Opinion Travis Varcoe

Assuming Varcoe is worth pick 10 in any draft, would you trade him?

• Yes

Votes: 48 39.7%
  • No

Votes: 30 24.8%
  • Get stuffed Meto

Votes: 43 35.5%

Why doesn't Varcoe? How many injuries has Varcoe had the has caused him to miss pre-season training?

He even had shoulder surgery this year.

Well said.Let's not forget if the VFL didn't have the bye when they did Varcoe probably would've played more in the VFL after he came back from the shoulder injury.He should've been put back in the magoos after that Melbourne game but it didn't happen.

BTW meto,I know someone who'd love to meet you if you're ever in WA - his name is Bob :D
He'd love you and your imaginary son.

That was an unbelievable game he played and his takle pressure and implied pressure was fantastic....got a horrible case of the fumples a the end of the year. We need his confidence to be up for him to be influential though

Well said.Let's not forget if the VFL didn't have the bye when they did Varcoe probably would've played more in the VFL after he came back from the shoulder injury.He should've been put back in the magoos after that Melbourne game but it didn't happen.

BTW meto,I know someone who'd love to meet you if you're ever in WA - his name is Bob :D
He'd love you and your imaginary son.

He looked unbelievably fit in this years NAB in the games over here. Just looked electric and very focused , covered the ground with ease and looked set for a huge season.
Then comes the shoulder and the obvious set back . This followed a very interrupted 2012 so no wonder his confidence is at an all time low.
I do agree he could have been managed better this season and should have spent more time in the 2's , that's down to the MC.
His best is elite but come 2014 he should start like everyone else and earn his selection each week , same should go for everyone.

What pisses me off are the fair weather supporters who constantly bey for blood , glad they aren't in my corner when times get tough.
We see on the VFL thread predictions of now being in the wilderness for 10 years coz our kids are now shit.....FFS have some faith.

I have been a Cats supporter since I could walk and that's well over 50 years. We have completely changed the paradigm when compared to the 90's both on and off the field. May that keep on happening.
Bottom line is we came so close and will finish a noble third - not bad for a team which played 8 players 22 or under this year.
Look at Freos list profile , they are ideally placed with Pavlich and Sandilands almost , but not quite gone, and a strong supporting cast featuring in the all important 23- 27 age bracket. Hawks are similar. Look at the absolute smashing Freo gave the Swans - I wonder if they are all beying for blood and writing off their kids?

Time to mature a bit and realise that we have been rebuilding with an eye on 2015 , we are not the 2007 juggernaut but we are still playing very , very competitive footy and going deep into the Finals whilst on that journey.
What doesn't kill you makes you stronger , let's have some faith in our Boys and our Organisation people , leave the BS to other less worthy Clubs. Stay classy Catters !! :D

We had the current Freo formula in 07, till we thought we needed to fix what wasn't broke....we'll go small and fast!..... but the game is won in the packs and the flooded areas, it's a tough and hard team that'll win out especially in finals.
AFL isn't the same as an Olympic 100mtrs, flooding means even more contested ball these days!

That's why the above post is laughable, Varcoe is useless against physicality, he's not able at AFL levels even VFL he only got 8 possessions, honestly he should be playing soccer!

Wells also has to consider the consequences recruiting all these light framed guys.[/quote]
Like Motlop you mean? :rolleyes:

No, like Motlop you mean!....you just don't want to be a realist like the rest, get used to finals flops like the last two seasons,....keep beating the Varcoe drum, you'll never learn!

I'd go with 3 genuine smalls going through the middle and forward, Christensen, Motlop and Stokes, and on proven lack of output no Varcoe, he should be traded.

No, like Motlop you mean!....you just don't want to be a realist like the rest, get used to finals flops like the last two seasons,....keep beating the Varcoe drum, you'll never learn!

Why react like that?

In case you haven't noticed the draft is full of skinny kids. The idea is to pick the best and most suitable player for the circumstances. The skinny player builds up in the gym.

Picking an Ollie Wines and Daniel Rich type is going to pay more immediate dividends, but the clubs who took the skinny kids around them haven't made a mistake until the player is delisted or traded. They just might take a year or 2 in the VFL. Nat Fyfe was a runt when he got picked up. Joel Corey was too. Plenty of examples. Not everyone needs them ready to play AFL from day 1.

Why react like that?

In case you haven't noticed the draft is full of skinny kids. The idea is to pick the best and most suitable player for the circumstances. The skinny player builds up in the gym.

Picking an Ollie Wines and Daniel Rich type is going to pay more immediate dividends, but the clubs who took the skinny kids around them haven't made a mistake until the player is delisted or traded. They just might take a year or 2 in the VFL. Nat Fyfe was a runt when he got picked up. Joel Corey was too. Plenty of examples. Not everyone needs them ready to play AFL from day 1.

Sorry mate but your Varcoe was a first round choice! I'm trying to make the point we're running an extra non performing lightweight small that has no interest in the ball less he gets it out wide on his own.
Point is, if this guy somehow gets support there's likely to be more disappointment in the future.
Good old Dave, Vinum, and the Varcoe crew don't really care, they're actually anti - Geelong they'd keep this guy on his 450k,.. don't you know he's a tackle expert!

Sorry mate but your Varcoe was a first round choice! I'm trying to make the point we're running an extra non performing lightweight small that has no interest in the ball less he gets it out wide on his own.
Point is, if this guy somehow gets support there's likely to be more disappointment in the future.
Good old Dave, Vinum, and the Varcoe crew don't really care, they're actually anti - Geelong they'd keep this guy on his 450k,.. don't you know he's a tackle expert!
Wasn't too disappointing in the 2011 GF. Or for most of the second half of that year.

There's little doubt he's regressed this year to the player I had criticised pre 2011.

In his defence he's had a wretched run with injuries. Including a shoulder reco. He's not the only player on our list to not recapture form after a reco. Taylor Hunt hasn't and it took Pods a long time to get back to reasonable form after his.

Trav did show in the last half of 2011 that he was prepared to put his body in harms way and what silky skills he has when he's going.

He's worth another chance. If he is able to put in a solid pre-season and be largely injury free during the year and can't recapture the 2011 form then I'm prepared to eat humble pie and move him on.

Doubt he's on $450k, btw.

Keep it in your pants Meto
There's quite a few Cats diehards that want a fully fit and firing Varcoe because he can improve our Team as he has shown in the past. At his best he can be elite and this is the base of many wanting him to succeed.
The pendulum is far too far the other way for you IMHO. You need to assess your objectivity.

Wasn't too disappointing in the 2011 GF. Or for most of the second half of that year.

There's little doubt he's regressed this year to the player I had criticised pre 2011.

In his defence he's had a wretched run with injuries. Including a shoulder reco. He's not the only player on our list to not recapture form after a reco. Taylor Hunt hasn't and it took Pods a long time to get back to reasonable form after his.

Trav did show in the last half of 2011 that he was prepared to put his body in harms way and what silky skills he has when he's going.

He's worth another chance. If he is able to put in a solid pre-season and be largely injury free during the year and can't recapture the 2011 form then I'm prepared to eat humble pie and move him on.

Doubt he's on $450k, btw.

Still recon being drafted by Geelong was the greatest free ride that guy will ever get in life,....anyhow likw I said before you can't be told even with stats and games to prove it.

He'll just clog the list next yr and slow development, be worth nothing as an around 27yr old trade, next year he'll prove extra expensive for nothing.

Nat Fyfe was a runt when he got picked up.

What are you on about mate? ;)
FYFE%20Nat_draft_246_meeta.jpg

Varcoe is physically powerful. Look at the thickness he has developed through his back and upper legs. He's been pumping some serious deadlifts and squats to my eye. Strength means nothing if you can't use it of course and he never got confidence back before the end, but he has the base to tear it up next year. If he fails to do so (barring more injury), then meto can devour him.

So a player that has had a rough trot should not get our support, even though he's on big dollars?

We should be behind him more than ever hoping he justifies the club's investment.

I'm guessing we shouldn't support Menzel either? He hasn't delivered for a couple of years. He's clogging the list at the moment.

Mate I am more than happy to acknowledge how poor Trav has been this year, but to suggest that we shouldn't be supporting him or any other player at the club for that matter is an attitude I hope no-one else shares with you.

Gee do you really have an issue with someone earning 450k?
It's mid management income FFS

So a player that has had a rough trot should not get our support, even though he's on big dollars?

We should be behind him more than ever hoping he justifies the club's investment.

I'm guessing we shouldn't support Menzel either? He hasn't delivered for a couple of years. He's clogging the list at the moment.

Mate I am more than happy to acknowledge how poor Trav has been this year, but to suggest that we shouldn't be supporting him or any other player at the club for that matter is an attitude I hope no-one else shares with you.

That last silly remark, and why not?????........Do you have to perform at work? Well!! Do you?

That's the idiotic diatribe that will pull this club down! it's just foolish loyalty for no reason, it's just business, and he's had his fare free whack.

Still recon being drafted by Geelong was the greatest free ride that guy will ever get in life,....anyhow likw I said before you can't be told even with stats and games to prove it.

He'll just clog the list next yr and slow development, be worth nothing as an around 27yr old trade, next year he'll prove extra expensive for nothing.
You continually (read conveniently) omit his wretched run with injury over the last couple of years. As you do in not acknowledging his contribution during 2011 when he played a significant part in us snagging the flag in that year. Giving every indication he'd turned the corner - then came the serious injury set backs. You also fail to recognise the defensive side of his game. It's not only about getting your hands on the pill.

You also conveniently disregard my acknowledgement that he has regressed. That I haven't been a supporter of his all along and that I reckon he's on his last chance.

2larltu.jpg

Tell that crap to the people of Geelong,.... what a lot of old nonsense, gee! you're capable!
Cookie has spoken about players being in payment bands. The highest being between $600,000 and $700,000. Be very surprised if TV wasn't in the $300k-$400k band and at the lower end of it.

2larltu.jpg

Tell that crap to the people of Geelong,.... what a lot of old nonsense, gee! you're capable!
Not sure what you're on about, you dont even live in geelong.

And BTW, TV wouldn't be on more than 300k.
If son of meto cant get that, tell him to get an education and stop wearing a fluro vest to work.

Cookie has spoken about players being in payment bands. The highest being between $600,000 and $700,000. Be very surprised if TV wasn't in the $300k-$400k band and at the lower end of it.

And BTW, TV wouldn't be on more than 300k.

meto doesnt deal in baseless facts like the rest of us, he has the cold hard truth as written by him.

I wonder how meto would speak face to face. I imagine there'd be lots of hand waving, strange upward inflections and yelling at inappropriate times.

"Cup of tea meto?"

"YES!!! I would like that tea, that you offered?!?! THANKS!!"