freshazimiz

Liverpool, Bucks
Is anyone here a train driver or previously been one? I'm very interested to move into this area particularly Metro trains. Just saw an ad for a role as a trainee driver and would appreciate if anyone has any knowledge or tips that they would like to share.

I haven't done this myself but a mate of mine did it in the UK on the overland line (mainly the London to Brighton route) 10 years ago, he loved the job so much that when he came back to Melbourne about 6/7 years ago he applied for a job at Connex and is still driving trains but working for Metro.

I haven't caught up with him for a while, but from memory he said on application there aren't any major education restrictions but the probation period is quite long (2 years?) for a salary of around 35-40k, but once you are fully tested and qualified this amount doubles. His probation period was much shorter due to the previous experience he had. Bare in mind this figure was in 2005 so it may have changed from there.

I know when he was with Connex all overtime was paid too and there were penalty rates but since Metro took over Im not sure. He loves the job, and the flexibility of shift hours (early morning to midnight) but is isn't for everyone. If you are a drinker (not judging you at all :D ) you'll have to alter your lifetstyle a bit as you can't drink at least 10-12 hours before a shift and have 0 blood alcohol.

He's told a few funny stories, one cold day on the outskirts of London, he stopped at a station and actually forgot to open the doors and departed, he then only realized about 5km later why the passenger beeper had kept going off non stop :p.

I haven't done this myself but a mate of mine did it in the UK on the overland line (mainly the London to Brighton route) 10 years ago, he loved the job so much that when he came back to Melbourne about 6/7 years ago he applied for a job at Connex and is still driving trains but working for Metro.

I haven't caught up with him for a while, but from memory he said on application there aren't any major education restrictions but the probation period is quite long (2 years?) for a salary of around 35-40k, but once you are fully tested and qualified this amount doubles. His probation period was much shorter due to the previous experience he had. Bare in mind this figure was in 2005 so it may have changed from there.

I know when he was with Connex all overtime was paid too and there were penalty rates but since Metro took over Im not sure. He loves the job, and the flexibility of shift hours (early morning to midnight) but is isn't for everyone. If you are a drinker (not judging you at all :D ) you'll have to alter your lifetstyle a bit as you can't drink at least 10-12 hours before a shift and have 0 blood alcohol.

He's told a few funny stories, one cold day on the outskirts of London, he stopped at a station and actually forgot to open the doors and departed, he then only realized about 5km later why the passenger beeper had kept going off non stop :p.

Thanks for sharing that mate, that story is pretty funny :D.

From what i heard it is a pretty sweet job and my lifestyle would not be affected by it so no issues there. From what i see, most train drivers are relatively old, abit round i'm just worried i might not fit the stereotype.

I've recently applied for a trainee driver role at Metro, apparently 3700 people has applied as well so the first recruitment process is the online ability, aptitude and safety assessment. If successful you continue to the next stage, you got 6 other process to go through so hopefully i can get through the first one and go from there.

Thanks for sharing that mate, that story is pretty funny :D.

From what i heard it is a pretty sweet job and my lifestyle would not be affected by it so no issues there. From what i see, most train drivers are relatively old, abit round i'm just worried i might not fit the stereotype.

I've recently applied for a trainee driver role at Metro, apparently 3700 people has applied as well so the first recruitment process is the online ability, aptitude and safety assessment. If successful you continue to the next stage, you got 6 other process to go through so hopefully i can get through the first one and go from there.
No worries, good luck!

I recently applied, being a Train Driver is a job I have wanted too do since I was a little kid. Did the test too.

Big push at metro for females in the drivers den. They got the rights to be selectively pushing for it too.

Yeah i've just noticed that recently as well that they're pushing for female drivers..

Quite an exhaustive process to go through. Once you have gone through the online stuff, and have qualified further, there is a psychosemetric testing process as well.

Trust me, this is the sort of test that you never really know the answer they are looking for. I havent been through this one for a train job, but I have been through a different one before and thankfully, I got the job. They basically want to work out how you would react under pressure/stress and how you would handle an accident or a suicide.

But the questions are not direct.

But as some other posters have said, it is quite a lucrative position if you are successful. Moving on from Metro to long haul freight can also earn up around $180k per annum. It is a good stepping stone!

I didn't realise the pay was that good?? Had a telephone screening today and pretty sure i failed hard so i got nothing further to add in this thread. Hopefully they judge it differently to how i saw it :(

Just on the train driver profession - I've heard (not sure if it's true) that most train drivers when they are first starting are told they are almost certain to hit someone during the course of their career. ie an accident/suicide is almost inevitable - does anyone know if that's true?

On my train line to work, I reckon we have at least 4-6 suicides/fatalities on the line each year - if that is similar to other train lines, that would be a fairly high figure.

Just on the train driver profession - I've heard (not sure if it's true) that most train drivers when they are first starting are told they are almost certain to hit someone during the course of their career. ie an accident/suicide is almost inevitable - does anyone know if that's true?

On my train line to work, I reckon we have at least 4-6 suicides/fatalities on the line each year - if that is similar to other train lines, that would be a fairly high figure.

From what I've heard from train drivers the suicides are fairly common (as in a driver will experience it more than once). The thing about it is there is not much a driver can do other than toot the horn.

Yeah, wouldn't be easy to live with though I guess - especially if you see it and can't do anything to stop it. Must take a bit of a toll on the poor train drivers who are just out there doing their jobs.

Probably something to be mindful of if anyone is considering that as a career.

Yeah, wouldn't be easy to live with though I guess - especially if you see it and can't do anything to stop it. Must take a bit of a toll on the poor train drivers who are just out there doing their jobs.

Probably something to be mindful of if anyone is considering that as a career.

All I remember was hearing from a driver who said he's had a fair bit of counselling when it's happened, and he was about to quit his job at the time because it wasn't something he could deal with.

An uncle of mine used to drive trains for the Met, and before that V-line. Did it for about 20 years until someone suicided in front of him. Part of his role was to prevent passengers from seeing the after effects, and after picking up a severed head he didn't drive a train again for years. Rarely spoke for a couple of years either.

Geez, thats terrible... :(

When I did the merit session for Metro they spoke about suicide/affects on drivers. I think they said most people end up leaving after a suicide because the trauma is too much. I couldn't imagine how awful it would be for the driver. :(

Growing up a few of my mates dad's drove the wheat trains and I don't think and weren't at least 'pudgy '. My cousin drives freight ones over in NSW these days and he must weigh 120kg+, unfortunately didn't see him long enough to really ask about the job though.