ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Was down at Freo Oval this morning, and below is what I noted (in no particular order). I heard some older bloke who was also watching, say to his mate, "This is the hardest I've seen 'em train this early, in the history of the Fremantle Football Club. They're at full intensity already." They did skills drills, then sprints, then broke into forwards, mids, backs and did more drills, then practiced set plays, then went into match practice. (Yes I was there for a while.... :o )

1. Haddrill joined in full training - everything. He looked fit and fine with only two rings of tape around his knee. During set-plays he took the FB role, with McPharlin just a little further out.

2. JLo looked pretty good. He also had just the two rings of tape around his knee and he ran and kicked freely during the drills, but came aside and did sprints with Taz, Crowley, Thornton, Gilmore and Collard during the match hit-out.

3. Warnock's nickname is Sticks. During the match prac he tapped a beautiful one down, which Belly roved at full tilt and put through the middle. :thumbsu: He's certainly a lot, lot bigger than when he arrived 14 months ago, but is still very skinny. He'd get murdered by Cox, Everitt, Lade - he must thank his lucky stars that he's on the same team as Sandi!

4. Solly is a big bloke, but not fat. He ran hard and was training with the forwards.

5. Crowley still has that huge brace on his leg, but was running and doing everything up until the actual match.

6. Hase looks sharp, fit, healthy, hungry - worked harder than anyone out there today I thought. Just pushed himself and pushed himself and pushed himself some more.

7. Chris Smith is bloody big for an 18 year old. :thumbsu:

8. Brock O'Brien is pretty big bodied also, but looks quite unfit compared to the other blokes. But he's coming back from a bad hamstring injury isn't he? He did some skills work with Blackie and the other rookies, and then ran laps with Foster. Well actually got lapped by Foster who appears to be a running machine!

9. I don't know if Foster is carrying an injury, but apart from some handball stuff away from the main group, all he did was run. And run, and run, and run. He sprinted laps. Seriously I mean sprinted. Lap after lap and hardly looked out of breath at all. 50-sec laps of Freo Oval. He's fast and he's fit... Smith and Rumble had been doing drills with him, but they disappeared (into the gym I suspect), but he just kept running. Then O'Brien went in and Foster kept running.

10. Collard stood aside with Malaxos - and Stav talked to him the whole time pointing stuff out. Then he did some running with Stockden, then the other sprinters joined in. Taz game him a slap on the back and a "let's go CC" while they were running.

11. Mourish joined in everything, with both Harvey and malaxos calling out to him to keep at it, good work, run over there, stand there, stay with him. It was only during the match that he stood aside with malaxos, who again appeared to talk to him the whole time, pointing stuff out. he needs to slim down a bit, then add some muscle and he looks like he'll be a bolter in another season or two.

12. Blackie did handball drills with the rookie group, then did some running on his own. Didn't join in with any of the kicking stuff or any other training. Just kept up the running.

13. Walker looks bigger, fitter and more defined. More than once I looked and thought - who is that guy? Reckon he knows it's his last roll of the dice with his contract up and a lot of others over-taking him. Even if he doesn't play, he will keep pressure on the guys playing each week.

14. Thornton looks proppy, sore and only joined in some of the skills but not the match prac. He'll be behind the 8-ball at Rd 1.

15. Sandi - looks big but lean if that makes sense, fit and firing. During the set-plays he received the ball on the HFF and fired off a 40m daisy-cutter which hit Murph on the lead on the chest. Then in the next play, he tapped it, ran to space and marked 30m out. He's looking good!

16. Taz joined in the skills, the forwards work, the sprints, the set-plays (but didn't have a shot when he got the ball, just grubber-kicked it back to the coaches), but went and did sprints during the match prac. He's not at full load, but he must be getting close.

17. No sign of Schammer at all.

When they broke into their groups, it was like this:

Forwards: Mourish, Murphy, Solly, Campbell, bellie, Pav, Gilmore, Taz, Wiz
Mids: Cook, Duff, Browne, Des, Johnno, Macca, Josh, Hase, Ibbo, Drum, Dunn, Crowley, MCarr, Webster, Peake with Sandi, JLo and Warnock.
Backs: well they were quite a way awayso I couldn't see for sure, but I think it's safe to assume it was most everyone else.

When they were doing set-plays they started with Murph and Taz in the square, Pav at CHF and Kiwi in the pocket, and then rotated them. Harvey was standing on the goal line yelling instructions, then told them, "quick the ball's coming in, you work out your structures", which Pav took control of (as you would expect).

That's it for today. :)

Thanks for the update IP. Fridays session was reported as being of extremely high intensity, so they have probably taken it up a couple of levels then will taper off for the nab cup.

It seems JLo has improved considerably in the last fortnight, he still has 2 months to get right for round one so really positive signs there.

The thing that works in Warnocks favour if he does debut in 07 is that there aren't too many really good ruckmen in the competition. Cox, White, Lade and Everitt are the stand outs, the rest are mediocre.

Did Black run laps at full pace?

What would we do without you IP.

Your work is much appreciated by those of us who for one reason or another cannot get down for training.

Thanks

Did Black run laps at full pace?

Appeared to be running at pretty much full pace, certainly wasn't jogging or taking it easy.

How is my man Ryley Dunn looking?

Fit, strong, injury-free. His time is coming to show what he can do.

What would we do without you IP.

Your work is much appreciated by those of us who for one reason or another cannot get down for training.

Thanks

Cheers. :) Happy to oblige. :thumbsu:

Good to see that Dunn is training with the midfield group, he looked to be in great shape when I went down about a fortnight ago. I was disappointed when the club didn't trade him in 2005, hopefully I am proven wrong on that one.

When they broke into their groups, it was like this:

Forwards: Mourish, Murphy, Solly, Campbell, bellie, Pav, Gilmore, Taz, Wiz
Mids: Cook, Duff, Browne, Des, Johnno, Macca, Josh, Hase, Ibbo, Drum, Dunn, Crowley, MCarr, Webster, Peake with Sandi, JLo and Warnock.
Backs: well they were quite a way awayso I couldn't see for sure, but I think it's safe to assume it was most everyone else.

Interesting. Very interesting.

Also, is anyone else surprised at how far along Haddrill appears to be this preseason? Good surprised of course.

Did Drum train IP? If not, do we know what is wrong with him?

If Haddrill was at FB, and McPharlin was infront of him, did you notice who was filling CHB since Johnson is being groomed for the midfield?

I was pleasantly surprised with Haddrill's fitness Captain Pump.

Yep, Drummy was there with the mids. At one stage when they were doing set plays, he had a quick run on Pav. He seemed to read the ball well coming in, and even beat him once with a nicely timed push off!

ALso Taz wasn't taking it easy on the young blokes. At one stage he wemt for a lead and had Copping minding him. Just as he took off and Copping was trying to keep his eye on both him and the ball, Taz gave him a nudge just as he was off balance and Copping went sprawling and rolling along the ground. He gave Mourish a nice nudge too, but while he went flying, he kept his feet. Great education for the young guys.

Grover and Parker were the other two big bodies down back, but the set play was more about bringing it quick and fast "up the guts" to the forwards, so they were really just taking turns marking the incoming high ball and then starting the play off.

Cheers IP.

You should head over to the worst and give those hacks some tips.

Top report and much appreciated!!

I am guessing that it goes without saying that our man Pav looked superb as usual!

Yep, Drummy was there with the mids. At one stage when they were doing set plays, he had a quick run on Pav. He seemed to read the ball well coming in, and even beat him once with a nicely timed push off!

ALso Taz wasn't taking it easy on the young blokes. At one stage he wemt for a lead and had Copping minding him. Just as he took off and Copping was trying to keep his eye on both him and the ball, Taz gave him a nudge just as he was off balance and Copping went sprawling and rolling along the ground. He gave Mourish a nice nudge too, but while he went flying, he kept his feet. Great education for the young guys.

Grover and Parker were the other two big bodies down back, but the set play was more about bringing it quick and fast "up the guts" to the forwards, so they were really just taking turns marking the incoming high ball and then starting the play off.

Yes, great training report. Did you think Taz was running comfortably (meaning any probs with his shins).

Cheers for the prompt reply IP. Drum and Copping didn't leave the gym when I went down less than a fortnight ago.

If they are trying to get Solomon to shed some kilos and he doesn't manage in this weather, then he never will.

By nipper
Yes, great training report. Did you think Taz was running comfortably (meaning any probs with his shins).

He looked comfortable running - no probs there. But wasn't kicking much, just lightly, and didn't take part in full on match practice. He's nearly there but not quite.

Did Haddrill play FB in the match practise as well??

Was Bell at a pocket of HF?

Yes, but at the opposite end of the gorund from Pav, on Murph I think, but it was a long way away from where I was watching at that point.

Bell HFF-ish. Just on / around / inside 50.

the boys are looking really good. sandi seems to be shaping up for a great season which i think will better his efforts last year. taz's strength is surely going to add a new dimension to our forward line. Your right about smith he looks very strong for a 18 yr old and has a very fit look about him (looks taller than his 183cm on the website) but i haven't seen him train yet he just does some skills and heads in the gym is he carrying an injury? i'm beggining to think he could be a very good pick up. also i think there will be big things from drum this year.

Thanks IP!!!

I wonder if we are going to see the transformation of bell into a HFF/Mid as he enters into last years of footy.

when do they normally announce the practise match?

I might have to take work off early to come and watch :) I can't stand the lack of football much longer!