Trade Targets

Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
From the bits and pieces we have heard from the club lately it sounds as though we may be participating in trade week for a change. Of course we'll believe it when we see it but if we're going to replace the 5 oldies + Hentschel at the end of the season you'd thing the trade route is going to be a key ingredient.

I've compiled a bit of a hit list below. Most of them are moderately talented, not too many top-enders and a few ex-SA guys so possibly gettable. Would be interested to hear people's thoughts on any of the players I've listed, also if you think there are others who would be worth a crack.

Troy Selwood (26, Bris) – Seems a bit out of favour at the moment. Handy run-with type player.

Jack Redden (19, Bris) – Looks a player. Only young, Glenelg boy, ok pace and has a couple of preseasons behind him. Brisbane have reasonable midfield depth.

Shaun Hampson (22, Carl) – 2m tall, athletic, reminds me a little of Tippett. Stuck behind Kreuzer, Warnock and Jacobs in the ruck at Carlton. Might be a GC target.

Tyson Goldsack (22, Coll) – out of favour mid-size defender. Handy 3rd tall in the back half would release Otten to midfield and Davis up forward.

Sean Rusling (23, Coll) – An injury-ruined career so far. Collingwood still rate him and continue to be patient. Quick forward, has looked a player in the few chances he has got. West Adelaide kid, could be a gun. Big risk, high upside.

Jason Laycock (25, Ess) – Has had a nightmare run at Essendon. Much maligned by supporters and always injured. I reckon he could be a player though. 2m tall, big body, bucket hands, has only brushed the surface of what he can do. In his 7th season and only 62 games… time to try his luck elsewhere.

Ryan Gamble (22, Geel) – Can’t get a look in at Geelong – Chapman, Johnson, Hawkins, Mooney and now Pods all ahead of him. Glenelg boy, could be handy across half forward. Ok mark for his size.

Travis Varcoe (22, Geel) – Has teased at Geelong and never nailed a consistent senior birth. Emergence of Shannon Byrnes and now Mitch Duncan has squeezed him out. Waste of talent so far but quick and a small forward, both of which we are in need of.

Jarryd Morton (21, Haw) – Handy midfielder, can find a bit of it. Out of favour at Hawthorn, a few of their kids going past him. Bit like Josh Kennedy last year, Hawks have a reasonable first-choice midfield so it’s hard to get a look in.

Travis Tuck (22, Haw) – See above. Same deal as Morton, can’t get a look in. I reckon he goes ok.

Addam Maric (20, Melb) – Small fwd/mid who can’t get a game. New wave of kids has kept him out. I don’t really know why he didn’t get more games the last couple of years when they were rubbish. Clean hands, low centre of gravity, I like the look of him.

Levi Greenwood (21, NM) – I’ve always like this guy. Hard unit, great attack on the footy. Hasn’t had much of an opportunity with the Kangas though he is in the 22 at the moment. Ex-Port Magpie, could be a good run with player.

Scott McMahon (23, NM) – Neat, small defender who is a regular in their team. Perfect replacement for Doughty and/or McLeod in the back half for us. Ex-WWT Eagle, reliable, very low risk, low maintenance.

Daniel Wells (25, NM) – One of the few biggish names on my list. This guy has been treading water for years. Injury, form, work ethic… change of scenery a must IMO if we’re to see the best of him. Quick and skillful, both qualities that we don’t have and need in abundance.

Matthew Broadbent (19, PP) – Hasn’t nailed a senior birth. Looks a tough kid. Like McMahon, could be a good replacement for Doughty down back.

Nick Salter (22, PP) – Pretty obvious one. Has a case of the Walkers at the moment. Plenty of clubs will be sniffing around you’d reckon.

Richard Tambling (23, Rich) – We’ve had a thread on him already.

Justin Koschitzke (27, St K) – A bit left field but he doesn’t really look to be enjoying his footy at the moment and is under-performing. Has spent most of his time at FF with some time in ruck but I actually think his best position is at CHF, obviously doesn’t get a look in at the Saints with NR running around. With us though we’ve got enough who can play close to goals, we need someone who can play higher.

Craig Bird (21, Syd) – Injured at the moment but hasn’t quite nailed a regular birth when fit anyway. I reckon he’s a ripper. Potential to be strong bodied inside midfielder. We need players like this to compliment Mackay/Vince and help out Thommo and Dangerfield.

Ryan Griffen (23, WB) – Every Adelaide supporters wet dream. Would obviously be a big spend, we’d need to give up one of our top few players but he scratches us right where we itch. Bock for Griffen… spend money to make money?

Josh Hill (21, WB) – Elusive, inconsistent forward who has sometimes pushed further up the ground. Is on the outer at the moment. Bit of x-factor about him and would add some weapons to our fairly mundane arsenal.

Stephen Tiller (23, WB) – Flexible player, can play mid-size fwd or back. Barely had a look in for four seasons now but has looked pretty accomplished whenever he has played. Like Goldsack, could be that 3rd tall defender to release Otten and Davis. West Adelaide boy.

Ryan Griffen is the player that makes most sense for both Adelaide and Port Adelaide. I'd love Port Adelaide to secure his services but as discussed it would be a similar deal to the one which netted Port Adelaide picks 9 & 16 for Shaun Burgoyne. Thus in the compromised draft it will take a player plus the first round draft pick.

I think Adelaide will be a stronger position to get Griffen's services as it stands.

Nice work CS :thumbsu:. Comprehensive list.

If we trade, and it's a big if under Craigy, I hope we don't go down the path of taking guys who may be ok but have question marks over their fitness / injury / skill etc. I would prefer we go after proven talent or guys that have showed that they can play if given a chance.

My four to target would be:

Ryan Griffen
Craig Bird
Travis Varcoe
Travis Tuck

Hampson intrigues me. There must be a reason why he's not getting a game ahead of Warnock and Jacobs?

I said in the Tambling thread that we should be looking at a raid on Geelong players, seeds should be planted right now. The pinch is on at the cattery, the Selwood signing is imminent and Ablett will stay, so there won't be a hell of a lot of excess cash floating around.

You've already mentioned Gamble and Varcoe, two of the young brigade who could be squeezed out. I'd throw Hogan in as well, but certainly wouldn't go as hard for him as the other two.

For experience, we can look at Andrew Mackie and James Kelly. Both slot nicely into an age group that would put us in good stead when our older stars move on. Another that could come up as an option is Byrnes, particularly if the youth of Varcoe and Duncan are favoured by the end of the season.

The best thing about all of these guys is that they've been operating in a successful team environment, their addition will be valuable to a team like ours that only has players that have failed to take the next step. Very much why I'd favour any of these players above others.

Solid list.

Varcoe
Goldsack
Tiller (if cheap)
Bird
Griffen
McMahon
Broadbent

Probably the main guys I'd be looking at.

Hypothetically, Thompson goes to the Gold Coast and we get a first round pick for him (which we should, but the AFL will probably screw us over as usual), I'd be willing to put our first two picks on the table for Griffen, or offer Thommo and #6. Also wouldn't be averse to trading most of our picks to get a couple of good ~25 year old mids.

Considering we've got Davis, Talia and a few others to come through, I would hope our focus is on mids this year. Good post from Ruscy as well; Mackie would be alright.

That was the easy bit Carl. Look forward to seeing your list of Tradeables from our club.

Who you going to put up to get Griffen? Pick 6 in the draft?;)

Mackay + first round DP for Griffen and their first round DP. Considering where our respective clubs will finish, that's a pretty decent trade up on a first round DP for them ;)

Solid list.

Varcoe
Goldsack
Tiller (if cheap)
Bird
Griffen
McMahon
Broadbent

Hypothetically, Thompson goes to the Gold Coast and we get a first round pick for him (which we should, but the AFL will probably screw us over as usual), I'd be willing to put our first two picks on the table for Griffen, or offer Thommo and #6. Also wouldn't be averse to trading most of our picks to get a couple of good ~25 year old mids.

Considering we've got Davis, Talia and a few others to come through, I would hope our focus is on mids this year. Good post from Ruscy as well; Mackie would be alright.

Great point mate

This is where we lack some real quality. We have Thompson just past that age, but he is well down on his usual output and VB in the same boat (due to injury) Stiffy who has been good

We have the older brigade who are proven performers, but are now past it (Macca being the exception) and the young players, who look to be guns, but aren't quite there yet.

Trade our picks and a couple of players and grab a Varcoe, Griffen (yes please!) Selwood, hell i would be reasonably happy with everyone on that list (provided we didn't get robbed) barring Laycock

Hampson also intrigues me. A true ruck combo would be nice, instead of Sellar and McKernan. Hampson seems to give it his all, but can't get a game

Solid list.

Varcoe
Goldsack
Tiller (if cheap)
Bird
Griffen
McMahon
Broadbent

Not sure either of those trades would get it over the line...DP's won't have the same buying power this year, and if we end up finishing 9-12 the forget it. Thommo...not sure he's what the doggies would be looking for, that's why I said Mackay.

I think Mackie is a solid target because he'll be looking for good money that won't be at Geelong if they sign Ablett as well as Selwood...that and his addition to defence gives us a classy midfielder by releasing Otten. The one that people will skim over is James Kelly, but I think he'd add some class, grunt and experience to a midfield currently lacking in all three of those traits (well, experience is there but is on its way out).

That was the easy bit Carl. Look forward to seeing your list of Tradeables from our club.

Who you going to put up to get Griffen? Pick 6 in the draft?;)
I thought that could be where you guys come in :o

Righto... I suggested Bock in my post as currency for Griffen but I'll have a go at a few others:-

Richard Douglas - has been developing slowly, just enough to at least be on the radar of the Melbourne clubs. Still frustrates though. Would only be a direct-swap option for probably the bottom 2/3s of my list.

Brent Reilly - Has been handy this year but certainly hasn't moved into 'untouchable' status. Which is a double-edged sword because it also means he doesn't have a lot of currency on the trade table. Older than most of the guys I listed, would probably only be direct-swap value for the bottom 1/3 of my list or Koschitzke.

Taylor Walker - If we're going to land a decent player then we'll obviously have to give up something decent. Walker is a real ace up our sleeve. We've discussed it ad nauseum but he is out of favour and is basically a glorified SANFL player with us. Other AFL clubs would value him MUCH higher than we do and we could basically take our pick of anything on that list. Walker for Wells wouldn't be out of the question IMO given that he's got 5 extra years too.

So there's four to start with.

I thought that could be where you guys come in :o

Righto... I suggested Bock in my post as currency for Griffen but I'll have a go at a few others:-

Richard Douglas - has been developing slowly, just enough to at least be on the radar of the Melbourne clubs. Still frustrates though. Would only be a direct-swap option for probably the bottom 2/3s of my list.

Brent Reilly - Has been handy this year but certainly hasn't moved into 'untouchable' status. Which is a double-edged sword because it also means he doesn't have a lot of currency on the trade table. Older than most of the guys I listed, would probably only be direct-swap value for the bottom 1/3 of my list or Koschitzke.

Taylor Walker - If we're going to land a decent player then we'll obviously have to give up something decent. Walker is a real ace up our sleeve. We've discussed it ad nauseum but he is out of favour and is basically a glorified SANFL player with us. Other AFL clubs would value him MUCH higher than we do and we could basically take our pick of anything on that list. Walker for Wells wouldn't be out of the question IMO given that he's got 5 extra years too.

So there's four to start with.

Bock in the Griffen deal...OK.

Douglas...I think with a high enough DP could be worth something.

Reilly...unsure. Certainly won't land Kosi, last think the Saints need is a midfielder.

Walker for Wells...our next coach would be furious :p

Seriously though, Walker will play plenty more AFL games before the year finishes, most likely when Burton does his mandatory 4-6 week injury at some stage. He'll play well and by then we'll have forgotten about all of this 'out of favour' business. We're not stupid enough to trade away our first genuine full forward in 10 years...are we? :confused:

Not sure either of those trades would get it over the line...DP's won't have the same buying power this year, and if we end up finishing 9-12 the forget it. Thommo...not sure he's what the doggies would be looking for, that's why I said Mackay.

I think Mackie is a solid target because he'll be looking for good money that won't be at Geelong if they sign Ablett as well as Selwood...that and his addition to defence gives us a classy midfielder by releasing Otten. The one that people will skim over is James Kelly, but I think he'd add some class, grunt and experience to a midfield currently lacking in all three of those traits (well, experience is there but is on its way out).

Regarding Griffen, in my opinion, purely comes down to whether he either wants to move home, or is happy to do so.

If he wants to come home, I think 2 first rounder would get the job done; keeping in mind that for a change (pending the GC) we're going to have an early PSD pick.

If he doesn't want to come home, then I can't see the Dogs letting him go; and if they did, it would cost an absolute fortune.

Hampson intrigues me. There must be a reason why he's not getting a game ahead of Warnock and Jacobs?

Hampson also intrigues me. A true ruck combo would be nice, instead of Sellar and McKernan. Hampson seems to give it his all, but can't get a game

Hampson has an injured hamstring at the moment which is why he is currently not in contention for a senior game.

When fit he is fighting it out with Warnock and Jacobs for the 2nd senior ruck position behind Kreuzer.

We rate him very highly so if you were to chase him I imagine you would need to give up a fair bit for him.

Just as an indication - apparently Port offered pick 9 for him last year and we refused.

Mackay + first round DP for Griffen and their first round DP. Considering where our respective clubs will finish, that's a pretty decent trade up on a first round DP for them ;)

You've got to be kidding, I hope this is sarcasm because otherwise you need to be sent straight to the loony bin.

Travis Tuck, Goldsack, Gamble and Hogan are all good options for you guys, or maybe look into the VFL and try to find a Barlow or Silvagni like we did.

I like the idea of Goldsack. He's a quality player (IMHO) not currently getting a game.

As mentioned, he'd also fill Otten's 2009 position allowing Otto to move into the midfield. It would also free Davis from that position to go forward.

Another target I'd really like us to pursue is Pat Veszpremi from the Swans. He was a first round pick and I'm sure they rate him, but the kid isn't getting a game at the moment. He'd be a brilliant addition to our list - an attacking half forward who actually takes the game on and kicks goal (from distance too). The guy can crumb as well.

I'm fairly sure he's contracted for 2011 but we'd be crazy not to have a red hot crack at him.

Another target I'd really like us to pursue is Pat Veszpremi from the Swans. He was a first round pick and I'm sure they rate him, but the kid isn't getting a game at the moment. He'd be a brilliant addition to our list - an attacking half forward who actually takes the game on and kicks goal (from distance too). The guy can crumb as well.
Good call on Veszpremi. I almost added him but held off because he's young and has hardly had a look in yet with injury. I know the Swans rate him highly.

You are not serious are you? We all love Mackay, but Griffen has been one of the Dogs best this year and appears to have finally clicked into gear.

The only player I believe the Dogs would look at is Walker and we are not going to give him up.

Griffen is a pipe dream
Was Darren Jarman a pipe dream?

Griffen's asking price would obviously be huge and the chance of gettign him is slim but we have a responsibility to make a massive play for him. If he is in demand this can only push his contract $$$ with the Dogs up and place salary cap pressure on them.

This is how the system works. There is benefit in us and Port going after him (and Cooney) all guns blazing, even if we don't end up landing anything.

You've got to be kidding, I hope this is sarcasm because otherwise you need to be sent straight to the loony bin.

Classy mid for classy mid. Mackay is younger, Griffen is better - that's why there's a trade of first round DPs. The Bulldogs will more than likely end up with a mid 20s pick as their first rounder, on current form we'll end up with pick 6. So they get to trade up 14+ positions in the first round as compensation, that's fair.

All hypothetical ya know...like for discussion and debate. And the last person I'm gonna go into detail with over what's insane at the trade table is a Freo supporter, your club is at the opposite end of insanity in this department :thumbsu:

You are not serious are you? We all love Mackay, but Griffen has been one of the Dogs best this year and appears to have finally clicked into gear.

The only player I believe the Dogs would look at is Walker and we are not going to give him up.

And how is Walker worth that much more than Mackay exactly?

Not interested in trading for a ruckman unless they're a genuine Grade A player. Hampson doesn't fit that definition. We have an abundance of developing ruckmen already on our list and Hampson wouldn't improve our situation at all.

Not interested in Kosi either - he's a poor man's Tippett and wouldn't be worth anywhere near the asking price.

Rusling's a walking hospital ward. No thanks. Laycock is just about useless as an AFL footballer. I'd tear up my membership card if we traded for that lump of nothing.

On the positive side, I'd love to get Ryan Griffen if the option were available.

Definitely interested in Travis Varcoe. Possibly interested in Maric, but he'd have to be coming at a rock bottom price. Craig Bird could be available and the Swans have a history of trading fairly (neither expecting to give nor receive inflated prices for ordinary players). Tambling and Greenwood would also be more than handy.

For my money, our focus needs to be on trading for midfielders (preferably inside hard-nut clearance winners) and small forwards. We have an abundance of KPPs (mostly young) and developing ruckmen - there's no need to trade for either of these commodities.

And how is Walker worth that much more than Mackay exactly?

Walker and giving up a high draft pick. The Dogs are still in need of a forward. They have Hall who is one punch away from retirement and Grant who is still developing.

Travis Varcoe (22, Geel) – Has teased at Geelong and never nailed a consistent senior birth. Emergence of Shannon Byrnes and now Mitch Duncan has squeezed him out. Waste of talent so far but quick and a small forward, both of which we are in need of.

No doubt would be an awesome pickup, but this write up is not really accurate TBH. Played 22 games last year, including the grand final, and had a stellar pre season this year. Only reason he hasn't been playing for the first few rounds is due to injury (broken thumb in practice game).

Hasn't been squeezed out by anyone. Was selected for the first time this week (basically as soon as he was available) and picked up 24 good possies and a goal. Can't see him going anywhere if geelong can help it. Only salary cap pressure would encourage them to offload him

Classy mid for classy mid. Mackay is younger, Griffen is better - that's why there's a trade of first round DPs. The Bulldogs will more than likely end up with a mid 20s pick as their first rounder, on current form we'll end up with pick 6. So they get to trade up 14+ positions in the first round as compensation, that's fair.

All hypothetical ya know...like for discussion and debate. And the last person I'm gonna go into detail with over what's insane at the trade table is a Freo supporter, your club is at the opposite end of insanity in this department :thumbsu:

I didn't reply to the initial suggestion because I assumed you were kidding.

I wish you were.

And we don't want to be trading Mackay away; if we're going to trade, it should be fringe players (we don't have many left), but mainly our draft picks.

Replacing Mackay with Griffen isn't a huge net gain for us long term.

Replacing Goodwin with Griffen is.