no choice, and Smith) and take the flashy types later (Skinner, Thorne).

We've clearly also decided to take a punt regularly on mature lower level players (a league-wide trend admittedly), most likely because there's a growing realisation that a player who is successful in a position at VFL/WAFL/SANFL level is more likely to succeed than a late-range speculative 18 year old.

I am rapt with this selection. In a thin draft i think it was a great choice. He can obviously play, and although not a tall, can find the goals, look at Crameri at Essendon last year was a great find. Seems most of the really good VFL players have proved they can at least offer something at AFL level, and we need more in the age bracket anyway. I see us being able to challenge again in 3-4 years, and at the time you need guys who are 28 and playing their best football.

Utter freak at every sport he's tried since he was a kid, awesome that he's finally made it to the AFL... Even better that he's at the Dogs!

I'm sure he'll do well for us.

By that I meant that he is a player who was picked to play a role and was known for his work ethic and willingness to learn as opposed to someone with great athletic upside and 'X-factor' (a term I am growing to hate).

I still don't totally get what you mean with the Howard thing, he was a risky selection. He may not have X factor or whatever but he still had/has a lot to learn football wise. Yes he was picked to play a role in the back half, but he found himself developing and playing on a wing this year (probably because he doesn't compete well in the air). I don't think he's turned out the way wanted so far and is hardly what you call a solid reliable pick.

The way it looks to me in this year's draft is the recruiting team wanted Crozier (X-factor player), the coach wanted a hard nut. I can't totally prove that, it just looks that way with all the reports and everything.

I don't see a trend with the earlier picks at all. I agree on the later picks part though.

Just to further confuse the issue the Hun has an article saying Dickson is 184cm (no mention of his weight, so I guess 90kgs is a furphy)

Now the Hun/News Ltd are not renowned for their accurate reporting and consistency (they earlier reported him as 180cm and 90kg) so no surprises there, I guess. But does anyone know his true height and weight?

The Bendigo Bombers site lists him as 182 and 82 although its probably from the start of the year.

Re: New Western Bulldogs draftee Tory Dickson escapes hard cell

Having a look at Dickson's highlight package on the Bulldog website.

He looks an impressive mark and surprisingly quite quick and agile.
Liked what I saw!

Not going to lie, it's an impressive highlight vid.

If he does that at AFL level then we have what could be the steal of the draft. Definitely reminds me of the old #6.

Having a look at Dickson's highlight package on the Bulldog website.

He looks an impressive mark and surprisingly quite quick and agile.
Liked what I saw!

Reminded me of one of my favourites, Matty Robbins Dare I say. Tho no one will ever be Matty!!

I liked the look of him from his highlights. Seems to have a strong core and some surprising agility.

Plus, he clearly loves to take a grab and has good goal sense.

The other thing is what can/will he do for the game between those highlights? I think that might be the biggest challenge for him at AFL level and will probably decide if he gets games.

48 goals suggests he still contributes between those highlights.

saw pretty much all of his games this year for Bendigo.

Doggies have picked up a pretty clever and natural footballer who was going at half-rat-power due to little preseason fitness. he's an old-school style player who finds space and opportunity through general nous and natural understanding, rather than any athletic attributes. looked to me like the season started to catch up with him a bit, looked sore by the end.

he'll need to get fit and fine down a bit to cope with the bigger grounds and intense running patterns. but if he does, you guys will be rapt because i can see him bobbing up every week for a goal or two and adding some very nice finishing around goal.

a pure footballer. a really good pick.

(i wanted him at essendon, can't say much more than that really).

Thanks for you insight saladin. What areas do you think he needs to work at, for the top level?