Injury Travis Varcoe - broken thumb

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

I believe Drum has played forward in the past, he may be a chance.

He has...but the club has clearly recruited him as a defender so I think they'll keep it that way.

Has he played at all in the pre-season thus far?

He played the reserves against the pies.

First game in months.

Did ok but not special.

Big call to throw him in AFL off the back of his lack of apre season.

Re: Varcoe - Broken thumb

Has he been elevated?

They don't have to do it til next thursday for him to play in round 1, so they will keep the suspense going i reckon :p

Im sorry to report but i think something is very fishy here i spent monday night with travis i spoke to him for about 2 hours we shook hands and ate dinner with him and he was using a knive and fork quite well and was in no discomfort what so ever his hands were moving very well.He also told me he was right to go. So either he lied and was on the best drugs going around or something has happened on tues.? Sorry for being blunt but i didnt drink on monday night as i had to drive home but Big fozza made up for me :). he is a good guy.

Sure it wasn't his brother? They do look alike. :D

Fish is pretty easy to cut, don't need a lot of force with that thumb!

Geez mate, how hard did you shake his hand? What have you done?

I don't think there's any conspiracy. I'm sure he though it was an insignificant thing. By reports they were suprised when they found out it was borken. They probably thought it was just jarred and nor really that badly.

I played half a season with a broken hand. Just taped it up thinking it was jarred, I was still able to play fine. It was only that after 6 weeks of it not getting better that I bothered to get it checked.

Whats the latest here guys. Any inside word on a return date for Trav?????

Having watched him while the boys were up here in Sydney for an intra-club game he was super impressive and I think he's gonna really come on this year...

Whats the latest here guys. Any inside word on a return date for Trav?????

Having watched him while the boys were up here in Sydney for an intra-club game he was super impressive and I think he's gonna really come on this year...

Still listed as 4-6 weeks away on the club website.

Article on Club website says Travis should be back next week :thumbsu:

Not sure yet whether it will be through the VFL or straight back into the seniors.

or back this week:confused:

To be honest I think they're just covering us as Balme and Bomber made it pretty clearl today they still don't know who will be fit to play.

So my guess is if all the stars come up, then Trav will be an emergency and play in the twos, but if someone pulls out then he will play, maybe?

Wouldn't he need a bit of footy? What he like first up? Maybe a couple of quarters in the V's and in next week.

Why?

There's not much a broken thumb can do to heed your fitness.

Only form really... and I reckon he would be frothing at the mouth to slot back into the 1's and will make the most of the opportunity.

Mark my words, it will be very refreshing to see a Cats side with Travis Varcoe in it. Even if he does fumble it and lose possession just as much as he ever does.

Could really use his speed. Just to freshen up the side a bit, we've looked a bit stoggy this year, particularly in our first halves

Quotes from Neil Balme during the week on Cats TV.

"Medical Room" Round 6
27/4/10

"Travis Varcoe's getting closer. He's probably only a week or two off with that crook thumb."

"Match Committee" Round 6
29/4/10

"And into the squad comes Travis Varcoe recovering from that injured thumb that he had. Really pleased to see Travis back."

One of three things is happening here
1. Deliberate contradiction to create mystery. (I know all clubs do it but seriously why bother? Richmond have bigger problems than T Varcoe.)
2. T Varcoe made a huge and unexpected improvement in two days. (Unlikely.)
3. T Varcoe is genuinely a week or two away from full recovery but could play with pain if needed. (In round 6 against the Tigers?)

I suspect 3 is true and he won't play at either level. So why not reward T Hunt for being in the VFL best last week by naming him as an emergency instead?

Quotes from Neil Balme during the week on Cats TV.

"Medical Room" Round 6
27/4/10

"Travis Varcoe's getting closer. He's probably only a week or two off with that crook thumb."

"Match Committee" Round 6
29/4/10

"And into the squad comes Travis Varcoe recovering from that injured thumb that he had. Really pleased to see Travis back."

One of three things is happening here
1. Deliberate contradiction to create mystery. (I know all clubs do it but seriously why bother? Richmond have bigger problems than T Varcoe.)
2. T Varcoe made a huge and unexpected improvement in two days. (Unlikely.)
3. T Varcoe is genuinely a week or two away from full recovery but could play with pain if needed. (In round 6 against the Tigers?)

I suspect 3 is true and he won't play at either level. So why not reward T Hunt for being in the VFL best last week by naming him as an emergency instead?

You forgot 4...

Balme's talking through his arse and Trav is ready to roar. Break through season for TV. Sit back and enjoy.