Preview Training 28th Jan

Just got back from training at Gosch's Paddock this morning, where I was amongst a decent crowd of on-lookers watching the lads train for a solid 2 hours. Firstly, injury news:

Cambell, Gawn, Fitzpatrick, Warnock, Nicholson (back complaint by the sounds of it), Tapscott and of course Frawley didn't participate at all, mostly just walking laps and doing a few reflex drills. Tappy was running laps for a while. Chip was in a sling, fresh from surgery by the looks, and looking very sorry for himself :( . Also on modified programs were Wonna, SME and Jonesy, who all left the main group after various amounts of time to run laps. LJ had his ankle taped about an hour in, but seemed to be at or close to 100% (in his own laid-back way).

After the obligatory skills session, the main group moved into two drills, the one I saw being an inside-50 thing down the AAMI end. The likes of Bennell, Davey, Grimes, Bail, Strauss, Garland, Joel Mac, Newton and Blease were on the defensive team, with Watts, Jurrah, the SME, Sylvia, Jetta, Lawrence, Moloney, Green and Scully playing forward (there were others on both teams). Couple of interesting placements in there, I thought... especially Juice in the back line and the SME up forward. Strauss was doing the kick-ins, I love his kicking skills. Watts was playing as a high forward mostly, and I enjoyed his work rate. He was running hard and presenting, but it still looked like he wasn't demanding the ball enough. He also seemed to get caught up in traffic a bit.

The group then moved to a full-ground match-sim drill, although interestingly the wings were cut off to encourage play through the corridor. The forwards seemed to be playing with the same game plan as last year as well - i.e. the mids would often kick over their heads, with a maximum of one match-up deep inside the 50. Points of note from the match, which lasted about half an hour I think:
- Jake 'Pretzel' Spencer, who is surprisingly quick and was moving very well. Still has an incredibly awkward kicking action, but hits targets and gets amongst the play. Good signs. Also has an evolved nickname apparently... lol. Jamar was in full training, on the opposite team of course.
- Scully, of course, who is just a freak. So fast, so clean, never stops. It has been said many times before, but it's amazing how well he trains.
- Watts, who made a better showing than the previous drill. Presented well, got plenty of the ball, worked hard, and took a good contested mark over Bate and Joel Mac (I think). Still played half-forward, with Dunn (still repping the black mo) playing in the square for their team.
- Trengove's awesome don't-argue on Moloney (no mean feat), and just his balance, poise and kicking skills in general.
- Strauss, although admittedly playing loose man in defence, had his kicking boots on and was hitting some excellent long targets. Here's hoping he can step up to AFL level and release Grimes to the middle a lot more.
- Bail, whose run-and-carry was excellent. I like the way he always runs as far as he can before kicking - the proverbial "80 metre player".
- Dunn, who got stuck into LJ for ignoring him as a handball option - Jurrah instead tried to take on two defenders, and Dunny wasn't happy.
- Rookies Evans, Lawrence and Johnston were amongst the play and didn't look too out of place, especially Johnston the ranga, who seems to be filling the shoes of Cheney quite nicely.
- Davey looks to have overcome his leg injury nicely, and was speeding around the place hitting 20-cent pieces at 50 metres, as he tends to do.

Apparently Bradley Green was announced as captain to the playing group before the session... I didn't see that bit.

Who else was there and can give a report? There were a fair few people there, many of whom looked like they might have a presence around here.

The floor is now open for questions...

Great write up, DR! Thanks for taking the time to put it together.

Was Sam Blease playing as a running half back in that full-ground drill?

I think so, Spirit, but I can't remember clearly. From what I did see of him during the session, i was impressed with his willingness to take on the play and attempt to 'break the lines'. It didn't always work (he needs more size) but the effort was there, as was the speed.

Thanks dcrock.

I get a bit worried about Tappy, it seems as though every second training session he is sitting out or walking laps. Anyway, I was under the impression that he put in a full session with the main group last week, any idea why he wasn't participating today?

Thanks dcrock.

I get a bit worried about Tappy, it seems as though every second training session he is sitting out or walking laps. Anyway, I was under the impression that he put in a full session with the main group last week, any idea why he wasn't participating today?

No idea SA, he didn't look inhibited in any way, and as I said he was running laps - at probably 80-90%. My theory is that he's missed a number of sessions early and so is now catching up in terms of a fitness base - same as Wonnaeamirri and Martin, who were also running laps after the first few drills. I reckon (and hope) that they're just easing Tappy into it a bit so that he doesn't break down again somehow.

Agree dcrock. From what I saw they were just managing the training loads of some of the injury prone players. I even saw Sylvia stay for a few extra run throughs before joining the main group. The drill when they were kicking the ball over the back was executed really well some good skills in Bate, Green, Sylvia and Grimes. A little disappointed in Watts though, couple of missed handballs, kicks dropping short. Spent a lot of time doing push ups.

thanks crock
any news on petterd?
im also pardoning my ignorance as im not sure who the SME is

Pardon my ignorance, but who's SME?

The nickname SME was coined by Supermacado. It stand for the Stefan Martin Experience. It refers to Martin seemingly playing a different position every five minutes. I don't know if the 'experience' means how Martin is getting experience in lots of possies or if it means it's a different experience for spectators to see a player played in so many possies.

thanks crock
any news on petterd?
im also pardoning my ignorance as im not sure who the SME is

Petterd looked pretty good, not on fire but he didn't seem to have any problems with that shoulder... hopefully should be right to go early in the season. I reckon he may get a few games at Casey to get back up to speed after so long out.

I think with a few of the guys who didn't participate it's more about managing their load than it is anything to do with injury. Guys like Tapscott, Gawn and Fitzy who have missed a bit through injury are being managed with kid gloves so to speak. We don't need them in Rd 1 2011, we need them to play until 2020!

Wonna is on a fitness program after missing a fair portion of the pre-season due to his dad, and then Maurice Rioli passing. He spent a fair bit of time up on Tiwi.

Haven't heard anything about Cook in the last few training things ive read both here and on demonology over the past few weeks? Anyone shed some light?

He was doing full training, which is a good sign, but IMO still looks a bit out of place, both physically and mentally. Give him some time.

How did Gysberts, Rivers and the captain go?

Didn't really notice Rivers that much; I think Gysberts may have been on a reduced load and not part of the match simluation drills; Greeny did what Greeny does - just presenting time after time, taking strong grabs, leading from the front and by example.

Thanks for the report.

A little disappointed in Watts though, couple of missed handballs, kicks dropping short. Spent a lot of time doing push ups.

I thought Watts trained really well, especially in the match simulation drills. He presented well and was a real focal point. You may have missed much of the session as Collingwood started to train half way through ours.

We know that Watts is a fantastic kick, so don't be too perturbed by a couple of errant passes.

I think Gysberts may have been on a reduced load and not part of the match simluation drills;

He was on a reduced load, but he did take part in some match simulation drills. He really stood out to me as he has a knack of getting the footy. Twice on the 50 metre arc running towards goals he sold the dummy to an opponent. The first time he successfully spotted a target (Sylvia) and the second time he slotted the goal from 45.

I really really like Gysberts as a player. He's a very clever decision maker. He's behind others in the body development stakes, but is a great height and finds the footy easily.

No idea SA, he didn't look inhibited in any way, and as I said he was running laps - at probably 80-90%. My theory is that he's missed a number of sessions early and so is now catching up in terms of a fitness base - same as Wonnaeamirri and Martin, who were also running laps after the first few drills. I reckon (and hope) that they're just easing Tappy into it a bit so that he doesn't break down again somehow.

Thanks mate, that sounds about right. Appreciate the report and responses.