Quigley

Brisbane Lions
I went down to training today for a look and thought I would give a little bit of a run down. Apologies first because as I am not a Sydney supporter I did have a bit of trouble identifying the players out there especially the younger guys most of whom were a complete mystery to me.

I was a little disappointed that most of the senior guys did not train. Missing that I recognised were Barry, Goodes, Hall (appeared early but did not train), Jolly (warmed up I think but sat as soon as the running started and then disappeared), Malceski and O’Loughlin. Craig Bolton did a hard running session but did not participate in the drills. Bolton looks cut. LRT did some running around the oval and I think did participate in the kicking drills before leaving with the other talls.

The training was pretty low key and not as sharp as I am sure the coaches would have wanted. I think the absence of most of the senior players was telling. Roos was there today and ran the drills. After the warm up the players ran a 3ish km time trial (everyone counted on the way in and given the times I would expect it to be under 3kms), then did some kicking drills, did some kick in drills (invariably short and to the pocket and work from there) with focus being on sweeping the ball quickly up the field into the forward line before finishing with a short match. The talls left after the kicking drills and did not participate in the second half of the training.

As mentioned I did have a bit of trouble identifying the players although with a bit of help from skankdanker who was there I did pick up a few. This was how I saw them:

Ablett – horrible moustache. Looks very solid though and will certainly be a physical presence for you this year.

Barlow – seemed okay and moved around nicely but didn’t do anything that stood out for me. Still a fringe 22 player I expect although we will see how he steps up in the NAB.

Bird – came home mid pack in the time trial and seemed to be putting in in all of the drills. He was generally clean and his kicking was as good as anyone out on the park. You guys want the ball in his hands. In the practice match though he was really struggling and hunched over to regain his breath at each stoppage. He really did labour through the match at the end of training. Accordingly I think he still might struggle to play a huge number of minutes through the midfield this year and it might be another year before we see him really taking the AFL by storm. Great prospect all the same.

J Bolton – played and did okay without really dominating. Was going about 80% I reckon.

Kirk – see Bolton.

Brabazon – seems to move pretty nicely and looks like a player. Not the best kick in the world.

Crouch – looks fit and looked one of the better guys out there.

Currie – I can’t see him not being the number 2 ruck. He looks taller than his listed height of 200cm (especially compared to White) and moves very nicely. Did pretty well in the time trial, got around the field in the kicking drills and gave off nicely when he got the ball. Skills seem good and he has put on quite a bit of weight since last year. Still not huge but certainly holding his own now I think.

Grundy – from what I saw today I would be shocked if Grundy is not in your team come round 1. In the drill moving the ball from the kick in the players generally looked to use Grundy at every opportunity at HF. He looks fit, is up and moving well and takes a good mark.

Jack – probably not quite as polished with the ball as Bird but his disposal was good and he still has that bit better tank. He was another who worked hard throughout the session and looks cherry ripe. With Crouch looking like he might be back up and going it could well free up Jack from tagging roles and I think his hard running style would help the midfield. As mentioned his kicking pretty good today.

Johnson – I like the look of this kid and think Adelaide will be sorry for passing on him when all is said and done. He is a great mover around the field and has a very nice burst of pace. Today though he had more than a couple of lapses in concentration and spilt a fair few marks that he should have taken. Still he knows where to go and that is a good skill to have on its own.

Mattner – took half the kick ins and generally his kicks from the kick ins and around the ground were pin point. He did run himself into trouble a couple of times though.

McVeigh – was one of the more impressive guys out there. Was a real leader out on the field directing the younger guys and giving advice when warranted. He ran the session out well.

Moore – Did most of the drills but worked separately on some ball on the ground drills at the end. He is a nugget and seems much like last year. I think he might have brought up the rear in the time trial but don’t quote me on that.

Dan O’Keefe – was a guy I wanted to have a look at but I had no idea who he was unfortunately.

Richards – worked hard but was a little scrappy.

Shaw – I have never been a fan but for me he was the most impressive guy out there today. I am putting it nicely when I say that his kicking has never been a strength but it is currently looking much better than I have ever seen it. He and Mattner slit the kick ins and Rhyce was hitting his targets as well if not better than Mattner. He looked the sharpest guy out there and ran very hard throughout the session with very nice pace. He is looking like he will be a very nice pick up for you guys.

Veszpremi – got lost in the traffic a bit for me. When I did see him he was hitting targets pretty well and moving pretty nicely. He and Bird are built very similarly and from a distance are hard tell apart. They even move a bit alike and both had trouble running out the session. I can’t see him in the middle too much this year.

White – he is a big unit but I just don’t think he is tall enough to be a ruck. Apparently he has been working a bit with the backs and this might be where he ends up. He was doing it hard in the time trial but despite being at the back he was pretty close to others and I thought he performed admirably. He moves around the ground pretty well for a guy his size.

Gilchrist – very light but moves nicely and can kick a ball. He is a fair way off though.

Orreal – another who despite having very nice height is a fair way off physically. His concentration when marking needs to improve a bit as well as he drops too many at the moment.

Pyke – despite the hype I can’t see him being ready to play this year. Despite being listed as the same height as Currie he looks shorter and I would think him under his listed height of 200cm. He is a big boy though and has a very big set of shoulders on him. I think he might have trimmed down a bit from his rugby days but there is still a hell of a lot of him. In ruck drills at the moment he does not get full extension on his taps and tends to tap the ball in front of him at about a 70% angle. Maybe this is deliberate and might work in the boundary throws where he can get body contact but he will struggle with that style in the centre bounces. During warm ups he was working on his marking uncontested and he struggled a lot catching the ball and then delivering it back to the man. Interestingly though both his marking and his kicking improved markedly during the kicking drill when it was a little bit more dynamic. Both marking and kicking wise he is still a fair way off I think.

Nipper, Dipper, Nippo, Dippo??? – young brown haired guy. A little bit surprisingly he won the time trial. He has a bit of an awkward running style but he covers some ground. His kicking is okay but could use a little work. He covered a lot of ground at training and was another who was a bit knackered by the end of the session.

Young indigenous guy – moves very nicely and seems to do everything well except kick the ball at the moment. He needs to flatten out his kicking but he has a lot going for him.

I went down to training today for a look and thought I would give a little bit of a run down. Apologies first because as I am not a Sydney supporter I did have a bit of trouble identifying the players out there especially the younger guys most of whom were a complete mystery to me.

Craig Bolton did a hard running session but did not participate in the drills. Coming back from a little pre season work im fine with that, his fitness is the key, no neccissity for a man of his expeaarance to do drill work will still gaining fitness.

LRT did some running around the oval and I think did participate in the kicking drills before leaving with the other talls. Would like to have a report on contested marking drills

As mentioned I did have a bit of trouble identifying the players although with a bit of help from skankdanker who was there I did pick up a few. This was how I saw them:

Ablett – horrible moustache. Looks very solid though and will certainly be a physical presence for you this year.

Barlow – seemed okay and moved around nicely but didn’t do anything that stood out for me. Still a fringe 22 player I expect although we will see how he steps up in the NAB. Moving around well is good but we need him to break out of his shell too.

Bird – came home mid pack in the time trial and seemed to be putting in in all of the drills. He was generally clean and his kicking was as good as anyone out on the park. You guys want the ball in his hands. In the practice match though he was really struggling and hunched over to regain his breath at each stoppage. He really did labour through the match at the end of training. Accordingly I think he still might struggle to play a huge number of minutes through the midfield this year and it might be another year before we see him really taking the AFL by storm. Great prospect all the same. I like the bit about the kicking, was not the greatest last year but if he has been doing the work fantastic, while it sounds like his fitness was a battle it does not appear he was shirking the work. Sould be right to go for the start of the season.

J Bolton – played and did okay without really dominating. Was going about 80% I reckon.
Kirk – see Bolton.

Brabazon – seems to move pretty nicely and looks like a player. Not the best kick in the world. Good and Good

Crouch – looks fit and looked one of the better guys out there. Excellent, Crouch knows he needs to be one of the best out there all pre season to ensure a game.

Currie – I can’t see him not being the number 2 ruck. He looks taller than his listed height of 200cm (especially compared to White) and moves very nicely. Did pretty well in the time trial, got around the field in the kicking drills and gave off nicely when he got the ball. Skills seem good and he has put on quite a bit of weight since last year. Still not huge but certainly holding his own now I think. Thats good news, big men take a little time to work and if hes building up well good.

Grundy – from what I saw today I would be shocked if Grundy is not in your team come round 1. In the drill moving the ball from the kick in the players generally looked to use Grundy at every opportunity at HF. He looks fit, is up and moving well and takes a good mark. Working in the forward line, possibly answering where we may see him this year.

Jack – probably not quite as polished with the ball as Bird but his disposal was good and he still has that bit better tank. He was another who worked hard throughout the session and looks cherry ripe. With Crouch looking like he might be back up and going it could well free up Jack from tagging roles and I think his hard running style would help the midfield. As mentioned his kicking pretty good today. sounds promising., though his kicking level is now behind Bird?

Johnson – I like the look of this kid and think Adelaide will be sorry for passing on him when all is said and done. He is a great mover around the field and has a very nice burst of pace. Today though he had more than a couple of lapses in concentration and spilt a fair few marks that he should have taken. Still he knows where to go and that is a good skill to have on its own.

Mattner – took half the kick ins and generally his kicks from the kick ins and around the ground were pin point. He did run himself into trouble a couple of times though.

McVeigh – was one of the more impressive guys out there. Was a real leader out on the field directing the younger guys and giving advice when warranted. He ran the session out well.

Moore – Did most of the drills but worked separately on some ball on the ground drills at the end. He is a nugget and seems much like last year. I think he might have brought up the rear in the time trial but don’t quote me on that. Thats Moore ok, burst of speed and strength, one of these guys whos never going to win the time trial. Ball on the ground work so we can expect to see him under packs across forwar-Half Forward Line.

Dan O’Keefe – was a guy I wanted to have a look at but I had no idea who he was unfortunately.

Richards – worked hard but was a little scrappy.

Shaw – I have never been a fan but for me he was the most impressive guy out there today. I am putting it nicely when I say that his kicking has never been a strength but it is currently looking much better than I have ever seen it. He and Mattner slit the kick ins and Rhyce was hitting his targets as well if not better than Mattner. He looked the sharpest guy out there and ran very hard throughout the session with very nice pace. He is looking like he will be a very nice pick up for you guys. Good news that it sounds he is prepared to work hard in the club to work his disposal.

Veszpremi – got lost in the traffic a bit for me. When I did see him he was hitting targets pretty well and moving pretty nicely. He and Bird are built very similarly and from a distance are hard tell apart. They even move a bit alike and both had trouble running out the session. I can’t see him in the middle too much this year. Remembering that very little pre and early seaosn work last year and body management issiues mean he may be a small forward this year, not a bad thing.

White – he is a big unit but I just don’t think he is tall enough to be a ruck. Apparently he has been working a bit with the backs and this might be where he ends up. He was doing it hard in the time trial but despite being at the back he was pretty close to others and I thought he performed admirably. He moves around the ground pretty well for a guy his size. Good to hear

Gilchrist – very light but moves nicely and can kick a ball. He is a fair way off though. Good to hear the skills are there. He is a work in progress.

Orreal – another who despite having very nice height is a fair way off physically. His concentration when marking needs to improve a bit as well as he drops too many at the moment. This is a worry. Despite taking longer on big men Jake is a second year rookie and for the sake of his career needs to be looking sharper at training than the sounds of this.

Pyke – despite the hype I can’t see him being ready to play this year. Despite being listed as the same height as Currie he looks shorter and I would think him under his listed height of 200cm. He is a big boy though and has a very big set of shoulders on him. I think he might have trimmed down a bit from his rugby days but there is still a hell of a lot of him. In ruck drills at the moment he does not get full extension on his taps and tends to tap the ball in front of him at about a 70% angle. Maybe this is deliberate and might work in the boundary throws where he can get body contact but he will struggle with that style in the centre bounces. During warm ups he was working on his marking uncontested and he struggled a lot catching the ball and then delivering it back to the man. Interestingly though both his marking and his kicking improved markedly during the kicking drill when it was a little bit more dynamic. Both marking and kicking wise he is still a fair way off I think. No time to think just do, works for a rugby man

Nipper, Dipper, Nippo, Dippo??? – young brown haired guy. A little bit surprisingly he won the time trial. He has a bit of an awkward running style but he covers some ground. His kicking is okay but could use a little work. He covered a lot of ground at training and was another who was a bit knackered by the end of the session. Liz, over to you

Young indigenous guy – moves very nicely and seems to do everything well except kick the ball at the moment. He needs to flatten out his kicking but he has a lot going for him. Sounds Like Matty O'Dwyer

Thanks for the report Quigley, it is appreciated you making the effort for rival fans.

Nipper, Dipper, Nippo, Dippo??? – young brown haired guy. A little bit surprisingly he won the time trial. He has a bit of an awkward running style but he covers some ground. His kicking is okay but could use a little work. He covered a lot of ground at training and was another who was a bit knackered by the end of the session.

It could be Brendan Murphy. Was this guy over 195cm?

Young indigenous guy – moves very nicely and seems to do everything well except kick the ball at the moment. He needs to flatten out his kicking but he has a lot going for him.

I didnt realise the Swans had a young indigenous guy :confused:

Anyway thats for the in depth report :thumbsu:

Good read mate. You can't infer too much from a single session obviously, but was still a very worthwhile read. Cheers.

I see. How did he get that flattering nickname? :D

He's a lovely boy who loves his Mum and calls his grandparents every week.

Every week his Granny say's "How'd you play young Nicholas?"

He replies: Best On Ground Again Nanna.

Sorry :p

Well Nick did an video interview with Dolly Magazine (Teenage girl magazine for those who dont know) and when asked what was in his pockets he replied with "ME KEYS & ME WALLET" in this cute bogan accent
and if you are ever so lucky to be face to face with Bogan he has the most AMAZING BLUE EYES EVER

He also goes by the name of SEXY SMITH
simply from a poster i made for the ressies grand final in which at the swans club champion dinner he explained to Nat a little drunk that he loved his poster

WE LOVE SEXY BOGAN BLUE EYES SMITH!

OMFG, I can't BELIEVE you don't know who 'Bogan' is.

He is sooooooooooooooooo hotttttttttttttttt

Does that help ;)
Yes, he is, but besides that he is going to be an absolute GUN for us.

Seems to get overlooked in everything and only ever gets random games here and there, but I can't wait till he fills his potential.

Yes, he is, but besides that he is going to be an absolute GUN for us.

Seems to get overlooked in everything and only ever gets random games here and there, but I can't wait till he fills his potential.

Your preaching to the converted b'day girl.

Back during the season....

Smith likely BBB ?

Not seen much of him due to Kalamatta duty

I've had a man crush for a while Duds.

Absolutely no doubt in my mind that they'll find a spot on the list for him next year.

A couple of more pre-seasons to build up his body, he already has a great tank, plus work on his skills and he'll slot in beautifully when Kirky and Jude retire.

IMHO, fast forward 3 or 4 years and Bird and Smith will be in our engine room farming it out to McVeigh, Vespremi, Jack and whatever outside midfielder we can find in the next couple of seasons.

I'm excited anyway :p

Thanks Quigley, great read, although Im not a fan of the way some individuals these days seem to set their own training agendas, at the very least should be doing their 'individual' training on the same ground at the same time!

I'll add my thanks for the report Quigley. It is an effort to go to to write that up for us given you're not a Swans fan.

You make no mention of Murphy. Is that because he's one you don't recognise? In which case, of those you don't recognise, do you remember anyone who was pretty tall (about White's height), good endurance, very very quick for his size but with probably still an awkward kicking style?

The news on Shaw is very encouraging. I think many Swans fans are going to be pleasantly surprised by him. He was well on his way to becoming a pretty good player before he did his knee a couple of years ago. And then in the first half of last season - a season and a half after the knee injury - he was one of the Pies' better, more consistent players. I think his onfield performances in 2008 were somewhat overshadowed by the off-field dramas late in the season.