HHF

Rookie
Chicago Cubs, Bulls and Bears
Im just wondering who you guys would want to take from us for Jeff White, draft picks players or both?

Interesting.....not gonna happen, but interesting

Melbourne should avoid trading alltogether. Seems that when they do, they give away quality players for nothing in return.

Farmer ... cough cough ... Woewodin ... cough cough ...

Originally posted by lamby29
White and our second pick (pick 5) for Luke Ball.

Despite this trade probably being around the 'price' for Luke Ball, I'm sorry to say he is untouchable.

If we opt to trade for Jeff White, we won't enter into a bidding war. We don't have enough 'expendable' players to compete with Collingwood.

They'd happily dish off a 2nd Round Pick + Rupert Betheras/Heath Scotland/O'Bree. They will be premiership aspirants for the next few years, and will want 'ready-made' players to slot into their line up.

That would outweigh what we could offer, which would be in the vicinity of a 2nd/3rd round pick + Schwarze/Moyle/Lawrence/Blake.

If our 2nd pick is under 22, I doubt we'd trade it for someone who won't be playing in four years time. Not to mention someone who can barely cut it at a team like Melbourne.

Collingwood's 2nd Pick will about 30-32, and since they're keeping their eyes fixed on a short term flag, will be willing to trade it.

If White was 22 and had no injuries, we'd throw the farm at him. Truth is he's 26, injury plagued and massively down on form with a big asking price.

I think the Cats could be interested in Green. We need another HFF/ FP because Rico and Lordy are near the end. With Green way down on form and confidence we may be able to get him a little bit cheaper than we could get some other players of his ilk.

What would you guys consider a reasonable trade? Is Green out of contract?

Originally posted by BigCat1
I think the Cats could be interested in Green. We need another HFF/ FP because Rico and Lordy are near the end. With Green way down on form and confidence we may be able to get him a little bit cheaper than we could get some other players of his ilk.

What would you guys consider a reasonable trade? Is Green out of contract?

Bartel + Rahilly for Green + White could be of interest to both parties.

Bartel is worth more than White, Green is worth more than Rahilly, but both clubs get to add some meat where they really need it. I think that could be a win-win.

Melbourne fans are very keen on Luke Ball, and it's a good point you raise BC1, because Bartel is quite a similar player - just slower.

Originally posted by Zeke
Melbourne should avoid trading alltogether. Seems that when they do, they give away quality players for nothing in return.

Farmer ... cough cough ... Woewodin ... cough cough ...
Do you realise who we ended up getting for Farmer?

Bizzell... cough cough.

And we'll be laughing in 3 years when Daniel Bell is tearing opposition teams apart while Woey is enjoying retirement.

Originally posted by evertonfc
Despite this trade probably being around the 'price' for Luke Ball, I'm sorry to say he is untouchable.

If we opt to trade for Jeff White, we won't enter into a bidding war. We don't have enough 'expendable' players to compete with Collingwood.

They'd happily dish off a 2nd Round Pick + Rupert Betheras/Heath Scotland/O'Bree. They will be premiership aspirants for the next few years, and will want 'ready-made' players to slot into their line up.

That would outweigh what we could offer, which would be in the vicinity of a 2nd/3rd round pick + Schwarze/Moyle/Lawrence/Blake.

If our 2nd pick is under 22, I doubt we'd trade it for someone who won't be playing in four years time. Not to mention someone who can barely cut it at a team like Melbourne.

Collingwood's 2nd Pick will about 30-32, and since they're keeping their eyes fixed on a short term flag, will be willing to trade it.

If White was 22 and had no injuries, we'd throw the farm at him. Truth is he's 26, injury plagued and massively down on form with a big asking price.
We don't want any duds. For White, it will be draft picks or a decent player.

Originally posted by lamby29
We don't want any duds. For White, it will be draft picks or a decent player.

Exactly, preferrably a decent player. As soft as they are, both can play good footy and unless we can get something worthwhile they'll be staying.

I'm sure we can get a lot more than Bartel and Rahilly for Green and White.

O'Bree and 2nd round pick for White I would look at but I'd rather try a straight swap, OBree for Robertson. White and a low draft pick could be used to get somebody like Whitnall.

Green for Bartel - straight swap. They don't need White, they have King.

Jeff White won't be traded... then again, we would have all said that about Woewodin last season.

I'll give away Williams for a slab of beer.

Um let me think about that for a second......No

As much as you guys might rate Bartel, it seems the club doesn't. That's life, and that's probably the deal that would go down.

we have made one good trade recently gririg or however u say it for bizzel

white we need to keep him coz jolly aint ready and jamar needs time

green mabie

2000 was a good year for us in the draft and we need to get some mroe whelan, bruce, godfrey type players

Don't get rid of Green, he is class!

White could be trade bait for a quality tall defender. What does Essendon want for Wellman? They need a ruckman. Or the Saints. I'd take Riewoldt for White :D if they accept.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
As much as you guys might rate Bartel, it seems the club doesn't. That's life, and that's probably the deal that would go down.

What are you talking about Cowboy :confused:

The club rates Bartel extremely highly and have been trying to secure him for months. Bartel and his management have told the club that they want to wait until the seasons end before they talk contracts. They have every right to do that. With Bartel now back in the 1st's and playing good footy on the ball they will probably get more $$ than they would have if JB had signed mid-year. Thats just smart business if you ask me.

Bartel keeps coming up because every club would love to have him. Hypothetically in the unlikely event that he was traded he would comand more than Brad Green. I said Green would be a player the Cats would be interested in but not for bartel.

P.S To Every Dees supporter We also got pick 17 for Bizzel which we used to get James Kelly. Not that you would know it reading Bizzel threads on BigFooty. Kelly will be a very good player and I think that this trade will be one of those ones that goes down as a win-win for both parties in the long run

So please Dees fans stop going around saying that it was the greatest steal of all time.

P.S To Every Dees supporter We also got pick 17 for Bizzel which we used to get James Kelly. Not that you would know it reading Bizzel threads on BigFooty. Kelly will be a very good player and I think that this trade will be one of those ones that goes down as a win-win for both parties in the long run
We are well aware of this, I wouldn't even entertain Kelly for Bizzell if you offered it to us.

Originally posted by The Shev
Don't get rid of Green, he is class!
I'd take Riewoldt for White :D if they accept.

C'mon mate let's keep this realistic!

You're right about one thing though, Essendon need a ruckman. Hille's decent but Jamar would interest them. How old is Wellman? I reckon he can play but he's not great on Key position players.

I'd prefer Lucas but oh yeah, this is supposed to be realistic isn't it? ;)

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell

Going by Bomber Thompson's comments Re Bartel before the Dees game, it would appear that he's not a huge Bartel fan. Referring to him "Being lucky to be in the team" a bit harsh on the kid there I reckon.

Originally posted by evertonfc
Crap, but a fair point.

Powell *Cough*

;) ;) ;)

Powell? You got him in the draft, because he wouldn't re-sign for us (wanted too much $$$:rolleyes: ).

Take a Lozenge & call me in the morning!

Same for Woewodin, if we'd re-signed him at the price he wanted we'd have gone over the cap. Not all in our control really.

Farmer wanted to go, not our choice.

Simmonds you can pick on us about, although at the time it looked a decent trade. White was in form & Jol/Russian were developing.