Tucky got a rocket

I suspect that Tucky got a rocket at the midpoint of the season. He'd forgotten the hard work he invested that had him top 3 in the B&F in his first full season at senior level as we all began to look sideways at the No 21 playing like a millionaire. His recent form was first rate, working hard and was key to our improvement in the clearances. Will never be an A grade midfielder however his type is important in the rotations and hopefully supporting another A grader or 2 to join axel

No one got hit harder with Coughlan's injury than Tuck. He was forced to step up into the breech when his skills and slow decision-making were not ready to handle that sort of responsibility.

Still, when he did pull his finger out he teamed well with Foley and momentarily regained some value. Imagine if we had a fit Cogs. Imagine how Foley would reap the benefits, not to mention outside midfielders like Deledio and Tambling.

Alas we might just have to imagine...

No one got hit harder with Coughlan's injury than Tuck. He was forced to step up into the breech when his skills and slow decision-making were not ready to handle that sort of responsibility.

Still, when he did pull his finger out he teamed well with Foley and momentarily regained some value. Imagine if we had a fit Cogs. Imagine how Foley would reap the benefits, not to mention outside midfielders like Deledio and Tambling.

Alas we might just have to imagine...

it is quite astonishing that in talking up the pluses of a player, tiger heads invariably suggest that what our problem is. We make up numbers if we continue to not get with the program of how to be a top side. You dont have players in the middle that havent got what he hasnt got.
If anything, maybe just a depth player at best, apart from that, if Tuck is a 22 player, we are just another plodder in upper parts of the ladder. ITs modern footy dudes, Tuck would have been a star in the 60s .;)

he had an ankle injury during the first half of the season too. I think he will be a better player next year

He was still having pre-game fitness tests round-22.

Did a great job to get through the season and give us something - compare his effort to Johnson's and he was well ahead with tougher niggling injuries to cope with.

Imagine how horrible Johnson or Tivendale would have been with persistent leg injuries and being forced to kick on their wrong foot most of the season. ;)

He was still having pre-game fitness tests round-22.

Did a great job to get through the season and give us something - compare his effort to Johnson's and he was well ahead with tougher niggling injuries to cope with.

Imagine how horrible Johnson or Tivendale would have been with persistent leg injuries and being forced to kick on their wrong foot most of the season. ;)

man, dont know if you have been watching the games, but didnt see him kick it with anything but his right, and i am tipping that he is a right footer. If he did have to kick it with his left, it was because he took a month of sundays to work out where he had to kick it. You really cant be serious. I understand everyone wants to sound positive etc, but you are sounding ridiculous.
BTW, the clincher? Comparing Tuck to Johnson. wow, we have a top player because he outshone the great one FFS. ;)

man, dont know if you have been watching the games, but didnt see him kick it with anything but his right, and i am tipping that he is a right footer. If he did have to kick it with his left, it was because he took a month of sundays to work out where he had to kick it. You really cant be serious. I understand everyone wants to sound positive etc, but you are sounding ridiculous.
BTW, the clincher? Comparing Tuck to Johnson. wow, we have a top player because he outshone the great one FFS. ;)

lol. I've been to about 17 games this year and Tuck used his left foot on countless occasions this season. His kicking skills are quite good on both feet and his kicking for goal is pretty good. Last year he didn't turn it over much but this year he has turned the ball over a few times by foot which surprised me a bit, but they have usually been short pass attempts which he has has kicked too short. I honestly think his ankle problems were the cause of alot of them because they were only 30m passing attempts which he only kicked 20m, so he obviously didnt put enough weight into the kick.

You didnt have to say much more than that. I rest my case at your NFIness.
His short passes aint the problem, the problem is he doesnt short pass it, because he cant, so he more often than not kicks a 40m balloon that is a nothing kick to no one. Its the good old tiger head view of the world isnt it? Oh look, he can hit a target when alone, just like he is doing circle work, but the problem is that in real games against teams that we need to beat to move up the ladder, it aint circle work and when its not, they are always found out. ;)

You didnt have to say much more than that. I rest my case at your NFIness.
His short passes aint the problem, the problem is he doesnt short pass it, because he cant, so he more often than not kicks a 40m balloon that is a nothing kick to no one. Its the good old tiger head view of the world isnt it? Oh look, he can hit a target when alone, just like he is doing circle work, but the problem is that in real games against teams that we need to beat to move up the ladder, it aint circle work and when its not, they are always found out. ;)

I didnt notice these turnovers in 2006. Maybe we should let him play injury free next year before telling us he's crap :cool:

no probs, will play next year, lets hope he is injury free. Cant wait to see what the next "excuse" is...but wait, i know...its the second best excuse used by tiger heads....oh..he was flying, but then he got the injury and he has never regained his confidence again.
Lets just say that you have your opinion, for me, he makes up the depth at very best. The only thing going for him is his grunt, but grunt means nothing if you are going to compete with the contenders, because they have players with grunt and skill, who get the handball out in a flash, and dont end up trying to perfect the overhead handball to no one forever and a day , because they know what they are doing. ;)

no probs, will play next year, lets hope he is injury free. Cant wait to see what the next "excuse" is...but wait, i know...its the second best excuse used by tiger heads....oh..he was flying, but then he got the injury and he has never regained his confidence again.
Lets just say that you have your opinion, for me, he makes up the depth at very best. The only thing going for him is his grunt, but grunt means nothing if you are going to compete with the contenders, because they have players with grunt and skill, who get the handball out in a flash, and dont end up trying to perfect the overhead handball to no one forever and a day , because they know what they are doing. ;)

Why would he lose confidence from a niggling foot injury the previous year? :cool:

i reckon he just got ahead of himself - its pretty common for those blokes in yellow and black

Why would he lose confidence from a niggling foot injury the previous year? :cool:

dude, you are talking to me. Me thinks he is just a number maker up. Me thinks he has been from the start. Me has seen tuck types come and go from tigerland for the last 20 years.
He has done ok, he was going to the suburbs, and found himself at the 7-eleven club for forging an afl career. Just like Chaff, Hyde etc. the right place at the right time if you were just average, has been the tigers. All these dudes would have struggled to get passed 20 games at another club, cept carlton lately. ;)

Tuck kicked with his left 70% of the season and probably 50% of his turnovers were because he tried to kick with his right and couldn't. There's zero need to 'tip' that he's right footed dimwit - he is, but thanks for reinforcing the fact you don't know squat.

Wake up to yourself CaliforniaRules dude homie, someone with zero observation skills and no idea about football shouldn't spend very second post proving it - while launching juvenile attempts to put other people down for knowing what you aren't bright enough to.

i reckon he just got ahead of himself - its pretty common for those blokes in yellow and black

Unlike your preferred team?

What sort of real Tiger says things like 'I couldn't lose on the weekend because I knew one of my teams would walk away with first draft pick?'

Did you walk the streets celebrating last year's grand final win with a WCE jumper on and a Swans one under it? :p

Tuck kicked with his left 70% of the season and probably 50% of his turnovers were because he tried to kick with his right and couldn't. There's zero need to 'tip' that he's right footed dimwit - he is, but thanks for reinforcing the fact you don't know squat.

Wake up to yourself CaliforniaRules dude homie, someone with zero observation skills and no idea about football shouldn't spend very second post proving it - while launching juvenile attempts to put other people down for knowing what you aren't bright enough to.

What sort of real Tiger says things like 'I couldn't lose on the weekend because I knew one of my teams would walk away with first draft pick?'

Did you walk the streets celebrating last year's grand final win with a WCE jumper on and a Swans one under it? :p

LMAO, what are you on about fool? so i said that? Really, where did you pick this up?
Now in a little more composed state, I will leave you with this. Tuck will be around for a little bit longer. Then we can revisit the subject. Dont forget ok?

Now do us a favour, direct everyone to the post you pulled this BS from.
I cant wait to see what you conjure up.;)

The part you've highlighted isn't attributed to you bonehead. It says quite clearly: Originally Posted by astro_toby

Some people can post half cut and get away with it without coming off sounding unnecessarily aggressive and dumber than a sackfull of hammers. You're not one of them CaliforniaRules homie dude.

I bet you wish your life had an edit button huh?

The part you've highlighted isn't attributed to you bonehead. It says quite clearly: Originally Posted by astro_toby

Some people can post half cut and get away with it without coming off sounding unnecessarily aggressive and dumber than a sackfull of hammers. You're not one of them CaliforniaRules homie dude.

I bet you wish your life had an edit button huh?
m

oops...missed it by that much. Sorry dude.
BTW, not to upset about the life stuff, still here and still kicking. Always lived it with the fast forward button, you tend to have a bit more fun,not worrying about what could have been, and fossicking for the button that is not there hey? ;)

I agree, I think he got a rocket too. His lack of output really hurt us this year. Whether it is all due to injury I don't know and I don't really care. This is not a blame thing, just an observation that we really missed him this year compared to last year. So too with Raines.

I don't think he's gonna be a gun midfielder. I think he is gonna be used as a wrecking ball to run into the packs at the bounce and clear a path for guys like Foley, or take out the opposition rovers with a tackle or bump. Adelaide has heaps of guys like that. Hard bodied utility types.

As our kids develop I think he'll become of more use to the team because we wont have to depend on him for his disposal and use him more for his presence in tight.

No more excuses for guys with injuries. Only fools who have not gotten with the evolution of the game use injuries and painkiller injections as reason for why a player's form slumps.

Tuck hasn't got what it takes to cut it as an elite midfielder. End of story. Do you guys want to win a premiership soon or fart arse about talking about Tucky and the one good year of service he gave to the club.

What we need is a Tyson Stenglein. We wouldn't waste our time talking about Tuck then nor would we Richie Tambling. Why? Because Tambling would be playing like Kerr.

Tuck hasn't got what it takes to cut it as an elite midfielder. End of story. Do you guys want to win a premiership soon or fart arse about talking about Tucky and the one good year of service he gave to the club.

dont whack away talking tuff buddy, no-one is under any illusions that Tucky is an elite player...we all know there is a gilt edged few in axels class then an important band underneath...Thats where Tucky is, lock stock and barrell as he would in any other side...hope that clears it up

Seems to me from reading a lot of these posts is that you guys have hit the nail right on the head here. Forget all this strategic crap, all we need is 22 players who are all in the elite class , (whatever TF that means!), in their respective positions and she's a shoe-in. Soon as someone's name gets mentioned all that seems to happen here is we shoot them down by saying there is someone better somewhere and until we have someone better like that other mob do we wont win a premiership and we're all soft for not delisting em and recruiting the next legend. Go look up the definition of teambuilding and get some clues. Do you think every premiership team is made of the 22 best players in the league? Surely you have all played or watched enough footy to know a champion team beats a team of champions every time, or second thoughts, maybe some of you havent.
What a pack of nuff nuff ********s.

i would usually get pretty worked up and defend myself passionately to comments like this

but rayzor - i know you are still upset and emotional about your love interest Ray Hall being cut - don't worry son, keep doing your "crying in the shower" thing - and i'm sure we will get another useless dud for you to spank the monkey to next year:thumbsu::)