Fevaloution

Draftee
Sep 26, 2005
Was just wanting some assistance,
Would a VFL club give me a look in to train with the club like at a preseason.

Me and a Mate play soccer at the highest level (under A-League) and are both very athletic and would love to give footy a go, but want to atleast have a go at the highest level that we possibly can ( obviously you cant walk into an AFL team anymore)

Is this a possibility? Who would be the best to contact?

Thank you in advance

Moving to London and love Aussie Rules?

Then the Putney Magpies Aussie Rules is the place to be in season 2010.

We are now currently on the search for new footy talent to get on board with the club next season.

Considered the most well liked and most social club in South-West London, the Putney Magpies have three teams competing in the AFL London competition with a team to suit all levels.

Pre-season training for both clubs will commence every Sunday at 1pm from February 7th in South Park, Parsons Green. In the Summer months, training is every Tuesday/Thursday at 6.30pm from April until August (depending on finals) and games are usually played every Saturday.

If you want a bogan with a mullet yelling at you either at training or during a game then I am sorry don't come to Putney we don't have that culture. Fortunately, Putney are a little more laid back and well suited to Aussie Rules in London. So if you are an Aussie, British, European, Kiwi, South African, an Eskimo or from any other place not mentioned, we will make you feel welcome and guarantee you will have fun.

To find out more about being part of the best Aussie Rules Football Club in London, then email play@putneymagpies.com for more details.

www.putneymagpies.com

Moving to London and love Aussie Rules?

Then the Putney Magpies Aussie Rules is the place to be in season 2010.

We are now currently on the search for new footy talent to get on board with the club next season.

Considered the most well liked and most social club in South-West London, the Putney Magpies have three teams competing in the AFL London competition with a team to suit all levels.

Pre-season training for both clubs will commence every Sunday at 1pm from February 7th in South Park, Parsons Green. In the Summer months, training is every Tuesday/Thursday at 6.30pm from April until August (depending on finals) and games are usually played every Saturday.

If you want a bogan with a mullet yelling at you either at training or during a game then I am sorry don't come to Putney we don't have that culture. Fortunately, Putney are a little more laid back and well suited to Aussie Rules in London. So if you are an Aussie, British, European, Kiwi, South African, an Eskimo or from any other place not mentioned, we will make you feel welcome and guarantee you will have fun.

To find out more about being part of the best Aussie Rules Football Club in London, then email play@putneymagpies.com for more details.

www.putneymagpies.com

our captain of my local team played for putney and had a blast. if i ever go over there ill be sure to head down for a run

Get in contact with the standalone clubs where their is more opportunity.

Get in contact with Frankston Dolphins or Port Melbourne FC (9646 2094). There are 55 spots on the list and probably your best bet.

our captain of my local team played for putney and had a blast. if i ever go over there ill be sure to head down for a run

No worries champ... if any mates are planning to come across to London then send them our way.... who was your captain??

Get in contact with the standalone clubs where their is more opportunity.

Get in contact with Frankston Dolphins or Port Melbourne FC (9646 2094). There are 55 spots on the list and probably your best bet.

Yep.

E-mailing all the clubs and explaining your situation will draw some replys too. Sending any video footage with it is a big plus. I did this and got a response from around 8 or 9 clubs.

Good Luck.

Are they actually being serious? A bloke walking off from a soccer comp thinking he can walk into the highest league in Victoria with out (assuming) they don't know how to kick 50m, handball with the right and left, bounce a ball, mark a ball or know simple game play tactics? I understand that they may be athletic but what's the point of running 20km up and down a field yet not know where to be at the right moment

AFL clubs bring blokes half way across the world from Ireland who've never kicked a Sherrin in their lives, so surely Australian-born stand-out athletes (who might have had at least some rudimentary footy experience, and might at least understand some of the tactics and commonalities of the game) can get a go in the VFL.

I believe the sport you are referring to is called Gaelic football which is somewhat very similar to Australian Rules except the use of a round ball.

Soccer however, unless this guy was a goal keeper, would have no ball handling skills.

Plus kicking a soccer ball then kicking a Football (Australian Rules) is two different motions and uses completely different muscles. And in the VFL the bodies are conditioned for a bit more.. physical contact

I would be astounded to see a soccer player walk into the AFL let alone VFL with no prior background

I'm guessing from the fact that this guys name is Fevolution, or something of the sort, and he has been a member of the Bigfooty forums since 2005, that this won't be the first time he has ever been involved in AFL. And, where in his post did it say that he couldn't kick the ball 50m, handball with both hands, bounce the ball and so on.

The part where he says he plays in a soccer league 1 tier below A-Leauge. By playing at the high standard, I couldn't imagine he would of had much experiance (or if any) playing Aussie rules as he grew up.

I'm happy that a soccer player wan'ts to give AFL ago. But I think in all honesty, VFL is a tad ambitious

Yeah. I knew someone a few years back who hadn't played for a couple of years. Got a VFL pre-season and listed.

VFL Reserves aint that good a standard. If this guy has an A league youth soccer background he should be competent enough for VFL Ressies initially.

The part where he says he plays in a soccer league 1 tier below A-Leauge. By playing at the high standard, I couldn't imagine he would of had much experiance (or if any) playing Aussie rules as he grew up.

I'm happy that a soccer player wan'ts to give AFL ago. But I think in all honesty, VFL is a tad ambitious

Just because you set low goals and standards, doesnt mean everyone else has to.

Maybe I should aspire to your standards and become an arm chair heckler that sits around bigfooty.com.au all day?>??

Excellent idea. Is it possible to sit on bigfooty. Does each forum have arm chairs. Good thing they have arm chairs.

Yeah. I knew someone a few years back who hadn't played for a couple of years. Got a VFL pre-season and listed.

VFL Reserves aint that good a standard. If this guy has an A league youth soccer background he should be competent enough for VFL Ressies initially.

Are you serious???

I am part of one of the stand alone clubs and we just cut 20 players before Christmas who all had 5-10+ years of high quality metro footy behind them and still couldnt make our list of 55.

You are assuming alot to think VFL reserves would take just any "athlete".

I would recommend they rock down to an ammos club with a club 18 and just start somewhere where they can have a kick, get a game and see what happens!

Remember that with so many AFL affiliated VFL clubs there were some former AFL players playing VFL reserves last year because of the strong lists some VFL clubs now have!

Egan at Williamstown was playing twos!

Are you serious???

I am part of one of the stand alone clubs and we just cut 20 players before Christmas who all had 5-10+ years of high quality metro footy behind them and still couldnt make our list of 55.

You are assuming alot to think VFL reserves would take just any "athlete".

I would recommend they rock down to an ammos club with a club 18 and just start somewhere where they can have a kick, get a game and see what happens!

Remember that with so many AFL affiliated VFL clubs there were some former AFL players playing VFL reserves last year because of the strong lists some VFL clubs now have!

Egan at Williamstown was playing twos!

I must agree with Footyman, I played about 35 reserves games in the VFL from 2003-2005 and never struggled to get a kick, the standard then was not flash and have been told by people who play and are involved at the club still that it has gone backwards since then!

For what it's worth the team I have played fot the last few years (a grade metro) has played Werribee a few times as a last match hitout and I think we beat there 2s by about 110 points! they were a very average football side, I know they just missed the finals but I think it's a pretty good indication of the standard of VFL 2s atm.

If I was this soccer nerd and I was of state league standard at his current sport then I would be sticking to that and trying to get a gig at a proffessional level and/or earn as much $$ as possible at the current level.

For what it's worth I dont think any soccer player has the mental and physical toughness to be of a an elite standard to be able to compete at A grade metro footy let alone senior VFL footy.

Maybe next life pal.

Can someone ban this guy?

Ban me??

For someone who has played over 100 reserves games for Richmond, Essendon and Collingwood, I think that I would have some experience on what it is like to be send to the scrape heap at an early age....

My advice to anyone training with an VFL club, if things dont go your way and you want to keep playing at the highest level possible then consider heading across to the SANFL... Great league, good exposure and well support by the public....

Ban me??

For someone who has played over 100 reserves games for Richmond, Essendon and Collingwood, I think that I would have some experience on what it is like to be send to the scrape heap at an early age....

My advice to anyone training with an VFL club, if things dont go your way and you want to keep playing at the highest level possible then consider heading across to the SANFL... Great league, good exposure and well support by the public....

Well I am not trying to be a ******** or anything and you probably aren't a bad poster, but you should really only post stuff about footy in London in the appropriate places instead of everywhere.

Apologies.... Just trying to complete with some other bigger clubs here in London...

Training with a VFL club